Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE slams "secret" producer for telling the truth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

It's hard to take this seriously.

The RTE SP has stated so much around what they've done that they should be easily identifiable at this point. So either they're very stupid or they're just an amalgam of a lot of different people and different experiences, put together under one "character" which doesn't make a whole lot of sense.

We can all narrate the various negative stories and experiences of ourselves and our colleagues but that doesn't reflect the true reality of the situation.
    But what part do I believe and what part do I leave to one-side as a false scent to distract from his/her identity? As a result, I'm left believing none of it.

I think part of the issue is that the twitter user is fairly savvy, much more than they are letting on, and is throwing a lot of red herrings into the mix to throw people off the scent. I'm not sure they are an actual RTE producer, but they're definitely someone with a lot of experience of working within the organisation and I would believe much of what they are saying.

My money would be on a disgruntled former employee of the now defunct Young People's Programming dept, or a writer with an axe to grind.

It's interesting that some of the details in the tweets have already been alluded to in tweets from other former RTE contractors. Graham Linehan made reference to the story about Barry Murphy having to chase a commissioning editor into the toilets in a previous anti-RTE rant:

http://www.thejournal.ie/graham-linehan-angry-2071087-Apr2015/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

VinLieger wrote: »
    They are threatening to publish the stories being sent by other staff if RTE dont stop hounding them. These stories might be a bit more specific and about specific situations so will be very interesting to see if the RTE management are stupid enough to try push them to that

I hate arrangements like this when it comes to whistleblowing, TBH. I understand why they're necessary, I really do get that, but the idea of a whistleblower holding back some information of genuine public interest as a safety mechanism just seems unwhistleblowery to me. Would much rather they held back non-public interest, but still embarrassing stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,539 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

I hate arrangements like this when it comes to whistleblowing, TBH. I understand why they're necessary, I really do get that, but the idea of a whistleblower holding back some information of genuine public interest as a safety mechanism just seems unwhistleblowery to me. Would much rather they held back non-public interest, but still embarrassing stories.

It does sound like the stories they are holding back are just more specific examples of the general incompetance and nopotism and embarrassing as you described.

However considering the bullish nature of rte heads on this fiasco we can expect to see those stories released tomorrow as i seripusly doubt they will back down. Im really surprised.

Id say terry prone is tearing her wig off trying to get them to understand they need to stop chasing the guy but considering what we know and have learned about their fragile egos they are much more concerned with personal rep and embarrassment than damage control and reform

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

TallGlass wrote: »
    Basically. It's a toxic work place. People go in go home get paid and **** anyone or anything that wants to change it. You don't go forward or back and the only way is out the door. Want change, or show/want inspiration then you can also go out the door.

What a sorry place to work, sounds like no one at the top has passion for the job anymore and anyone who does is put in there place and silenced, knowing at this stage in the game leaving isn't an option.

Personally that would drive me nuts.

Kinda like every other civil service branch of the government.
    Now you know why i cant stand gov workers.

And this is just the tip of the iceberg.
    What if i told you state tender contracts signed off by gov officals are based on what they can get out of it.... allegedly speaking of course. Who cares anyway. This will blow over. And life will go on. It always does in parochial Ireland.
    Too many vested interests to be able to rock the boat.

Need somebody with balls of a brass monkey to do something like this for the hse.

That would truly be an eye opener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

kupus wrote: »
    Now you know why i cant stand gov workers.

Be sure to tell the fireman that arrives to cut you out of your crashed car, and the paramedic that tries to stop you bleeding to death on the way to hospital, and the teacher trying to make something out of your kid etc

I noticed you missed the part about the alleged signed contracts suiting the signer and their friends. But thats ok.
    Ive had my fun, and thats all that matters.

I noticed you missed the part about the alleged signed contracts suiting the signer and their friends. But thats ok.
    Ive had my fun, and thats all that matters.

Actually I didn't miss it, it wasn't particularly subtle or nuanced. I'm only highlighting your rather bizzare claim you hate all government workers because something something dodgy contracts and RTE fcukers something...

Ok roger just for you. Ill rephrase it a bit better.
    I dont hate all gov workers. Just the unionised workshy clock in clock out, if extra work was to be found in the bed, you find them sleeping on the floor types, with no accountability, pass the ball as long as it doesnt stay in their hands. constant whinging moaning ones.. Does that sound better pet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Just read this on rte.ie...

Carrigstown's answer to Burton and Taylor are back in each other's arms on Fair City this week as Paul and Niamh give in to passion once again.

Bloody hell, is there a counter on screen for how many times they've gotten back together?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I dont hate all gov workers. Just the unionised workshy clock in clock out, if extra work was to be found in the bed, you find them sleeping on the floor types, with no accountability, pass the ball as long as it doesnt stay in their hands. constant whinging moaning ones.. Does that sound better pet.

