Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2017

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Rojo back at light training with the squad

Great news

Will be ready for full training in two weeks.

That's great, hopefully he can find the form he left us in.
    "Rojo is not coming to play but he is coming with the team to train today with the group. Tomorrow, individually, but he's coming [back].

"I would say, probably in two weeks, Marcos is ready to play."

http://www.manutd.com/en/News-And-Features/Football-News/2017/Oct/manchester-united-boss-jose-mourinho-reveals-team-news-for-benfica-clash.aspx

I was looking for news on Pogba. All I can see is a post on reddit from a fan who got to see him training earlier today..."Watching Paul train and he’s doing a lot of quick sprints lots of leg movement and different dynamic stretching really explosive movements hope the comeback is soon".

The fan got called out as a bullshítter, so then posted some pics as proof which were good enough for me. Link for anyone who cares...https://imgur.com/gallery/AIF9A

Elsewhere, Jose has elaborated on that interview to French TV...
    "English media in one day says I sign a one year contract for £1billion per season, they next I am at PSG."

"I am at Manchester United, there isn't an answer on my contract; I have a contract and that's it."

"The reality is that at the moment I am not signing a new 5 year contract and I am also not going to PSG."

"I have my contract that ends in May/June 2019, we are in October 2017 so I don't know what to say."

"You don't know what to say, one day you say I'm signing a new deal, the next you say im leaving."

"In football, the only future is tomorrow."

"The only things I said was I wouldn't end my career at Man United, it's impossible to last for 15/20 years. Wenger will be the last one to do that. I think I'm going to be in football 15 years more minimum, it is impossible to stay that long at one club. If my career was ending in 3,4,5 years then yes, I would end my career at United."

"Yes it's true that I haven't signed a new contract; but I'm also not thinking about leaving either. I said what I said about my future and some of you are trying to be malicious with stories about it."
    Not sure if that really clears much up. He is leaving the possibility open that he won't stay beyond the end of his current contract. It's interesting - Was he not recently quoted as saying he envisions himself staying beyond his current contract?

Ah, those Portuguese and their 'You never know the future' mantra :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Spurs really putting it up to madrid. Thats what happens when you have a real go at a team

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

bangkok wrote: »
    Spurs really putting it up to madrid. Thats what happens when you have a real go at a team

Would you not wait to see if they actually get a result before you jinx them like that :P

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Would you not wait to see if they actually get a result before you jinx them like that :P

fantastic result for spurs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Could have won it, Navas made a great stop against Kane and Erikkson had a good chance too

Noel82 wrote: »
    Could have won it, Navas made a great stop against Kane and Erikkson had a good chance too

could have lost it as well, draw was great result considering dortmund drew as well.

still feel it was 2 points lost at anfield as we gave them way to much respect as they were there for the taking

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

I hope Mourinho was watching.

Seems to be a fair few missing around these parts. I wonder if some regulars had electricity/internet trouble from the storm. Hopefully nothing worse.

So what result will we be looking to take in Benfica tomorrow? I don't see any reason why we shouldn't be going for the 3 points and try to get the group won as soon as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,383 ✭✭✭S.M.B.

could have lost it as well, draw was great result considering dortmund drew as well.

still feel it was 2 points lost at anfield as we gave them way to much respect as they were there for the taking
    Decent result for Liverpool too, biggest away win by an English team in the European Cup. Maybe just as relevant to the "1 point gained / 2 points dropped" debate as the Spurs result.

Yea Spurs really showed Jose, how to go get a win away from home against tough opposition

They showed him how to at least try. Started with 2 strikers in front of a midfield containing Moussa Sissoko and a 21 year old with 1 international cap and still took the game to Madrid. Fully deserved their draw - a 2-1 win wouldn't have flattered them either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,250 ✭✭✭limnam

Who did they beat

It's mad. The media and fans using our performance last Saturday to judge Spurs' tonight. I wonder what people would have honestly thought of the game if they hadn't got United-Liverpool to draw on and compare to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Look the ends can justify the means and if we're all being honest that's what we're hoping for with Jose. If we don't mount a serious title challenge this year then bollocks performances like that will be for nought. However if we managed to beat City to the title then I wouldn't care about how people compare us or what they say.

If we won the league with 38 performances like that then I'd take it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Seems to be a fair few missing around these parts. I wonder if some regulars had electricity/internet trouble from the storm. Hopefully nothing worse.

So what result will we be looking to take in Benfica tomorrow? I don't see any reason why we shouldn't be going for the 3 points and try to get the group won as soon as possible.

