Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

1-04 v 0-01 down and not playing well after 15

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,662 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

2-06 v0-1 corofin are a joy to watch. Nemo need to start playing g or they will get trounced.

2-09 v 0-05 down at ht and deservedly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭zetecescort

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    2-09 v 0-05 down at ht and deservedly so.

Yeah, can only applaud the display from Corofin so far. Nemo will need something really special to turn it around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Great first half from Nemo. Totally have lulled them into thinking they are going to win. Now Nemo can spring their trap and win the match by surprise!

Some really poor wides killing Nemo. Not in the game at all

Very bad day for Nemo but Corofin have been a class apart.

Bad day at the office 2-19 v 0-10

Cork 0-7 Clare 0-5 HT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭eigrod

Shambolic 2nd half performance here from Cork. Absolutely woeful

Somehow we managed to come back from 0-10 v 0-12 down with a few minutes left to draw level only to lose 0-12 v 0-14

Awful stuff.

Cork 12 Clare 14 FT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,178 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Cork 12 Clare 14 FT

feel sorry for the die hard cork football supporter that braved that cold tonight , it was a poor game there is no doubt about that , but it really is worrying to see a cork side lack so many ideas ,

i watched the warm up before the game , fitness wise ye were flying but tacitly poor, no real game plan , constantly caught on the run down the middle , colm o'neills free from range that he missed in the last 5 minutes sums up the luck on the side at the moment

cant understand leaving sherlock and o'connor on the bench for so long in the second half either , crazy to not start both in my opinion

but midfield is a serious problem for the rebels , how many nemo players will make the panel when they come back

• Registered Users Posts: 152 ✭✭malascoile

Whats the cork team for today?

The Cork Senior Hurling team to play Waterford in the Allianz Hurling League Div - 1A Relegation Playoff next Sunday 18th March in Pairc Ui Rinn @ 3pm has been announced as follows.

1. Anthony Nash - Kanturk
    2. Sean O Donoghue - Inniscarra
    3. Eoin O Cadogan - Douglas
    4. Colm Spillane - Castlelyons
    5. Christopher Joyce - Na Piarsaigh
    6. Tim O Mahony - Newtownshandrum
    7. Mark Coleman - Blarney
    8. Darragh Fitzgibbon - Charleville
    9. Bill Cooper - Youghal
    10. Michael Cahalane - Bandon
    11. Conor Lehane - Midleton
    12. Dean Brosnan - Glen Rovers
    13. Alan Cadogan - Douglas
    14. Seamus Harnedy - St Ita's - captain
    15. Patrick Horgan - Glen Rovers
    Subs
    16. Patrick Collins - Ballinhassig
    17. Conor O Sullivan - Sarsfields
    18. Darren Browne - Kanturk
    19. Shane Kingston - Douglas
    20. Luke Meade - Newcestown
    21. David Griffin - Carrigaline
    22. Lorcan McLoughlin - Kanturk
    23. Brian Lawton - Castlemartyr
    24. Daniel Kearney - Sarsfields
    25. Jack O Connor - Sarsfields
    26. Robbie O Flynn - Erins Own

Also, best of luck to Nemo tomorrow.
    malascoile wrote: »
    Whats the cork team for today?

Zetecescort kindly posted the team a page back!

GAA BEO TG4

Cork V Waterford will be our one and only live match today.

GAA BEO TG4

Cork V Waterford will be our one and only live match today.

They were to have it as their delayed match but given the 4 qf games are off, we get it live instead, gotta love a bit of snow really. Expecting a close game, the weather willhelp as it is still snowing away, so not expecting a classic!

10 gone and we are flying.
    Tough conditions, their hands must be freezing.
    0-04 v 0-00

20 gone and we give them a pen, out of no where they get their first score, stupid foul to give away.

Absolutely moronic from Spillane there. no need to foul and after all the hard work we are only 2 points ahead

Every Cork score so far has been of high quality

Our midfield are doing very well so far today

I wish they would look up and drive the ball to the opposite side than where Tadhg De Burca is, or else take the ball on and go for a point.

0-10 points v 1-04 at ht

It took Waterford until the 38th minute to score from play, unreal really.

Cork are well in control but should be further ahead.

I wish they would look up and drive the ball to the opposite side than where Tadhg De Burca is, or else take the ball on and go for a point.

0-10 points v 1-04 at ht

Just hope they don’t put in a 2nd half like v Wexford or they’re in big trouble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Seadin

0-10 points v 1-04 at ht

Cheers for update. Not able to see the game. Sounds like they are doing ok so far. Hopefully they can push on and win now.

Yellow for Cadogan was a poor decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,589 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

Yellow for Cadogan was a poor decision.

