Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2018 **Discussion Only // No Ticket Sales** [Part 1]

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

I've never been to eco, curious to see replies.

As am I.

Does the Eco camp site have quality toilets and showers?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

MadYaker wrote: »
    What does pink moon offer that the eco campsite doesn't? You don't have to put up a tent (this takes ten mins) You're closer to the main arena and you have your own entrance but there are regularily large queues.

There is a degree of security and it's own bar / coffee shop and restaurant.
    And it's a lot to easier to book into compared to ECO.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

What sort of process is involved in booking into ECO?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

Here's hoping for Radiohead!

/s

Really though, what headliners are we likely to be looking at? I think Foals will be in the mix.
    I think you're right about Foals. 
    Tame Impala, Libertines, Arcade Fire, LCD Soundsystem, Bad Seeds also possibles. And after Duran Duran stormed it this year there's surely a chance of A-ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,813 ✭✭✭Charlie

Eco has its own Coffee tent, and its own security. It's very secure well secure imo. And the booking process is very straightforward. Website link on their FB page when it goes live, and you simply give your name/contact details.

In terms of location, I used to think that PM trumped all, but considering I am always directed to the Red car park (coming from Dublin) and you have Rave In The Woods & The Salty Dog on your doorstep, to me the Eco has as many positives going for it location wise that PM does.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,218 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Not sure they'd have LCD back so soon but who knows. Arctic Monkeys will likely be back on the road by then too although I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with them last time.

Although bar the xx I never would have predicted this years headliners so who knows. I'd love it if Justice got the Friday night slot next year but I've no idea if they'll still be touring.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

QOTSA have just released a new album and Foo Fighters are just about to

Although the lineup was announced pretty late this year (i think, cannot remember :confused: ) If they planned on aiming for a March/April lineup, they may be just in time.

Would either be likely to happen though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,252 ✭✭✭nc6000

Hogzy wrote: »
    As am I.

Does the Eco camp site have quality toilets and showers?

Good toilets but no showers unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭the_gommes

Not sure they'd have LCD back so soon but who knows. Arctic Monkeys will likely be back on the road by then too although I have to admit I was slightly disappointed with them last time.

Although bar the xx I never would have predicted this years headliners so who knows. I'd love it if Justice got the Friday night slot next year but I've no idea if they'll still be touring.

Agreed on Justice. Their Glasto set looked immense on tv. Foals are very likely & very welcome I'd say. Would also hope for Caribou, the Naked & Famous, Tycho. Would happily have Chemical Bros & Battles back from last year but unlikely I'm sure. Plus Radiohead, obviously...

I witnessed their glasto set first hand and it was indeed immense. Yer man nearly stood on my head when he went to get the cross out of the crowd, I'd love to see them again.

I hadn't considered Queens Of The Stone Age, they'd be perfect. Foos are too big, too expensive, and too boring imo.

Snarky Snark Snark

Seathrun66 wrote: »
    I think you're right. Tame Impala, Libertines, Arcade Fire, LCD Soundsystem, Bad Seeds also possibles. And after Duran Duran stormed it this year there's surely a chance of A-ha.

I would kill for a-ha.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,658 ✭✭✭Seathrun66

MJohnston wrote: »
    And the Family Campervan tickets are gone...I guess that's me done with EP, cheers for the good times folks!
    Ah no man, surely some alternatives. I know you've said before that you'd not stay off-site but why not a local B&B? Even using a taxi it's cheaper than Pink Moon. Eco-camping I'd recommend also if it's possible in any way to go camping after campervanning it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,590 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

the_gommes wrote: »
    Agreed on Justice. Their Glasto set looked immense on tv. Foals are very likely & very welcome I'd say. Would also hope for Caribou, the Naked & Famous, Tycho. Would happily have Chemical Bros & Battles back from last year but unlikely I'm sure. Plus Radiohead, obviously...

I see Justice cancelled their Bestival set this weekend, fair play to Bestival though they roped in Soulwax as a replacement.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,951 Mod ✭✭✭✭Furious-Red

Agreed with AM in 2013 i felt Franz Ferdinand stole the show before them, Felt AM had no atmosphere and the band were going through the motions

• Registered Users Posts: 367 ✭✭sadie9

People also do a lot of Airbnb nowadays too. There's a local shuttle bus that runs every hour from morning to 4am each of the days, picks up and drops at Portlaoise train station, and the Killeshin hotel stop near the hospital. Only about 15mins to get out to the Drop Off Zone from Portlaoise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Just got my tickets.

Say what you want about EP, Festival Republic and the over-commercialisation of it all, but €165 is incredible value, and the full ticket price hasn't changed in ten years.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

Just got my tickets.

Say what you want about EP, Festival Republic and the over-commercialisation of it all, but €165 is incredible value, and the full ticket price hasn't changed in ten years.

Agreed I was saying this to our group down there, €55 a day is top value. You would pay more then that for most 2 hour gigs in Dublin!

For 3 days and the sheer amount they offer down there its incredible!

Snarky Snark Snark

Charlie wrote: »
    Eco has its own Coffee tent, and its own security. It's very secure well secure imo. And the booking process is very straightforward. Website link on their FB page when it goes live, and you simply give your name/contact details.

