Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Dublin V Mayo .. opinions on the final

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

blanch152 wrote: »
    Biased propaganda is bad all right. What's worse is inconsistent biased propaganda when the league matters one minute and is dismissed the next.

Mayo don't take the league seriously man, bar the last few games depending on how they are going. They cant afford to because the squad is scattered across the country and so combining that and championship year on year risks burning guys out. It is a sacrifice they have to make and have done for a number of years now. They just want to stay up and their form follows this pattern. Anyone with a bit of cop on can see this.

What I don't understand from your post is why the league either always counts or never counts? We all know that isn't the reality. For example Dublin had an unbeaten record to maintain, and more silverware on offer to add to their attempts at becoming the best team ever, and against their (at the time) biggest threat for the coming year. That is in no way comparable to say mayo v cavan or something like that. To say they all have to count or none have to count is just nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

The same misfiring Kerry team, minus O'Donoghue and Donaghy, beat Dublin in the league final, rattling over 20 points in the process...

League final was Kerry's All Ireland. Dublin treated league much as they did O'Byrne Cup. Were not going to over-exert themselves.

Kerry psyched themselves out with their obsession with Dublin - who would most likely have won in extra time - and you people reaped the benefits. Just look at the panicky selections and changes Fitzmaurice made in the two games against yourselves.

No, no ... don't thank us :)

Bonniedog wrote: »
    League final was Kerry's All Ireland. Dublin treated league much as they did O'Byrne Cup. Were not going to over-exert themselves.

Kerry psyched themselves out with their obsession with Dublin - who would most likely have won in extra time - and you people reaped the benefits. Just look at the panicky selections and changes Fitzmaurice made in the two games against yourselves.

No, no ... don't thank us

Not really to be fair. They definitely wanted to win it alright, but so did Dublin, let's call it straight here. Id accept Dublin were up and down for the league, but by the time the final came around everyone would be training properly.

As for psyching themselves out with an obsession with Dublin, surely that should have occurred when they actually played Dublin? And his selections, Id suggest a Kerry team plus donaghy and o'donoghue is superior to one without. Maybe you wouldn't. Besides that, it was much the same lineup.

It is like some lads cant entertain any point that may suggest that their county isn't basically infallible, and anyone suggesting otherwise cannot be taken at face value, but rather they have to have some personalised gripe or something. Dublin were beaten by Kerry in the league final lads, get over it. I accept Dublin comfortably beat Mayo, but it is clear to any reasonable person that mayo, due to travelling constraints etc, don't really do a whole pile for the league and haven't for about 6 years. That is all I have said and there is nothing unreasonable in it. So where this feigned indignation is coming from, Im not really sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Not really to be fair. They definitely wanted to win it alright, but so did Dublin, let's call it straight here. Id accept Dublin were up and down for the league, but by the time the final came around everyone would be training properly.

As for psyching themselves out with an obsession with Dublin, surely that should have occurred when they actually played Dublin? And his selections, Id suggest a Kerry team plus donaghy and o'donoghue is superior to one without. Maybe you wouldn't. Besides that, it was much the same lineup.

It is like some lads cant entertain any point that may suggest that their county isn't basically infallible, and anyone suggesting otherwise cannot be taken at face value, but rather they have to have some personalised gripe or something. Dublin were beaten by Kerry in the league final lads, get over it. I accept Dublin comfortably beat Mayo, but it is clear to any reasonable person that mayo, due to travelling constraints etc, don't really do a whole pile for the league and haven't for about 6 years. That is all I have said and there is nothing unreasonable in it. So where this feigned indignation is coming from, Im not really sure.

Yeah, Dublin hammered Mayo in the League. The star of that game Conor McHugh couldn't get into the 26 for the last game. Six of the 15 starters were changed by the Tyrone game.

So you could make the argument that Dublin are weaker now if you want:D:D:D

It was not meant as a slight on Mayo, Mayo Are Magic. Quite the opposite.