Lol

JeffKenna wrote: »
    Lol

They both ran into each other:confused:

Less than 20 to go, Cork still ahead, as they have always been, 0-15 v 1-08
    Wouldn't mind us getting a goal for a bit more daylight.
    Still a close enough game and Waterford are still in it.

Shanahan comes on and gets sent off straight away.

Saw it again, deserved red card.
    Swung back the Hurley.

Shanahan comes on and gets sent off straight away.

And rightly so. Cowardly slap

Maurice Shanahan sent off for a swipe at a Cork player. Don't know why the Waterford players were complaining

Because they are from Waterford, they're always complaining :pac:

This is dire from Cork

5 minutes to go, 0-17 v 1-12

3 in a row for Waterford, close finish in store.

Lovely score from Horgan

5 minutes injury time, up by 5

A Totally Deserved win for Cork.
    They lead from start to finish.
    Never pulled away but were always the better team.
    They were 5 ahead with 15 to go when Waterford went down to 14, as Shanahan was quite rightly sent off.

Final score Cork 0-21 v 1-13

Entertaining game in very poor conditions.

Will have no bearing on the Summer.

Cork just don’t do goals and that will cost them later in the year unless it’s addressed

eigrod wrote: »
    Cork just don’t do goals and that will cost them later in the year unless it’s addressed

Sorry why do you think that?

In the league we have scored goals against Kilkenny,Wexford,Waterford and Tipperary. We have scored 2 more than we have conceded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

How we are staying up I don't know but if Waterford were good enough we would be relegated today. We put Galway down to division 2 a few years ago and they haven't come up since. Nice it was Waterford this time. Up Cork.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

Amprodude wrote: »
    We put Galway down a few years ago and they haven't come up since.
    Didn't do them much harm last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭nlrkjos

Feck me twas freezin up there ! Not a bad game, when you consider Waterford's tactics were to stop Cork playing any hurling. Our passing was only OK, but I put that down to poor conditions...Dan Shanahan should have been sent off, just for having a brother as a stupid as that.Someone next to me said that Cork are taking four to five passes to move the ball 40 yards, with 6-7 defenders I don't think they could do anything else. Good to be staying up but we need to start banging in a few more goals, and being a wee bit more aggressive in the tackle. I think now for Waterford's sake McGrath should let his players hurl or consider his position, they have good hurlers being "bound to the peace", in a very negative system. Time for some chicken soup...I'm perished!!

Sorry why do you think that?

In the league we have scored goals against Kilkenny,Wexford,Waterford and Tipperary. We have scored 2 more than we have conceded

We lost 3 of those games, hence more goals needed.

Of course We need to score more goals. Every team does. The point I'm making is that we do get a few when you originally said "We don't do goals"

But I do agree. A goal or 2 today would have killed the game off. We had a player hooked brilliantly as he was shooting on goal so on other day we might have had one.Same goes for Waterford too though.

I was more annoyed with the few easy wides when they were free shots. We could have been further ahead and not need goals. Never good to be relying on them.Happened to Waterford today when they really needed them but didn't get them.

To use the whole phrase, just take your points and goals will come. We didn't take a good few chances today.Horgan hit the post when he usually puts it over and I think Cadogan missed when no one at all on him. Others did the same.

I liked the way Meyler said he will be looking at the video to improve but McGrath seemed to be in a bit of denial in his interview. Don't think he can do much more and they should let him go but thats my view looking in.

It's very comforting to know even if a forward is through on goal that Nash has the ability to stop it. Won't happen every time but he is good at it

In case people didn't hear them, here are interviews with John Meyler and man of the match Bill Cooper

https://twitter.com/SportTG4/status/975414309198077952

https://twitter.com/SportTG4/status/975414742406737921

Made hard work of the finish but job done, stay up, blooding lads like O'Mahoney and O'Flynn and continue developing last years newcomers.

• Registered Users Posts: 928 ✭✭✭DiscoStew

Any reports from tonight’s games? What kind of teams had UCC and CIT out?

The Cork Senior Football team to play Roscommon in the Allianz Football League Div - 2 on Sunday 25th March in @ Dr Hyde Park @ 3.00pm has been announced as follows.

1. Ryan Price (O Donovan Rossa)
    2. Sam Ryan (St Finbarrs)
    3. Jamie O Sullivan (Bishopstown)
    4. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    5. Kevin Crowley (Millstreet)
    6. Sean Wilson (Douglas)
    7. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
    8. Ian Maguire (St Finbarrs) Captain
    9. Cillian O Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    10. Matthew Taylor (Mallow)
    11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    12. Ronan O Toole (Eire Og)