Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Isn't multiculturalism great...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭OnDraught

Brian? wrote: »
    I know some very fine people who are Christian and some very fine people who are Muslim. That's the great thing about multiculturalism.

This is essentially it. There's extremists on this thread that will never be able to fathom that the vast majority of people despite their race, religion, colour, sexual preference and whatnot just want to get on with getting on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Brian? wrote: »
    That's the great thing about multiculturalism.

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/apr/11/british-muslims-strong-sense-of-belonging-poll-homosexuality-sharia-law

Half of all British Muslims think homosexuality should be illegal, poll finds

"when asked to what extent they agreed or disagreed that homosexuality should be legal in Britain, 18% said they agreed and 52% said they disagreed, compared with 5% among the public at large who disagreed. Almost half (47%) said they did not agree that it was acceptable for a gay person to become a teacher...

Nearly a quarter (23%) supported the introduction of sharia law in some areas of Britain, and 39% agreed that “wives should always obey their husbands”, compared with 5% of the country as a whole. Nearly a third (31%) thought it was acceptable for a British Muslim man to have more than one wife"

There is large scale social problems with mass Muslim immigration in Europe, there's nothing great about it. Merkel admits this.

"“Those who seek refuge with us also have to respect our laws and traditions, and learn to speak German,” she said. “Multiculturalism leads to parallel societies, and therefore multiculturalism remains a grand delusion.”

Her comments echoed a similar statement from 2010, when Merkel said multiculturalism had “utterly failed”.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/dec/14/angela-merkel-pledge-cut-german-immigration-figures

OnDraught wrote: »
    This is essentially it. There's extremists on this thread that will never be able to fathom that the vast majority of people despite their race, religion, colour, sexual preference and whatnot just want to get on with getting on.

Then its a sign of good people... not multiculturalism... ie. they're great people regardless of their culture, religion etc.

Agreed. There's bad Catholics, bad protestants, bad Muslims, bad atheists etc but why are brown or black people always the discussion of these threads?

Ireland has the chance of really being a good example of how good multiculturalism can be because I believe we don't have the the cultural hang ups of the likes of the French or the Brits because we never had the colonialist hang ups they have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭Noel82

Agreed. There's bad Catholics, bad protestants, bad Muslims, bad atheists etc but why are brown or black people always the discussion of these threads?

It's the ideology, color has nothing to do with it for me. Islam has no comparison in this day and age when it comes to negatives, undoubtedly there are fine Muslim people, but also undoubtedly by undeniable proof, mass Muslim immigration in recent times has led to significant social and security problems throughout Europe.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/huge-scale-of-terror-threat-revealed-uk-home-to-23-000-jihadists-3zvn58mhq

"Intelligence officers have identified 23,000 jihadist extremists living in Britain as potential terrorist attackers, it emerged yesterday. The scale of the challenge facing the police and security services was disclosed by Whitehall sources after criticism that multiple opportunities to stop the Manchester bomber had been missed."

http://news.sky.com/story/record-number-of-terror-related-arrests-11034789

"A record number of people have been arrested for terrorism-related offences, according to official figures.
    The Home Office has announced that there were 379 arrests in Britain in the 12 months to June.

Sky News Home Affairs Correspondent Mark White said: "This 379 arrest figure is 68% higher than the 226 people who were arrested for the same period the year before.

"Significantly, it's the highest number of arrests in a year since they began recording terror arrest statistics back in 2001 after the attacks on the Twin Towers and the Pentagon in the US."

I've never used skin colour as a primary reference. I tend to use religion (islam, catholic), or geographical (Iran, M.East) etc.

In fact, I can't immediately remember any discussions where their skin colour was a primary concern.. rather just their religion or cultural background.
    Ireland has the chance of really being a good example of how good multiculturalism can be because I believe we don't have the the cultural hang ups of the likes of the French or the Brits because we never had the colonialist hang ups they have.

I think it's far too early to say because Ireland hasn't had to deal with the larger migrant populations coming in, the ghetto's, the gangs, the street violence, the police scandals, or more importantly, the terrorism..

