Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment 2017 - Stage 3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Holeymoley11

Mokuba wrote: »
    Failed - almost positive I failed on Motivation to be a Garda.

Quite annoyed now to be honest. Don't feel like I was given a fair crack of the whip in that section. I actually felt like the Inspector completely misread my additional comment in the original application form - he seemed to be focusing on something that I hadn't even said - in fact I had almost said the opposite to what he was inferring. What's more annoying is the fact that he focused on it and when I tried to display my knowledge of modues/training/ranks - which I knew inside out and upside down - he moved me away from it immediately.

Sounds like sour grapes, always areas to improve on and experiences to better yourself with to make a better candidate - but still frustrating nonetheless.

That's probably it for me - I know some people will say well you don't have much motivation if you're giving up now, but it adds on probably another 2 years to me getting in at least. I need to focus on other pursuits now rather than twiddle my thumbs waiting for another campaign to come around.

Best of luck to all who went through.

Look take it as a learning curve. I failed the interview in the Sept campaign. Requested the feedback and fell on motivation to be a guard. Did the interview a few weeks ago and felt like motivation to be a guard was my strongest point. In applying for it again it will show how motivated you are. You will defo get it ! Just get your head down and apply again !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31 floggmolly

mezzac95 wrote: »
    Hi guys. I got through to stage 3 and my oom was 53. My interview date was scheduled for the 26th of August but I was away. Does anyone know when the next rounds are? Thanks!

You will not get a new date, you'll have to apply for stage 1 when it opens again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mezzac95

mrDerek wrote: »
    Did you just not go to the interview?

No I told the public appointment service I was away and they said that I will be called in the next round but I was just wondering if anyone knew when it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭Weejohnny

No I told the public appointment service I was away and they said that I will be called in the next round but I was just wondering if anyone knew when it was

Next batch have been called, week of Oct 16th.

If you remember when we got our Interview date, in the email it said that it was not not possible to rearrange the date of the interview and being unable to attend would result in the termination of your application?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 mezzac95

floggmolly wrote: »
    If you remember when we got our Interview date, in the email it said that it was not not possible to rearrange the date of the interview and being unable to attend would result in the termination of your application?

I do remember and I just rang them asking if there was any possibility of rescheduling and they said there would be if you emailed them with the reason why you should get a date in another round. I was just asking when the other rounds were

Don't get me wrong, I hope you can!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ruairi93

Anyone have an idea when the high 700s will be called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭DeHorse88

Weejohnny wrote: »
    Next batch have been called, week of Oct 16th.

I presume the order of merit will be from 306 to 550 roughly. Im currently at 716 so i would expect to be called after this batch. how long does it take roughly to complete all interviews for a batch??

DeHorse88 wrote: »
    I presume the order of merit will be from 306 to 550 roughly. Im currently at 716 so i would expect to be called after this batch. how long does it take roughly to complete all interviews for a batch??

I'm 773, nice to see someone in my bracket haha.
    Maybe a week or so? I'd say we'll get a shout the end of October!

Ruairi93 wrote: »
    I'm 773, nice to see someone in my bracket haha.
    Maybe a week or so? I'd say we'll get a shout the end of October!

Better start doing a bit for it so, have you any prep done so far?

Have done a lil bit, looked up abit about the training in templemore and garda ranks. Need to scrub up on my competencies but I'm getting a mock interview in a week or 2 to help. Yourself?

Nothing really done was goin to do a career services day next week but id be more comfortable doin a mock interview with someone it would prob be more beneficial too

Yea I've heard career services courses your packed into a room with one teacher not really worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭mrDerek

Yea I've heard career services courses your packed into a room with one teacher not really worth it

I did gardarecruitment - https://www.facebook.com/gardarecruitment.ie/

They do groups or individuals. They course content is decent but where you really get bang for your buck is the after service. They will review some of your samples give you advice tips etc. I also got to leverage feedback from other interviewees they had going in before me so i didn't go in and get blind sided which i would have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭cheallaigheoin

Hey weejohnny, are you sure about your order of merit? My order of merit is 716

Its DeHorse88 that's said he's 716 not me, I'm in the 350_360 range.

The first batch seemed to be 2 weeks of interviews.

DeHorse88, are you sure about your order of merit? My order of merit is 716

After double checking it I'm definetly 716

Ya I'm 100%, maybe we scored the exact same in stage 2, probably done by computer so sure it's just a glitch that shouldn't matter ðŸ˜႒

How much notice are you given before the interview with the date etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭shaunerz

How much notice are you given before the interview with the date etc?

I got two and a half weeks notice.

shaunerz wrote: »
    I got two and a half weeks notice.

