Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Shot in Offaly.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Mach Two

Could be a number of possibilities. But at 10 PM maybe he found the backstop he was looking for.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Lets not go down that route.

Lads out hunting can often come across each other. It's why you must be extra vigilante vigilant.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

You mean vigilant. Freudian eh?

Cass wrote: »

Lads out hunting can often come across each other. It's why you must be extra vigilante.

Couldn't agree with you more. We should all be more extra vigilante.

Ah balls.

Erm, auto correct, fecking thing. :D
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,023 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

An awful painful place to be shot in Offaly.About as bad as being shot in "the Ardoyne." or "the Falls road area" Bet some foreign doctors on hearing those must have wondered what they missed in Med school in anatomy back in the NI troubles.:D:D
    [Sorry, my black sense of humour is kicking up these days]

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

I'm after seeing the article in a few different news papers (online) and it's gone from :

"he was struck with a couple of pellets and was released from hospital shortly after admittance"

to

"he was lucky to be alive considering the serious of the gunshot wound".

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

sounds about right

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

This article, while short, says a young lad was shot while out in a field.

Now the details are few to non existent, but taking a stab it could be a case of another lad in an adjoining field and did not know his danger area or check his backstop.

A young lad or a man?

Suppose man is more appropriate. 21 i think it said.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Lads out hunting can often come across each other. It's why you must be extra vigilante vigilant.

As far as I know, none of the people involved in the shooting, were out hunting on the night in question.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭SeanPuddin_

A farmer is outstanding in his field...

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭tikkamark

Hopefully the chap is okay,hard to know for sure what happened.Unusual though that the Garda are searching the area wonder did whoever fired the shot leave the scene or even realise he had hit someone??

tikkamark wrote: »
    Hopefully the chap is okay,hard to know for sure what happened.Unusual though that the Garda are searching the area wonder did whoever fired the shot leave the scene or even realise he had hit someone??

O he knew he had hit someONE alright. He was aiming for TWO. Think of it as a love/hate situation.

How was it that the person that was injured was only injured on the legs from a long way away. Was there an independent witness to clarify the distance.

Mach Two wrote: »
    How was it that the person that was injured was only injured on the legs from a long way away. Was there an independent witness to clarify the distance.

Think they made a break for it. One got hit and the other escaped injury. That's what locals are saying anyway

Eddie B wrote: »
    Think they made a break for it. One got hit and the other escaped injury. That's what locals are saying anyway

Would that be a "break in" or a "break out".

• Registered Users Posts: 8,748 ✭✭✭degsie

Was it his left or right Offaly?

Mach Two wrote: »
    Would that be a "break in" or a "break out".

More like a break for freedom lol

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Am I correct in thinking that this wasn't a hunting accident?

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Suppose man is more appropriate. 21 i think it said.

Yes, under the eyes of the law the age of majority act states an adult is 18+ so he is not a "young lad"

vicwatson wrote: »
    A young lad or a man?
    vicwatson wrote: »
    Yes, under the eyes of the law the age of majority act states an adult is 18+ so he is not a "young lad"
    Jaysus you've a real hang up about that don't ya?

Look up the definition of the word lad. It states a boy or young man.
    Eddie B wrote: »
    As far as I know, none of the people involved in the shooting, were out hunting on the night in question.
    Really.

Not for this forum so. Closing thread.