You must be talking about North Korean government workers. It describes no one I work with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Yiz are all begrudgers, sher it's no skin off yir nose.

That's a bit better chicken, in fact I might agree with that. That wasn't too difficult now was it?
    Well done you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

You must be talking about North Korean government workers. It describes no one I work with!

I'm on a contract in the public sector at the moment (via a recruitment agency so technically still private myself! :p) and it's a decided minority but it very, very much describes some I work with. One in admin is a caricature of this stereotype to the point you'd roll your eyes if they were in a parody for being too much or exaggerated, then you have another small few that spend the whole day just "having the chats". One of them is in 5 hours a day, has an hour lunch, and spends a minimum of 1.5-2hrs walking in and out of other peoples offices just looking to start a conversation over anything. If you so much as clear your throat while they're in earshot you know there's going to be 5-6 attempts to start a running natter about it. The others in this persons office literally put in to have a cubicle built around her desk it's that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,547 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

An interesting alternative perspective - follow the thread;

https://twitter.com/c_macge/status/909484614699319297

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,510 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Might be right. However that doesn't mean that they're not worthy of scrutiny. And then again so are newstalk/the indo.

Jesus, is there any semi-state or major organisation that's beyond reproach? (I don't mean that as a cop out as in "Sure they're all at it. It's more of a Jesus, it'd be great if there was one)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

And yet in earlier tweets they explained that there needs to be a news source that doesn't belong to DoB.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

It's another perspective, but highly unlikely. That Twitter user isn't happy because the the secret producer is exposing waste and poor practices that are entrenched in RTE though the unions with a management culture not willing or able to take them on - not the high level stuff that the Left could make hay with (if high level abuses exist).

Of course that Twitter user doesn't take into account that ordinary Joe/Jane producer wouldn't have access to that kind of management information on high level editorial decisions and can only exposed the waste and **** that goes on around them.

The idea that this is a conspiracy to distract from Newstalk is total baloney.

LOL at them claiming the person behind the account has an agenda while outlining the exact agenda and bias their own thinking operates on. As someone said who replied to that diatribe its tinfoil hattery at its finest.

Im guessing that user also might be a bit put out by the pointing out of the unions wastefulness, im guessing from their quite obvious political leanings they have spent their fair share of time behind union placards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Grayson wrote: »
    Might be right. However that doesn't mean that they're not worthy of scrutiny. And then again so are newstalk/the indo.

Jesus, is there any semi-state or major organisation that's beyond reproach? (I don't mean that as a cop out as in "Sure they're all at it. It's more of a Jesus, it'd be great if there was one)

Newstalk and the Indo are private entities, though, not paid for by tax payers and live and die based on market demands (which are much harsher and typically force companies to be more stringent than the likes of RTE), so we've actually no right to demand this level of accountability from them, whereas we do of RTE.

leggo wrote: »
    Newstalk and the Indo are private entities, though, not paid for by tax payers and live and die based on market demands (which are much harsher and typically force companies to be more stringent than the likes of RTE), so we've actually no right to demand this level of accountability from them, whereas we do of RTE.
    Pretty much, if NT or the Indo want to fly their cleaning staff in by helicopter on a daily basis that's their own prerogative; it's not like they'd be looking for the taxpayer to foot the bill for their own private taxis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Still not convinced this whole thing isn't a spoof. There's nothing been released so far that you couldn't already infer or that wasn't already in the public realm. There's no way to verify what they're saying at all unless they get in touch with an investigative journalist and really blue the whistle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭keith_sixteen

Still not convinced this whole thing isn't a spoof.

If it's a spoof, why are RTE giving it so much credibility?

Billy86 wrote: »
    Pretty much, if NT or the Indo want to fly their cleaning staff in by helicopter on a daily basis that's their own prerogative; it's not like they'd be looking for the taxpayer to foot the bill for their own private taxis.

More stringent? Yeah, sure - remind me what happened when Anglo was ready to go off and die based on market demands? Who was it that got stuck with the bill? And who was it that got massive write-downs on debt when somebody with a close relationship to Newstalk and the Indo was taking them over?

The Indo and Newstalk got write downs on debt? :confused: Anglo Irish own these companies? :confused: Should be burn the bondholders while we're at it? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

That's pretty much it. Saying nothing or calling the thing out as a hoax would have been a far better choice than promising to "punish" them. Basically they've said that it's not a hoax, and that means there's at least some truth in what the producer is revealing.

Tbh, s/he's not really saying anything we didn't already know. Programming at RTE has been a shambles for 2 decades. They occasionally get lucky with the likes of "Love/Hate", but for the most part they just show the same old nonsense with the Late Late, Winning Streak, Ear to the Ground, etc. The same tired old stuffy presenters, the same safe, parochial content.