It is a much smaller area though isint it? ECO fills up in a few hours each year.
    Charlie wrote: »
    Rave In The Woods ... on your doorstep

that to me is hell personified on earth.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

Heard on Radio 6 on the drive to work this morning that The The will be playing shows next summer, already a couple lined up...

This should happen!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Carroller

How much is it for ECO? I find the price of pink moon outrageous I'd rather slum it and hope for good weather

Snarky Snark Snark

Carroller wrote: »
    How much is it for ECO? I find the price of pink moon outrageous I'd rather slum it and hope for good weather

ECO is free but it fills up very quickly

• Registered Users Posts: 387 ✭✭setanta74

Heard on Radio 6 on the drive to work this morning that The The will be playing shows next summer, already a couple lined up...

This should happen!!!!!

Dream booking for me. Ideal for EP. And if he could get Marr back onboard too. Holy ****.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,501 ✭✭✭PabloAndRoy

setanta74 wrote: »
    Dream booking for me. Ideal for EP. And if he could get Marr back onboard too. Holy ****.

The recent recorded stuff has been with Johnny Marr and Zeke Manyika ... There was a short interview on Shaun Keaveny's show this morning and Matt Johnson was saying how great it was playing with those guys again ... I am dreaming, but ever hopeful.

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭Kepler21

It is a much smaller area though isint it? ECO fills up in a few hours each year.
    I stayed in ECO this year for the first, but have never stayed in PM. Here are my thoughts
    1. The security is great. You have to show your wristband each time you go in. Hearing about the theft from some other campsites am even more happy about this.
    2. It wasn't as jammed as other campsites. I got in early, but even later on Friday there was space to find for your tent.
    3. There are Loowat toilets in the campsite, but you have to pay for them. I didn't. There are normal portaloos just outside the campsite; a bit hit and miss whether there was toilet paper in them, but they were mostly grand.
    4. Food: Coffee Stand and Sharon Shannon Vegan Food. Not much choice but I only needed coffee.
    5. It was in general much quieter than Warhol where I had stayed before. My neighbours were mostly great, but there was a group chatting and playing music Sunday morning from 5-7am-ish. Not too loud, but I like my sleep.
    6. It is relatively close to the Rave in the Woods and you will hear it from your tent. Having said that, I could hear it from my tent in Warhol the last few years. Accept you won't get much sleep before 4am and roll with it. I did not hear the Salty Dog music, except in the distance, as its all the way through Wilde.
    7. There are no showers. Its quite a trek to Hendrix to the Nivea showers in the morning. It would be really nice if there was a closer option.
    8. very close to Red Car park entrance. Then its just a case of how close you get your car to the Entrance. i still had about 15 mins to walk to the car after the entrance.
    9. This year they operated a loyalty list of 1,000, and an open list of 1,000. i got on the loyalty list by emailing them a few months in advance and asking to stay with them. I would imagine next year, they will mail their current list and compile a loyalty list and see what spaces are available.
    10. Completely loved the opportunity to dispose of my rubbish in an appropriate way and to see the campsite looking mostly really clean when I left.
    11. There was a recharging station for your phones, operated on a donation basis.
    12. Its still a bit of a trek to get to the music arena, all the way through Wilde and past the Salty Dog. Its not that far, but I expected it to be shorter. Far enough to make me think twice about 'just nipping back to the tent for a few minutes'.
    12. Its free. Hard to justify more than the ticket price, for posh camping.

I would 100% stay in it again, and listening to the discussion about PM the two advantages I can see for PM are that your tent is up and ready for you, and there are showers.

Snarky Snark Snark

PM does also have its own bar and sheltered area which is right handy post main arena (esp if it's a sodden festival).

PM is pricey, no questions there, i'm doing it again next year but tbh, if their price goes up again then i'll find something else (or another festival)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,293 ✭✭✭billybonkers

PM does also have its own bar and sheltered area which is right handy post main arena (esp if it's a sodden festival).

PM is pricey, no questions there, i'm doing it again next year but tbh, if their price goes up again then i'll find something else (or another festival)

€165 ticket and €105 for PM spot in a 6 man tent is well worth it. The 6 man tents are massive and properly waterproof.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭Stillill42

I've BnB'd it the last few years, worked my way up to a place in the town last year, so that's me for the foreseeable future. Lot's of people in the village seem to turn their homes into temporary BnB's for the weekend. My guy is dead on, big fry up in the morning, will drop me or pick me up if I need it (although there's never a need), 100 a night for the double room. I'll take it over PM or any of the other camping options. It's my one weekend, I'll take the financial hit. Hard to beat climbing in to a warm bed on the Saturday night this year.

Snarky Snark Snark

Hopefully next year, we'll get a decent warm weekend, i was double bagged on the saturday night (waterproof jacket + large waterproof poncho) and it was still grim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Saturday and Sunday nights weren't too bad for the cold. Friday though, holy ****, it was baltic

Just got my tickets.

This is very true. People complain about the mopre commercial aspects and ****ty stages blaring out crap music and drowning out real stages but the reality is that it's excellent value for money.