Once Ireland has experienced some of these things and moved past them successfully, then I'll sing its praises.. but I've lived in other countries with longer histories of multiculturalism.. and frankly there are usually major issues under the surface or simmering on the surface.

Noel82 wrote: »
    It's the ideology, color has nothing to do with it for me. Islam has no comparison in this day and age when it comes to negatives, undoubtedly there are fine Muslim people, but also undoubtedly by undeniable proof, mass Muslim immigration in recent times has led to significant social and security problems throughout Europe.

Yes, undoubtedly there is a massive problem at the moment but these arabs or muslims have lived in Britain, France, Belgium etc quite peacefully for quite a long time. Since the attacks in the states the situation has got out of control and bin Laden has probably succeeded beyond his wildest imagination. The extremists on both sides are to blame for this.
    "Significantly, it's the highest number of arrests in a year since they began recording terror arrest statistics back in 2001 after the attacks on the Twin Towers and the Pentagon in the US."

My father and uncle were held in the late '70's on a ferry heading to a rugby match on terror related charges. Why do the records only begin in 2001?

the ghetto's, the gangs, the street violence, the police scandals, or more importantly, the terrorism..

Once Ireland has experienced some of these things and moved past them successfully, then I'll sing its praises.. but I've lived in other countries with longer histories of multiculturalism.. and frankly there are usually major issues under the surface or simmering on the surface.

Haha, yeah we know nothing of tenements, towers, families homeless, street violence or police scandals. Luckily our terrorism is in the past.

We know all of those things from a domestic perspective. Of Irish people. But it's different when theres a race issue or a culture issue.

It was always a cultural issue. Race is a new thing but it will never be a reason. The same old reasons will always apply.

I dont really get what you're saying... "Race is a new thing but it will never be a reason." what?
    The same old reasons will always apply.

Well Obviously.. Since they're people.. But there will be other consderations too.

Ok.. just to be clear.. you think that Ireland has already proven itself better than the continent when dealing with migration, multiculturalism and integration?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

No it wasnt...The goal was United Ireland with our domestic terrorism,not cultural superiority.Which is what these extremists want.

gitzy16v wrote: »
    No it wasnt...The goal was United Ireland with our domestic terrorism,not cultural superiority.Which is what these extremists want.

Maybe. But it's cultural differences that ensure that we won't be united with our northern friends any time soon. It's safe to say there's an issue with superiority there.

Not particularly. There's a race issue regarding travellers who are now recognised as an ethnicity. There's a cultural issue regarding Protestants. It's nothing new.

Ok.. just to be clear.. you think that Ireland has already proven itself better than the continent when dealing with migration, multiculturalism and integration?

No. It's fairly new to us dealing with immigration. Half of our youth are lining up to emigrate since before the foundation of our state.

We need multiculturalism to survive. I'd love to live in Dublin where I'm from. I won't unless something changes rapidly in the next 20 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

This thread was bait for everyone who has any problem with immigration, and it was like a piranha feeding frenzy.

Ive met people from every corner of the planet and I take them as I find them individually. But certain stereotypes ring true, not always a bad thing either.

As someone said earlier, if you wanna come to Ireland, you accept our customs and laws, if you have an issue with them, then go back to where you came from.
    Is Ireland perfect, far from it, but I'm thankful for the fact I live here and not a lot of other places.

Irish society, laws or customs should never bend to pamper to other religions, again you don't like it, then off you go. For far too long Irish law was poisoned by religion, its only now changing for the better.

I'm indifferent to race, religion or creed. I don't care what you believe in, as long as your not ramming it down my throat.

If your not prepared to integrate into Irish society, then off you go. In my experience, regardless of your country of origin, race or religion, if you integrate with Irish society then you are to be welcomed with open arms.

You don't have to change your religion, your values or your ways to become a valued member of Irish society.

When I travel abroad, I respect other countries customs or laws, so I've every right to expect the same from anyone coming to Ireland to live.

If your religion restricts the jobs you can do, then so be it, why should an employer pamper to your religious beliefs. Our infrastructure, society, working schedules were not designed to cater for the whims or every religion or culture. Again the Catholic Church had way to much influence and say in that for a long time.

