Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'arcy Show in association with Flahavan's Porridge - 23/09/17 @ 21:45pm

• 23-09-2017 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭

Well all good things have to come to an end :( We've had three glorious months of Ray D'arcy free weekends but alas he is back tonight.
    000d7cd7-531.jpg

SUPERHERO-FUN-RUN-2090170157-e1376936606129.jpg

So here is the line-up......
    Celebrity Big Brother winner and Girls Aloud star Sarah Harding is among the guests for the first episode of The Ray D'Arcy Show's third season this Saturday.

Harding will chat to Ray about her stint in the Big Brother house, what it was like being part of such a successful girl group, and will reveal her future plans for her and her partner Chad Johnston.

Also on the show, authors Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen will join Ray to talk about their hilarious new best-selling novel Oh My God, What A Complete Aisling and Ray will chat to some of the 'Aislings' in the audience.

Former journalist of the year Mick Clifford will discuss his new book A Force for Justice which focuses on the life of garda whistleblower Sergeant Maurice McCabe.

Former boxers Joe Ward and Bernard Dunne will join Ray on the couch to discuss Joe's recent success at the world championship in Hamburg.

I'm a big fan of Mick Clifford's, I think he is one of the finest journalists in the country. He stuck with the McCabe story until the truth was finally exposed, while some other so-called 'journalists' became PR agents for Garda HQ. The one thing that surprises me about Mick's newly published book about Sergeant Maurice McCabe is the timing, I wonder why he didn't wait until the finding of the Charleton Inquiry before going to print.
    411ab2ed4bbe1291e63f36b8622c333d--bestfriends-bff.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

Hi

I'm out for a bit later, but I'll check in later.

I read the OMGWACA book during the week. I love it. Fair play to the 2 girls they are very funny. A niche market I know but I like it. Not enough lightness in life at times .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,599 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

Sarah Harding: So Ray, how tall are you?

Ray: Well...I'm...er...5' 5''.

Sarah Harding: ONLY 5' 5''? *sigh*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

In the pub again but I'm heading home soon. Not to see RD but because I've to drive to Dublin in the morning.
    Catch yez in a while.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

I had to start drinking early in preparation for this.

RobertKK wrote: »
    I had to start drinking early in preparation for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

GIRLS ALOUD SOLO APPEARANCES ON RTE TALK SHOWS, SO TO SPEAK**

Sarah Harding 4 [1*SNS, 2*ST!WM, 1*RDS]

Nadine Coyle 3 [1*ST!WM, 2*LLS]

Kimberley Walsh 1 [1*LLS]

Cheryl Tweedy Cole Versini Fernandez 0

Nicola Roberts 0

** I might have missed some out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,882 ✭✭✭✭Rock Lesnar

Wow, 1st show of the season and look at that guest list, just look..at..that..guestlist

The one thing that surprises me about Mick's newly published book about Sergeant Maurice McCabe is the timing, I wonder why he didn't wait until the finding of the Charleton Inquiry before going to print.
    ][/CENTER]

Christmas market?

(not being funny btw- its prime time now to get the books out there to the target audience)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Christmas market?

(not being funny btw- its prime time now to get the books out there to the target audience)
    I thought about that but if he published it this time next year he would be able to include the findings from the Charleton Inquiry (which should add a lot to the McCabe story).

I'll still buy the book because I feel good investigative journalism should be supported but at the moment the book feels a little incomplete to me.

Whoever writes the blurb on RTE.ie pages made a balls of it
    Former journalist of the year Mick Clifford will discuss his new book A Force for Justice which focuses on the life of garda whistleblower Sergeant Maurice McCabe and former boxers Joe Ward and Bernard Dunne will join Ray on the couch to discuss Joe's recent success at the world championship in Hamburg.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2017/0922/906795-the-ray-darcy-show/

Do they know what the word 'former' means? :rolleyes: Joe Ward is still very much an active boxer.

I thought about that but if he published it this time next year he would be able to include the findings from the Charleton Inquiry (which should add a lot to the McCabe story).

I'll still buy the book because I feel good investigative journalism should be supported but at the moment the book feels a little incomplete to me.

It's certainly an unfinished story, thats for sure. But I think it will roll on for a few years yet. When's a good time, when everyone knows everything, or when there's still interest in the story? It's a publishers balancing act:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,713 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Skid X wrote: »

Nicola Roberts 0

Didn't they all turn up on the toy show once?

It's so cool the way these pop stars makee it their business to come on the most watched show of the year to do something nice for a fan or two.

Nicola Roberts 0

This post is an homage to the splendid work done by Atlantic Dawn and Buttersuki on the Liveline thread keeping track of Joe Duffys regular absences.