Dublin and Mayo have been the best teams in country for last 4/5 years. I am suggesting that Kerry unusually for them were a bit uncertain and Mayo deservedly beat them. Thus adding another nightmare to the long winter for the Princes :-)

They are fond of slagging other counties for their alleged deficiencies of character but when teams like Down and Galway in the 1960s, and Dublin latterly, Tyrone in noughties and now yourselves, upset the balance of the universe they don't cope very well!

I was delighted to see you bate them even though I reckon Dublin would have wiped floor with them. Which is unlikely with either team Sunday week.

Yeah, Dublin hammered Mayo in the League. The star of that game Conor McHugh couldn't get into the 26 for the last game. Six of the 15 starters were changed by the Tyrone game.

So you could make the argument that Dublin are weaker now if you want:D:D:D

Im holding out some hope that you will at some point talk genuinely about the upcoming game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

Funny you mention golf. Amateur golfers do indeed carry a handicap. GAA is also amateur.

As for Leicester City. Just to clarify, you are giving an example of one non-money driven side winning something in 25 attempts... And this is supposed to support your argument? :P

So celtic have hit a golden patch and it wont last forever? So everyone just sits and waits for the spl to right itself then, while interest in it drop further and further off the face off the earth, right? Because that is the best thing for everyone involved. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Golf - When Tiger Woods was winning consistently, there was a campaign that he should be handicapped to even the playing field. You know this.

25 years or not, Leicester showed the big money doesn't always win. You know this.

Celtic are way ahead of the other clubs in Scotland. It wasn't always so, and it won't always be so. You know this.

And all the competing clubs & sportsmen know this too, as do their fans. But most of them aren't bitching that the rules need to change because that big team they don't like have had a few successes in recent years.

Man up, support your county who will surely win a final one day - maybe even this year. Vouching rule changes to improve your chances reeks of desperation & sour grapes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Darragh Ó Sé has his opinion on the game. In fairness, some of his views are how quite a lot of people see it, especially those with blinkers on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

Nice piece by Darragh O Se.

"The funny thing with Mayo is that they get credit for how brave they are but almost never for how good they are. You’d think by now, after all these years, people would be wise to the quality they have. But no. It’s always guts and character and all that kind of thing that people go to first....
    And again, all the talk since they beat Kerry out the gate is that Eamonn Fitzmaurice has no players at all down in Kerry. Nothing to do with Mayo being a superior team."

This is what gets under my skin. Counting Mayo as one of the top 3 or 4 in the country but writing them off before every big game. Credit when and where its due.

big b wrote: »
    Golf - When Tiger Woods was winning consistently, there was a campaign that he should be handicapped to even the playing field. You know this.

25 years or not, Leicester showed the big money doesn't always win. You know this.

Celtic are way ahead of the other clubs in Scotland. It wasn't always so, and it won't always be so. You know this.

And all the competing clubs & sportsmen know this too, as do their fans. But most of them aren't bitching that the rules need to change because that big team they don't like have had a few successes in recent years.

Man up, support your county who will surely win a final one day - maybe even this year. Vouching rule changes to improve your chances reeks of desperation & sour grapes.

Ya, because other teams challenging once every 25 years would be good for the gaa, and tiger woods, being one man who will get injured, lose form and retire, is the same as a massive juggernaut churning out teams :rolleyes:

I wonder if 15 odd years ago, when Dublin needed funding from the taxpayer to be competitive, if they were told to man up and support their team, what the reaction would have been? Dublin are a fine side, a credit to themselves, but some of their fans are painfully lacking in self-awareness.

Nice piece by Darragh O Se.

"The funny thing with Mayo is that they get credit for how brave they are but almost never for how good they are. You’d think by now, after all these years, people would be wise to the quality they have. But no. It’s always guts and character and all that kind of thing that people go to first....
    And again, all the talk since they beat Kerry out the gate is that Eamonn Fitzmaurice has no players at all down in Kerry. Nothing to do with Mayo being a superior team."