I'm not saying compromise isn't an option, but there should be a willingness on both sides.

Islam can be an oppressive religion in the extreme, just like every other religion out there. Islam was never the problem, it's how certain people have used and twisted it for their own personal gains. Something the Catholics did very successfully.

Religion isn't the problem, it's the twats that use it as an excuse.

Biko will be along now in a minute to give her view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,250 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

I don't have an issue with it staying in their own country.. hence why I don't consider criticising it, regulating or preventing it in Europe to be a bad thing. They prevent our culture, religion etc from growing in their own countries...

them preventing your culture and religion growing in their countries is no justification for us to implement the same nonsense upon them. if certain aspects interfere with the law such as fgm for example, that's a different story. but outside that, us regulating them in a free democratic country, because they do it to us in a theocratic dictatorship, has no justification and makes us as bad as those countries.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

This thread was bait for everyone who has any problem with immigration, and it was like a piranha feeding frenzy...

I enjoyed the really irritated ones that went on and on about my motivation...as if theirs was some neutral assessment! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Multiculturalism is neither inherently good nor inherently bad.

And that's a valid opinion. I have a different one.

Which is that exposure to different cultures and religions is a good thing. Much like one might say "travel is a good thing" and someone else might say "it's not, you can see India on tv". Neither is really more...correct.

them preventing your culture and religion growing in their countries is no justification for us to implement the same nonsense upon them. if certain aspects interfere with the law such as fgm for example, that's a different story. but outside that, us regulating them in a free democratic country, because they do it to us in a theocratic dictatorship, has no justification and makes us as bad as those countries.

Only because you see regulating foreign culture to be a bad thing. I don't. I see it as being necessary in a modern society because we don't have a realistic system for dealing with many cultures, within the same environment, many of which are historically hostile to each other.

Until we have a clear plan for dealing with these hotspots, I'd prefer to see cultural/religious/moralistic influences to be regulated and the host/native culture remaining dominant.

Which is that exposure to different cultures and religions is a good thing. Much like one might say "travel is a good thing" and someone else might say "it's not, you can see India on tv". Neither is really more...correct.

Only if you've never "travelled" extensively. (although I really mean lived somewhere longer than a month) I've been to India.. I didn't like it. You really need to see/smell the dead bodies rotting outside temples, the children begging in such large numbers, the racism and... the wonderful welcomes you get many families/individuals. You don't get much of anything from watching a tv show, reading a book, or such.. Although perhaps with the development of VR that could change...;)

It's like the way many posters here talk about Islam, without ever spending any time in a Islamic country. They haven't heard the creepy but beautiful sound of the "call to prayer", they haven't had to see the looks a white foreigner receives or the heckling from men in groups, women escorted by family members (and you receive very hostile looks)... or again the wonderful warmheared welcomes from families/individuals and the extremely cute/funny kids.

For many posters here, their experience of Islam comes from the migrants, those who have converted and TV/Books. It doesn't show the whole picture. Personally, I believe to know a culture.. you really need to see/hear/feel that culture when it's a majority culture. A people with a culture living as a minority in a country behave vastly different than when they're a majority...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,046 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I think I've said this before on another thread. Genuine multiculturalism, of the sort described by the OP, is great and can only be a good thing. However, much of what passes for multiculturalism in the world today ... isn't multiculturalism. Large numbers of one ethnic cultural group living in one place, speaking only their own language and not learning about the wider culture ... that's not multiculturalism. One group inserting themselves in to the middle of another culture, but despising the wider culture and seeking to replace it with their monoculture, by force if necessary ... that's not multiculturalism.

Tokenism, forcing a visibly "multicultural" agenda on the existing culture ...that's not multiculturalism, because genuine multiculturalism does not need to be forced. If you've watched American movies and TV from the last 100 years, do you even notice the ethnic origins of the actors unless they make it part of the story?

