Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winter: what is it good for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

It's good stalking weather

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

_Dara_ wrote: »
    I much prefer cycling in winter than summer. You warm up quickly and then it is so refreshing as opposed to really sweaty in the summer.
    ah yes cold rain against your forehead lovely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Swiss winter's are great.

- Fondue / raclette
    - Strolling around the bustling Christmas markets getting hammered on Gluwhein
    - Skiing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

ah yes cold rain against your forehead lovely

One thing cycling in Ireland has taught me is that it rains a lot less than people think. Most winters cycling to and from work, I'd get rained on probably less than ten times in the season. And when it does rain, it's usually light and actually really refreshing. When you're warmed up from exercise, rain isn't an issue. Seriously try it before you knock it.

Swiss winter's are great.

- Fondue / raclette
    - Strolling around the bustling Christmas markets getting hammered on Gluwhein
    - Skiing
    not much of cheese eater
    not much of a shopper
    not much mountains here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Keeping the Wehrmacht at bay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

starting relearning to swim... injured my shoulder :/:o will have to give ita rest for now :rolleyes:
    So the shoulder won't be better until your beloved Summer?
    hate indoor heat
    So you prefer skin cancer-inducing outdoor heat from the sun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,589 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

Absolutley nothing?

Really tell me whats good about winter/autumn?
    you didn't mention coldness
    i don't drink alcohol
    I hate xmas
    im trying not to sit around so much
    i have sensitive teeth
    the spectacle, sitting in front of a computer?
    i think im a bit old for santa
    im still at a walking stage but you'll have convince me that running outdoors in winter is amazing
    its a capitalist ploy?
    less humid nights true but can't get the heating right for winters morining with my heating system :/
    don't drink alcohol
    slush?
    I like warm food but then there also lots of chocolate around to tempt me.
    don't drink alcohol
    "Veg/Fruit last longer" is that what winter is good for?
    hate indoor heat
    not much of cheese eater
    not much of a shopper
    not much mountains here

Jaysis OP I'd say you're great craic at parties all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

DoozerT6 wrote: »

BBQs maybe.

DoozerT6 wrote: »

i'll admit im not much fun at parties, another reason not to like winter

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 92,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It kills wasps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Andrewf20

Nothin like a 5km run in the dark rainy December evening air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Jimbob1977 wrote: »
    Keeping the Wehrmacht at bay

Way to bring the mood down Jimbo.

How about a good news story?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Horrible time.
    Darkness darkness darkness.
    Heavier traffic.
    Cold.
    Wet.
    That horrible breeze that cuts through several layers.
    Darkness.
    Use more oil and electricity.
    Heavy coats.
    Darkness.
    Money at Xmas.
    Work Xmas parties.
    Darkness.
    No GAA.
    Lights always on.
    Scarves.
    Darkness.
    Colds and flu.
    The budget.
    Did i mention darkness?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

degsie wrote: »
    Snow, blizzards, ice, darkness, higher electricity bills..... whats not to like?

More like mild wet muck.

I wouldn't mind it as much if it just stayed cold and dry.

_Dara_ wrote: »
    One thing cycling in Ireland has taught me is that it rains a lot less than people think. Most winters cycling to and from work, I'd get rained on probably less than ten times in the season. And when it does rain, it's usually light and actually really refreshing. When you're warmed up from exercise, rain isn't an issue. Seriously try it before you knock it.

i have started cycling a bit this summer I won't be cycling to work but I'll try to keep it up, but wow you must have magic rain dodging abilties, my cycling is for exercise/literally getting out in the sun, I guess thats even more important to get what sun you can in winter but its not a cost saver/financial objective that cycling to work might be for you.

Andrewf20 wrote: »
    Nothin like a 5km run in the dark rainy December evening air.

i feel my lungs and throat burning at just that thought of that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Pike fishing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

its a capitalist ploy?

Jingle all the way. That's paganism for ya though. They somehow realised that winter was all about money decades before boards.ie landed on the scene, and thousands of years before the concept of modern currency AKA money was a big thing. That said, without Karl Marx and his ideology Tom Selleck never would have been such a big star. We have a lot to thank the lefties for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

i have started cycling a bit this summer I won't be cycling to work but I'll try to keep it up, but wow you must have magic rain dodging abilties, my cycling is for exercise/literally getting out in the sun, I guess thats even more important to get what sun you can in winter but its not a cost saver/financial objective that cycling to work might be for you.

No magic abilities, how often it rains is exaggerated and it's no big deal when it does. I do it because I enjoy it, not for financial reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Killing colds and flues. Shame it's not for almost another 3 months .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

What about crowdfunding to put a big silver dish up in a geo-stationary orbit to double the power of the sun, during winter.

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Bygumbo

I presume you are a bear?

A much-lesser-spotted Eagle-eating Arthropod, but you were close

What about crowdfunding to put a big silver dish up in a geo-stationary orbit to double the power of the sun, during winter.

And then you could Die Another Day, instead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,071 ✭✭✭appledrop

I like all the seasons. Nothing like coming home after a hard day's work in winter + not feeling guilty for getting in the p.js early snuggling up with warm fire +candles while wind + rain lash outside....bliss

I also love a winter walk on a crisp dry cold sunny day wrapped up in my warm coat + boots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Absolutley nothing?

