Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2018 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales** [Part 1]

• Subscribers Posts: 41,634 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Take a listen to their latest album and tell me they're not a pop band

I think my initial point has been lost in the nit picking....... Which actually backs up my point.

Even the "rock" bands booked have more than a hint of popness to them. Other years had big pop acts high up the headline but had a much more eclectic mix in the under card.

This year we have obvious pop acts high up the card, but the undercard is completely awash with the radio friendly pop acts I've been referring to.
    Perhaps it's just a reflection of the crowd they are aiming for going forward, which is fine. Probably a reflection of music on general as even awards like the Mercury music etc have begun to embrace the obvious pop.

Im just remarking on how the eclectic seems to be the rare in this line up, not as pervasive as previous years.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Ash are a pop rock band.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,098 ✭✭✭Poorside

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I think my initial point has been lost in the nit picking....... Which actually backs up my point.

Even the "rock" bands booked have more than a hint of popness to them. Other years had big pop acts high up the headline but had a much more eclectic mix in the under card.

This year we have obvious pop acts high up the card, but the undercard is completely awash with the radio friendly pop acts I've been referring to.
    Perhaps it's just a reflection of the crowd they are aiming for going forward, which is fine. Probably a reflection of music on general as even awards like the Mercury music etc have begun to embrace the obvious pop.

Im just remarking on how the eclectic seems to be the rare in this line up, not as pervasive as previous years.

Maybe you’re just not with it anymore...
    No, that can’t be right, everyone else is wrong 🀨

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭MsMojave

Ah here nothing wrong with a good pop song.

Rock pop, power pop, pop punk whatever. Nobody will take your "I'm a fan of real music" badge away from you.

MsMojave wrote: »
    Ah here nothing wrong with a good pop song.

Rock pop, power pop, pop punk whatever. Nobody will take your "I'm a fan of real music" badge away from you.

Hang on, im certainly not saying they're anything "wrong" with pop music.
    I'm just lamenting the amount of pop music on the bill....saying its a lot more than previous years. The casual music fan will be delighted, as the Facebook response to the second announcements attests.

If anyone wants to argue against that, go ahead.

And I completely agree with you, that you can have pop punk, pop rock, Funk pop etc..... There seems to be those out there who don't realise this.

Poorside wrote: »
    Maybe you’re just not with it anymore...
    No, that can’t be right, everyone else is wrong 🀨

It?

I was never with "it"..... Whatever that means.

And obviously when it comes to music it's highly subjective and what I'm saying is "well that's like your opinion man"

You missed the Simpsons quote syd.

BaZmO* wrote: »
    You missed the Simpsons quote syd.

You may clue me in baz? :)

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Hang on, im certainly not saying they're anything "wrong" with pop music.
    I'm just lamenting the amount of pop music on the bill....saying its a lot more than previous years. The casual music fan will be delighted, as the Facebook response to the second announcements attests.

If anyone wants to argue against that, go ahead.

And I completely agree with you, that you can have pop punk, pop rock, Funk pop etc..... There seems to be those out there who don't realise this.

Ah yeah I get you. More about those who have an allergic reaction to finding out the music that means a lot to them may not be as “specialised” as they think.

For example I’ve been to two RHCP gigs in the past few years, my bf is the fan. No denying they are what they are but even he agreed that seeing them now is arguably a lot different than if you’d seen them in the 90s. Maybe a bad example because I don’t think you can tag pop into them but definitely popular/radio friendly. Who wants to be in a band and never have commercial success?

Thus is the curse and we should all own what we like despite what someone may say about it. It’s your ears and your money and we’ll all die someday and be delighted we spent an afternoon cleaning to ABBA that one time or whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Headford01

Does anybody know if the Yellow Carpark is open on the Thursday night if you have an early entry ticket??

Ah yeah I get you. More about those who have an allergic reaction to finding out the music that means a lot to them may not be as “specialised” as they think.

For example I’ve been to two RHCP gigs in the past few years, my bf is the fan. No denying they are what they are but even he agreed that seeing them now is arguably a lot different than if you’d seen them in the 90s. Maybe a bad example because I don’t think you can tag pop into them but definitely popular/radio friendly. Who wants to be in a band and never have commercial success?

Thus is the curse and we should all own what we like despite what someone may say about it. It’s your ears and your money and we’ll all die someday and be delighted we spent an afternoon cleaning to ABBA that one time or whatever.

Sorry TDLR

Someone calls a band you like pop it's not the end of the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 27 dansan7

Any chance we can get back to something positive/constructive?

Usually someone makes a list of days the artists will play. St Vincent and Death Grips look like they're playing Sunday.

Or you know, people recommending music/specific tracks.

