Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭kerry cow

seligehgit wrote:
    Tomás Ó Sé: I'd love to be Kerry manager some day - it's the biggest job in Irish sport, even with the abuse

Give me a break .
    Has he not got enough going on .

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Dramatic finish to the senior county hurling final yesterday between Kilmoyley and Lixnaw

Lixnaw two points up in injury time,Kilmoyley won a long range free which they dropped into the square,the ball broke to Daniel Collins who was fouled referee Fergal Horgan awarded a penalty

Last puck of the game,Collins stepped up to take the penalty,didnt hit it too cleanly I thought and Martin Stackpoole saved it,Kilmoyley scored the rebound but it didnt count as the final whistle had gone

And then all hell broke loose,Lixnaw players celebrating in the corner and the Kilmoyley players and management surrounded the ref,the gardai had to escort the ref off the pitch

Final score

Lixnaw 1-16 Kilmoyley 2-11

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭conor05

Dramatic finish to the senior county hurling final yesterday between Kilmoyley and Lixnaw

Lixnaw two points up in injury time,Kilmoyley won a long range free which they dropped into the square,the ball broke to Daniel Collins who was fouled referee Fergal Horgan awarded a penalty

Last puck of the game,Collins stepped up to take the penalty,didnt hit it too cleanly I thought and Martin Stackpoole saved it,Kilmoyley scored the rebound but it didnt count as the final whistle had gone

And then all hell broke loose,Lixnaw players celebrating in the corner and the Kilmoyley players and management surrounded the ref,the gardai had to escort the ref off the pitch

Final score

Lixnaw 1-16 Kilmoyley 2-11

Examiner reporting that the referee was assaulted?

I’m surprised Daniel Collins has been able to play at all, Shane Brick said he has to take an injection into his back before every match he is in that much pain.

Shane Conway was the difference, no defender was able to contain him all year really in the Kerry SHC.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

conor05 wrote: »
    Examiner reporting that the referee was assaulted?

I’m surprised Daniel Collins has been able to play at all, Shane Brick said he has to take an injection into his back before every match he is in that much pain.

Shane Conway was the difference, no defender was able to contain him all year really in the Kerry SHC.

https://www.balls.ie/gaa/kilmoyley-lixnaw-kerry-hurling-final-2018-395643

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

Seems a bit farcical to blow the whistle as the ball is being pucked into an empty net

• Registered Users Posts: 18,557 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

wonga77 wrote: »
    Seems a bit farcical to blow the whistle as the ball is being pucked into an empty net

A ref will often tell a player this is the last puck or kick of a ball. TBF he gave them there penalty. They failed to score it. He blew the whistle. The chances of saving a penalty in hurling is slim enough

Slava Ukrainii

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Stephen Rochford for the Kerry job!:D:D:D:D:D

Benildus wrote: »
    Stephen Rochford for the Kerry job!:D:D:D:D:D

How may All Irelands has he won. I forgot it was Mayo he was managing.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

A ref will often tell a player this is the last puck or kick of a ball. TBF he gave them there penalty. They failed to score it. He blew the whistle. The chances of saving a penalty in hurling is slim enough

Yeah I get that but its a bad position to be in, better to wait for the ball to go dead or something.

When the time is up it is up.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

He told the taker that it was the last puck of the game, its pretty black and white. Tough way to lose but it was 100% correct from the ref.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

Many the frowned brow was there wondering how Donie Buckle was lost to Mayo these last few years, no harm in welcoming him back into the fold in some capacity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭voz es

Many the frowned brow was there wondering how Donie Buckley was lost to Mayo these last few years, no harm in welcoming him back into the fold in some capacity.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

Peter Keane & Donnie Buckley seems to be the new management team

• Registered Users Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭OwlsZat

Peter Keane & Donnie Buckley seems to be the new management team

Seem to be is a strange term to use. Did you catch them making business cards?

OwlsZat wrote: »
    Seem to be is a strange term to use. Did you catch them making business cards?

I did, yeah. I caught them making business cards.

I'm part of the making business cards police- its usually a boring job as very few people make business cards these days but when you get a scoop like this- you have to share

• Registered Users Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

The rumours have been flying since Eamon left, first Diarmuid Murphy had the job, then Jack etc. Hard to know what to believe.

If it is Keane he would need a strong and experienced team around him as he will be facing a gigantic step up from minor, just watch on Sunday the time and space those lads will have on the ball and compare it to the senior game that follows. That said, I think most people would be happy to see him get the job, especially if Buckley is part of the setup.

Is Buckley the messiah that everyone seems to think he is though? The main reason people want him involved is that he had Mayo going so well and had them defending and tackling brilliantly, probably our weakest area. Look at the players he had in that defence though, Boyle, Higgins, Keegan, Barrett etc. Brilliant footballers and hard men, we don’t have players that compare at the moment. Perhaps in time Foley, O’Sullivan, O’Beaglaoich, White and others can reach that kind of level but they are a good bit away yet.

mickeyk wrote: »
    The rumours have been flying since Eamon left, first Diarmuid Murphy had the job, then Jack etc. Hard to know what to believe.