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Biko will be along now in a minute to give her view.
    Did you just assume my gender?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2016/apr/11/british-muslims-strong-sense-of-belonging-poll-homosexuality-sharia-law

Half of all British Muslims think homosexuality should be illegal, poll finds

"when asked to what extent they agreed or disagreed that homosexuality should be legal in Britain, 18% said they agreed and 52% said they disagreed, compared with 5% among the public at large who disagreed. Almost half (47%) said they did not agree that it was acceptable for a gay person to become a teacher...

Nearly a quarter (23%) supported the introduction of sharia law in some areas of Britain, and 39% agreed that “wives should always obey their husbands”, compared with 5% of the country as a whole. Nearly a third (31%) thought it was acceptable for a British Muslim man to have more than one wife"

There is large scale social problems with mass Muslim immigration in Europe, there's nothing great about it. Merkel admits this.

"“Those who seek refuge with us also have to respect our laws and traditions, and learn to speak German,” she said. “Multiculturalism leads to parallel societies, and therefore multiculturalism remains a grand delusion.”

Her comments echoed a similar statement from 2010, when Merkel said multiculturalism had “utterly failed”.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2015/dec/14/angela-merkel-pledge-cut-german-immigration-figures

I bet if you had used Daily Mail or Breitbart to back up those statements the amount of posts challenging your assertions would be like watching flies swarm over a fresh cowpat on a summer's evening. ;)

I don't think one poster challenged the findings.

Why are you trying to twist this in to a race issue ?
    Who here said anything about brown or black people and if anything it shows a lack of knowledge on your part.
    Or maybe you have never met or seen a white muslim, nevermind met an Albanian, Kosovan or Bosniac muslim.

Why are you, and others, trying to conflate anti one particular religion into a racist issue ?
    Is it so that you can then shut down discussion with the usual go to of shouting "racist" ?

I don't have much time for the beliefs of right wing catholics, right wing bible bashing baptists, mormons, Haredi Jews, but does that mean I am anti white as most of the above are in reality white.
    Not particularly. There's a race issue regarding travellers who are now recognised as an ethnicity. There's a cultural issue regarding Protestants. It's nothing new.

Most people would not believe travellers are a different race no matter how some eejits climbed all over the that bight spark idea from Pavee Point.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Which is that exposure to different cultures and religions is a good thing.

Again, which religions? You keep saying this. Exposure to which imported religion is gonna do anyone any good? It's away from religion we should be getting in the 21st Century, it causes nothing but grief and is based and nothing scientifically concrete.

bnt wrote: »
    Genuine multiculturalism, of the sort described by the OP, is great and can only be a good thing. However, much of what passes for multiculturalism in the world today ... isn't multiculturalism.

Possibly not. Perhaps I would have different views if I grew up in Bradford.

But as you say, what I experienced, and what I am saying, is that genuine multiculturalism of the type I referred to, is great.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Again, which religions? You keep saying this. Exposure to which imported religion is gonna do anyone any good? It's away from religion we should be getting in the 21st Century, it causes nothing but grief and is based and nothing scientifically concrete.

Nationalism causes nothing but grief around the world, but she will be exposed to that. And the arts aren't exactly rooted in science, but I hope she has an appreciation for those too. After all, how dull would life be if she grows up saying "well, I do not know the scientific formula that proves that"!

Are you afraid to answer that question Conor?
    Its been asked multiple time by the same poster and you tried squirming your way out of answering each and every time.

I thought I answered it before. Think I said Shintoism. Or Buddhism. One of them is the best anyway, obviously.

Not many of those coming to Ireland.You didnt meet any on your multi-cultural adventure the other week.I dont see how your daughter would benefit from those religions when they are not in Ireland in any great numbers at all.

Slippery like an eel Conor,good effort.

Not many of those coming to Ireland.You didnt meet any on your multi-cultural adventure the other week.I dont see how your daughter would benefit from those religions when they are not in Ireland in any great numbers at all.

Slippery like an eel Conor,good effort.

Not at all. I dealt with the question on the level the person who posed it wanted. To specify religions. I think the question was a little flippant. It's like someone saying "exposure to sport is great", someone answering "what sports", and then railing against, say Gaelic Football, if that is the sport that's specified.