And do they send out the Form B then too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 294 ✭✭eoinkildare

And do they send out the Form B then too?

You should have your form b in time to complete it for your interview usually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 MountshannonTB

Lads random enough question here, but does anyone know how to see what we submitted for the ‘form A’ way back when! Is there anyway of downloading it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭Mowley

Lads random enough question here, but does anyone know how to see what we submitted for the ‘form A’ way back when! Is there anyway of downloading it?

Your application form? You can see it in your applications in public jobs and print from there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 jdk98

Currently waiting on Stage 3 Interview don't have a date yet. I have a problem though, I have a pass in 4 Leaving Cert Subjects and also a pass in Link Modules. Will the Link Modules be enough to pull me through?? I applied for Prison Officer and on the entry requirements for that it said Link Modules would count as a Pass to qualify. However there is no mention of anything like that for The Guards. I rang Public Appointments about it and they are looking into it and will get back to me in the next couple of days.....some anxious wait.

I'm in the same boat with Link Modules, did you get any word back?

jdk98 wrote: »
    I'm in the same boat with Link Modules, did you get any word back?

Yeah they said Link Modules counts as a Pass....they had someone in the same boat the last batch and he got through they told me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 foam

Does anyone know how long the actual interviews take? Just trying to sort out train times to Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭diddlybo

foam wrote: »
    Does anyone know how long the actual interviews take? Just trying to sort out train times to Dublin.

The interview itself is about 40 minutes, but you have to get there early to sign in and go through your vetting form. Plan to be there for at least 2 hours as it will give you wiggle time if there are any delays.

Guys for the Form B, when giving info on grandparents do we put down there occupation before retirement and also what if they are deceased? Thanks in advance

Fairly sure you still put occupation, as in retired teacher or deceased-teacher. Did you get date for interview?

nice one. Not yet, id say nov time. im just getting all the info together so im prepared for that

What number are you on the OOM??

Sorry just looked back realised your 773.

Are you in this campaign yourself?

Yes I'm 716 I onto u before about when u would expect us to be called. Hopefully get an interview in November

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭deiseman17

Has anyone done the prep courses for the interview and if so would they recommend it?

did a 1v2 with garda recruitment and it was good helped me avoid a few curveballs

Did you have references with you to the interview or just referees named?

Yes I'm 716 I onto u before about when u would expect us to be called. Hopefully get an interview in November

Apologies. Getting closer to November now hopefully we'll have a date soon.

Would anyone recommend going to their local garda station and having a chat with them?

Did you have references with you to the interview or just referees named?

Well the references is a form b type thing which you should have filled out and printed to hand into PAS on the day of your interview

On form b it asks for names and says bring written references if available, checked back on the threads here and could only find one guy who said he didn't as the local Sergeant contacts them anyway.

If you dont have them by the time your interview comes around say it to the person who collects your forms she will give you a weeks extension from that date.
    The form b is only forwarded to the stations once PAS are satisfied with the information provided within.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Alberto17

Hi lads,

Just a little confused here. I had my interview last month and listed various references on the Form B at the different sections they were requested.

Never provided a ‘written reference’ from anyone nor was I asked for any by PAS rep on attendance at interview.

I assume they contact whoever they feel necessary of the references provided.

Is this right?

Alberto17 wrote: »

Hi lads,

Just a little confused here. I had my interview last month and listed various references on the Form B at the different sections they were requested.

Never provided a ‘written reference’ from anyone nor was I asked for any by PAS rep on attendance at interview.

Is this right?

That's great to know, it said by the general references, name two people who have known you for 5yrs who would be willing to recommended you, attach written references where available. But it seems its the local Sergeant who then contacts them anyway. I have a couple done in case. How did you find the interview?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 CAJJ

Alberto17 wrote: »

Hi lads,

Is this right?

It's not a necessity to have a written reference. It does however back you up and give the vetting team a better understanding of what kind of person you are.

Simply put it's better to have a few kind, honest words from your reference instead of just a name, address and number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 Alberto17

That's great to know, it said by the general references, name two people who have known you for 5yrs who would be willing to recommended you, attach written references where available. But it seems its the local Sergeant who then contacts them anyway. I have a couple done in case. How did you find the interview?

Seems that you don’t need them but would do your case no harm, as per reply from CAJJ.

Interview was fine, had plenty to talk about so it went quickly. They will ask a few probing questions so be expecting it, why did you do x, could you have done something else etc. Few people seem to fail on motivation competency so be sure to give solid reasons and you may be asked about why you weren’t in reserves. Be yourself, try not to be too nervous. I wasn’t asked about college but there was no time left, expect questions here though.