Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

If you can't afford a house in Dublin, move!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I feel like the culchie version of Martin Luther King Jr because I look forward to a day when the Dubs and us Culchies can sit down together at the table of brotherhood and lay waste to our mutual enemies; the Tans, €6 pints of Guinness and the RTE.

Come on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Dublin is for fodginers and wankahs that's why I'm leaving my home town for Australia in 2 months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

LirW wrote: »
    OP, how was the last big traveller riot in Mullingar? :)

Couple of years before all the gang related shootings in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Love me some fun in the Regency Hotel.

• Registered Users Posts: 314 ✭✭spoonerhead

..... So much hate in these comments. I've neighbors from all parts of Ireland on my road. Decent people, like most us Dubs

House bubble will burst (again), if you really want a house in Dublin be patient. How most my neighbors got their house

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Dublin is for fodginers and wankahs that's why I'm leaving my home town for Australia in 2 months

The irony of complaining about foreigners then becoming one:rolleyes::rolleyes:

I'm not gonna make an assumption about wanker, but...;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,056 ✭✭✭Sparks43

Jaysus,

Did you think that becoming homeless was going to lead to you drowning in gee from all the horny bitches throwing themselves at you due to your new status?

Maybe that's where I've been going wrong all these years!

Nope just thought it was the responsible thing to do.

That and the fact I have zero interest in having any more kids. I'm happy with my lot in that regard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,844 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

ligerdub wrote: »
    The latter being pretty much in Wicklow....and can keep moving further out as far as I'm concerned.

Have a little look at Google maps there pal, your geography is a bit off.

eeguy wrote: »

I think that was the punchline of the whole joke!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Have a little look at Google maps there pal, your geography is a bit off.

Pretty much in.....I didn't say in.....pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

I think that was the punchline of the whole joke!

I think you're giving him too much credit.

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Shelga wrote: »
    What if all your family and friends are there and you're not 'fortunate' enough to be a culchie?
    If you think everyone from outside Dublin is a "culchie" then it's better you stay where you are tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Liamario wrote: »
    I have zero sympathy for anyone who can't get a place to live in Dublin.

I couldn't get a place in Dublin. On the other hand, I've already got one. Glad I don't have to move to Mullingar...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Did you know that "I have zero/no sympathy for..." is the most commonly used phrase on Boards?

Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

eeguy wrote: »

I'm not gonna make an assumption about wanker, but...;)

Joking aside..

There's a difference between being transient vs. out and out parasitic, ruining a city for personal gains but oh so be it.

And as for summarily judging people what does that make yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,736 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Sure thing, OP, I'll just commute 4 hours a day :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

What if all your family and friends are there and you're not 'fortunate' enough to be a culchie?

I moved away to live in other places several times for work, away from family and friends if you can believe that.

Should I write some kind of misery-porn novel about the experience? I knew growing up that I wouldn't be able to afford to live in a house like my folks. I just accepted it as an economic reality.

I don't care for entitled attitudes. They are to be heard sadly in all corners of our land.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Joking aside..

There's a difference between being transient vs. out and out parasitic, ruining a city for personal gains but oh so be it.

I don't know you well enough to make that judgement call

ligerdub wrote: »
    Pretty much in.....I didn't say in.....pal.

So not in wicklow is what your saying?:confused:
    So wouldn't it just be easier for everyone to just say where something is rather than were it is not? Eh buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

You probably wrote that so bitterly while in Mullingar pining for Dublin

Best username I've seen in ages right there ^^ :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭chrissb8

Dublin is class. When I say I'm from Wicklow though some peeps act like it's the countryside. Haha, shut up you idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Bressie, Niall Horan, Joe Dolan, Michael O Leary.

Fcuk off Mullingar...LOL

p0rhBU.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

You think Culchies want to be up in this hole by choice?

Only reason I'm here is for work.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

LeBash wrote: »
    What about an hour or an hour and a half to work?

People all over the world commute to work. Some of them for quite long distances.

Some Irish people of a certain generation do have a real problem accepting some of the downsides of living in a modern economy (while being quite happy with the pluses naturally) and think everybody has a inalienable right to live in a decent house within walking or cycling distance of their job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,657 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Caliden wrote: »
    You think Culchies want to be up in this hole by choice?

Only reason I'm here is for work.

Culchie in Dublin by choice over here.

The thought of moving back to the Midlands sends a shiver up my spine.

