Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No idea how to approach salary negotiations

Options
  • 10-09-2017 2:50pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5

Hi all

Would love some advice; slightly complicated so apologies in advance if my post is very long!

I am qualified in a very niche area where inhouse jobs are hard to come by. There are plenty of people who train in this area but few positions - so when jobs come up you're really up against it with people desperate for the opportunity - which can drive salaries down. I have been freelancing for the last 2 years waiting for opportunities to come up. Nothing for ages...and lo and behold 2 jobs come up right at the same time.

Job 1: have received an offer. Salary ok...not amazing but fine.

Job 2: interviewed and tested (live simulation of working conditions) on Friday along with 4 other candidates. Was told I had given the best performance and they will be in touch early next week. They know about my other offer. This job is in a different city to Job 1. I would prefer to work in Job 2 city and the sector is also a lot more interesting.

So, my clear preference is Job 2. The problem is: a friend working there already has given me the heads up that the department head is notoriously tight-fisted and to be prepared for a "shockingly low" salary. In a country with a tax rate of 50% I should add! She tried to negotiate when she was hired, but failed.