I think experiencing other ideas, faiths, lifestyles etc. is good, without dividing it into a "well this faith is good and so we can take in ideas and interact with them, but that one is bad so we should shut it off". Because how on earth would we know of other religions, other ideas at all, without some exposure? Whether it be received through the news, or from meeting them directly? I mean, do you shut down all exposure to any religion, turn off news when the word "Muslim" is mentioned?

You're some man for dodging a question, I'll give you that much. You should be a politician.

Obviously? Really? Shintoism doesn't really jump out to me as a growing religion in Ireland... nor one that irish people are rushing to embrace for its many benefits.

Sure, there are some people interested in Buddhism, Taoism, or Daoism.. but it's hardly becoming a major religious focus here. It's more of the philosophy/meditation than the religion itself.

I think the OP just liked how it sounded when he said it to be honest.

Anyway, here's what a world with religion would look like.

tumblr_mqhguwB3qP1spmecxo1_500.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,250 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

Only because you see regulating foreign culture to be a bad thing. I don't. I see it as being necessary in a modern society because we don't have a realistic system for dealing with many cultures, within the same environment, many of which are historically hostile to each other.

Until we have a clear plan for dealing with these hotspots, I'd prefer to see cultural/religious/moralistic influences to be regulated and the host/native culture remaining dominant.

can't be done as it would be against the founding aspects of a free democratic country. the host culture doesn't need regulations against other cultures costing billions to be enforced and still unenforcible to remain dominant.

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,433 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

They slip up, they always do in the end.

can't be done as it would be against the founding aspects of a free democratic country.

Oh Gosh.. you mean that democratic countries don't shift and change over time? That their laws stay the same as the founding members wished them? Come on. :rolleyes:
    the host culture doesn't need regulations against other cultures costing billions to be enforced and still unenforcible to remain dominant.

Nope. I agree with you. The host culture doesn't need what you suggest above. So do it better. I find it amazing that people won't support change simply because they feel it will fail before its even researched, planned, and implemented. Instead it's much better to allow everyone in, have no plans for the future and blame the government when things go bad. Yay!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

They slip up, they always do in the end.

Foreigners? You can't trust them, probably plotting behind our backs right now.

Day 6...the thanks keep rising and people are still misinterpreting the OP's comments. Whether it's through stupidity or being done deliberately, no one knows.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

I was listening to a woman on the radio this morning talking about how her neighbour has made her life hell for the past 8 months.

Falsely accused her husband of sexually assaulting his wife. Constantly records and takes photos of her children. Brings her to court over her dog barking and attacking his children, it gets thrown out because he produced 300 images of her children near his property (they live next door). Kidnapped their dog after the case was thrown out (Garda found dog in his house). Verbally abuses her kids.

He was a perfect neighbour up until 8 months ago. Why the sudden change?
    The woman's husband asked him how his wife was getting on with her pregnancy.

Luckily Conor bumped into the good ones eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,433 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

dav3 wrote: »
    Foreigners? You can't trust them, probably plotting behind our backs right now.

Day 6...the thanks keep rising and people are still misinterpreting the OP's comments. Whether it's through stupidity or being done deliberately, no one knows.

oh, a terror sympathiser talking about nothing related to what I said. Day 6 of more non related stories.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Mush like how no one challenged the polls about how many muslims in Europe want sharia law, or how many actually think homosexuality should be made illegal, when it comes down to it one side can't really challenge some of the facts about islam and muslims.

Now as opposed to the post earlier, if the polls were referenced with material from a right wing tabloid or right wing site the veracity of the polls are always vehemently challenged and dismissed.
    It is much harder to do so when the references are one of the bastions of the liberal agenda, the guardian.

When it comes down to it, those of the modern liberal mindset will reach a point where they end up having to adopt a cognitive dissonance to somehow still support an ideology/religion and those who adhere to it.
    After all how can a gay person support and clamour for the very mindset that would have them made illegal ?
    Likewise how can a very liberal person support one of the most discriminatory conservative belief systems out there or how can a feminist support those who believe in misogyny and the subjugation of women and girls ?
    Turkeys voting for christmas is an apt description.
    You're some man for dodging a question, I'll give you that much. You should be a politician.

