Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bizarre Airplane or Airport behaviour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Academic wrote: »
    If you don't regard that as strange, what would count as strange? :D

I wouldn't call it strange, more inappropriate I would say.
    I would consider The guy stripping off and having a tug on the flight strange :-)

bear1 wrote: »
    Oh and the most bizarre thing was a passenger who stripped naked and began masturbating on a flight from bergamo to charleroi.
    Flight was full and they had to move women sitting next to him to the jump seats.
    Security waiting for him when we landed.

Deadly serious.

They should have put him in the cockpit...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Bose noise cancelling headphones and an eye mask for you. Good investment.

You can't beat them !!! Well worth the money for long hauls

diomed wrote:
    Baby on my seat. The mother said she needed the seat for her baby.

I'd say that was interesting you walking down aisle way and about to sit down and u checking where your seat was and this little person is looking at you and you contemplating how do I approach this diplomatically ... did she think it comes FOC ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Stags and Hens on Ryanair flights - you know the ones, you hear them about 500 metres before you arrive at the gate and the dread sets in when you realise that you're going to be trapped in a plane with these people. It's like a competition to see who can make the most irritating, soul piercing insufferable noise - all of it totally unnecessary.

I'm all for a good time but a guy sitting beside me one particular time, part of a stag, was about 40-45 years old, absolutely powering through drinks at around 10am and roaring random phrases sporadically - every time one of his mates would roar something back but there was no actual conversation as such. At one point he was just literally making gutteral noises every few minutes - no words, just a bizarre noise like Bat Dad from South Park in between gulps of beer.

I was actually on a stag on the same flight coincidentally. It was 10am. I was watching a movie on my tablet and drinking a tea wondering "Could this be me in 15/20 years?".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭VG31

Spotted this today. Very strange.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IZfH0k0YTeQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,357 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

VG31 wrote: »

Indeed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭Chester Copperpot

Was mid flight once and a fella totally lost it. Was stripped to the waist and was running up and down the aisle babbling. Don't know if he had a psychotic break or was off his trolley and freaked out. The cabin crew seemed to disappear and he was like that for a few minutes before someone got him into a seat and I don't know if they restrained him or he just calmed down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

Was going to Madrid alone once and had priorty boarding. Fella who hadn't got priorty but was very tall start chatting me up so he could get on first.

Thought he seemed quite nice, friendly and attractive so went along wih it. He pretended we
    were together and it worked but now we're stuck, we have to sit together.

He proceeded to drink every 2 for one baggie on the plane and got louder every time .

Edit: Didn't get time to finish this story last night.

Anyway, he told me his life story very loudly on the plane including the fact that he had been in prison for beating a previous partner and was now barred from contacting her but still intended doing it.

He did give me a few laughs in between the serious **** but I've never wanted a flight to end more in my life. All I was thinking was how am I going to get rid of him when we get off because I had a hotel booked in Madrid, he had nowhere organised.

In the end I hid in the toilets in arrivals until he was gone. When I went out to the taxi queue there was a couple who had been on the plane and they said "your boyfriend was looking everywhere for you". I had to explain and they were pissing themselves laughing. They said they were full convinced we were together.

What a heap of...nothing.

Person has a brainfart. Officious person with biro ticks them off, and in fairness rightly so. No one was hurt.

Is there anything that people won't film and upload?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

I was in Prague airport with a friend about 6 or 7 years back. We were too early to check in our bag for our return flight, so we were sitting in the food court area to the left of the main entrance doors.

There wasn't many people around but the two guys at a table away from us were looking and acting a bit strange. I remember thinking it was weird that they weren't speaking to each other at all.

One of them reached for his sports bag, he pulls the handles of a plastic bag out the top zip and leaves them out. Then the two of them get up and leave. I was about to start freaking out, when within seconds this OTHER guy goes and casually sits down at their table beside their bag. He tucks the plastic bag handles in, gets up and leaves with it. It was obviously some sort of drug or money drop.

Anther time, after landing in Majorca (believe it or not!) I saw this howayeeeee 40 year old woman jump on our empty baggage carousel when we were waiting for our bags to come out. She lied down and went around for a few minutes, getting off to get back on at the start. Her mates all cheering her on "AH MARGERET, URRRR ONLYYY DEDLYYYYY LUVVVV".

****ing cringe city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

XsApollo wrote: »
    Not strange and I don't fly much.
    But coming back from Dominican Republic with Air France to Paris, there was some I presume Russian chick on her own was good looking too , sitting in the chair beside me across the isle that got bladdered while we were flying.

Proceeded to start sitting on fellas laps and rubbing them and trying to chat them up.
    Lots of couples and honeymooners on the flight myself included.

