Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

I watched the Sunday game tonight again and had a look at the goals conceded. Cork have learned nothing from the mauling Limerick gave us last August. We have to sort the defensive issues. Far too open like we are taking boats out to the Atlantic ocean. How is defense this bad? We aren't going to be winning silverware until we tighten up the backline and get players in specifically doing that job. No point having Timmy O Mahony and Mark Coleman running up the pitch attacking with the ball when they are next to useless in their defensive roles. We are actually doing alright on the scoreboard but we are conceding too much on the other hand. Can we fix this for Limerick?probably not but Cork deserve every criticism they get now and call them bottlers etc until they put things right and get enough motivation to go out and at least try to beat Limerick in few weeks time.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

A couple of questions for Cork posters...

why have successive cork managements over the past 5 or 6 years selected Cahalane at 3? Is it because he is a Cahalane?

when are they going to realise mark coleman is not a 6..

Why is there so much of this short passing going on around the middle of the field... are they trying to ape what Limerick are doing...

Cork when they last won the all Ireland.. they had some very strong personality’s... donal og Sean og the Rock Ronan Curran and of course the mighty John Gardiner... the present Cork team lack guys with strong personality’s... take mark Coleman.... a great hurler but not a strong personality.... are there any strong personality’s in cork hurling?

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Surely Kerry with the most of any county, 38 senior all ireland titles in both hurling and football are at present the greatest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Cork have Teddy McCarthy though, the only man who'll ever win two all Ireland senior medals in the same year. I have no problems with Kilkenny, i have great respect for the Cats. I actually dislike Tipp more to be honest! However i have little time for yourself and Grats sour grapes and bitterness. Charlie 69 is a Kilkenny poster who conducts himself, with a bit more class and decency than you two!

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 291 ✭✭jimmythesulk

Attack the post not the poster.

Kerry have more all irelands than Cork. That's a fact. I don't know why you are telling lies.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Not true! Ye have 30 hurling + 7 football. Kerry are 1 ahead with 37 football and 1 very important hurling all ireland ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 34,150 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What about all the u21s minors, intermediate, junior and ladies medals.

Kerry only play football too. Nothing else

• Registered Users Posts: 628 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Does anyone know when tickets for Munster championship games are going on general sale?

I had it in my head it was from tomorrow morning but can’t find anything online to confirm.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,657 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

conveniently forgetting our u-21/20 and minor hurling and football AI's which gives us a grand total of 92..which no other county comes near. Add another 28 senior camogie titles...you'll find we are the greatest GAA county...FACT

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

We are not going to win an AI under this management. It's too easy to blame the full-back line or individual players when the amount of space in front of them is impossible to defend without adequate protection. We saw it in last years AI final. Against KK in the league SF it was Daire O Leary who got the blame, last Sat. night it was Cahalane's fault. Very unfair on these players when the problem originates further out the field.

Mark Coleman is not a centre-back, he's a midfielder/half forward..same goes for Tim O' Mahony. When these guys bomb forward from defense they leave gaping holes behind them that are too easy to exploit...every opposition manager knows it but our management continually ignore it.

Put Joyce in at centre back alongside Millerick and Downey with O'Mahony as the holding midfielder. That releases Fitzgibbon and Coleman to bomb forward. Harnedy and Hoggy at this stage are impact subs..start Kingston and use our best asset..pace.

We have the scoring power..but without a solid defensive plan we are continually outscored in big games.

I know its controversial and will never happen but I'd like Davy Fitz to be given the manager's role...he'd rock a few boats but he'd organise us defensively and fire up the young fellas.

The talent is there as our minors and u-20s have proven..they're not being utilised properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

🤣 Priceless, I've a hundred tiddlywinks all irelands aswell. :):):);)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

They never did the double though.😁 This thread is attracting a lot of non Cork wums lately. You're going on ignore buddy. Life is too short, to be getting worked up by trolls.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod Note

@jimmythesulk Kindly, do not Backseat Moderate, leave Moderation to the Mods.

Report/Flag a post if you need to.

Any issues, PM, do not quote or reply to this on thread thank you.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

The Cork Minor Hurling team has been announced for the Championship game against Kerry on Tuesday 5th April 7pm in Tralee

1. Daniel O’Connell (Dromina)
    2. Tadhg O’Leary Hayes (Midleton)
    3. James O’Brien (Fermoy)
    4. Eoin Guinane (Valley Rovers)
    5. Sean Ahern (Bandon)
    6. Daniel Murnane (Carrigtwohill)
    7. Matthew Woods (Valley Rovers)
    8. Peter O’Shea (Erins Own)
    9. Ben Walsh (Killeagh)
    10. Adam O’Sullivan (Ballinhassig)
    11. Timmy Wilk (Cobh) Joint Captain
    12. Eoin O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
    13. Ross O’Sullivan (Na Piarsaigh) Joint Captain
    14. James Murray (Youghal)
    15. John Wigginton Barrett (St Finbarr’s)
    16. Ben Heffernan (Glen Rovers)
    17. Denis Cashman (Bride Rovers)
    18. Cian Buckley (St Finbarr’s)
    19. Pete Kelly (Ballincollig)
    20. Conor O’Leary (Fr O’Neills)
    21. Dylan Mc Carthy (Killeagh)
    22. Jayden Casey (Youghal)
    23. Sean O’Donoghue (St Catherines)
    24. Stephen Lynam (Glen Rovers)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I'll be interested to see how this team get on. I would imagine a bit of a slaughter could be on the cards for Kerry.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I see that you can buy the livestream of the minor hurling game here for 8 euro or 10 to get into the match

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Munster Championship tickets on sale at 11AM. Let's pack out the Pairc on Easter Sunday - whingers stay at home. Rebels Abu

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Bloody hate ticketmaster

Get to top of the queue and it's still loading for about 10 mins

Then it kicks me out so have to start again

Now few thousand ahead of me and the queue won't budge

Exact same happened to my fiance

Very frustrating

I forgot how frustrating Ticketmaster can be!

The queue is paused while we rectify an issue. Thank you for your patience please bear with us

Lot of good that is when the issue kicked me out earlier before I could get tickets

Ticketmaster are a joke

Finally got through, but only Blackrock End available.

Yes not a stand ticket in sight

• Registered Users Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Held back for the clubs and board.

There are some excellent seats available for the Clare Cork game in Semple stadium though, almost on the halfway line.

That's a lot of tickets held back so

• Registered Users Posts: 14,720 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

am I missing something or is there no mention of Cork v Tipp on ticketmaster?

Minors 1-12 v 0-06 up at ht v Kerry.

As expected, a fairly comprehensive victory for the minors in Tralee.

Kerry 0-11 v Cork 3-25