Maybe a second group for those piddled off would work. Totally entitled to be pissed if thats how you feel. But damn this place is super negative.

As the main headliner says...

https://youtu.be/GF8aaTu2kg0

dansan7 wrote: »

Usually someone makes a list of days the artists will play. St Vincent and Death Grips look like they're playing Sunday.

Maybe a second group for those piddled off would work. Totally entitled to be pissed if thats how you feel. But damn this place is super negative.

Good idea! I know Peggy Gou is in Croatia the Friday.

• Registered Users Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

Asked last week,didnt get an answer on twitter about yellow car park. Last year it definitely wasnt open on the thursday, also wouldnt let us up the laneway to drop our stuff off at campsite,had to drive round,park at red or green,cant remember which was which. Main entrance to get wristband then we could ferry our stuff in. Shifted car round to yellow early friday morning then. Thats the short version of a feckin saga that took 3 hours odd,not one person working there had a clue about any arrangements in any way shape or form.

dansan7 wrote: »

3 artists new to me that I’ll certainly try to get to, very impressed by all 3.

Yellow Days
    Hak Baker
    Modern Strangers

• Registered Users Posts: 8,670 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

declanleo wrote: »
    The wife is super excited about her. I've not got a clue who she is

Staple Singers from the late 60s/early 70s-Respect Yourself, If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me), I’ll Take You There, etc. They did The Weight with The Band & Bob Dylan at The Last Walltz, Mavis taking lead vocals alongside Levon Helm. Jeff Tweedy resurrected her career by producing two recent albums for her. She’ll be fab.

Bad Bones has a couple of live videos from 2016 if anyone’s curious. Always a good show.

https://www.youtube.com/user/BADBONESMUSIC

• Registered Users Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Bands I haven't seen before I am looking forward to
    Whenyoung
    RSAG
    Sleep thieves
    And still lots more to discover

• Registered Users Posts: 896 ✭✭✭paulieeye

Anyone got recommendations for good hip hop acts beside kendrick ??

Or any electronic stuff along the lines of Mura Masa??

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭davew121

It sold out last year this year and it will sell out again next year.. there is never going to be the perfect line up to suit everyone taste.

Go with the flow and make the most of it thanks to this forum I've discovered loads of bands that I would never have looked at before and I'm looking forward to what this year brings too.

If its not to your taste sell your ticket there are tons of people on every platform looking to buy, I will be intrested to see how many of the unhappy posters are here next year talking about the line up for 2019??

• Registered Users Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭Lotus Flower

davew121 wrote: »
    I will be intrested to see how many of the unhappy posters are here next year talking about the line up for 2019??

I haven't been since 2015 and still read & comment on the thread. Will always take an interest in Irish festivals whether I go or not, but especially EP!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

paulieeye wrote: »
    Anyone got recommendations for good hip hop acts beside kendrick ??

Or any electronic stuff along the lines of Mura Masa??

Death Grips and Scarlxrd are technically hip-hop but very different, influenced by punk, metal and electronic music.

• Registered Users Posts: 749 ✭✭✭declanleo

The wife and I,her sister and brother in another tent are staying in eco this year,what can we expect? What's the craic? Are there dos and dont's?

declanleo wrote: »
    The wife and I,her sister and brother in another tent are staying in eco this year,what can we expect? What's the craic? Are there dos and dont's?

Do share cans with your neighbors, don’t bring shïtty beer for sharing.

• Registered Users Posts: 59 ✭✭the_gommes

Bad Bones has a couple of live videos from 2016 if anyone’s curious. Always a good show.

https://www.youtube.com/user/BADBONESMUSIC

Thanks for the suggestion, she’s just jumped right up my to see list. Sounds right up my street.

As someone who has to work in an environment with either 2fm or today fm playing constantly in the background, I can confidently state that I’ll spend less time listening to picture this/Gavin James or any of the rest of those whingebags than I do on a regular weekday. More positive suggestions, less lamenting the lost magic of EP past from here on I say!

the_gommes wrote: »
    Thanks for the suggestion, she’s just jumped right up my to see list. Sounds right up my street.

As someone who has to work in an environment with either 2fm or today fm playing constantly in the background, I can confidently state that I’ll spend less time listening to picture this/Gavin James or any of the rest of those whingebags than I do on a regular weekday. More positive suggestions, less lamenting the lost magic of EP past from here on I say!

What kind of stuff do you like?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭BadTurtle

Don't know if it's been posted, but death grips are playing the Sunday of EP. Which headliners have we confirmed for then?

BadTurtle wrote: »
    Don't know if it's been posted, but death grips are playing the Sunday of EP. Which headliners have we confirmed for then?

Generally accepted to be Prodigy as they are playing Italy on Friday.

Nothing confirmed until later