Only in Dublin would you find a landlord renting out an inflatable lino as a bed and charging nearly €400.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Government doing something which is total common sense, but I am sure they will be ridiculed for it

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/government-to-offer-homeless-families-in-dublin-the-chance-of-house-in-rural-counties-36114265.html

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,934 ✭✭✭robp

I
    NIMAN wrote: »
    Government doing something which is total common sense, but I am sure they will be ridiculed for it

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/news/government-to-offer-homeless-families-in-dublin-the-chance-of-house-in-rural-counties-36114265.html
    I presume if people strongly wanted to move to a rural country they would apply for a house in those countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Westmeath is it, go on and marry your cousin ya hick. Mullingar the shelbyville of westmeath

robp wrote: »
    I

I presume if people strongly wanted to move to a rural country they would apply for a house in those countries.

Sometimes you don't always get what you want.
    Or should that be 'what you think you're entitled to'?

Many people would love a job and home where they grew up, but guess what, life doesn't provide these things so handily. Many thousands move/relocate and commute.

IF you are really in desperate need of a house, then surely some will consider moving?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

I have lots of sympathy for them. I'd also have lots of sympathy for anyone that can't get a place to live in Mullingar if they wanted to live in Mullingar.

I have friends from Mullingar that have studied and worked hard all their lives. They love Dublin, they have good jobs in Dublin but they're having dreadful problems trying to find somewhere to live. They have kids and have laid down roots in the capital, they pay huge taxes and add massive value to the city. Value to the city is value to the country.

I have empathy because I'm a grown up adult.

John_Rambo wrote: »
    I have lots of sympathy for them. I'd also have lots of sympathy for anyone that can't get a place to live in Mullingar if they wanted to live in Mullingar.

I have friends from Mullingar that have studied and worked hard all their lives. They love Dublin, they have good jobs in Dublin but they're having dreadful problems trying to find somewhere to live. They have kids and have laid down roots in the capital, they pay huge taxes and add massive value to the city. Value to the city is value to the country.

Perhaps this line sums up us being too Dublincentric as a country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,881 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Perhaps this line sums up us being too Dublincentric as a country?

Speak for yourself. The subject of the thread is after all living or not being able to live in Dublin, so the capital will be mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,260 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I'm not trying to sell anything though. If you can't afford Dublin, move. It's that simple. It sucks, but that's the way it is.
    People are acting like Dublin its an inescapable island in the middle of some vast ocean.

It should be an inescapable island in a vast ocean. Preferably on another planet

Speak for yourself. The subject of the thread is after all living or not being able to live in Dublin, so the capital will be mentioned.

You picked me up wrong, I wasn't in any way slagging Dublin, but maybe Government policy should try to locate some big businesses, people, homes etc elsehwere?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭Liamario

As do thousands of others in the opposite situation who are forced to go to dublin to work. You're not automatically entitled to work where you live. If you can't find somewhere to live in Dublin, you're going to have to look elsewhere. Plenty of places to live in surrounding counties for those less entitled than you.
    People outside Dublin pay taxes too believe it or not, they're also seeing less of the benefit.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Don't see the point either OP. Paying €1600 a month for a barely habitable dump in an over crowded environment isn't all that inviting.

Would rather have superior accommodation for a reasonable price with a nice bit of space and less crowded.

Even living in a reasonable sized town where you have all of the amenities that you need (if that's what you're after) would be more inviting.

Could never understand the mentality of people who would live in the likes of Tallaght, Rathfarnham or wherever "just to be in Dublin". The commute is often even worse than some of the places outside of Dublin but you're paying Dublin prices for inferior accommodation.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

While decentralisation would be helpful, it's hardly the fault of the people moving to where jobs are. If a city is built up to the point where people cannot find places to live to work there, that is a fault of planning, not of population migrating to follow the planning.

Most people are not going to have the thought process "I can't get a place in Dublin. Therefore, I move somewhere else. Where are jobs likely to move to if the government eventually figures this out? I know, Leitrim!" because sanity and past experience.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,407 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

maybe Government policy should try to locate some big businesses, people, homes etc elsehwere?

To be fair that is government policy but the big businesses do not seem to be interested in setting up outside of Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Why is it that Berlin can fit the whole population of Ireland into the same space as Dublin and still service them well. And I mean really well. Look at the like for like average commuting time comparisons for a sample of journeys. Make sure you have a stiff whiskey by your side. Look at the cost of living, look at how much is within touching distance no matter where you are. Look at their healthcare costs. If we could replicate, we could double the healthcare impact on a lot more Irish lives, and for half the cost we currently incur via the HSE. COE's.

When I was in Berlin it was like a breath of fresh air. No one was pinned against the window or squashed in at rush hour. The frequency and operating model just worked. Honour system on the bus, no dicking around with change or leap cards.

