Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kerry GAA discussion thread #2

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭SexBobomb

Heard that BJ Keane, Marc Griffin and Ronan Shanahan among those not invited back to Kerry training for the new season, anyone else hear this ?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭munster87

SexBobomb wrote: »
    Heard that BJ Keane, Marc Griffin and Ronan Shanahan among those not invited back to Kerry training for the new season, anyone else hear this ?

Didn’t hear about Griffin, heard the other two alright though, also Fionn and Daithi Casey

Griffin could be wrong, Im hearing a few different names flying about.

Im surprised about Barry John and Shanahan though, two players who I thought were a positive on the team. I felt Shanahan had made a very good account of himself in the game time he was given last year. Barry John is still a weapon to spring of the bench always good for 2 or 3 points.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,280 ✭✭✭munster87

Yeah Barry John is always useful for a few points late on, definitely good enough to be in training at least

• Registered Users Posts: 8,033 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

Both today's Kerryman papers name those three lads and Casey and Fitzgerald.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Fionn was never good enough. he was toasted so many times at club level and inter county. Barry John was a fine player always good for few points but never really produced the goods when Kerry needed him at most.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Surprised with Shanahan tbh, seems very harsh, he is a good defender from what I have seen and we are not exactly overstocked with corner backs. I’d have no real issue with the others.

I’d imagine they will be looking towards the likes of Killian Spillane and Tony Brosnan now rather than BJK who is a known quantity and will never be a starter. It’s tough on him and the others as they are good players and would make most county teams.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,556 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Only one I am really surprised about is Shanahan. I am more surprised that there is not another name with them but maybe he will be allowed to retire. However time is against us some players that went this year should have gone 12-24 months ago. We are 2 years behind where we should be

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users Posts: 2,983 ✭✭✭mystic86

Only one I am really surprised about is Shanahan. I am more surprised that there is not another name with them but maybe he will be allowed to retire. However time is against us some players that went this year should have gone 12-24 months ago. We are 2 years behind where we should be

who is the guy you are talking about?

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

Shane Enright another that should be out the gap. A right good clear out is needed. It was nice of Peter Keane to let the older heads "retire". Great to see him making changes. Personally I'm a massive fan of BJK and always wanted to see him take his chance but he always only seemed to be given one whereas other lads had a few cracks at it. Guaranteed nearly 3 points a game off him and a good man to steady a ship.

The futures looking bright anwyay.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

To me Barry John was a great player to bring on when the team was up by five or six points and was looking to kill off a game,he would then pitch in with 2 or 3 points

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

If nothing else the new season will be exciting. Its good to see new faces, the last few years have been fairly predictable. Id like to see a defined list of who is in and more importantly who is gone. I get the feeling that the likes of Darren was given the chance to walk before being pushed

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Fingal Raven1

A Kerry player has been convicted of biting a gardai.

• Registered Users Posts: 145 ✭✭hanamandiol

A Kerry player has been convicted of biting a gardai.

Theres a lot of bite in this new Kerry panel !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

Theres a lot of bite in this new Kerry panel !!!

How he didn't get jail time is beyond me. Judge David Waters must be a good solid Gaa man

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/kerry-football-star-avoids-prison-after-biting-garda-in-drunk-spree-37553974.html

I had to laugh last night when i listened to this on the radio, his solicitor pleading with the judge to not impose jail time, character witnesses being trotted in and judge left him off with a fine.
    Solicitor said fine was too severe and they would be back to argue to have it lowered, cheeky boys.

• Registered Users Posts: 36 greysheep

Similar case here and no jail either. McCarthy had a previous clean record

https://www.radiokerry.ie/suspended-sentence-man-assaulted-gardai-killarney/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Kevin McCarthy shouldn't be next or near a Kerry panel after reading the reports of what happened with him. Disgraceful carry on and not the kind of character we need wearing a Kerry jersey. Of course as someone said to me recently, Diarmuid Connolly bottled someone and injured them badly and didn't even get a conviction from what I recall.

On the playing fields, some of the personnel decisions coming out from the new management aren't filling me with confidence. Some of those called in have very dubious credentials although I do agree with some of the calls also. Will have to wait and see what transpires in the League anyway. Without Clifford for all the league I think, but there will be a lot of experimentation I'd imagine anyway.

Kevin McCarthy shouldn't be next or near a Kerry panel after reading the reports of what happened with him. Disgraceful carry on and not the kind of character we need wearing a Kerry jersey. Of course as someone said to me recently, Diarmuid Connolly bottled someone and injured them badly and didn't even get a conviction from what I recall.

On the playing fields, some of the personnel decisions coming out from the new management aren't filling me with confidence. Some of those called in have very dubious credentials although I do agree with some of the calls also. Will have to wait and see what transpires in the League anyway. Without Clifford for all the league I think, but there will be a lot of experimentation I'd imagine anyway.

