Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi-LIDL Specials - Megathread!

Options

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,992 ✭✭✭cletus

In MTB terms isn't a 29er also 700c :confused:

https://www.sheldonbrown.com/tire-sizing.html

Above link is a wealth of information about tyre sizing

Re. the 29er mountain bike wheel, there would seem to have been a number of changes/innovations is wheel size over the last decade or so, but I'm no expert. Anyway, obligatory link offering some explanation

https://www.redbull.com/ie-en/mtb-wheel-size-does-it-matter?&gclid=CjwKCAjw5dnmBRACEiwAmMYGOcw1o-01qel30M_llHBQLQeXEtqKQ4LCbs8W4Y83f5l0y9Z2fOWYVRoCzrYQAvD_BwE

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

fryup wrote: »
    ya i'm confused :confused:

which tubes are for your regular road bike tyres - 700 x 18/23c ??
    cletus wrote: »
    ISO 559 = 26" modern mountain bike version
    ISO 622 = 700C - sometimes also called 28" by German tyre makers, confusingly.
    ISO 630 = 27"
    ISO 635 = 28" really big version - some dutch and some old English and Indian roadsters.

so its the ISO 622 i should go for?? this one?

so its the ISO 622 i should go for?? this one?

Inner tubes usually cover a range of tyre sizes, eg conti race tubes cover a range from 622-630, I'd say you should be ok.

*edit* apologies, I clicked on the link, and I see the tube is 28-47, whereas your replacing an 18-23. The overall diameter is fine, but your tyre width falls outside the range of this tube. Looks like it's for commuter/hybrid etc.

head-desk.gif