This is what gets under my skin. Counting Mayo as one of the top 3 or 4 in the country but writing them off before every big game. Credit when and where its due.

An earlier piece by Darragh really sets out the challenge facing Mayo.

https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/darragh-%C3%B3-s%C3%A9-do-we-take-for-granted-how-good-stephen-cluxton-is-1.3202513?mode=sample&auth-failed=1&pw-origin=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.irishtimes.com%2Fsport%2Fgaelic-games%2Fdarragh-%25C3%25B3-s%25C3%25A9-do-we-take-for-granted-how-good-stephen-cluxton-is-1.3202513

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,402 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatInABox

An earlier piece by Darragh really sets out the challenge facing Mayo.

Cluxton is a big factor. Tyrone completely sat back and let him place the ball where he liked.

Ya have to push up on him. I would hope Mayo will.

Cluxton is a big factor. Tyrone completely sat back and let him place the ball where he liked.

Ya have to push up on him. I would hope Mayo will.

O'Se addresses that.

Tyrone pushed up on him a few times and he just pinged it over the press.

The Dublin defenders retreated drawing the Tyrone attackers with them allowing space for Cluxton to find Scully and Kilkenny who made runs into space. Their runs are practiced in training and it is easier for Cluxton to find his target

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

I lose all respect for posters who advocate 'pushing up' on Cluxtons kickouts now.

It sort of signifies you're defiant and looking to take the game to the opposition but in reality you're conceding a 60/40, 70/30 to Dublin (the fastest team in the country) to run clean at your full back line.

The novelty of it allowed Kerry (who executed brilliantly on the day) to pick off 2 goals last year but anyone who didn't recognise Cluxton flatly refusing to entertain the press in the second half, or since, is blind.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

djPSB wrote: »
    Own goals again?

Don't recall O'Shea scoring any own goals

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭dmcm_90

It will be tough game as both teams are strong. Dublin will probably win as they have cluxton who is an all star, connoly, rock , brogan, small and few other good player's. It's hard to say for sure. Only time will tell and let's not forget the mayo curse thats still been talked about

corny wrote: »
    I lose all respect for posters who advocate 'pushing up' on Cluxtons kickouts now.

It sort of signifies you're defiant and looking to take the game to the opposition but in reality you're conceding a 60/40, 70/30 to Dublin (the fastest team in the country) to run clean at your full back line.

The novelty of it allowed Kerry (who executed brilliantly on the day) to pick off 2 goals last year but anyone who didn't recognise Cluxton flatly refusing to entertain the press in the second half, or since, is blind.

Cluxton is the greatest footballer of his generation. Not one team has found a way to consistently stop him, rules have been changed because of what he brings to the game, and the final point is that no other team has been able to replicate his success on a consistent basis. A once in a lifetime sportsman.

corny wrote: »

Then how do you approach the kickouts? Let Cluxton take it short and hand possession to Dublin every time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,345 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Then how do you approach the kickouts? Let Cluxton take it short and hand possession to Dublin every time?

That's basically what we did last year and there's merit to doing that for periods. But I don't think there's any doubt that we'll mix it up more this year.

The key to beating Dublin in a Championship game is to try something new.

Donegal in 2012 with their counter-attacking defence surprised Dublin, and won the game, but only barely. By the time, Dublin played Carlow, Monaghan and Tyrone this year, they could beat the tactic easily.

Kerry last year with their full-court press surprised Dublin, but not enough to win the game as Dublin learned more quickly. The full court press doesn't work so well now because Dublin are ready for it. Cluxton will ping the ball over the top to his half-forwards who will claim a mark if necessary.

So how do you beat Dublin? You come up with a tactical surprise and you have the quality of player to execute those tactics for 70 minutes.