Maybe I should move to Berlin or another European city, but why, why can't we ever strive to do better in Ireland? Take on these f#cking unions for a start.

More broadly though, invest in capital expenditure, not public service pay and giveaways. Alter planning, no more one off housing on the basis of Jimmy wanting to build next to Daddy, unless Jimmy wants to pay for it (note to Jimmy: it costs a lot more than your development contribution to the council). High density developments.

Us Irish do not go well though with something that takes a couple of budgets or a second term of government to see the benefits, but politicians need to have the balls and the benefits message can be managed better.

• Registered Users Posts: 992 ✭✭✭jamesthepeach

In the interest of equality are they going to offer the people in the country who want to move to Dublin a place on the Dublin housing list?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭Wurly

Your point being?

You clearly are not affected by the situation. And so, you clearly don't have a full understanding of what it's like to be in the situation and all of the factors involved.

Not to worry. The fact that you felt the need to start a thread telling people, (unprompted, I might add), that you have zero sympathy for people in a situation that doesn't affect you directly? Well.... all that shows is your lack of sympathy for yourself. It's merely a reflection about how you feel about yourself but you're making it about having no sympathy for people in Dublin who cant afford houses. This is called 'projection'. Look it up.

So maybe go sort that out. I'm sure the home seekers of Dublin will do just fine without your attitude.

Your lack of empathy is your own issue and has nothing to do with anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭MSVforever

myshirt wrote: »
    Why is it that Berlin can fit the whole population of Ireland into the same space as Dublin and still service them well. And I mean really well. Look at the like for like average commuting time comparisons for a sample of journeys. Make sure you have a stiff whiskey by your side. Look at the cost of living, look at how much is within touching distance no matter where you are. Look at their healthcare costs. If we could replicate, we could double the healthcare impact on a lot more Irish lives, and for half the cost we currently incur via the HSE. COE's.

When I was in Berlin it was like a breath of fresh air. No one was pinned against the window or squashed in at rush hour. The frequency and operating model just worked. Honour system on the bus, no dicking around with change or leap cards.

Maybe I should move to Berlin or another European city, but why, why can't we ever strive to do better in Ireland? Take on these f#cking unions for a start.

More broadly though, invest in capital expenditure, not public service pay and giveaways. Alter planning, no more one off housing on the basis of Jimmy wanting to build next to Daddy, unless Jimmy wants to pay for it (note to Jimmy: it costs a lot more than your development contribution to the council). High density developments.

Us Irish do not go well though with something that takes a couple of budgets or a second term of government to see the benefits, but politicians need to have the balls and the benefits message can be managed better.

Berlin is high density in comparison to Dublin. For a start there is a better public transport system in place. Furthermore most people live in proper sized apartments.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭kuntboy

God help anyone living in the country. There are only 5 allowable topics of conversation:
    1. County/club GAA
    2. How much Mossy-Jo got for his field.
    3. The Weather.
    4. Dem fockin Jackeens up in Dublin

Actually it's only 4 topics lol. Jesus Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

kuntboy wrote: »
    God help anyone living in the country. There are only 5 allowable topics of conversation:
    1. County/club GAA
    3. The Weather.

I'd suggest that you need to get out a bit more if that's what you think the topics of conversation outside Dublin is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

I'd suggest that you need to get out a bit more if that's what you think the topics of conversation outside Dublin is.

What's Dublin?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,073 ✭✭✭MarcusP12

In general I'm certainly not lacking in sympathy or empathy for people who can't afford to live in Dublin but I have found myself being slightly irritated by some people I have connections to, e.g. friends or family or friends of friends, who say they cannot afford to buy a house in Dublin when I know they have good jobs.....there is a difference between not being able to afford a house in Dublin, as is the case with a lot of people who don't earn a lot for whatever reason, and not being able to afford to buy where they want. I heard this recently about my brother in law's wife's sister who recently married (she has a good job and he's in finance) and I just laughed to myself......there are some situations which deserve sympathy and others which don't.....availability of houses in affordable areas is a separate issue but just because you are priced out of the market in more desirable areas, doesn't mean you can't afford to live in Dublin....

• Registered Users Posts: 318 ✭✭zzfh

kuntboy wrote: »
    1. County/club GAA
    3. The Weather.

How much did he get for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Mach 3

Well if you sent the eastern Europeans home, rents would drop and free up loads of living space.

The downside would be that you would have to clean up after yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,676 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Mach 3 wrote: »
    Well if you sent the eastern Europeans home, rents would drop and free up loads of living space.

The downside would be that you would have to clean up after yourself.

How about we send skangers and junkies who contribute nothing to the country somewhere instead and keep the EE who work and pay taxes.