Ahh the bould conor was more interested in helping politicians get elected if memory serves me right.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I'm about the same age as the OP and I generally agree that immigration has been a good thing for Ireland. It has made us a more cosmopolitan and diverse society.

I can remember a time when a non-white person was a very rare sight in Dublin or anywhere in the country. When the first non-white family (an Indian doctor and his family) moved onto our street back in the mid 80s it was a pretty big thing. But most people on our road made them feel very welcome.

Multiculturalism has its limits. It's apparent that certain groups are not integrating and that is a big problem. Integration is key and immigrants must respect the laws and customs of their host societies.

But it seems any questioning of unfettered immigration is seen as racism etc by those on the left.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Bygumbo

...today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet Slovakian friends with their kids. Also met my cousin and his African partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my Turkish Muslim barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop.

And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing diversity and cultures that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good.

I really don't understand this comment at all. Its a non-statement. Just swap out some of the words and you see how it has no meaning.

"today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet her big-nosed friends with their kids. Also met my big-nosed cousin and his big-nosed partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my big-nosed barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop.

And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing big-nosed people that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good."

So its obvious the poster likes big-noses, and thinks its great that in the future there will be more big noses. But.........WHY?

Whats so great about big-noses? What effect will it have that is so beneficial? Whats the selling point here? Why are others praising such a non-statement? Would the poster have been less pleased around irish people, (because that's the obvious indictment)?

So many questions!

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Bygumbo

What is boring about it? People wanting to keep Greece Greek or Spain Spanish or France French. Nothing wrong with it at all.

You must be picking me up wrong. Its a pleasure to go to a foreign country and experience different culture. Or in other words, its nice to go to spain and see their Spanish culture.

What I find very boring is going to the likes of New York and London, a mish-mash of everything that blends into sameness. To me they are interchangeable, and therefore don't see the point in going there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Bygumbo wrote: »
    You must be picking me up wrong. Its a pleasure to go to a foreign country and experience different culture. Or in other words, its nice to go to spain and see their Spanish culture.

What I find very boring is going to the likes of New York and London, a mish-mash of everything that blends into sameness. To me they are interchangeable, and therefore don't see the point in going there.

This times a million. If ya want to experience different cultures travel. Complete bollixoligy the rest of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

What is boring about it? People wanting to keep Greece Greek or Spain Spanish or France French. Nothing wrong with it at all.

I agree with that, which is why I don't go to London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭gw80

That's something Ive thought of before too, the whole thing about everything becoming the same. Its a strange contradiction. In my opinion the world would become utterly boring.

I cant imagine going on a holiday to wherever only to step off the plane and see the same shops, the same people, the same attitudes. All bland and sameness everywhere.

What a boring future.
    No no, you have nothing to worry about, as long as you go outside of Europe you will find plenty of diversity and culture,
    Its only in Europe where we are not allowed have our own culture or identity,

I really don't understand this comment at all. Its a non-statement. Just swap out some of the words and you see how it has no meaning.

"today I brought my daughter to the playground to meet her big-nosed friends with their kids. Also met my big-nosed cousin and his big-nosed partner and their little daughter. After that, I went to my big-nosed barber and to her delight he produced a lollipop.

And I thought, she'll grow up experiencing big-nosed people that I could only dream of when I was a child in white Catholic Ireland in the late '70s and '80s. And it felt good."

So its obvious the poster likes big-noses, and thinks its great that in the future there will be more big noses. But.........WHY?

Whats so great about big-noses? What effect will it have that is so beneficial? Whats the selling point here? Why are others praising such a non-statement? Would the poster have been less pleased around irish people, (because that's the obvious indictment)?

So many questions!

It is surely no more valid nor invalid than "today I had a bad experience with (any group)". This site certainly doesn't have some policy of only giving the bad news.

And you can even use people with big noses as a group...I'd have to be charitable anyway as that's MY demographic...