Personally I’m just tired of responding to people and the narrative they try to spin in here. There’s only so much replying you can do.

You have Bangkok who just isn’t worth it and the like of The Doc reappearing with monologues written, once he perceives things aren’t going well.

They are being hysterical and some have an obvious and admitted agenda.

It’s pointless responding.

adox wrote: »
    Personally I’m just tired of responding to people and the narrative they try to spin in here. There’s only so much replying you can do.

You have Bangkok who just isn’t worth it and the like of The Doc reappearing with monologues written, once he perceives things aren’t going well.

Dont mention my name if im not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Chelsea and Spurs coming up soon should be interesting

Wonder if the tactics will be tweaked slightly in an effort to not give City a comfortable lead, or maybe that is a stupid question and we'll be playing for 2 points.

1 goal and no wins in 9 away games v top 6 and every game we set up the same way. If that doesnt change in the next few weeks our title challenge will be over

Wonder if the tactics will be tweaked slightly in an effort to not give City a comfortable lead, or maybe that is a stupid question and we'll be playing for 2 points.

I'd expect us to be more ambitious at home against Spurs and play for the win. I'd expect the same tactics against Liverpool away to Chelsea however I fear Chelsea are more likely to punish us for it.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,213 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

1 goal and no wins in 9 away games v top 6 and every game we set up the same way. If that doesnt change in the next few weeks our title challenge will be over

Since Jose joined we've only played 6 away games against the other top 6 teams. Just saying.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Since Jose joined we've only played 6 away games against the other top 6 teams. Just saying.....

Still means we've only scored one goal and not won any of those games. that is a poor record, and with the way City are playing we can't just give up on two points in away games vs the big six.

We have to pose more of a threat in these games. We have to score goals and we have to win some of them. I'm not saying we have to go all out attack - I actually think a bigger part of the problem on Saturday was simply poor performance - but Jose has to get better performances and results out of the big games. If we want to win the league or CL, our current big game results won't cut it.

And still won none and only scored 1 goal. That is terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭quad_red

It's not even pessimism now to say we'll be playing for 2 points.

And that is the truth. It solifies our 6th place mindset. Happy to beat everyone below us and happy to scrape a draw against everyone we have decided is above us. A moneybags Stoke.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Tbh, I'm not basing any judgements on anything other than this season. Last one was adequate, but overall, we've taken massive strides forward this season.

We've been scoring for absolute fun, we've had a rock solid defense in the process, and are still unbeaten this season. I'm not going to let one game, where the players were as big if not greater factor than the tactics, distract me from the fact we've had our best start to a season in years, and that's in terms of style AND substance.

Dragging up stats from last year does very little, imo. And I agree with Adox, there's a sense that there's one or two posters who are always itching to have a moan about Jose, and this is the first time this season they've had a proper chance to, so are seemingly thrilled.

Me? I'm very happy with whats happening so far this season, and I'm not going to let 1 bad game, where we were missing a handful of first team players, away to Liverpool, taint that.

For me, it's onwards and upwards! Game day, bitches! And I'm just happy to be going into every game feeling we absolutely could and should win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

adox wrote: »

The inference being I disappear when things are going well?

Or is it you just don't have a chance to have a dig when I'm posting in a positive, general chitty chat way?

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

TheDoc wrote: »
    See you say that, but there is nothing easier for a manager to deflect a poor result off than someone who comes and sets up incredibly defensive.

While there is nothing wrong with it, it's a slanderous term in the game and its a dig. You see it all the time. The massive irony is that Jose, one of the most defensive minded in certain situations, constantly argues and defends it and tries to pull the wool over peoples minds.

Even his post match presser, which I thought was brutally condescending at times. He didnt sit there and just go "yeah I setup the team to be defensive and soak the pressure and try hit them on the break" he tried to be clever, saying absolute bollox about how it was enjoyable for real football people (paraphrase) absolute nonsense.

Because he knows himself that a defensive setup is frowned upon, and no fans of a big club want their team to be a rear guard counter attack team conceding to the opposition.

If Jose was so spot on yesterday, or spot on in any of these games, he would be comfortable just being honest and straight about it. But he's not, one of the biggest egomaniacs in the game, with all his success and history who is respected in a footballing sense, still doesn't feel comfortable calling a spade a spade.

Players arn't stupid. If I was a Liverpool player I wouldn't be devastated, I'd be furious I dropped points against a bunch of pussies. That's how I took games like that where you would absolutely smoke someone but not win. But it has to be one of the easiest things for a manager to twist for his supports.

