Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RTE slams "secret" producer for telling the truth?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

If you want to search this thread and see who started talking about Newstalk, you'll see it wasn't me.
    Nice try, but quite predictable hence my preempting it already - twice

- "The only mention of either before was a passing comment about George Hook getting bad publicity recently"
    - "Again, nobody here commented on the Newstalk angle - you brought it up before anyone had mentioned Newstalk or the Indo beyond George Hook getting bad publicity lately."

The second one of those is literally right there in the post of mine you are after quoting.

Here is the sole mention of the Indo or Newstalk before you brought it up: "Like, the whole idea that there's no such thing as bad publicity isn't actually true. George Hook has had quite a bit recently, and that hasn't really benefitted him or Newstalk"

Absolutely zero to do with the angle you're trying to push and nobody replied to it with any other input in either direction on Hook or Newstalk; you did not reply to it either. This was more than two full days before your post bringing up Newstalk out of the blue.

Like I said absolutely bring it up if you wish, but please don't attempt to insult the other collective intelligence of everyone else on the thread by pretending you weren't the one to do so.
    I only mentioned Newstalk to deny that I was talking about Newstalk, funnily enough.

I did link to the Twitter thread that does indeed mention Newstalk. For me, the Newstalk angle was probably the least interesting bit of that thread, though maybe that's different for others.
    That's just not true - you mentioned Newstalk out of the blue, right here in post #115. This is your first post on it and is not a denial of anything, it is you pointing out a Tweet from someone, out of the blue, trying to suggest Newstalk may be behind the Twitter account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,558 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

What's happened to the thread

Exactly what some people want I'd reckon, deflection and/or derailment. It's unfortunate.

Yeah sorry, I'll leave it at that. That "if I just keep saying it, it will become true" carry on just really gets on my nerves! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Patww79 wrote: »

From what I can see nothing all day, which seems odd on a Monday considering the type of account etc. Hopefully just being extra careful if they were in the RTE building all day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,547 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

[QUOTE=Billy86;104717637

That's just not true - you mentioned Newstalk out of the blue, right here in post #115. This is your first post on it and is not a denial of anything, it is you pointing out a Tweet from someone, out of the blue, trying to suggest Newstalk may be behind the Twitter account.[/QUOTE]

Oh yes it is. I didn't mention Newstalk in that post. Go back again and look at my words and you will see that I didn't mention Newstalk.

I linked to a thread that mentioned Newstalk and many other things.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Have they released any good gossip yet? All I saw yesterday was some indication that there was something behind why the den etc were scrapped....but didn't actually say anything lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭afatbollix

A few years ago TV3 made the weakest link. RTE gave them a great quote to film it at RTE studios they had 3 weeks to film it.

What they didn't realise was that with the unions it was 10am to 5pm working hours only meaning even if you were in the middle of a take the camera ops walked off set.

Then when someone was kicked off the show they remove the plinth that the person stood behind. But you needed three people to do it. An electrician had to come down to unplug the light and two set hands had to lift it up and remove it. If you remember the show it was a 2 minute round followed by a removal of a person but in the RTE way the electrician walked back to the office each time and a runner had to be sent out and find them. One person could have done it rules be rules. It took 7 weeks to film in the end.

Also, the two man jib camera is a joke, Seen it in action on a bank holiday the camera op was behind the crowd seats sitting down while a woman was lifting the camera up and down. Prob on triple pay too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,539 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Have they released any good gossip yet? All I saw yesterday was some indication that there was something behind why the den etc were scrapped....but didn't actually say anything lol.

Nothing yet they are holding that kind of stuff as a threat it seems if RTE keep trying to out them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,530 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

From Secret Producer
    People are asking me good things to FOI - start with looking at taxis - especially ones booked 8-11 in the morning going to rte and 5-10 in the evening going from rte - they are mainly staff using them and claiming them back, even though it is private travel

Great to know what our money is spent on.

Everyone else here has taxi to work and home and your employer pays, yeah?

Where is Clare Daly, Ruth Coppinger, Rich Boy Barrett?

Come on, socialists, defend this.:pac:

Where are you? Defend the whistleblower.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭WinnyThePoo

From Secret Producer

My friend worked as a runner for a few shows. Booked taxis from rte to coopers alot etc.

