Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Club Championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Both Na Piarsaigh players lose their appeals and will not play in the final.
    Huge loss to the Limerick club considering both were Limerick U21 key players last year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

danganabu wrote: »
    Refs are entitled to make mistakes as well, they are after all amatuer volunteers as well. Does every player that makes a mistake in a game deserve a ban?

And FWIW from what I hear it was the referees report that led to the decision been overturned.

We have a very alarming shortage of referees nationwide and the answer is not to reprimand those who make an innocent mistake, that certainly wouldnt entice anyone to take up refereeing.
    seligehgit wrote: »
    He's an amateur who gets paid travel and subsistence.

Hundred percent agree with Danganabú's sentiments.

Referees have a thankless task,to err is human.

If the red card as expected was rescinded due to the referee's report why on earth should he be banned?

If there's a litany of decisions/match performances indicating an incompetency in matchday officiating retraining can be put in place or regrading.Presumably there are still adjudicators in place who assess referees matchday performances on a continual basis.
    grbear wrote: »
    I don't like seeing people giving out about refs that have been conned by players.

Derek O'Mahony made a mistake sending Farragher off but Healy was rolling out around feigning a head injury. Instead of roasting refs why don't we give players who cheat like that a ban instead?

Very well said lads, fair play

• Registered Users Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭Happyilylost

Anybody want tickets for Club finals please send me a pm. I've four season tickets.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭laneykin

Has anyone tried to get their tickets for the Club Championship final on the season ticket website yet? Only giving me the option of Cusack Stand 302, not sure if that's the best we can get or if I should wait a few days to see if it changes to a different section?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

never been to the club finals but I would have thought it was first come first served with seating, find it hard to believe its allocated seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

It's definitely assigned seating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Good open start to the football, Corofin lead by 1-1 to 0-1 after 10 min, both sides have hit the post

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Corofin are well on top.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

What a goal

Some finish to the hurling!

Fantastic contest.Nobody deserved to lose today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Great game near the end of normal time and in extra time.

Doubt Con O'Callaghan has ever been as ineffective in a game ever. Can't imagine they'll hold him as well in the replay.

Shane Dowling missing the 'insurance' free near the end of normal time has cost Na Piarsaigh the title.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

amazing game,was like Ali and Frazier both teams refused to be beaten

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

Great match. Bookies called it exactly right!

Callaghan was well marked but I'd say the conditions played a part probably to the advantage of both sets of backs although Cuala lapsed badly for the two goals.

Replay should be some game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭kala85

Bonniedog wrote: »
    Great match. Bookies called it exactly right!

Callaghan was well marked but I'd say the conditions played a part probably to the advantage of both sets of backs although Cuala lapsed badly for the two goals.

Replay should be some game.

He had two chances off his left to score points and near the end in extra time and both missed and dropped short.

Although a poor supply of ball into him, anytime he did get the ball he was well marshalled.
    The jury's still out for me on how good a hurler he is.

Any word on where and when the hurling replay will take place

• Registered Users Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭Stacksofwacks

kala85 wrote: »
    Any word on where and when the hurling replay will take place

I would guess Thurles next Saturday

• Registered Users Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭rolling boh

birr has been mentioned for the replay

• Registered Users Posts: 140 ✭✭Greensoup

O Callaghan was up against a good inter county man today so it would be harder for him.......Mike Casey is a fine player and will be fighting for his place in limerick full back line come championship time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭Doltanian

The ref was totally in favour of na cuala, cost Na Piarsigh badly.

Doltanian wrote: »
    The ref was totally in favour of na cuala, cost Na Piarsigh badly.

I don't see how you make that out, other through the prism of your dislike of anything to do with Dublin.

I thought Lyons had a good game; let most things go and pulled people up on slapping with the stick. One or two decisions that both sides could argue about but hardly biased one way or other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

I don't see how you make that out, other through the prism of your dislike of anything to do with Dublin.

I thought Lyons had a good game; let most things go and pulled people up on slapping with the stick. One or two decisions that both sides could argue about but hardly biased one way or other.

Agreed there were, as there always will be, a couple of 50/50 ones that you could argue the toss either way but to say that he favoured one side over the other is just wrong. A perfect example was near the end at a crucial stage a Piarsaigh player attempted to shoulder a Cuala player over the side line and actually shouldered him into the back, surely if the referee was favouring Cuala he would have awarded a free to Cuala and not the sideline that ensued?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dirtyden

Agreed there were, as there always will be, a couple of 50/50 ones that you could argue the toss either way but to say that he favoured one side over the other is just wrong. A perfect example was near the end at a crucial stage a Piarsaigh player attempted to shoulder a Cuala player over the side line and actually shouldered him into the back, surely if the referee was favouring Cuala he would have awarded a free to Cuala and not the sideline that ensued?

I would agree, but the free that Cuala goaled from at the end of normal time was incredibly soft. If anything it was charging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

dirtyden wrote: »
    I would agree, but the free that Cuala goaled from at the end of normal time was incredibly soft. If anything it was charging.

Impossible to see in real time with such a collection of bodies in the area. Really needs the umpires to grow more balls and intervene in such cases

Anyway they missed a very getable free just before that and had umpteen chances to clear their lines (just swing on the thing with your boot if you have to)

jr86 wrote: »
    Impossible to see in real time with such a collection of bodies in the area. Really needs the umpires to grow more balls and intervene in such cases

Anyway they missed a very getable free just before that and had umpteen chances to clear their lines (just swing on the thing with your boot if you have to)

The umpires dont have the power to award a free or over rule a referee.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Silver lining for NaP is that they'll have Boylan and Grimes back for the replay.