The reason Kerry didn't beat Dublin last year was down to Cluxton remaining calm and controlled even though his kicks to cause the goals had gone astray whereas the Dublin forwards in 2012 panicked in the face of Donegal's tactics. Conclusion is that you won't get away with targetting Cluxton for 70 minutes.

O'Se addresses that.

Tyrone pushed up on him a few times and he just pinged it over the press.

The Dublin defenders retreated drawing the Tyrone attackers with them allowing space for Cluxton to find Scully and Kilkenny who made runs into space. Their runs are practiced in training and it is easier for Cluxton to find his target

Hmm, you seem to be taking every word O'Se says in one article as gospel, yet completely ignoring his other one... :rolleyes:

The thing with your tactic is, mayo have seen it now. They can just go zonal further out the field and press the inside line, like Dublin themselves do. I expect there to be various presses going on on both kickouts.

Have you considered what Kerry did to Cluxton in last year's semi at all?

The key to beating Dublin in a Championship game is to try something new.

Donegal in 2012 with their counter-attacking defence surprised Dublin, and won the game, but only barely. By the time, Dublin played Carlow, Monaghan and Tyrone this year, they could beat the tactic easily.

Kerry last year with their full-court press surprised Dublin, but not enough to win the game as Dublin learned more quickly. The full court press doesn't work so well now because Dublin are ready for it. Cluxton will ping the ball over the top to his half-forwards who will claim a mark if necessary.

So how do you beat Dublin? You come up with a tactical surprise and you have the quality of player to execute those tactics for 70 minutes.

The reason Kerry didn't beat Dublin last year was down to Cluxton remaining calm and controlled even though his kicks to cause the goals had gone astray whereas the Dublin forwards in 2012 panicked in the face of Donegal's tactics. Conclusion is that you won't get away with targetting Cluxton for 70 minutes.

Barely? That game was over with half an hour to go...

The way to beat his kickout is the same as beating any kickout, limit his options and pressure the kick. His temper is a big weakness. Id target kicking his extra ball away any time a ball is coming in and damage his tee. Maybe go down injured in his way a few times also.
    Id imagine Dublin will try to isolate AOS on kickouts and kick to his sides. Mayo will probably have him on the 40, and play zonal around him.

Mayo's strength is their physicality and fitness and pace. that's why they've been competitive with Dublin where others, including Kerry, have fallen away in last ten minutes.

So, Mayo's best chance is to take Dublin on. Worrying thing I thought from Mato perspective about first Kerry game was that having run them ragged at the start, they strangely retreated into themselves and allowed them come back. that would have been time to press up like Dublin did against Tyrone, hold the ball, frustrate them and wait for openings or fouls. Instead they seemed to be content to play across their own 40 for a long time.

Now admittedly they probably corrected that second day so be interesting to see what way they set up. Likewise Dublin will not follow same pattern as Tyrone game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Bigger question will be how Clarke handles his kickouts .. he has a floated kickout that hangs too long and he can't kick it long distances by inter county standards, he'll have a lot more problems to face than Cluxton

Barely? That game was over with half an hour to go...

The way to beat his kickout is the same as beating any kickout, limit his options and pressure the kick. His temper is a big weakness. Id target kicking his extra ball away any time a ball is coming in and damage his tee. Maybe go down injured in his way a few times also.
    Id imagine Dublin will try to isolate AOS on kickouts and kick to his sides. Mayo will probably have him on the 40, and play zonal around him.

Cluxton has seen it all. There was a time when he would react, but that is last decade kind of stuff. Like against Kerry last year, he can lose a few kickouts in a row, and rather than losing his temper will figure a way around it. If Mayo resort to your suggestions they are acting in desperation.

You can't go zonal on his kickouts, the Dublin outfield moves too much and too fast for that and it will inevitably end up with a short kick-out unopposed to one of the corner backs.

To win a fair percentage of his kickouts you have to go man-to-man. The problem is that leaves your defence vulnerable to the Dublin attack even if Dublin win only 40% of their own kick-outs. You also need to ensure your own kick-out strategy stands up to Dublin pressure - this is where Mayo are particularly vulnerable.