There's a reason why all of the best Irish TV talent and comedians go to the UK - because RTE is an old boys' club with no imagination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Greybottle

The spin doctors are starting to earn their money.

Expect attack after attack on this person, with plenty of 'inside sources' saying that they know the person and it's a disgruntled somebody who was passed over for something or other.

Wagons would normally be circled, but nobody is doing it as they're all out trying to cover their own arses.

What are you on about pal?

What has any of this got to do with RTE?

Sorry mate, but you sound like someone on social media ranting about how nurses don't earn as much as footballers. You're fundamentally missing the point of the entire discussion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,332 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I knew a camera woman who works there who told me that they hire certain cameras and equipment for big events like Eurovision. She said they refuse to buy them in and save money in the long run. Also like a lot of the Irish public service, nepotisim is rife. Whose vagina you came out of supercedes talent.

Ah here, Lottie Ryan is a damn good interviewer.

It has, thanks - they didn't. I can't stand either entity nor The Nameless Man but your posts seem to have a strange agenda to them.

Has absolutely nothing to do with RTE's mismanagement and the twitter account.

Again i find it ironic when people accuse the twitter account of having an agenda based solely on the fact their own agenda isn't being talked about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Cienciano wrote: »

The "boards.ie Post of the Decade Competition" is now closed as we have a winner.

Has absolutely nothing to do with RTE's mismanagement and the twitter account.

Again i find it ironic when people accuse the twitter account of having an agenda based solely on the fact their own agenda isn't being talked about.
    It has, thanks - they didn't. I can't stand either entity nor The Nameless Man but your posts seem to have a strange agenda to them.
    What has any of this got to do with RTE?

Sorry mate, but you sound like someone on social media ranting about how nurses don't earn as much as footballers. You're fundamentally missing the point of the entire discussion.

I didn't bring up the question of Newstalk / INM / Siteserv, others did. I'm simply pointing out that the 'private sector minds its own business' myth is just that.

No, it was you who brought them in post #115. The only mention of either before was a passing comment about George Hook getting bad publicity recently.

Eh no, I didn't. I posted a link to a Twitter thread. The Twitter thread brought them up, and others weighed in on the matter, so I added some facts for context.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,359 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

it's a long-game publicity campaign for next summer's Late-Late replacement "Saturday Night with the Secret Producer". He'll be presenting with a paper-bag-with-eye-holes on his head and at the end of the series the bag will dramatically be removed to reveal none other than.... Craig Doyle!

I posted a link to a Twitter thread. The Twitter thread brought them up

LOL, some amazing mental gymnastics in operation here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,026 ✭✭✭optogirl

Was following when there were circa 9000 followers - then saw the Journal.ie article with RTE statement and went back - circa 17000 followers...

optogirl wrote: »
    Was following when there were circa 9000 followers - then saw the Journal.ie article with RTE statement and went back - circa 17000 followers...

Its 24.4k now

Eh no, I didn't. I posted a link to a Twitter thread. The Twitter thread brought them up, and others weighed in on the matter, so I added some facts for context.
    And you brought it from there to here, so yes you did bring it up in this discussion. Because you're posts have a very clear and transparent agenda to shift the conversation, for whatever reason...

LOL, some amazing mental gymnastics in operation here

You can LOL all you like, that doesn't change the facts of what happened.

Yes you brought that topic into the thread, or did the twitter thread link to itself?

I posted a link to the Twitter thread, which raised a number of issues, including a Newstalk perspective. Others commented on the Newstalk angle, and I added some facts for context. Now what's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,558 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

I wish all this effort would go towards ensuring rapists get the sentences they deserve etc...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Ineedaname

Cienciano wrote: »

joke-an-american-and-a-mauritian-were-sitting-at-a-bar_1465291784-b.jpg

I posted a link to the Twitter thread, which raised a number of issues, including a Newstalk perspective. Others commented on the Newstalk angle, and I added some facts for context. Now what's the problem?

The problem is you bringing something up in this discussion then turning around and saying you never brought it up. Again, nobody here commented on the Newstalk angle - you brought it up before anyone had mentioned Newstalk or the Indo beyond George Hook getting bad publicity lately. Nobody is saying you can't bring it up, but just be honest about it rather than pretending it was being discussed when a quick search through the posts before your linking to it shows that to be completely false.

If you want to search this thread and see who started talking about Newstalk, you'll see it wasn't me.

http://www.boards.ie/search/submit/?thread=2057787536&sort=oldest&date_to=&date_from=&query=newstalk

I only mentioned Newstalk to deny that I was talking about Newstalk, funnily enough.

I did link to the Twitter thread that does indeed mention Newstalk. For me, the Newstalk angle was probably the least interesting bit of that thread, though maybe that's different for others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

I'm glad you asked me that, Miriam.