Where is Clare Daly, Ruth Coppinger, Rich Boy Barrett?

Come on, socialists, defend this.:pac:

Where are you? Defend the whistleblower.

A whistleblower who specifically blames unions for quite a lot of the waste and incompetence within RTE?

Yeah fat chance of that happening.

They will quietly and pathetically sit on the sidelines for this cus its a no win scenario for them, if they support the unions they are supporting wasteful spending, if they support RTE then they will get it from the unions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Not going to link the article because it doesn't deserve to be read but there's some twat in the independent who has labeled the whistleblower a 'rat'.

Caliden wrote: »
    Not going to link the article because it doesn't deserve to be read but there's some twat in the independent who has labeled the whistleblower a 'rat'.

Yeah it was linked earlier, pathetic garbage from someone who obviously has some mates scared they are about to publicly named

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Maysa07

afatbollix wrote: »
    A few years ago TV3 made the weakest link. RTE gave them a great quote to film it at RTE studios they had 3 weeks to film it.

What they didn't realise was that with the unions it was 10am to 5pm working hours only meaning even if you were in the middle of a take the camera ops walked off set.

Then when someone was kicked off the show they remove the plinth that the person stood behind. But you needed three people to do it. An electrician had to come down to unplug the light and two set hands had to lift it up and remove it. If you remember the show it was a 2 minute round followed by a removal of a person but in the RTE way the electrician walked back to the office each time and a runner had to be sent out and find them. One person could have done it rules be rules. It took 7 weeks to film in the end.

Also, the two man jib camera is a joke, Seen it in action on a bank holiday the camera op was behind the crowd seats sitting down while a woman was lifting the camera up and down. Prob on triple pay too.

Sorry i feel the need to correct you there.One person operates the jib arm/boom while another operates the pan/tilt and zoom functions of the Camera. It is not physically possible to have one person do the lot.

Only got a small bit into that article and closed it, what a joke that guy is - desperation apparent from the get go, very well pointed out by Patww a few posts up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

The place is clearly a toxic working environment.

Someone mentioned the notion that if you had any talent or ambition whatsoever then you would have left RTE behind in your wake. I recall watching the DVD documentary about the production of Aliens at Pinewood in the mid-80's. Here you had James Cameron, a talented, creative and ambitious director trying his best to make the best film possible. Only problem was due to a tight budget, the production team consisted of an over-unionized camera crew which caused Cameron and the producers to grow increasingly irate. No overtime worked as a rule, extended 'tea' breaks (called for even during a shot) and doing things the way they'd always been done was a culture shock for Cameron.

In the end, the film was finished but the tension and Camerons efforts to get them to cop on resulted in him being smeared as an abusive, tantrum throwing prick. That's the kind of thing that happens when you upset the apple cart. Perhaps some condescending Indo journalist will label you a 'troll in a bedsit' or a 'Rat'.

That was just one film. Now imagine such a culture being in our national broadcaster permanently. Unmoved. That's what the secret producer is helping to shine a light on.

Cameron's parting words should be a maxim for anyone currently in RTE with a modicum of talent or ambition.

“This has been a long and difficult shoot, fraught by many problems. But the one thing that kept me going, through it all, was the certain knowledge that one day I would drive out the gate of Pinewood and never come back, and that you sorry bastards would still be here.”

My friend worked as a runner for a few shows. Booked taxis from rte to coopers alot etc.
    From Secret Producer

Get moving on the FOI requests that would show this abuse up clearly so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,404 ✭✭✭✭sKeith

Quote:
    People are asking me good things to FOI - start with looking at taxis - especially ones booked 8-11 in the morning going to rte and 5-10 in the evening going from rte - they are mainly staff using them and claiming them back, even though it is private travel
    why would they need to FOI in the evening between 5-10 if by 6 its a ghost town. wouldn't between 5-6 suffice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭angryIreGamer

sKeith wrote: »
    Quote:
    why would they need to FOI in the evening between 5-10 if by 6 its a ghost town. wouldn't between 5-6 suffice.

for the post 6 1 pissup!

sKeith wrote: »
    Quote:

Cus several shows are still going out live past 6pm...... the news??? The late late???