Finally, isn't it clear how good and how important Cluxton is just by the amount of time spent talking about how to counter his kick-out strategy?

Ah we're just not as big of fan boys about our keeper. Clarke kicked 21/22 successful kick outs against Kerry in the replay but sure lookit, tis grand.

Do you think Cluxton might come up the field to win a few of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PARlance wrote:
    Ah we're just not as big of fan boys about our keeper. Clarke kicked 21/22 successful kick outs against Kerry in the replay but sure lookit, tis grand.

He got lobbed and let one though his legs against Roscommon though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭corny

Dublin did that against Kerry last year. Kealy kicked it to Enright on every possession. Its not without merit. I think the stats fellas say you have the greatest chance of stopping attacks if they start with the corner back.

I'm not a fan of man marking. Mayo lost in 2013 because they tried to follow Dublin man for man and Cluxton picked out mismatched weak links time and again. If a runner gets out in front of you there's sometimes nothing you can do. Kerry did it to Dublin in the league final, Clarke did it to Kerry in the recent semi etc.

As Parlance said the key to a good strategy is mixing it up. Dublin played a weird set up against Monaghan but it was a bluff/practice for what they tried on Tyrone. There'll probably be a novelty to what they try next day too. Thats the nature of the game now with the top teams and its the reason they're virtually immune to defeat from the weaker teams. They put in serious work on this stuff and it goes way beyond 'pushing up' because it might make intuitive sense to do so.

Stoner wrote: »
    He got lobbed and let one though his legs against Roscommon though.

He was just making it a tough hard battle for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

PARlance wrote:
    He was just making it a tough hard battle for us.

That's exactly what I thought too when I saw it. Great minds and all that

PARlance wrote: »

Do you think Cluxton might come up the field to win a few of them?

He won't do 21/22 against Dublin!

I reckon Dublin will target Clarke's kickouts and will get some success from them.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭bazzare

Mayo just have to feckin go for it.. theres no other way.

theres no point in sitting back and trying to defend.. thats what Tyrone did and look what happened.

I reckon that Mayo just need to go for broke and attack them as much as they can.

Dublin have not had a serious contest for a good while.. I wonder how they will stand up if Mayo rattle them..

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Looking forward to the final,should be an interesting game and I wish both counties all the best in the final and I hope its a cracker.

Mayo had too much hunger and a higher work rate then our fellas but I think they will have to up it another notch though against the Dubs to rattle them as I do think Dublin should be well able to handle the pressure that our lads cracked under,

Dublin by 3 or 4 points.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

That is old news from last week and Stephen Rochford simply stating his opinions around incidents in the final last year.You can call it trying to apply pressure on the officials this year,buy influence or whatever you want.

Jim Gavin and co are well able to do same,what is good for the goose is good for the gander.All part of the mind games and build up to the game.Hardly excuses as yet,sure we might as well turn up for game at least.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 119 ✭✭mezzz

mayo are the north korea of football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Hardly an excuse he's just trying to influence the referee.If anything it's the exact opposite and he's being proactive trying to get at the referee already before the Dubs try anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Gael85

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Same As

Hard to see beyond Dublin here, despite the closeness between the two sides in recent years. Dublin have improved year on year, and while there has been some improvement in Mayo in recent games, I just can't see them turning the Dubs over (as much as I would like them to!)