If it is Keane he would need a strong and experienced team around him as he will be facing a gigantic step up from minor, just watch on Sunday the time and space those lads will have on the ball and compare it to the senior game that follows. That said, I think most people would be happy to see him get the job, especially if Buckley is part of the setup.

Is Buckley the messiah that everyone seems to think he is though? The main reason people want him involved is that he had Mayo going so well and had them defending and tackling brilliantly, probably our weakest area. Look at the players he had in that defence though, Boyle, Higgins, Keegan, Barrett etc. Brilliant footballers and hard men, we don’t have players that compare at the moment. Perhaps in time Foley, O’Sullivan, O’Beaglaoich, White and others can reach that kind of level but they are a good bit away yet.

It's not that I'm advocating that managerial team- it's just what I have been told by a few people whose opinion/knowledge I trust.

It would be a big step up for Keane and I know little of him to be honest but Buckley comes with a good rep and I do agree with you that his skills are in areas that we are deficient so it would seem a natural fit

It's not that I'm advocating that managerial team- it's just what I have been told by a few people whose opinion/knowledge I trust.

It would be a big step up for Keane and I know little of him to be honest but Buckley comes with a good rep and I do agree with you that his skills are in areas that we are deficient so it would seem a natural fit

Yeah I know where you’re coming from. Tbh Keane should have gotten the U20 job when the thing was shaken up if he was seen as a successor. I don’t think it’s a good idea for Jack to come back again to the senior job, he is a terrific manager but people seem to be sick of the sight of him and I could see people turning on him very quickly if he doesn’t work miracles.

Pat O’Shea is the logical choice but if he doesn’t want it Keane probably should get it. If Buckley is in there as coach and selector you’ll probably see Tommy Griffin involved and Maurice presumably kept on.This appointment is a very important one given all the young lads currently coming through.

Best of luck to the minors on Sunday.

Yeah I know where you’re coming from. Tbh Keane should have gotten the U20 job when the thing was shaken up if he was seen as a successor. I don’t think it’s a good idea for Jack to come back again to the senior job, he is a terrific manager but people seem to be sick of the sight of him and I could see people turning on him very quickly if he doesn’t work miracles.

Pat O’Shea is the logical choice but if he doesn’t want it Keane probably should get it. If Buckley is in there as coach and selector you’ll probably see Tommy Griffin involved and Maurice presumably kept on.This appointment is a very important one given all the young lads currently coming through.

Were swaping jack for Donie ;)

Pat won’t be taking it- I’ve been told!
    Keane & Buckley are a cert, as the story goes!

Were swaping jack for Donie ;)

I genuinely like jack but he’d be a horrendous appointment for mayo.

Ye guys have a history of shooting yourselves in the foot with odd internal decisions and Jack is the kind of person who’d start a fight with an empty crisp packet

Pat won’t be taking it- I’ve been told!
    Keane & Buckley are a cert, as the story goes!

I wonder was Pat asked and not interested do you know? I’d have him in a heartbeat, it was shameful the way he was treated in 2008 and I don’t blame him for not wanting anything to do with it ever again.

I would love to see Jack go to Mayo for the pure entertainment value. There is only one way that could possibly end! He’d be a good fit for the likes of Kildare, Roscommon or Cork but there are too many big personalities in that Mayo dressing room, there’d be skin and hair flying in no time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Same As

First round of County Championship has now been completed. Some very lopsided results. Winners round has thrown up some excellent ties.

Preliminary Round:

St Brendan's Board 0-16 v 1-9 West Kerry

First Round:

Dr Crokes 1-18 v 2-13 St Kieran's
    South Kerry 1-14 v 0-13 Kenmare Shamrocks
    Rathmore 2-12 v 2-14 Killarney Legion
    Mid Kerry 2-14 v 0-10 An Ghaeltacht
    Feale Rangers 0-16 v 3-15 Kerins O`Rahilly's
    East Kerry 4-20 v 2-11 St Brendan's Board
    Dingle 3-18 v 0-9 Shannon Rangers
    Austin Stacks 2-22 v 0-6 Kenmare District

Winners Round:

Mid Kerry vs Killarney Legion
    East Kerry vs Dingle
    Dr Crokes vs Kerins O Rahillys
    South Kerry vs Austin Stacks

Winners go straight to the Quarter Finals. Losers will play the 4 winners of the Losers round below.

Losers Round:

Rathmore vs Kenmare Shamrocks
    An Ghaeltacht vs Kenmare District
    Feale Rangers vs St Kieran’s
    Shannon Rangers vs St Brendan’s

Both rounds to be played next weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭munster87

Some awful wides in this first half

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Galway a far better team. Dominating the midfield battle and have fantastic footpassing. They are really tight defenders as well and every Kerry score has come under serious pressure.

Still 4 points isn't much.

Can't see them winning unless Galway tire seriously around the middle.

In big trouble here, Galway are far better around the middle and oddly look like they want it more, we lost several 60/40’s throughout the first half. Perhaps the occasion has gotten to a few of our lads, hopefully they can get a grip around midfield in the second half and maybe get a goal. Not looking good at the minute though

• Registered Users Posts: 6,494 ✭✭✭dobman88

That's a great response from Kerry. 5 without reply start of the half.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,365 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Great fight from the lads no matter what the final result.

All square now.

Serious effort and Galway look to be tiring, all to play for