Do check out the Liveline thread, it's great #CrossThreadPromotionWeekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Evening all. Why is Bernard Dunne coming in to talk about Joe Ward's boxing success? Surely, Joe can speak for himself. Is Sarah Harding the Girls Aloud member with family in Kildare?

Whoever writes the blurb on RTE.ie pages made a balls of it
    Former journalist of the year Mick Clifford will discuss his new book A Force for Justice which focuses on the life of garda whistleblower Sergeant Maurice McCabe and former boxers Joe Ward and Bernard Dunne will join Ray on the couch to discuss Joe's recent success at the world championship in Hamburg.

https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/2017/0922/906795-the-ray-darcy-show/

Do they know what the word 'former' means? :rolleyes: Joe Ward is still very much an active boxer.

He'll retire though after Ray beats him at chin push-ups :D

There's always the sequel.

Agreed on Mick C. He followed that story doggedly when everyone else just skirted around it.

Oh...so the show hasn't been axed.

:(

€10K! Pennies to someone like you Ray!!

Ol' Donie wrote: »

It's so cool the way these pop stars makee it their business to come on the most watched show of the year to do something nice for a fan or two.

Especially when the majority of their target audience are out for the night.

The man in Black

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,858 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Yes they did and terrified a little chap :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Berserker wrote: »
    Evening all. Why is Bernard Dunne coming in to talk about Joe Ward's boxing success? Surely, Joe can speak for himself. Is Sarah Harding the Girls Aloud member with family in Kildare?

Indeed...

Two desks :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭Icsics

He's not going to manage that new table yoke, how's he going to read off the cards?

Oh...so the show hasn't been axed.

:(

I'm watching this thread, while watching Jools; so it takes the pain away somewhat. :D

Ray, do you dreeeam of getting the late late

M

Wonder will Bernard ever go in to boxing promotion? There was a very good 3 part documentary on the McGuigan family on BBC recently, very good insight in to the world of boxing management and promotion.

I'm watching this thread, while watching Jools; so it takes the pain away somewhat. :D

Ditto. I'll have to record the repeat and read the thread whn I'm wastching it.

Better give her a Munster Jersey and some Barry's Tea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Evening all. I see Ray doesn't have the desk anymore to shield him from his guests. Old school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,981 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Oh great, Ray has to pretend he knows or cares about sport in the slightest again...

sligojoek wrote: »
    There's always the sequel.

Agreed on Mick C. He followed that story doggedly when everyone else just skirted around it.
    Nah, there won't be a sequel because people will be able to buy copies of the Charleton Inquiry from government publications for a few Euro.

Perhaps that's why he decided to publish the book now, when McCabe testifies at the inquiry, the entire saga will be probably all come out and other journalists could start covering it.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,757 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Well done but this is boring.

Ray now has a set of drawers to keep his cue cards in.

- ASK QUESTION
    - ASK QUESTION ABOUT CANCER/SUICIDE
    - SIGH AT RESPONSE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

RobertKK wrote: »
    Well done but this is boring.

Get used to it...it's the Ray D'Arcy show.

Pointless interview.. so freaking random.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Ray asks a question through gritted teeth about bare knuckle boxing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭mtoutlemonde

How I missed 'It's Saturday and we're live on the telly' - not.

M

Lol, his grand daddy has manies the funny video on Youtube so to speak...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Two desks :confused:

Trying to understand that myself. Perhaps the space between the two is to appear more engaging with guests as opposed to being behind a desk and cut off.

More likely, he has the Napoleon complex pretty bad. He is now clearly positioned nearer the camera than the guests. On a wide shot, he appears to be the same size or even bigger than the guests.

'When does his nose start to look like yours'

Feck off D'arcy, you haven't the b@lls to get in the ring yourself so, less of the insults, please.

How I missed 'It's Saturday and we're live on the telly' - not.

Miriam is probably at home sticking pins in her Ray D'Arcy doll.

You've lost me WM.

Miriam is probably at home sticking pins in her Michael D Higgins Ray D'Arcy doll, now that he is considering a second term.

FYP :D

That's the strangest chat show furniture set up I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭mtoutlemonde

Miriam is probably at home sticking pins in her Ray D'Arcy doll.

I think Brendan O'Connor is selling them :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,266 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

You've lost me WM.
    Crowe

You've lost me WM.

I see you missed last night's LLS :)

Jimmy was even a household name in the UAE.

''I heard the audio of this on Drivetime''

When Ray pressed the wrong button, no doubt.

8-)

That's the strangest chat show furniture set up I've ever seen.
    It's awful, it has all the charm of a hospital dining table.

385550606_114.jpg