It's a great time for doom and gloom merchants like yourself ;)
    If you want to be miserable nobody can help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

Winter is a good time for watching tv, or playing games on a pc or console.
    Or catching up on old tv programs on netflix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

riclad wrote: »
    Winter is a good time for watching tv, or playing games on a pc or console.
    Or catching up on old tv programs on netflix.
    What age are you?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

Not having to cut the grass

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Warm coats. Pretty hats. Wooly tights and boots. New dresses. Fires. Watching movies when the rain is banging off the windows. Hot chocolate. Snowmen. Christmas. Gloves and sparkly scarves.

You can have that all year round in Ireland.
    Even the snowman.

CWyE6jOXAAA2fkS.jpg

The real answer is "balance".

How can you appreciate a good day without a bad day?

How can you appreciate glorious sunshine without hopeless grey skies?

How can you appreciate heaven without hell?

How can you appreciate television without RTE?

Plus its a great time of year to hide in trees.

Bygumbo wrote: »
    And then you could Die Another Day, instead?

The artificial sun idea has been bandied about by a few cooler countries, worth a go. Could probably focus it using a remote control ideal for a mid-winters 1pm BBQ.

Screen_Shot_2017-09-15_at_21.24.19.png

Might also be useful base for generating Space Solar Power...

The artificial sun idea has been bandied about by a few cooler countries, worth a go. Could probably focus it using a remote control ideal for a mid-winters 1pm BBQ.

Might also be useful base for generating Space Solar Power

What about getting a few man-with-van's, catapult them up to the moon with a shed-load of tinfoil, wrap the surface up nice and neat, and there ye go! Sun goes down? No problem, when the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie you can whip out the oul BBQ and fry a few snozzengers for the chiselers.

Where the vans come into it is anyone's guess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭Burial.

Prime time for Tinder and Instagram graft which means meeting tonnes of interesting psychos to brighten up the dark days. It's also bulk season so eating more carbs is always grand. Less partying and no pulling the pants off the summer means I can read more and engage in more CPD whilst saving more money to invest and experiment with. Winter is like a reset and rebuild process for me. I get bigger and stronger in the gym, I sleep more, I read a sh*t tonne which has knock on effects in every aspect of my life. Life is less full on and I can start to reevaluate and plan for the future. Lot to look forward to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,020 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Jayzis I walked up and down Dun Laoghaire Pier today and was fkn frozen and a bit wet too from a tiny squall of rain.

But I love that. Makes you appreciate the heat when you get inside somewhere.

Looking forward to colder weather, it is easy to make yourself warm, but not so easy to make yourself cool in stifling weather. Geddit!

What about getting a few man-with-van's, catapult them up to the moon with a shed-load of tinfoil, wrap the surface up nice and neat, and there ye go! Sun goes down? No problem, when the moon hits your eye like a big pizza pie you can whip out the oul BBQ and fry a few snozzengers for the chiselers.

Where the vans come into it is anyone's guess.

The vans would be handy for driving to the edges of the moon, and the lads would have to camp out of them, until they finalise ion-propulsion for getting back.

Mylar might suit as it's thinner than tinfoil. 10,000km2 should do. Only problem is the moon is occasionally prone to stray asteroid impacts. Coca-cola once wanted to project their logo onto the moon, but it breached space advertising standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Downtime.
    Nature slows down and so will i.
    I finish work at 5 and it's lovely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Patww79 wrote: »
    The wind, rain, cold, and dark keeps brats indoors which makes it the best time of year.

Sounds like the Summer we just had.

The vans would be handy for driving to the edges of the moon, and the lads would have to camp out of them, until they finalise ion-propulsion for getting back.

Mylar might suit as it's thinner than tinfoil. 10,000km2 should do. Only problem is the moon is occasionally prone to stray asteroid impacts. Coca-cola once wanted to project their logo onto the moon, but it breached standards.

More solutions, more problems.

So TWO sheds full of tin foil/mylar, or how about reflective silver paint? The upside is that the stress on the elbows as they paint would be reduced by less gravity, downside is that the man-with-vans would eventually morph into misshapen blobs. Has to be a quick job, balancing the blobbo-elbow theorem.

The repulsion of errant asteroids could be accomplished by projecting a never-ending gif of Tubridy, whose gurning face has been proven to smash solid rock.

Unfortunately there is the risk that his head could be the first image received by alien races, who would, more than likely, decide to eliminate earth ASAP.

But on the whole, for a burnt winter sausage, its worth the chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,003 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Not a fan..

- Dark mornings and nights mean the traffic is much worse.. add in snow/ice and the commute doubles
    - Electricity/gas bills are higher
    - I hate the cold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

I think I'd like winter more if the clock didn't have to go back.

The real answer is "balance".

How can you appreciate a good day without a bad day?

How can you appreciate glorious sunshine without hopeless grey skies?

How can you appreciate heaven without hell?

How can you appreciate television without RTE?

Plus its a great time of year to hide in trees.
    3 - 6 months of balance, its false balance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Absolutley nothing?

It's so that Finnish Black Metal bands can have an appropriate album picture taken.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

The new Autumn/Winter Family Album.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

i don't drink alcohol
    im trying to keep the weight (i've lost during summer outdoor exercise) off
    I hate xmas
    im trying not to sit around so much
    thats war
    i have sensitive teeth
    the spectacle, sitting in front of a computer?
    starting relearning to swim... injured my shoulder :/:o will have to give ita rest for now :rolleyes:

Two pages in and pure misery by the OP.

Winter: what is it good for?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

We decided to light a fire this evening for the first time since May and it's so cosy sitting here in front of it for the past five hours, watching tv and having a few beers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Michael, turn on the heating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

Champions League, University Challenge, stew, brussels sprouts, those really bright and frosty mornings, hiking in the Wicklow mountains. Love it.