Mayo profited against Kerry who failed to match their intensity over the two games. While Dublin haven't been presented with such a challenge so far this year, they can cope with this type of intensity and are incredibly patient. Their forward movement, transition from defence to attack and as just mentioned their patience and game management will see them through by 3-4.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

Dublin I feel are a much better team than last year and you could argue if Andy Moran doesnt perform that Mayo are not as as good as they were last year.  Dublin seemed flat and stale last year but McCaffrey back and with the likes of OCallaghan, and Mannion bringing new life to them.
    However, Mayo always seem to have the matching of Dublin for some reason and it will be tight no doubt, there wont be more than one score in it coming into the final 10 mins
    On paper Dublin should blow Mayo away but it doesnt always work out like that
    My prediction Dublin by 5, with a burst in the final 10 minutes after a heroic first 60 from Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

seligehgit wrote: »
    That is old news from last week and Stephen Rochford simply stating his opinions around incidents in the final last year.You can call it trying to apply pressure on the officials this year,buy influence or whatever you want.

Jim Gavin and co are well able to do same,what is good for the goose is good for the gander.All part of the mind games and build up to the game.Hardly excuses as yet,sure we might as well turn up for game at least.

I've sympathy with Rochford on this one.

It is statistically unlikely that in four consecutive championship games, the opposition's best player would be sent off......

That is to say - Mayo, Carlow, Kildare the oppositions best player was sent off, in each case for debatable decisions, and then against Monaghan Ciaran McManus got a yellow and could well have been sent off when Jonny Cooper went down like a sack of potatoes, it looked at the time like he was going to be sent off.

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/jonny-cooper-embarrassed-dive-reaction-conor-mcmanus-scuffle-132817

Note - I'm not expressing an opinion here - the facts are the facts.

If they didnt do something that warranted a black or red card they would have stayed on the pitch, simple as
    Perhaps it is the intense pressure you are under from Dublin that leads guys to do these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,709 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

kilns wrote: »
    If they didnt do something that warranted a black or red card they would have stayed on the pitch, simple as
    Perhaps it is the intense pressure you are under from Dublin that leads guys to do these things

Really...

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/lee-keegan-diarmuid-connolly-97825

DoctaDee wrote: »
    Bigger question will be how Clarke handles his kickouts .. he has a floated kickout that hangs too long and he can't kick it long distances by inter county standards, he'll have a lot more problems to face than Cluxton

Well Kerry couldn't get to grips with them this year, and they caused cluxton to go into meltdown-mode last year.

Of course Dublin will get some joy on his kickout, but then mayo will do the same on cluxtons' kickout. That happens in most games. I mean it would be very unusual for any keeper not to have a few kickouts intercepted in a game, no more than a free taker might miss a free or two. People seem to zero in on Clarke's for the same reason that people zero in on AOS flitting in and out of games but not Diarmuid Connolly for doing same - the winners generally take the plaudits.

With the underlying assumption that an official cannot get anything wrong, ever...
    Officials like Ciaran Brannigan...

The funny thing about that exchange is, the black card offence was in fact Connolly's - Remonstrating in an aggressive manner with a Match Official. Looking back on it, with all the nonsense that went on, I think it would have been a good idea to give the two of them a black card each, put an end to the sideshow and get on with the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Gael85 wrote: »
    Is this another interview or same article from last week?

Rehash of last week I'm assuming.

Tombo2001 wrote: »

Really...

https://www.sportsjoe.ie/gaa/lee-keegan-diarmuid-connolly-97825
    It was a black card, Keegan took that risk and paid the price

• Registered Users Posts: 1,038 ✭✭✭Barlett

Not really, just making sure it's not a load of Dubs banging on about one player in the papers every day in the lead up to the final.

With the underlying assumption that an official cannot get anything wrong, ever...
    Officials like Ciaran Brannigan...

The funny thing about that exchange is, the black card offence was in fact Connolly's - Remonstrating in an aggressive manner with a Match Official. Looking back on it, with all the nonsense that went on, I think it would have been a good idea to give the two of them a black card each, put an end to the sideshow and get on with the game.
    Officials get plenty of calls wrong, like a Cillian OConnor elbow to a face
    You can argue for and against calls all day long and despite what some say referees dont have some hidden agendas, they try to the best they can and neutrally as they can and mostly do a great job.  Blaming a referee for a teams short comings is just an excuse to cover bigger issues up