Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibrahim Halawa acquited(mod warning in op-Heed it)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I really don't think our Garda are equipped to deal with theres sort of things, jesus, they can't even get the Bereath Tests right.

Breath tests = Bog standard Garda.

There are specialist AGS who deal with this type of thing, not fcuktards.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I really don't think our Garda are equipped to deal with theres sort of things, jesus, they can't even get the Bereath Tests right.

Counter-terrorism is the one thing I trust the Gardai on tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭Donal55

And we're expected to believe that!
    After all that's gone on.

Donal55 wrote: »
    And we're expected to believe that!
    After all that's gone on.

Im not interested in persuading you. If you are arguing against it, it means you dont know anything about it.

It makes no difference to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Counter-terrorism is the one thing I trust the Gardai on tbh

Where does that trust come from??

Their record in dealing with Dissident Republicanism. There has been a steady diet of arrests, SCC cases and seizures the last years

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

I only saw what you posted above, and I mean I can only guess as to how, but if they made themselves known to any of the organisers they'd probably have been asked to say a few words to show the crowd some international solidarity? Just guessing :D

Yes that is what I'm getting at, the family said he went for a holiday yet a poster replied to me saying that a group called "Egyptians Abroad for Democracy arranged it as part of the organised protests. He was one of a number who spoke." so my questions still stand

The evolution of home grown terrorism over a number of decades and the emergence of combatting militant criminal cartels.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

Well they haven't come under the spotlight yet.

Their record in dealing with Dissident Republicanism.

That ended over 20 years ago. The newer cops won't have had any real-time experience in counter terrorism.

Dissident

There has been a steady diet of arrests, SCC cases and seizures the last years, it doesn't get a lot of attention but they have been there.

deco nate wrote: »
    Yes that is what I'm getting at, the family said he went for a holiday yet a poster replied to me saying that a group called "Egyptians Abroad for Democracy arranged it as part of the organised protests. He was one of a number who spoke." so my questions still stand

You mean they organised the holiday?

I only saw what you posted above, and I mean I can only guess as to how, but if they made themselves known to any of the organisers they'd probably have been asked to say a few words to show the crowd some international solidarity? Just guessing :D

Edit: Just saw your questions there in the edit, the above would be my guess but yours is just as valid. We'll see what he says himself I suppose
    I had posted it in a post before that, I edited it so you could see it without looking back. Only 1 reply to it before yourself

Well they haven't come under the spotlight yet.

How is that evidence that they cant do their job?

Nonsense argument.

Dissident

There has been a steady diet of arrests, SCC cases and seizures the last years, it doesn't get a lot of attention but they have been there.

The "dissidents" are criminals using the name of the IRA etc as a brand. They are nowhere near the level of the 80s version. And nowhere near the level of Islamic terror agents/lone wolves.

You mean they organised the holiday?

Ah, come on! The question was, was it really a holiday.
    Or was it all along the plan to goto the protest. Not that hard to understand

OK I'll post it again.

Edit: he was on holiday no?
    So how was he picked from thousands of protesters to be on stage to talk to the protesters?
    Did he apply beforehand?

Or was he just amazingly picked from the crowd? Or was it nepotism?

Didn't he just go to see his family for a holiday?

So how did a 17 year old kid end up on stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Divelment

Edit: Just saw your questions there in the edit, the above would be my guess but yours is just as valid. We'll see what he says himself I suppose

We had huge protests in Ireland over water charges, we had anti austerity protests, I was at the water protests and there was a definite feeling at the time that it could all kick off at any moment and that street riots would ensue. I remember being up at the front of the protest and Merrion Street was completely closed off and there was the Public Order Unit facing off against probably 100,000 water protestors, there were 3 lines of Gardai squaring up to the public in between the Westmoreland end of Merrion Street and Leinster House, just in case it all kicked off.

My point being that political protests are, or at least should be, part and parcel of living in a modern democracy. Talking or addressing a crowd at these protests is not a criminal offence, and should never result in a person being kept in 3rd world prison conditions for a period of 4 years awaiting trial.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,053 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

How is that evidence that they cant do their job?

Nonsense argument.

I wasn't presenting it as evidence, just saying the Irish police force wouldn't know what to do if there was an unexpected terrorist attack and I wouldn't expect them to be ready or know what to do, theyd just deal with the aftermath.

The "dissidents" are criminals using the name of the IRA etc as a brand. They are nowhere near the level of the 80s version. And nowhere near the level of Islamic terror agents/lone wolves.

