Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Apprentice UK 2017

• Registered Users Posts: 10,717 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

Elizabeth is great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Jamie2k9 wrote: »
    Elizabeth is great.

I like her also. Jade is good too. And Sarah and Micheala seem OK. I’m struggling with the lads a bit, to be honest. Harrison and to a lesser extent Sarge are the only ones who have made an impression on me. They need to jumble the teams up next week. I'm a bit fed up of the all-girls team.

Filming Harrison in the shower was totally inappropriate.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

_Dara_ wrote: »
    They need to jumble the teams up next week. I'm a bit fed up of the all-girls team.

I say Sugar, Claude and Karen are sick of the all girls team and their bitching and bickering :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭kopite386

Can’t believe the lads got no complaints! :eek:

He never said they didn't get complaints he just said they didn't ask for a refund ;)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

Missed this last night, can't believe the lads finally won something :D

• Registered Users Posts: 32,972 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

miamee wrote: »
    Missed this last night, can't believe the lads finally won something :D
    I dont know if you can call them the lads now as two girls in the team now...and both really strong candidates :D

• Registered Users Posts: 15 pzermelzer

IvySlayer wrote:
    They showing the men half naked a lot and in the shower? WTF??

I thought same at start but then when they got that guy to sing as entertainment I saw the link. Nothing is for nothing on that show. They were telling the story....

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional East Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 12,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭miamee

gmisk wrote: »
    I dont know if you can call them the lads now as two girls in the team now...and both really strong candidates :D

Oh which other woman joined the tam this week? I should really just try and catch up on this episode, it's repeated on Friday nights isn't it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Filming Harrison in the shower was totally inappropriate.

Keeps viewers interested... :o :rolleyes: ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 901 ✭✭✭geecee

Micheala reminds me of Karen's country cousin! It's like an episode of EastEnders set in Bolton where they meet their long lost northern relatives.

Or if they put Karen on secret millionaire and tried to disguise her with a bad wig and Denis Taylor glasses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

miamee wrote: »
    Oh which other woman joined the tam this week? I should really just try and catch up on this episode, it's repeated on Friday nights isn't it?

Sarah, probably the strongest candidate!

Lets be honest, winning the tasks is pretty irrelevant overall though. They mattered significantly in the old format but now they’re manipulated for entertainment purposes and to just weed out the deadwood/attention seekers. As rightly pointed out above, the girls performed far better in terms of generating customer satisfaction and repeat business. Honestly, expecting groups to throw a huge corporate event in one day, for one day? LOL. There’s zero consideration for future business opportunity or long-term strategy.

Still a fair bit of deadwood to go. The lady in the final boardroom (PM next week) is on borrowed time and there are a few, who I honestly couldn’t tell you their names without Googling. I’m sure one of them will be a grower though to be fair, there’s always late bloomers. Elizabeth actually played a blinder this week I thought, and although I can’t see her being close to winning, she’s a strong personality and may well go deep. Andrew and Charles are probably the “villains” for want of a better word, and will stay in the process a while for entertainment if nothing else.

If I had to choose a final 5 already I’d guess Sarah, Michaela, Harrison, Jade and AN other but a lot will change.

On a side-note what’s the obsession with being a competent sales-person on the show? They seem to draw a lot of “sales executives” also. Selling is a very specialised discipline, it’s far from everyone’s comfort zone. All the candidates are looking to be the owner of a company, you just hire someone to take care of all the sales.

Im really surprised at the result to be honest. Ok the girls team bought too much wine, but surely they bought it at wholesale prices. The boys meanwhile bought 6 bottles of wine, and when they ran out went to the stadium bar to stock up on wine. We never heard what they paid for the wine in the bar, but to be honest, I wouldn't expect to see change from £20 for a bottle of wine from a stadium bar during FA cup final day unless they wangled some sort of a deal.

Im also very surprised there were no complaints. Didn't the boys have half a canape per guest?

With the new "very obviously manufactured" nature of the program, you would wonder if maybe the profits are manufactured as well to suit the direction of the show.

On another note, has anyone watched the "Honest subtitles" clips of the apprentice. Some of them are hilarious.

