Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

eigrod wrote: »
    Know your football rules

Know that there are no rules in football. There are laws.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Rashford with his fancy dan flicks and tricks here and there, and tendency to take too much out of the ball, is going to make him a future scapegoat for England's inevitable WC collapse. Sometimes the simple option is the most logical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Of course he’s onside - Blind played everyone onside. if being off the pitch suddenly made you not count, teams would use that all the time as a tactic.

Imagine free kicks in dangerous positions... hold your line as normal to stop attackers getting too close, but have 2 guys standing off the field, who aren’t playing anyone onside, but can get a run on the ball. It would make no sense... you don’t cease to exist cause you crossed the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

fyfe79 wrote: »
    Offside surely? Kilbane seems to think because a Utd player is off the field, he's playing everyone on... is that right?

Or is it onside because the Moscow player is trying to avoid the ball (ie. not play it) even though it hits him?

Kilbane is right, its only if the player is off the pitch recieving treatment, ie with premission. Jaysis, im a referee lads, thank god that didnt happen when i was reffing Saturday :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Sundays gonna be great craic isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Bunch of pro footballers in the studio "What are the rules? Dunno."

Amazing insight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,592 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Of course he’s onside - Blind played everyone onside. if being off the pitch suddenly made you not count, teams would use that all the time as a tactic.

Imagine free kicks in dangerous positions... hold your line as normal to stop attackers getting too close, but have 2 guys standing off the field, who aren’t playing anyone onside, but can get a run on the ball. It would make no sense... you don’t cease to exist cause you crossed the line.

It definitely used to be part of the offside law anywAys, must have been updated so since everyone saying he is on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

question

what result in tonights group A match would cause utd to finish 2nd?

Headshot wrote: »
    question

Losing by 4-6 goals

Headshot wrote: »
    question

Basil are 2 goals behind United at moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

astradave wrote: »
    It definitely used to be part of the offside law anywAys, must have been updated so since everyone saying he is on
    I'm reading on a forum that if a player doesn't have the referee's permission to leave the field, he's still active. That being the case, nothing wrong with the goal. You can see the logic behind the rule/law. It stops defences simply stepping off the pitch to catch a striker offside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

If blind is deemed active then the cska player ahead of him is active no and then hes offside no?

sky88 wrote: »
    If blind is deemed active then the cska player ahead of him is active no and then hes offside no?

Hardly “active”though so a moot point.

Pogba is actually driving me bonkers tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

J. Marston wrote: »
    Bunch of pro footballers in the studio "What are the rules? Dunno."

Amazing insight.

Im actually surprised a lot on here thought he was offside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

sky88 wrote: »

If I understand what you mean then no, the CSKA player is active and not offside due to 2 United players ahead of him, De Gea and Blind.

duffman13 wrote: »
    Kilbane is right, its only if the player is off the pitch recieving treatment, ie with premission. Jaysis, im a referee lads, thank god that didnt happen when i was reffing Saturday :)

Sunday league i presume?? A lot of them refs dont have a clue of some of the easier laws of the game even!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,304 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

tinpib wrote: »
    If I understand what you mean then no, the CSKA player is active and not offside due to 2 United players ahead of him, De Gea and Blind.

It's now been given as Vitinho's goal and not Dzagoev's even though it's clearly hit him.

That makes less sense.

I feel sorry for Lukaku. Has had no service whatsoever.

Ugh weak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,617 ✭✭✭caviardreams

That ball from Shaw to Mata... Shaw has been superb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,006 ✭✭✭xabi

bangkok wrote: »
    Sunday league i presume?? A lot of them refs dont have a clue of some of the easier laws of the game even!!

Similar to your grasp of the English language. ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

You could nearly play Shaw the weekend. Young on the right.

Are Am Eye wrote: »
    You could nearly play Shaw the weekend. Young on the right.

Might as well sure. Getting nothing from the game anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

Shaw has got half a stone to lose before he looks fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,584 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Under the old offside law (before all this "not interfering with play" crap) you used to see attackers running off the pitch before the ball was played forward, if they'd otherwise cause the whole attack to be ruled offside.

Scrap the cap!

Another really clever pass by shaw to mata Jesus it makes me even more depressed with Valencia.

I'll also never warm to smalling he just.....

Esse85 wrote: »

Says yer man lying on the couch eating a bag of crisps :)

blueser wrote: »
    I'm reading on a forum that if a player doesn't have the referee's permission to leave the field, he's still active. That being the case, nothing wrong with the goal. You can see the logic behind the rule/law. It stops defences simply stepping off the pitch to catch a striker offside.

It definitely used to be that if you don’t go off deliberately you were deemed inactive and ineffective for offside as you had to be allowed back on by the ref or wait till the ball was cleared.. if you went off deliberately it was a yellow card offence..

I’ve no problem with the goal at all if the law has been changed tbf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Under the old offside law (before all this "not interfering with play" crap) you used to see attackers running off the pitch before the ball was played forward, if they'd otherwise cause the whole attack to be ruled offside.
    Apparently, this is the current law re. players off the pitch affecting offsides;

tweet-938149145994584069-2.jpg

Never in doubt they are all great

Beauty. Delighted for hm.

Big Rom's perseverance pays off. He has been excellent tonight, even leaving aside teh goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

bangkok wrote: »
    Says yer man lying on the couch eating a bag of crisps :)

And a 6 pack of beer ;)

Yesssjajajaja
    Pogba
    Lukakakuuuuuj

Pure class from Pogba. Great finish as well

Brilliant from Rashford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Haha! Get in

Boom!!!!

Lovely bottoms

Oh Mata. Luxury player.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Jesus lads, let me finish my post before you score again :P

Class goal!

Yeshahakalama
    Flashford

Real shame Pogba is missing Sunday.
    Really!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

That's more like it. Great finish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Mata's assist was a beauty

Omfg amazing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Ah lads im loving this. The whole thing feels very nostalgic. Love Shaw in the team and love the 3412 formation.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,054 ✭✭✭wanderer100

Just what we needed!! Brilliant

Mata has been excellent again. Lighweight me arse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Esse85 wrote: »

Louis?