It's more complicated than that, that there are criminals operating as dissidents doesn't mean that every dissident is a common criminal. Indeed criminality has always been a part of republicanism as a means of raising funds, even before you get to gangs/former members just using the name as a brand. In 2015 there were over 50 bomb attacks in the North, that is not that work of criminals.

link

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

No matter what this entire thread is a pretty revealing and alarming snapshot of how Irish people are.

Leftie Pontificates, poorly informed ignorants and random ranters

Good work lads.

david75 wrote: »
    No matter what this entire thread is a pretty revealing and alarming snapshot of how Irish people are.

Leftie Pontificates, poorly informed ignorants and random ranters

Good work lads.
    That's just like, you're opinion man...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,937 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

First Up wrote: »
    OK; he is neither.

But somehow he still deserves a free flight home on a private jet at the expense of the taxpayer?

You seem to be very well acquainted with the soecifics do you know what passport he used to enter the country?

Ah, come on! The question was, was it really a holiday.
    Or was it all along the plan to goto the protest. Not that hard to understand

OK I'll post it again.

Edit: he was on holiday no?
    So how was he picked from thousands of protesters to be on stage to talk to the protesters?
    Did he apply beforehand?

Or was he just amazingly picked from the crowd? Or was it nepotism?

Didn't he just go to see his family for a holiday?

So how did a 17 year old kid end up on stage?
    Like I said he was not the only dual citizen who spoke. If he made himself known I could imagine he would be asked to speak. If he was there on holiday and then asked to speak or was picked, we have to hear his story to find out, and then look for inconsistencies. Your questions are ones to be asked to him.

Either way though, speaking at a rally doesn't mean you deserve to be locked up for 4 years awaiting trial on trumped up charges of murder. None of what he apparently said at the rally is extreme or islamic or whatever, nothing more than free speech

His new Irish passport is ready, hopefully he keeps this one in one piece.

Also the suggestion of the government jet being sent over has been dismissed

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/ibrahim-halawa-gets-new-irish-passport-ahead-of-release-1.3227979?mode=amp

Like I said he was not the only dual citizen who spoke. If he made himself known I could imagine he would be asked to speak. If he was there on holiday and then asked to speak or was picked, we have to hear his story to find out, and then look for inconsistencies. Your questions are ones to be asked to him.

Either way though, speaking at a rally doesn't mean you deserve to be locked up for 4 years awaiting trial on trumped up charges of murder. None of what he apparently said at the rally is extreme or islamic or whatever, nothing more than free speech
    Locked up for murder?

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭Bygumbo

I don't know every detail of this case, but I think its fair to say that theres something dodgy about all the circumstances, no smoke without fire etc.

There are two ways I look at this;
    A: He was there for dodgy purposes and has dodgy links in his family and took advantage of the irish passport he just so happened to have. But he also spent 4 years with, I would assume, some of the most extreme islamists in Egypt.

B: Its all a gigantic coincidence and he was in the wrong place at the wrong time, had the wrong family connections at the wrong time. But he also spent 4 years with probably very extreme islamists.

Considering that young muslims can apparently be so easily influenced via the internet to join terrorist causes against the west, and that he actually LIVED with these influencers 24/7 for years.........authorities need to keep an eyeball on him at all times, and if theres the slightest whiff of more coincidences, he should be dealt with immediately and accordingly.

He has used up any goodwill he had, no more second chances considering the potential stakes.

Locked up for murder?

That's one of the things he was charged with. It's strange but you never really see it reported what he was actually charged with, I just saw it in a Guardian article yesterday
    Halawa was accused of several crimes, including endangering public peace, resisting arrest, violating a mosque and murdering a police officer who reportedly died during the protests.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/sep/18/irish-egyptian-man-acquitted-four-years-after-cairo-protest-arrest

"If he made himself known"
    "was asked to speak" "if he was there on holiday" that is the time line I want to know about. It will answer most questions

That's one of the things he was charged with. It's strange but you never really see it reported what he was actually charged with, I just saw it in a Guardian article yesterday

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/sep/18/irish-egyptian-man-acquitted-four-years-after-cairo-protest-arrest

That's a strange one alright. I never heard of that. The other accusations yes but Murder, no.but they do tend to lump accusations to protesters not just one that did it. Still In my mind a lot of questions to be answered

I wasn't presenting it as evidence, just saying the Irish police force wouldn't know what to do if there was an unexpected terrorist attack and I wouldn't expect them to be ready or know what to do, theyd just deal with the aftermath.

I see and thats very understandable if you have no knowledge of the subject matter....not a dig btw.

Well just FYI, they have actively been training for various scenarios, including cross training with other emergency agencies.

The specialist AGS are capable of a response, despite other AGS dept shortcomings. Theres always room for improvement though.

I worry about the medical response to an event, not the security response.