Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Club Championships

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

dobman88 wrote: »
    This is the worst game I've ever watched. It's like they're both afraid to pass it forward. Diabolical stuff

Half an hour of our lives that we will never get back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Well done by Cian O'Connor to call for the advantage there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,633 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I don't know if I ever saw a team use the extra man as badly as this Moorefield side, practically the whole game with an extra man and 2 points scored after 47 minutes play. Really poor, the lads from Mullingar will need more counselling after this (they'll probably burst into life now and win this)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Great ball possession passage from Moorefield, that. Keep at that and they will win this

superb tackle

Moorefield getting going now

Some tackle from Moorefield number 5. And bombs down the field to equalize.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Thank Christ Moorefield are making a game of this

Corofin seem to think they need to walk the ball into the net.

Lundys one was inexcusable as he's a left footer so fisting it over should have been the only option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Moorefield are not very good to be honest. Corofin will be annoyed if they lose this even with 14 men. They've had the goal chances too.

Finally a quick kickout from Moorefield to a spare man.

Farragher and Steede should be told to keep it simple and the other players shouldn't keep using them so much.

Cian O'Connor and Number 5 (Murray?) keeping them in the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Stupid foul.

Mental tackling from Moorefield in front of their posts.

Moorefield are not very good to be honest. Corofin will be annoyed if they lose this even with 14 men. They've had the goal chances too.

The whole premise is winning. Moorefield have been winning games against all odds throughout the Championship, both county and provincial.

So it depends what you mean by "not very good"

Both teams look like an intermediate outfit today, quality wise

Awful miss but class catch over the bar.

Fantastic move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Was looking like another extra time for corofin but that looks to be that . Great goal

No surprise Kieran Fitzgerald named MOTM.

That was the chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Took a while but the better footballers won. The extra man was probably all that kept it close for that long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,535 ✭✭✭dobman88

Moorefield didn't deserve to win that. Delighted for corofin after a terrible referee decision. Moorfield absolutely brutal! How did they get this far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Cream will always rise to the top. The Corofin Club is full with wealth of experience. They should get Farragher back. They will get him back too.

Hard luck Moorefield. Been some journey to get where they are today.

Just never clicked until far too late on and the better team one.

club football is bizarre. An extra man doesn't give you as much advantage as it really should, as Moorefield showed all season

Ah the red card will definitely be rescinded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭BoroMan32

Moorefield deserved nothing after the antics of the full back in the sending off decision.

Well done Corofin.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Ah the red card will definitely be rescinded.

It would be a travesty if not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,907 ✭✭✭kala85

Club all Ireland Finals -Cuala vs Na Piarsaigh in the hurling and nemo vs Corofin in the football. How do people think that the finals will go?

kala85 wrote: »
    Club all Ireland Finals -Cuala vs Na Piarsaigh in the hurling and nemo vs Corofin in the football. How do people think that the finals will go?

Didn't see Nemo in action yesterday but I'd favour Cuala and Corofin to win out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Are the two players from na piarsaigh that were sent off in the semi finals suspended for the final?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Patww79 wrote: »
    Football seems a bit meh and I'd fear it'll be woefully dour, but really looking forward to the hurling. I'd go for the Limerick fellas to just squeak it.

Think the opposite tbh, both Nemo and Corofin try to play football

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

That's quite an exaggeration,they were a man down from the start of the contest yet displayed quite good footpassing as is their norm.They played the majority of football.

Will the corofin man have his ridiculously stupid red card rescinded?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Will the corofin man have his ridiculously stupid red card rescinded?

Well if that one is not rescinded we all might as well give up on watching games.
    Surely the ref will readily admit that in hindsight he got the call wrong. He would regain much respect if he did. Anyone can make a genuine mistake. He simply doesn't have the armchair view of things that spectators have after all.

Also I think the Na Piarsigh wing back was hard done by and may get his rescinded too. He was seriously provoked and the Slaughneil player made a total meal of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭Curious Geroge

Can anyone confirm if a county season ticket holder, mayo season ticket, can get free tickets to the club final. Someone offered it to us for the Corofin final but not sure if it's possible. Cheers

Season ticket holders get into club finals.

Can anyone confirm if a county season ticket holder, mayo season ticket, can get free tickets to the club final. Someone offered it to us for the Corofin final but not sure if it's possible. Cheers

Yes, I think that they have to be printed off from their season ticket sections online and they are email print outs with the seats. They dont have to bring the cards with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Hey guys wont be using my free tickets to the club finals so first person to PM me will get them when they sent them out. They will be PDF files. Have 2 available

Corofin red card over turned so that man is available for the final.

The ref should be given a ban after that stupid decision, wishful thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

Corofin red card over turned so that man is available for the final.

The ref should be given a ban after that stupid decision, wishful thinking.

Refs are entitled to make mistakes as well, they are after all amatuer volunteers as well. Does every player that makes a mistake in a game deserve a ban?

And FWIW from what I hear it was the referees report that led to the decision been overturned.

We have a very alarming shortage of referees nationwide and the answer is not to reprimand those who make an innocent mistake, that certainly wouldnt entice anyone to take up refereeing.

danganabu wrote: »
    Refs are entitled to make mistakes as well, they are after all amatuer volunteers as well. Does every player that makes a mistake in a game deserve a ban?

And FWIW from what I hear it was the referees report that led to the decision been overturned.

We have a very alarming shortage of referees nationwide and the answer is not to reprimand those who make an innocent mistake, that certainly wouldnt entice anyone to take up refereeing.

Do refs not get paid? Would be a first if he didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

They get expenses, and a nominal fee which is taxed, trust me there is no referee making anything out of it, certainly nothing near what coaches and managers are getting up and down the country.

danganabu wrote: »
    They get expenses, and a nominal fee which is taxed, trust me there is no referee making anything out of it, certainly nothing near what coaches and managers are getting up and down the country.

So he's not a volunteer as you said in your previous post. Thanks for clearing that up

He's an amateur who gets paid travel and subsistence.

Hundred percent agree with Danganabú's sentiments.

Referees have a thankless task,to err is human.

If the red card as expected was rescinded due to the referee's report why on earth should he be banned?

If there's a litany of decisions/match performances indicating an incompetency in matchday officiating retraining can be put in place or regrading.Presumably there are still adjudicators in place who assess referees matchday performances on a continual basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,930 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

tickets gone

might have one more ill post here if i do

I wonder do the GAA make much money from the club finals ??? A lot of people there prob had free tickets

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭grbear

I don't like seeing people giving out about refs that have been conned by players.

Derek O'Mahony made a mistake sending Farragher off but Healy was rolling out around feigning a head injury. Instead of roasting refs why don't we give players who cheat like that a ban instead?

grbear wrote: »
    I don't like seeing people giving out about refs that have been conned by players.

Derek O'Mahony made a mistake sending Farragher off but Healy was rolling out around feigning a head injury. Instead of roasting refs why don't we give players who cheat like that a ban instead?

Would be in favour of that player getting a ban for the sh!te acting the maggot

I would. Two match ban be appropriate. Most other team sports take action against this sort of cheating. Can't recall any examples of GAA players being yellow carded never mind being sent off for this sort of thing.