I wish I could expense my travel and get the tax payer to foot the bill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Maysa07 wrote: »
    Sorry i feel the need to correct you there.One person operates the jib arm/boom while another operates the pan/tilt and zoom functions of the Camera. It is not physically possible to have one person do the lot.

Ya it is, Every other production in Ireland/UK uses a one man op. They put a remote on the arm and control the tilt/pan from that.

Check out this Camera op who seems to be able to do it himself.
    http://www.jimmyjib.ie/jimmy-jib-picture-gallery.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭flangemeistro

Matt Cooper's gaff?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Does your job not sign up to the tax saver scheme?

Didn't know taxis were considered public transport

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

You wanted the tax payer to be involved in how you get to work. I mentioned we can be.

Don't go moving goalposts because it doesn't suit your wit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭angryIreGamer

marvin80 wrote: »

she has no response and yet still gets a whole article in the indo. Shes great.

Unsurprising considering what they said about her
    We have stopped making shows for the under 50s. Oh sorry, Vogue comes out of her mansion now and then to patronise marginalised communities. ‪#edgy‬. Sorry, that's bitchy. But I spent time making docs. Vogues 'docs' go against all the decent aspects of Rte. Selling its ethics for viewers.

You wanted the tax payer to be involved in how you get to work. I mentioned we can be.

Don't go moving goalposts because it doesn't suit your wit.

You moved the goalposts. How is public transport similar to get a taxi to/from work directly to your front door?
    The only way they're similar is they both have a driver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Sure she'd probably want them thrown into a camp with the rest of the loser immigrants.

Also, look at the state of that lineup.
    That should be brought to court and used as evidence for why its ok to forego you're tv licence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 887 ✭✭✭Jobs OXO

Looks like the poor fcuk has been hunted down and captured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Andy Magic

I used to work there, I wasn't related to anyone so I left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,157 ✭✭✭srsly78

Of course they are! Available to the public, can use bus lanes etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

afatbollix wrote: »

I've struck through the statements that are factually incorrect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Alonzo Screeching Peacock

Oh thank god we get a Vouge daily article from the indo- thought it would be her attending the opening of a crisp packet by Stevens green

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

Is that the same Vogue Williams who signed a legally binding contract that stated she would engage in sexual intercourse with Brian McFadden and solely Brian McFadden for the rest of her natural life? You'll forgive me if I don't respect her judgement...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,802 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Any public servants on travel expenses get it from the taxpayer, so what?

Join the PS!

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Any public servants on travel expenses get it from the taxpayer, so what?

Join the PS!

There is a big difference between being paid or covered for business travel and being paid for coming to/from work. No-one gets the costs of coming to/from work (except for TDs travel allowance, but let's not go there). If people are ordering taxis on the RTE account to travel to/from work, that would be a breach of travel policy. However, if the taxis are being used to travel to/from locations where they are required to travel for work, like an outside broadcast or similar, that may well be a within the travel policy. But taxis from the office to/from home is not on.

A good FOI will show a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Freindly

If I got a taxi to and from work that would be a sizable bonus. Lower fuel bill, lower car wear and tear, extra time due to quicker commutes using the bus lane. These expenses are probably a huge scandal waiting to erupt which would explain RTE going on the offensive. People using RTE assets for personal use and claiming it on the tax payer. Sure wasn't an RTE DJ suspended because he got the idea of selling RTE equipment on Donedeal? What sort of environment is RTE? The idea of trying to sell my employers equipment is just unfathomable.

Anyone with knowledge of FOIs know if RTE can be made reveal this sort of stuff?

Vogue is a joke. Talentless but clearly well connected. Her documentaries are all trash. It's bad television. She's the symbol of everything that's wrong inside there.

To coin a term from Trump reluctantly but I feel appropriate. RTE is a swamp. We need to drain this swamp. The silence from politician's is extremely disappointing. The anger we've seen from the media establishment from one producer just tweeting work practices shows that we are just scratching the surface on this. The reaction is understandable given how RTE was lobbying for increased funding from the taxpayer.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Vogue was good on the first doc she did on Home and Away and the Leaving Cert.

She's not suited to the more harder hitting stuff. The ones I saw I felt it was more about her than about the story.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,264 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

Patww79 wrote: »

Was thinking the same. It's all a fuss about nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭McCrack

Having the name "vogue" williams oozes c*nt

But im sure shes not