Wandering Up and down the isle saw her stop a few fellas going to the toilets and start rubbing their balls through their pants and gesturing to the jacks.
    Cabin crew asked her a few times to sit down and she would get thick and then continue on.
    This was going on for a few hours.
    Her chatting to everybody and opening the buttons on her shirt, getting the cleavage out,
    She sat back in her chair and started chatting to me in her language I was just nodding and she got thick for some reason and slapped me across the face and then proceeded to Sit on my lap and apologise , push her boobs on my face.

Anyway my wife got rid of her.
    Plane landed guards came on escorted her off,
    Saw her an hour or 2 later in cuffs getting escorted through the airport.

Missed opportunity frankly.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 50,249 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

i used to manage laptop allocations in the company i work for. one day an employee showed up with a smashed laptop, looking for a new one - she'd been waiting at the gate for her plane in dublin, and someone grabbed her laptop bag and ran with it, ended up being chased by security staff. he flung the bag in the air as a distraction - hence the damage - but given his choice was to eseentially run back through security or try to make it out onto the tarmac, he was obviously caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,325 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Was mid flight once and a fella totally lost it. Was stripped to the waist and was running up and down the aisle babbling. Don't know if he had a psychotic break or was off his trolley and freaked out. The cabin crew seemed to disappear and he was like that for a few minutes before someone got him into a seat and I don't know if they restrained him or he just calmed down.

Generally it's benzo's. Certain medications like Xanax don't mix well with alcohol. Valium doesn't either but you'll generally just fall asleep and pass out.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/passenger-who-tried-to-headbutt-captain-during-flight-walks-free-28950691.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Anther time, after landing in Majorca (believe it or not!) I saw this howayeeeee 40 year old woman jump on our empty baggage carousel when we were waiting for our bags to come out. She lied down and went around for a few minutes, getting off to get back on at the start. Her mates all cheering her on "AH MARGERET, URRRR ONLYYY DEDLYYYYY LUVVVV".

****ing cringe city

I fly to Palma two or three times a year and it is an absolute zoo in the summer months.

It isn't the teenagers either, it's the thirty somethings that you'd think should know better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Flew back from London to Cork, the plane had a few "Cork celebs" who were supposed to be representing the city at a function. Long story short, the infamous DJ is a wānker, well attempted wānker, let's just say he couldn't find a hard topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

biko wrote: »
    I thought so too. Or maybe she is blind or something.

She should get a subscription to audible and a pair of earphones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,424 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

razorblunt wrote: »
    Flew back from London to Cork, the plane had a few "Cork celebs" who were supposed to be representing the city at a function. Long story short, the infamous DJ is a wānker, well attempted wānker, let's just say he couldn't find a hard topic.

I must have read and met about 1,000 on that famous flight and everyone has different story about.

Not doubting you dude just always s get chuckle when read or hear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,913 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

There should be a no fly list across all airlines for anyone acting the maggot on a plane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I must have read and met about 1,000 on that famous flight and everyone has different story about.

Not doubting you dude just always s get chuckle when read or hear about it.

Ah don't get me wrong I wasn't there! I was only thinking when typing it that I've never heard or known of anyone that was on that flight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,409 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I flew to Turkey years about twenty years ago , during the flight a muppet decided to trim his hair with a lighter.
    He was dragged of the plane by two ordinary sized policemen and a policeman who looked like a shaved gorilla.
    I always think of that bloke and his lighter when I see the film Midnight Express.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Next time i'm trying to condone my Business Class ticket (there's always the "should I have done that?" for a while after purchasing), i'm going to read back on this thread.

Thank you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,235 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

In Dalaman airport last year, and there was a rather angry looking man sitting at the table across. Suddenly he falls off his wobbly chair and proceeds to get up and throw it, breaking it into a few parts and narrowly missing a young child. He then loudly screamed "FCUK" and proceeded to leave.

Nothing too crazy but was a strange occurrence to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,495 ✭✭✭XsApollo

Missed opportunity frankly.

Yup,
    Was only married a few weeks and was already thinking for f*ck sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

XsApollo wrote: »
    Yup,
    Was only married a few weeks and was already thinking for f*ck sake.

Easy, "just popping off to the jacks".
    Head back 20mins later looking like jack Nicholson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Sat beside 2 Ukrainian hookers on a flight from Istanbul to Dublin. One of them kept offering me sweets and feeding them to my mouth. One was a stunner (the feeder), the other quite good looking.

They didn't confirm that they were hookers but they had all the hallmarks. Visit Dublin regularly to work. Just back from working in Dubai. Said they worked as a masseuse. Very little inhibitions. It just clicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,694 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Was on a flight from Tokyo to Heathrow a few years ago, and got talking to the passenger next to me. I wasn't in the mood for conversation anyway, but it turns out that they were in washine machine sales and wanted to know, in great detail, about European washing machines and how they compared to Japanese ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

People who seemingly check in on time and somehow lost track of time and arrive at their gate just after it's closed, then there's about 10 minutes of pleading and begging, tears and tantrums when they're not allowed on the plane.