Well, they missed a great game, most exciting hurling club final I've seen. Awful lot of one sided games in last 20 years.

Great to see a Dublin club at this level. Good SHC here too last year so even though county team is in bit of a crisis we live in hope!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,636 ✭✭✭feargale

Patww79 wrote: »
    Tried 5 pubs today to show it and not one didn't have the orange shower chasing their oval on. Hopefully get to the replay if it's out the country at least.

How many members of the Ireland rugby team are members of the Orange Order?

Don't take the bait feargale

• Registered Users Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

BoroMan32 wrote:
    Shane Dowling missing the 'insurance' free near the end of normal time has cost Na Piarsaigh the title.

Hasn't cost them anything yet. Fancy them to finish the job in replay with the 2 suspended lads back.

Bonniedog wrote:

21 yard free at end of normal time was a very bad call imo. Huge decision which he got wrong.
    Other than that, sure he had a grand game!!

danganabu wrote:

Perfect hip to hip challenge imo if you're referring to the Dowling one. No way should he have awarded Cula a free.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭lim4ev

I can't understand how you can say the ref had a good game cuala scored 1-12 from frees nap scored 0-2 I'm aware cuala didn't miss one and nap missed 2 but that's some difference. Like others I hate criticising refs but thought yesterday he was a disgrace towards nap and by the way there were times when he didn't give frees to Cuala when there was a free too. I'll watch it again and if I'm wrong I'll come back on here and say so but not only was the 21 yard free not a free the free that preceded that wasn't one either but I'd need to look at it again.
    Had dowling scored the one to have put them 4 up all of the above wouldn't have mattered. I think nap will win the replay as they'll have 2 county players to come in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

NaP set up very poorly for the last free.
    Five lads on the line should be enough to block the ball over the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

feargale wrote: »
    How many members of the Ireland rugby team are members of the Orange Order?

I think he might be referring to their fake tans....:D:D

danganabu wrote:

Perfect hip to hip challenge imo if you're referring to the Dowling one. No way should he have awarded Cula a free.
    Have a check of the rule book!

danganabu wrote:
    Have a check of the rule book!

Sure you're entitled to your opinion.

I'm not talking about opinions Im talking about the actual rule, the tackle must be shoulder to shoulder, no reference anywhere in the rule about hips - Its rule 1(9) in the GAA rule book.

How will the replay fare out ?

Hard to call. Would seem to favour Na Piarsiagh given that they were ahead near the death of both normal and extra time, and should have closed it out, but Cuala are dogged bunch who never know they are beaten. If Callaghan gets more change out of the Piarsiagh backs it might be the difference.

I'm not talking about opinions Im talking about the actual rule, the tackle must be shoulder to shoulder, no reference anywhere in the rule about hips - Its rule 1(9) in the GAA rule book.

I saw an incident last weekend (Limerick v. Clare) where a player was running at full speed towards an opponent. The opponent stood his ground ( there wasn't much else he could do ) and turned his shoulder towards player no.1 (for his own protection, I would think.) No.1 crashed into the opponent and No.1 came off the worst. The opponent got a yellow. I believe he got the card because No.1 took a very hard knock. I'm convinced that many refs feel obliged to show a card when a man is injured. The injury should be irrelevant. All that should count is the intent and the action.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭cantwbr1

feargale wrote: »
    I saw an incident last weekend (Limerick v. Clare) where a player was running at full speed towards an opponent. The opponent stood his ground ( there wasn't much else he could do ) and turned his shoulder towards player no.1 (for his own protection, I would think.) No.1 crashed into the opponent and No.1 came off the worst. The opponent got a yellow. I believe he got the card because No.1 took a very hard knock. I'm convinced that many refs feel obliged to show a card when a man is injured. The injury should be irrelevant. All that should count is the intent and the action.

Without having seen the incident, my thought is that once he turned his shoulder into the oncoming player it became a shoulder to the chest and a booking is the standard outcome. If he had stayed square to the oncoming player it would probably have been his free for the oncoming player charging.

cantwbr1 wrote: »
    Without having seen the incident, my thought is that once he turned his shoulder into the oncoming player it became a shoulder to the chest and a booking is the standard outcome. If he had stayed square to the oncoming player it would probably have been his free for the oncoming player charging.

The problem is that if he had stayed square he would most likely have been equally injured.

kala85 wrote:
    How will the replay fare out ?

Fancy Na P to win today. Unless Con O'Callaghan has an exceptional day. If he's as good as some of his performances earlier have suggested he could be the winning of it for Cuala. But the fact that these displays have been at club level leaves me wondering. I'd like to see how he'd fare with Dublin but that ain't going to happen at least for the moment.

And I'm saying hip to hip contact in hurling is perfectly legal. Both ref and linesman (who was right on the scene) obviously had no issue with it.
    And you could see from Dowlings immediate reaction that he thought it was a perfectly fair challenge
    I just dont think that one was a free.

danganabu wrote:

And I'm saying hip to hip contact in hurling is perfectly legal. Both ref and linesman (who was right on the scene) obviously had no issue with it.
    And you could see from Dowlings immediate reaction that he thought it was a perfectly fair challenge
    I just dont think that one was a free.

Big ask for Na Piarsaigh now.Cuala are excelling ATM at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭John.Icy

No replays but there was definitely a free out in there before the first goal. Cuala player had a hold of Na Piarsaigh players free arm as he was trying to burst out, preventing him from making a play...unless I'm light years behind the rules that's a free - if I see a replay later I'll be open to seeing it otherwise!

Been a tight game so far so can't see a 5 point gap being bridged.

EDIT: And there is the 5 point gap all but gone! These teams just keep on giving!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Game on