Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ibrahim Halawa acquited(mod warning in op-Heed it)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

he didn't go to egypt to protest, he went on holiday. however he was in the area of the protest on the day, so decided to attend. something he was entitled to do.

ibriham has mates in the mb? have you any evidence of that?

Decided to attend my arse. I listened to an Australian journalist who was locked up with him talk today. The guy had nothing but good words about Ibraham, a great young lad by his account but he also said he was extremely passionate in his beliefs and was pushing for political change and that’s why he was there.

Whatever anyone thinks of him, it would be a gullible person to swallow the holiday spiel.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

cisk wrote: »
    For someone that was aledgedly tortured and on hunger strike on and off for 4 years he looks remarkably well. Still plenty of meat on him and muscle mass.

ibrahim%20new.jpg

Oh yeah. That single photograph absolutely proves that he's been staying in Hilton-like conditions over the last 1400 or so days.

The only thing that can been realistically taken from that photo is that his wardrobe needs updating. The Hollister trend has taken a dive in the last four years.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

Well, I mean it's obvious what's being said here, but for your benefit:

The constant reports in the media about what he was supposedly enduring were a load of aul codswallop.

The "Constant reports",however,were,in the main provided by Mr Halawa's family,notably his sisters.

These reports,which spanned a wide range of allegations and insinuations against both Irish and Egyptian Governments,in addition to senior Ministers and Civil Servants were rarely subject to any analysis,critical or otherwise.

Most of the Irish media felt emboldened to,simply copy & paste whichever account was favoured at the time,occasionally adding elements of added interest such as Mr Halawa's handwritten letters from prison,or his sister's early allegations of sexual assault against the Egyptian Security Forces who escorted them safely through the large numbers of hostile local Cairene's who perhaps understandably,held the Halawa's,and their strongly proffessed views, in a lot less regard than the Irish media feel comfortable admitting.

What should be continually reported in Ireland,now more than ever,in an attempt to forestall the imminent & inevitable "campaigning" for the Halawa's chosen cause,is the reality that Ireland,the State,supported Ibrahim Halawa and his family to a level never before reached in Consular or Diplomatic terms.

To suggest,as some already have,that the Egyptian based Irish Diplomatic Staff had little other work to do,except to facilitate and immediately conform to the Halawa sister's directions is seriously disrespecting the work put into this family's issues by the Irish Government and it's DFA.

Notwithstanding,that Mr Halawa had,at all times a full Legal Team of his own,in addition to the august services of the high-profile Doughty Street Chambers, it's senior partner Amal Clooney,and observers from Amnesty and other Civil Rights groups,it would be VERY unfair to ignore the reality that the Irish Consulate engaged it's own Legal Representation to monitor Ibrahim Halawa's onging trial.

President Higgins himself,both officially and personally made representations to his Egyptian Counterpart and to both outgoing and incoming Egyptian Ambassadors.

Deputations from the Oireachtas were allowed to monitor the trial proceedings and visit Mr Halawa in jail,as was an independent Medical Advisor provided by the same Irish Government.

Yet,in spite of this highly unusual level of Diplomatic Involvement,the national media continued to publish acount after account of physical Torture,mental abuse,accompanied by regular threats to sue the same Irish Government which has VERY obviously gone above and beyond it's duties in this matter.

The Halawa sisters,repeatedly sought to encourage the Irish Government,to adopt ever more strident anti establishment policies relating to Egypts Government,and now appear reluctant to even consider that the Irish State's approach may have proven far more successful than their own.

The Irish people have no need to feel anything other than pride in how their Foreign Affairs staff have performed under,what were often,very trying conditions.

Now that Ibrahim Halawa is safely back home,and his family free from the stress & worry surrounding his incarceration,it may well be the perfect opportunity for them to clear up some of the outstanding issues surrounding their lengthy campaign,with perhaps even the parents,coming a bit further to the fore in explaining how all of this came about.

Whilst Mark Humphreys is,perhaps correctly,derided here and elsewhere,his questions for,and allegations against the Halawa's have always been accompanied by requests for Sheikh Halawa and his Irish Organization,to respond,which they have as yet not done,now would appear to be a perfect opportunity for this ?

In the meantime,it is actually good to see him looking fit & well after his imprisonment.

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭degsie

I have to say he looks quite well despite 4 years of 'torture'.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 152 ✭✭Karangue

Is he from west Kerry originally, first cousin of Peg Sayers perharps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

cisk wrote: »
    For someone that was aledgedly tortured and on hunger strike on and off for 4 years he looks remarkably well. Still plenty of meat on him and muscle mass.

ibrahim%20new.jpg

He got shot in the hand too did he not? And was denied treatment?

I see no wounds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Woodville56

Zappone gushing about him earlier on, seems to be lost on her that Halawas mates in the MB hate everything about both herself and O Gorman.

Ah the dynamic duo - might have guessed they’d want to get in on the welcome home celebration during a break in their pro abortion campaigning.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

prinzeugen wrote: »
    He got shot in the hand too did he not? And was denied treatment?

I see no wounds.

He was starving to death too ,his teeth look remarkably healthy , and he's bulked up a fair bit too .

Odd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Dr Brown wrote: »
    Justin Barrett isn't happy that Halawa was released.

Anything that pisses off that squeaky voiced troglodyte Barrett, makes my day.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,092 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He should team with Michaela McCollum for BB

• Registered Users Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭McCrack

But... but... but... he was on holidays and just got caught up in all of this no?

