Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Up For The Match Dubs - Mayo

• 16-09-2017 9:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭

Who's having this?

Bejaysus tomorrow's gonna be amazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Yes my hope is no bad ref decision sending someone off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,675 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Dublin haven't been tested yet.

Except by the Gardaí, who've tested them 1,500 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Christ, RTE really can't stop banging on about Dancing With The Stars, can they. I've never watched it and yet i already detest it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

I'll say it again,

It keeps Ray Darcy off screen for three weeks.

That's not bad.

Mayo to win, for all that's good in this world.

M

I always sleep much better in a hotel than I do at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭One_Of_Shanks

Yes my hope is no bad ref decision sending someone off.

Yeah same for me. A sensible ref is vital. If he ruins it then I'll be gutted.

I can see this going to a replay. The GAA love replays and Mayo seem to be fond of them too

Replay and Mayo to win the replay imo.

M

Replay and Mayo to win the replay imo.

Yes I'm lumping a chunk of some casheen on a draw, it's 9/1.

M

Imelda May is singing some tunes at half time I heard.

That story about swapping body heat in the Seminary reminds me of John Maughan's quote after Mayo beat New York one year "It was a good result and we're heading up to The Catskills for some Male Bondage now" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,871 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

A tactical Up the Dubs for me...

Tomorrow we're going to Westport for a few days break and I'd be afraid we wouldn't get fed and watered/peace and quiet with all the celebrations if they won!

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

My head says Dublin are going to win but my heart wants Mayo to lift Sam.

I would love Mayo to win for two Mayo men in particular -

1. My wonderful neighbour, Sean. He has lived in Clare for over 50 years but he remains loyal to his beloved Mayo. He is getting on in years and has had a few health setback recently, I know Mayo winning the All Ireland would mean the world to him.

2. Former Mayo (& Clare Football Manager), John Maughan made a lot of Clare people very very happy back in 1992 when Clare beat Kerry in the Munster Final. It was the stuff of dreams and many credit that win for inspiring our hurlers, who went on to win the All Ireland Hurling Final in 1995.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭Paranoid Mandroid

Anyone else have issues with reception on rte for this (with virgin)? Cheers

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Going to be a sing off next?

*gets behind couch*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,739 ✭✭✭sudzs

That'll be the residents late bar!

That lad made me laugh a lot more than I expected.

Although I wouldn't have been able to identify Loughnane if they hadn't told me.

He should've done George Hook

M

jersey-half-and-half.jpg

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,795 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Hope the Dublin fella does Ken Early's version of the Ould Triangle.

Most hotels have decent mattresses, mattress toppers and good quality sheets all of which can make you feel very comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

My head says Dublin are going to win but my heart wants Mayo to lift Sam.

I would love Mayo to win for two Mayo men in particular -

1. My wonderful neighbour, Sean. He has lived in Clare for over 50 years but he remains loyal to his beloved Mayo. He is getting on in years and has had a few health setback recently, I know Mayo winning the All Ireland would mean the world to him.

2. Former Mayo (& Clare Football Manager), John Maughan made a lot of Clare people very very happy back in 1992 when Clare beat Kerry in the Munster Final. It was the stuff of dreams and many credit that win for inspiring our hurlers, who went on to win the All Ireland Hurling Final in 1995.

Oh. She's off.

Some of the audience are a bit rowdy,

I wouldn't be keen on staying in the Aherlow House Hotel whenever they are there.

M

Most hotels have decent mattresses, mattress toppers and good quality sheets all of which can make you feel very comfortable.

The good soundproofing helps too.

sligojoek wrote: »
    Oh. She's off.
    Can you imagine what I'd be like if I was from Tipp :D

Still calling women ladies...... :rolleyes:

The good soundproofing helps too.

The pillows?? !

Can you imagine what I'd be like if I was from Tipp :D

You'd be so used to winning that it wouldn't be such a big deal.

sudzs wrote: »
    Still calling women ladies...... :rolleyes:
    I confused, what's the problem with calling women, ladies?

You'd be so used to winning that it wouldn't be such a big deal.
    I might only take success for granted and become arrogant.... I'm not sure that's me, I'm more of your nostalgic type :D

As Martina Navratilova said last night: "A woman is a fact. A lady is an opinion."

Or something like that.

They don't call the men gentlemen do they? Why call the women ladies??

RTÉ always find a misery angle :(

M

Amazing he got to that stage in his life without it being a problem and being undiagnosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

RTÉ always find a misery angle :(

Stock RTE question: "how did it make you feel?" :rolleyes:

As Martina Navratilova said last night: "A woman is a fact. A lady is an opinion."

Or something like that.
    I like that ^^^

I'm getting used to my 'Lady' title, I was lucky enough to be named in the Boards.ie New Year Honours List last year ;)

I sooooooooooooooooooo want to shave off Willie Joe's Magnum tasche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Jaysus, Willie Joe Padden looks old :( Mayo were my favourite team back in the 80's (outside of Cork). Himself and Kevin McStay were great to watch.

sudzs wrote: »
    They don't call the men gentlemen do they? Why call the women ladies??

When worked in a pub in England a scottich man came in one day, ordered a pint and headed straight for the womens toilet. I told him the mens was on the left.

He said: "No. It says Laddies on the door".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,043 ✭✭✭Hitchens

"will Galway bate Mayo ....not if they have Willie Joe" :pac:

M

What's happening with Sky Sports tomorrow, are Jeff and Kammy commentating on it?

Family: He's lost loads and loads of finals.

Des: He epitomises the spirit of Mayo.

When worked in a pub in England a scottich man came in one day, ordered a pint and headed straight for the womens toilet. I told him the mens was on the left.

He said: "No. It says Laddies on the door".

That reminds me of Peter Ustinov, he was on the Late Late Show years ago and he was telling Gay that when he arrived in Dublin Airport he needed to use the toilet but the signs were in Irish. No knowing the language he thought he was safe enough assuming that Mna was the plural for Men :D

M

That reminds me of Peter Ustinov, he was on the Late Late Show years ago and he was telling Gay that when he arrived in Dublin Airport he needed to use the toilet but the signs were in Irish. No knowing the language he thought he was safe enough assuming that Mna was the plural for Men :D

Hitchens wrote: »
    Stock RTE question: "how did it make you feel?" :rolleyes:

I was watching Reeling in the yyears from 1985 this evening. They were using it back then.

Elbow Mayo-style was kind of interesting...

Worst version ever of One Day Like This :eek:

Thanks AD, I haven't seen that clip in years, my memory isn't too bad after all :D

Des should be sponsored by Grecian 2000 at this stage.

RTÉ have been whinging on and on about being cash-strapped .....Does this programme really need two presenters? I think not.

If it was up to me, I'd give the gig to this lad.

00067e29-800.jpg

Mary BALL - It's a sign!

Des should be sponsored by Grecian 2000 at this stage.
    Dessie is more of a 'Just For Men' Jet Black type of guy.

Just-For-Men-Shampoo-In-Haircolour-Natural-Real-Black-1420.jpg

RTÉ have been whinging on and on about being cash-strapped .....Does this programme really need two presenters? I think not.

If it was up to me, I'd give the gig to this lad.

00067e29-800.jpg

They should give him a Saturday night show.

"Up For Anything"