To be honest I wouldn’t be getting too excited about who has been called in. There are probably 40 lads in training at the minute and that will need to be cut right back eventually. I haven’t seen a full list of who is in there but I’d bet I could pick 8-10 minimun that havent a hope of making the championship match day panel in 2019

• Registered Users Posts: 144 ✭✭kerrysoul

While not condoning what Kevin McCarthy did, he is a young man and he make a mistake with his alcohol consumption. Hopefully he will learn from his experience and go on and have a successful career with Kerry.

To be honest I wouldn’t be getting too excited about who has been called in. There are probably 40 lads in training at the minute and that will need to be cut right back eventually. I haven’t seen a full list of who is in there but I’d bet I could pick 8-10 minimun that havent a hope of making the championship match day panel in 2019

Thats why I find Keane and Shanahan being dropped so bizarre

• Registered Users Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Seamu$

Griffin could be wrong, Im hearing a few different names flying about.

I'm surprised about Barry John and Shanahan though, two players who I thought were a positive on the team. I felt Shanahan had made a very good account of himself in the game time he was given last year. Barry John is still a weapon to spring of the bench always good for 2 or 3 points.

Griffin, as well as Shanahan, are the ones I am surprised by. I've no issue if better players are being called into the squad, but would have thought they are still good enough to be making a training panel. Not good for their confidence to be front page news that they're dropped.

I don't think Griffin is a full back, but I thought his athleticism would be useful in the half back line or even replacing Maher as a midfield option.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭cms88

Seamu$ wrote: »
    Griffin, as well as Shanahan, are the ones I am surprised by. I've no issue if better players are being called into the squad, but would have thought they are still good enough to be making a training panel. Not good for their confidence to be front page news that they're dropped.

I don't think Griffin is a full back, but I thought his athleticism would be useful in the half back line or even replacing Maher as a midfield option.

I don't know where this idea of playing Griffin as a half back has come from. He played all his underage football at full back and there' nothing to say he'd be a revaluation as a half back. I would have him well down on the pecking order IMO.

Shanahan on the other hand i don't understand. I would say he's one of the best backs we have.

We were all young once and we all made mistakes and did some stupid stuff. Not sure if it was all down to alcohol but but binge drinking and what else goes on is a big issues for lads in there 20's.

I totally agree with the managment some of the lads gone over the last 10 weeks should not have been on the panel this year and last year as well. PK has to look at this as a 2-3 year project because of the failure to introduce new blood over the last two seasons.

I am surprised at Shanahan but not about Keane. However I can understand the decision age is against Shanahan. The real question you have to ask after seeing Shanahn this year was why he was not used in the later half of the the championship over the last 2-3 years
    Seamu$ wrote: »

Griffin is way off the pace he is too slow and not mobile enough for the half back line at intercounty level and those in the full back line in realty need to be faster with the way the modern game has gone.

We cannot look to older players that were not good enpough over the last two seasons to even make an All Ireland final. One thing that this year proved is that we have to look at younger players. The day of having 10-12 players in the late 20's and thirties on a panel is gone.

Slava Ukrainii

The day of having 10-12 players in the late 20's and thirties on a panel is gone.

Late 20's is too old for an intercounty player now? Im no expert but late 20s is when I believe you would be at your best as a footballer, peak of your fitness and strength with some years of high level football experience. Barring injury Id feel the same about early 30's. I wouldn't think it a good reason to drop players who are performing just because they are late 20's/ early 30's

That is not what I said. What I said was

The day of having 10-12 players in the late 20's and thirties on a panel is gone.

Slava Ukrainii

I know, I quoted it. I disagree

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭kerry37

Jonathan Lyne and Jack Sherwood to be recalled apparently. Shane Ryan expected to join the panel too. I'd imagine they want him to play in goals which is fine if they release him and let him play with his club which was the issue for him last time and the reason he turned down a previous call up. And the fact we seem to be stacked with attacking talent, I don't see a reason he'd be wanted as a forward (no matter how well he does for Rathmore) and he's a better goalkeeper than what's there imo

Players would normally peak in their late twenties though and a fella in his early thirties can easily play elite sports look at Andy Moran, although you can’t really carry too many in the starting lineup admittedly.

I think our problem in recent years was having a limited panel rather than an old one. I’d also query whether our preparation and coaching was on a par with other top counties. Water under the bridge now of course and we look forward to a new era.

I can understand Keane because there was a queue of promising inside forwards behind him.

I don’t think there are that many specialist corner backs of Shanahans ability around though. A lot of people are puzzled by that one, could he be injured or unavailable for some reason?