With the new "very obviously manufactured" nature of the program, you would wonder if maybe the profits are manufactured as well to suit the direction of the show.

I've often thought the same. Lets be honest who would know the difference. The tasks are so high-octane and carried out in a short time-frame

Plenty of 'customers' would obviously know it's filming for the Apprentice also, given the presence of Claude/Karen. You'd obviously be expecting a complete car-crash of an event and know it's not to be taken too seriously, so it would possibly ensure no refunds are requested

You'd be more forgiving of the lack of drink situation for example

• Registered Users Posts: 18,008 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

When did this start and is there anywhere to see the old episodes?

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 217 ✭✭noveltea

Tyson Fury wrote:
    When did this start and is there anywhere to see the old episodes?

They are on you tube. not great quality but still on it

This is my favourite task every year. Yay!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Well I hope they get chewed out for letting down the poor guy who put down his dinner to schlep halfway across London to meet them with the computer they wanted >:-(

• Registered Users Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Being "an academic" - the worst crime a candidate can commit!

Ross was getting a leaving edit early in that episode. He was so arrogant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

Maybe I take too simplistic a view of things but I just don't understand how you fail to get everything in the time on that task, no matter how big London is! Spending an hour at the start to pick two arbitrary teams and divvy the goods and make a plan that nobody has a notion of sticking to is actually ridiculous!

The scarf took the biscuit in my opinion - one team actually buying a second hand scarf from some guy in his house? You're in London ffs, you'll get a spurs scarf in a petrol station! Jesus!

I'd like to get a picture of the timeliness involved because they make it look like it takes them 6 hours to get 1 item and then 2 hours to get everything else, which I'm sure is not the case. It seems the real issue is that the candidates can't read a map and don't know how to use the yellow pages to their advantage. When they can't Google everything they don't know what to do.

I thought the women's pm was lucky the other team failed to get a few items because 100% she would have been gone. Awful team player, terrible skills in general - your one Jade was making an epic plan at the beginning and she just told her to shut up and then made no plan herself. A truly awful PM.

We were dumbfounded at the scarf thing too and the bricks! I’m going to roll out the business speak here but they were the low hanging fruit. Get them out of the way quickly!

Joanna is really awful and I just could not see what Bushra was complaining about Elizabeth for at the builder’s provider.

Dunno is it just me but overall I'm getting the air of a finallist edit off Harrison

Ross was the definition of deadwood I barely knew he existed till now.

Surely a double elimination next week?

Yeah Joanna is completely on borrowed time

He may aswell have just chucked her out altogether last night despite winning!

jr86 wrote: »
    Dunno is it just me but overall I'm getting the air of a finallist edit off Harrison

Ross was the definition of deadwood I barely knew he existed till now.

Surely a double elimination next week?

They said 5 tasks left, but there are a lot of candidates. There must be a bloodbath coming.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,550 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Karen was giving out about Katherine spending too much time trying to haggle over the handkerchief yet when the other girl didn't want to waste time trying to save a quid over the car aerial, she was giving out about that too. That really bugged me.
    She either wants them to haggle down and save every penny or not waste time trying to save a quid here and there, she can't have it both ways

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭max life

This is my favourite task every year. Yay!

Me too!

They said 5 tasks left, but there are a lot of candidates. There must be a bloodbath coming.

Yeah, so that means 8 people to get rid of in 5 tasks if I'm not mistaken?

We've had candidates leave by choice the last few years, so who knows. But if not, that would mean three double eliminations or else a triple somewhere along the line

That's provided they bring the usual 5 to interviews. For tv purposes 6 is too many unless they change the format

• Registered Users Posts: 10,717 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

I would think a double is on the way next week. I do love these touristy tasks, they always mess up.

siblers wrote: »
    Karen was giving out about Katherine spending too much time trying to haggle over the handkerchief yet when the other girl didn't want to waste time trying to save a quid over the car aerial, she was giving out about that too. That really bugged me.
    She either wants them to haggle down and save every penny or not waste time trying to save a quid here and there, she can't have it both ways

Karen made some comment in the boardroom to one of the women - and I can't remember what it was now - but the look on her face could only be described as a sneer. I'm really beginning to dislike Karen, especially when you compare her to Margaret before her.