Vomiting and panic attacks before the plane has even taken off. One lad had to be led off the plane in Berlin a while back shaking and sobbing.

And of course there's the clapping....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Years back I had been backpacking around South East Asia and ended up in Bangkok to get home. I was pretty broke when it came to buying a one way ticket back to Dublin. So to save about 60 quid I went with Biman Bangladesh Airlines, the flag carrier of Bangladesh. The agent sold it to me as the cheapest flight to London and it came with an overnight stopover in Dhaka so I could see some sights.

Flew the Bangkok-Dhaka leg which left around 2 hours late but we arrived around 9pm local time. Got transferred to a shabby hotel with stained bedsheets and intermittent electricity. Got up at 9am the next morning to a breakfast of egg curry and rice. The Dhaka-London flight wasnt until 10pm so decided I would explore the town. But I then realised that security at the hotel prevented anyone from leaving as we were "in transit" and didnt have a proper tourist visa. We werent even allowed outside. So about 50 or so passengers were locked up in this hellhole of a hotel for around about 23 hours in total between the two flights. Being a Muslim country we couldnt even buy a beer in the hotel. Tempers got frayed but the security would not budge, we literally couldnt get outside of the hotel all day.

Then at 8pm that night we got ferried in clapped out mini-buses to the airport. Boarded the plane pretty quick but then the action kicked off. As it was September there were a good few single female going back to their university in London on board. The problem with that was people were complaining to the stewards that single Muslim women could not sit beside men. Cue lots of musical chairs and lots of arguing from families with kids who got split up over it. This charade had been going on for around about 20 minutes and the flight was now delayed for take off. The pilot ended up coming down into the cabin and he switched a few people around to try to balance things up but whatever way it was done it was impossible to keep single women from sitting next to a man without splitting up families and children. It was like some high level game of chess, for every person you moved it had implications somewhere else on the plane. There was lots of shouting and running battles going on between the pilot and several women with kids throughout this time. From what I gathered these women were adamant that a single girl should not be seated beside a man but also that no family should be split up. At about the 40 minute mark the pilot, looking ready to explode with anger roared loudly to the whole plane, stormed off and duly flew the plane off.

After all that I was left sitting beside a single student and asked her what it was that the pilot had said. She spoke very good english told me that roughly it was along the lines of "I dont fcuking care where you all sit, Im going now to fly the fcuking plane".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

What a heap of...nothing.

Person has a brainfart. Officious person with biro ticks them off, and in fairness rightly so. No one was hurt.

Is there anything that people won't film and upload?

Why were they filming in the first place? I found that almost as strange as yer wans actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

darkdubh wrote: »
    Why were they filming in the first place? I found that almost as strange as yer wans actions.

Possibly a friend doing a dare?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭VG31

darkdubh wrote: »

He films entire flights, not just on the plane in the airports as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Apes on a plane.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

He films entire flights, not just on the plane in the airports as well.

Jaysus, I wonder does he show guests his flight videos.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Oh and the most bizarre thing was a passenger who stripped naked and began masturbating on a flight from bergamo to charleroi.
    Flight was full and they had to move women sitting next to him to the jump seats.
    Security waiting for him when we landed.

Deadly serious.

Was it this lad? :D

http://www.thejournal.ie/corks-96fm-presenter-exposed-himself-on-flight-report-41946-Nov2010/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Stonedpilot

Did see a woman balling crying in London before cos she couldn't afford to rebook a flight she missed. Guy calmly walks over asks how much she needs and hands her about £150 and walks away. Nice guy.

Also met a woman in Manchester who had a spiritual experience in Brazil aka drugs binge. She had only met me but 'felt my soul' and after a few mins chit chat on spirituality and life's journey she asked me did I want to pop an e and meet her in the toilets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Did see a woman balling crying in London before cos she couldn't afford to rebook a flight she missed. Guy calmly walks over asks how much she needs and hands her about £150 and walks away. Nice guy.

Also met a woman in Manchester who had a spiritual experience in Brazil aka drugs binge. She had only met me but 'felt my soul' and after a few mins chit chat on spirituality and life's journey she asked me did I want to pop an e and meet her in the toilets.

And?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Porklife

And?

Yeah... and?? I need closure on that anecdote!!

Regarding the couple with the guy reading to the girl, she wasn't blind and it wasn't romantic, at least not for me! I was hungover after a crazy weekend in Berlin and they were taking turns reading between bouts of passionately making out. Romantic as hell for them no doubt but incredibly irritating to be sitting next to it.

That's another thing, couples making out on planes. Maybe if couples stopped making out all over the shop, guys would stop with the w*nking! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

And?

Think his name might give a clue to what happened

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

PASSENGERS ARE ALWAYS THE REASON FOR STRESS IN AN AIRPORT.