So yeah your right, Liverpool fans should probably be asking why they didn't win, why their squad has no specialists in the opposition box, but they can brush it all away because we played that way and the narrative gets shaped. Just like Jose did with Burnley and countless others last season.

You know I actually wouldn't mind losing a game like this, if we went hell for leather and actually tried stamping domination and tried to win. Because at this stage its become mind numbing boring, tedious and most importantly predictable.

Actually getting angry at the thought of the missed opportunity, paying that much respect to this Liverpool team. Spurs, Chelsea or mainly City away you know what I kinda get it. Still grates me, that our manager won't trust the players he has bought, or he has inherited to go stamp their authority on a game, but I can accept sometimes you hit a team in mental good form or are just better and you need to account for. And that is a strength of Jose. He's not to big to think he can't tailor his tactics to counter opposition strengths.

But for **** sake look at this Liverpool team. Man of the match was basically a new 20 year old right back, the worst left back in the league was barely tested and a midfield with the combined creativity of a blind painter dominated the game.

I'll admit some bias here that it ****ing boils my piss for a manager, or a player, to not look at Jordan Henderson and say "he's ****ing useless, lets have him"

Think I'll stop now and spare you all my tears, cause actually more I think back on Saturday I'm actually just so annoyed and borderline despondent, when there is a game tomorrow I hope we can get back to what we were doing. Because I've been pretty positive and thoroughly enjoying our season thus far, and think I;ve been hiding my Jose hatred pretty well(Adox accepting and comfortably admitting I massively dislike this manager in most senses)

Couldn't disagree more. How is it easy to pawn off the fact that you had 70% of the ball and created one clear cut chance...

If i was going home on that bus I'd be thinking, ****, not a thing created against a team who gave me all the ball in the world......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

https://twitter.com/stewartgardner/status/920552611425681408

Lol, Portuguese press put Akinfeev in goal for United in their predicted lineups.

That formation is all over the shop lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    That formation is all over the shop lad!

Those Portuguese and their negative tactics and formations.;)

And still won none and only scored 1 goal. That is terrible

Did you think, he was going to come into the job in his first season and go all out against the big teams.

His sole focus in his current year was to steady the ship, he bought well, created a new spine in Bailly, Pogba and added to that this year in Lukaku.

I don't understand the basis of using last years statistics to take away from the fact we've scored 22 and conceded 2 goals in 8 games. One game does not a bad team make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,597 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

https://twitter.com/stewartgardner/status/920552611425681408

Lol, Portuguese press put Akinfeev in goal for United in their predicted lineups.

giphy.gif

Lord TSC wrote: »
    And I agree with Adox, there's a sense that there's one or two posters who are always itching to have a moan about Jose, and this is the first time this season they've had a proper chance to, so are seemingly thrilled.

Belittling my posts as being meaningless by citing my issues with Jose, who yes, I don't like as a person and as a manager, is pretty rubbish to be fair assuming I can't also be objective but w/e

So line up predictions for tonight?

Mine is

Lukaku
    Mkhi-Herrera
    Martial-Blind-Smalling-matic-Jones-Valencia-young
    Dave

TheDoc wrote: »
    Belittling my posts as being meaningless by citing my issues with Jose, who yes, I don't like as a person and as a manager, is pretty rubbish to be fair assuming I can't also be objective but w/e

Don't think he mentioned your name in any posts. Ophelia be making a lot of people paranoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭ollkiller

Did you think, he was going to come into the job in his first season and go all out against the big teams.

His sole focus in his current year was to steady the ship, he bought well, created a new spine in Bailly, Pogba and added to that this year in Lukaku.

I don't understand the basis of using last years statistics to take away from the fact we've scored 22 and conceded 2 goals in 8 games. One game does not a bad team make.

One bad game indeed does not make a bad team. But a tactic against any big opposition away from home to defend like crazy and hope for one or two chances is not the manager i want at United. I mean this when the opposing teams defence is bloody woeful and we have the attacking power we now have at our disposal.

I'm watch united since 1983. Moyes and Van Gaal were poor to watch but last Saturday is up there with the crap we have had to endure during the Van Gaal era. Liverpool were there to be taken, if our manager had the guts to go for it. He didn't and any stupid narrative he outlines to back up his point of view is meaningless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,381 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Those Portuguese and their negative tactics and formations.;)

Thats the formation I play in football manager - but with a number 10 and 2 strikers.