Whatever his motives or actions the fact he was detained without trial for four years is remarkable and an abuse of process.

Thats what I have an issue with

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

McCrack wrote: »
    Whatever his motives or actions the fact he was detained without trial for four years is remarkable and an abuse of process.

Thats what I have an issue with

it would be in a western democracy but then it wasn't was it ?

so why apply the same standards ?

mynamejeff wrote: »
    it would be in a western democracy but then it wasn't was it ?

so why apply the same standards ?

Well a right to a fair and speedy trial is a universal human right recognised in international law. Just because another jurisdiction may not recognise or apply it in practice it does not mean its acceptable.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Well a right to a fair and speedy trial is a universal human right recognised in international law. Just because another jurisdiction may not recognise or apply it in practice it does not mean its acceptable.

is this what you mean ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sixth_Amendment_to_the_United_States_Constitution

He was in a Islamist country same rules dont apply.

same as innocent till proven guilty dont apply every where either just because it does there

• Registered Users Posts: 29,049 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

is this what you mean ?

same as innocent till proven guilty dont apply every where either just because it does there

those rules actually do apply everywhere. countries who don't implement those rules are breaking international law.

ticking a box on a form does not make you of a religion.

is this what you mean ?

No the world doesn't revolve around American jurisprudence.

I was referring to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. A right to a fair and speedy trial is a fundamental human right. Human rights don't just evaporate because a person is in a jurisdiction which may not recognise all or some of them.

I have an issue with imprisonment for a lengthy period of time without trial and four years in my view is excessive and an abuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭gitzy16v

. Human rights don't just evaporate because a person is in a jurisdiction which may not recognise all or some of them.

Oh but they do.
    Whether you like it or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Funny how drone strikes bypass this very right and people don't bat an eyelid.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Funny how drone strikes bypass this very right and people don't bat an eyelid.

You get quite a bit of whinging when the targets of the drone bombs return the favor tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

I have an issue with imprisonment for a lengthy period of time without trial and four years in my view is excessive and an abuse.

yet you and the pro-Halawi brigade never utter a peep about irish people held on remand for 2 to 4 years in spain before trial, for example.

I guess they are the wrong shade of inner city dublin to mount a populist campaign.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,086 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

arayess wrote: »
    yet you and the pro-Halawi brigade never utter a peep about irish people held on remand for 2 of 4 years in spain before trial, for example.

I guess they are the wrong shade of inner city dublin to mount a populist campaign.

Fair play to ya. Only one of few who has said it.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,086 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

First Up wrote: »
    Are you supposed to suspend all critical faculties while on holiday?

No but we were told he was "caught up on it"

Hmmm ya just unlucky

arayess wrote: »
    yet you and the pro-Halawi brigade never utter a peep about irish people held on remand for 2 to 4 years in spain before trial, for example.

Im not "pro-Halawi". I happen to be a practising solicitor with some knowledge of international law/Human Rights.

I also work legal aid cases in the District Court, the very clients you would consider **** on your shoes. I know your type alright

• Registered Users Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Meanwhile in France ...

http://www.thejournal.ie/france-isis-fighters-3653109-Oct2017/?source=readnext

https://www.counterextremism.com/content/muslim-brotherhood%E2%80%99s-ties-isis-and-al-qaeda

Search for "Ibrahim Halawa - The inside story" on the Irish Times Website. It contains some interesting details on the Halawa's and their holiday in Egypt...

gitzy16v wrote: »
    Oh but they do.
    Whether you like it or not.

I know, doesn't mean I find it acceptable

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Delighted for him!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Hope fully he will enjoy the free flight home and the medical card.

Sponger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Im not "pro-Halawi". I happen to be a practising solicitor with some knowledge of international law/Human Rights.

maybe read what I wrote, I was careful to distingush
    yet you and the pro-Halawi brigade

There is YOU (politics unknown) and THEM (the pro-halawi's) - distinct groupings united by being concerned with long periods of remand (or detention without trial). However I'm calling out the obvious flaws and hypocrisy in the campaign for Halawi
    I also work legal aid cases in the District Court, the very clients you would consider **** on your shoes. I know your type alright

as for knowing my type....? you aren't making sense..
    I am assuming you think I would look down on people who obtain legal aid (i.e. people from lower socio-economic backgrounds)
    well I don't apart from junkies....I'll admit being the owner of a small number convenience stores I don't like junkies....but I must point out the local people who are staff hate them more..
    But don't let that stop you in your deflection.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

RustyNut wrote: »
    Are you trying to say that if you are found not guilty then you are guilty anyway?
    wasn't really going to get involved in this thread , but you really have difficulty understanding plain english
    if i commit a crime and I am arrested and charged i am still ''PRESUMED INNOCENT'' , until i go to court . In court i will be found guilty or not guilty , or if not enough solid evidence is found to get a conviction the charges may be dropped it still doesn't mean i am innocent
    If i am found guilty, ok i did the crime , if the prosecutors cannot prove beyond doubt that i did the crime i will be found not guilty , however i will still have committed the crime but will have gotten away with it . I WILL HOWEVER NOT BE INNOCENT.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

No but we were told he was "caught up on it"

Hmmm ya just unlucky[/quote]

Depends how you define "caught up in it". He willingly took part in protests against the military coup and (especially) the murder of hundreds of protestors. He hasn't denied that.

Maybe you think such protests were not justified or none of this was any of his business. That's a matter of opinion but the facts are that he was imprisoned for four years without justification.