Not the airline.

Not the airport.

Not the transport network.

Not the internet.

Not car parks.

Anyone who has even the slightest experience in air travel should be able to negotiate the simple task of boarding an airplane effectively and without annoying the people around you.

Sometimes things happen. I get it. However, screaming at airport staff will never solve your problem.

jamesbere wrote: »
    Think his name might give a clue to what happened

No. No it doesn't. :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

PASSENGERS ARE ALWAYS THE REASON FOR STRESS IN AN AIRPORT.

Not the airline.

Not the airport.

Not the transport network.

Not the internet.

Not car parks.

Anyone who has even the slightest experience in air travel should be able to negotiate the simple task of boarding an airplane effectively and without annoying the people around you.

Sometimes things happen. I get it. However, screaming at airport staff will never solve your problem.

Great info, now what odd behaviour have you seen?

Sat beside 2 Ukrainian hookers on a flight from Istanbul to Dublin. One of them kept offering me sweets and feeding them to my mouth. One was a stunner (the feeder), the other quite good looking.

They didn't confirm that they were hookers but they had all the hallmarks. Visit Dublin regularly to work. Just back from working in Dubai. Said they worked as a masseuse. Very little inhibitions. It just clicked.

Any in flight service? (Know what I mean)

pilly wrote: »
    Great info, now what odd behaviour have you seen?

Ryanair now print which door you should board through on your boarding pass.

If you are sitting in row 1 you board through the front door and so on.

You will continue to find people who board through the wrong door and blame the cabin crew for it when it is pointed out to them.

Anyone ever noticed that there is no row 13 on most flights?

The superstition has become so popular

Anyone ever noticed that there is no row 13 on most flights?

The superstition has become so popular

That's been around since the 13th guy didn't make into the starting line up for the apostles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

People who stand up the SECOND the plane stops after taxiing to their gate, and look all impatient and muttering whilst looking at their watches, as if they should IMMEDIATELY be able to depart. Jesus, you aren't going anywhere for a few mins, what's the bloody point in standing up right away...

Surely it's to get to the front to disembark quickly.

Having had the experience of having to get a tight connection and having to wait behind someone stacking their families baggage in the aisle holding up everyone ( and refusing to get out of the way), I can understand the attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

People who stand up the SECOND the plane stops after taxiing to their gate, and look all impatient and muttering whilst looking at their watches, as if they should IMMEDIATELY be able to depart. Jesus, you aren't going anywhere for a few mins, what's the bloody point in standing up right away...
    It's happened to me a few times that someone sitting between me and the window decides to get snippy that I've chosen to do that. I let them out, endure the entirely unwarranted evil eye, and sit back down. They spend the next ten minutes standing beside me, usually clutching multiples of the permitted carry-on baggage.

That's been around since the 13th guy didn't make into the starting line up for the apostles.

So was air travel I imagine.

Its still bizarre though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Ehh, mind me asking what were the sweets ?
    Muahahaha wrote: »
    Then at 8pm that night we got ferried in clapped out mini-buses to the airport. Boarded the plane pretty quick but then the action kicked off. As it was September there were a good few single female going back to their university in London on board. The problem with that was people were complaining to the stewards that single Muslim women could not sit beside men. Cue lots of musical chairs and lots of arguing from families with kids who got split up over it. This charade had been going on for around about 20 minutes and the flight was now delayed for take off. The pilot ended up coming down into the cabin and he switched a few people around to try to balance things up but whatever way it was done it was impossible to keep single women from sitting next to a man without splitting up families and children. It was like some high level game of chess, for every person you moved it had implications somewhere else on the plane. There was lots of shouting and running battles going on between the pilot and several women with kids throughout this time. From what I gathered these women were adamant that a single girl should not be seated beside a man but also that no family should be split up. At about the 40 minute mark the pilot, looking ready to explode with anger roared loudly to the whole plane, stormed off and duly flew the plane off.

After all that I was left sitting beside a single student and asked her what it was that the pilot had said. She spoke very good english told me that roughly it was along the lines of "I dont fcuking care where you all sit, Im going now to fly the fcuking plane".

It's a good thing there were no Russian or Ukrainian women on board or the shyte would really have hit the fan. :D

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

Sometimes airlines give you boarding zones. I remember once I was in Zone B. I sat at my gate reading, the crew announce to board families and the disabled. I stay put. Then they announce they are boarding Zone A, I stay put. Then Zone B is next, I stand up and head to the desk and wait behind people standing in front of the desk, none of them are moving or going forward. Eventually I ask "are ye guys boarding" and they respond "Oh no, we're in Zone D/C/E" and internally I scream "THEN WHY IN THE NAME OF LIVING **** ARE YOU STANDING IN THE FúCking WAY!!"

Instead I just go "Oh ok, I'll just schooch past you there as I'm in Zone B"