Martial--Lukaku
    Miki
    Shaw-Matic-Pogba-Valencia
    ---Rojo-Vindelof-Jones
    De Gea

Young and Lingard are good defensive/winger wing back options too.

ollkiller wrote: »
    One bad game indeed does not make a bad team. But a tactic against any big opposition away from home to defend like crazy and hope for one or two chances is not the manager i want at United. I mean this when the opposing teams defence is bloody woeful and we have the attacking power we now have at our disposal.

I'm watch united since 1983. Moyes and Van Gaal were poor to watch but last Saturday is up there with the crap we have had to endure during the Van Gaal era. Liverpool were there to be taken, if our manager had the guts to go for it. He didn't and any stupid narrative he outlines to back up his point of view is meaningless.

Did you prefer the time we went 10 men down to City and went for it and ended up losing 6-0?

Look at it in the grand scheme of the season. its 4 away games....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,178 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Lads we've drawn one more league match than the mighty city. Clearly its time we execute Jose and get big Sam for the pending relegation battle. Maybe beg LVG to be back. We'll have the glorious possession stats again <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,178 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Did you prefer the time we went 10 men down to City and went for it and ended up losing 6-0?

To be fair "going for it" regardless of result is all that matters. Apparently Spurs draw against Madrid was better than our draw with Liverpool. FIFA must have introduced a new rugbyesque bonus point system.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,292 ✭✭✭Adamocovic

Just reading back over the last few pages, some posts about people missing.

I know I used to post a lot here a couple of years back, still pop my head in now and then but with work and that it's tough at the moment to keep track of everything, finding it hard enough to even watch some of the matches!

Luckily for me I wasn't on here during the Liverpool game and that so dodged a bullet there.

We're still doing brilliant this season, and if we can get 3 points tonight I'd be thrilled. Huddersfield will be solid at the back, or at least aim to be this weekend, but we should really be kicking back with a win there.

Don't think he mentioned your name in any posts. Ophelia be making a lot of people paranoid.

Think I'm safe in knowing who is being mentioned from a history of posts

No but we are in the 2nd season now and most people in here said before liverpool game we should be beating them. Their defence is terrible and they were missing their best player. We went there and sat back for 90min not looking to create at all. In 2 visits to anfield under jose we have had 2 shots. City went to chelsea and had 14 attempts alone and that is probably their hardest game of the season out of the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

It's a confidence sapper getting outplayed like that though. There's a reason teams go through purple patches and then runs of bad form and it's to do with confidence and momentum.

If United come out of Liverpool, Spurs and City with no wins that will feed into the players minds and imo the lesser matches become far tougher once uncertainty feeds in.

There's a lot of blind faith in Mourinho here, and maybe deserved due to his phenomenal career and his 2nd season record. But I see warning signs here that I hadn't at his previous clubs. It's incredible what you can get away with when fans are convinced you're a genius. United fans here were probably the most vocal about how awful Liverpool defence was all season, to not even try to or have the ability to test that is a massive worry no matter how brainwashed you are by his past.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

What's the obsession with Jose from Liverpool fans?.

No but we are in the 2nd season now and most people in here said before liverpool game we should be beating them. Their defence is terrible and they were missing their best player. We went there and sat back for 90min not looking to create at all. In 2 visits to anfield under jose we have had 2 shots. City went to chelsea and had 14 attempts alone and that is probably their hardest game of the season out of the way

Why would you use the total shots(it was 17 with 6 on target) for City but only use the shots on target for United?(6 with 1 on target).

astradave wrote: »
    Why would you use the total shots(it was 17 with 6 on target) for City but only use the shots on target for United?(6 with 1 on target).

Because it is pathetic either way. 6 shots against a defence that contains lovern matip moreno gomez and mignolet in goal is nothing to be celebrating. City created almost 3 times more than that against one of the best teams in the league and current champions

Because it is pathetic either way. 6 shots against a defence that contains lovern matip moreno gomez and mignolet in goal

So if it’s pathetic use the correct stats instead of misleading ones

The current champions and one of the best teams in the league that recently let in 2 goals against rock bottom Palace that hadn’t scored at all before that?

astradave wrote: »
    So if it’s pathetic use the correct stats instead of misleading ones

The current champions and one of the best teams in the league that recently let in 2 goals against rock bottom Palace that hadn’t scored at all before that?

Im not worried about chelsea, city are the team to beat and thats where we need ti be aiming. They are on fire at the moment and will be hard caught if they get any sort of lead