Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Cork u20 football beat Limerick this evening in the Munster semi final

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

• Registered Users Posts: 34,147 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Every minute counts in hurling. The 5th minute is as important as 70th minute and so on, but if you took first 3 minutes in both halfs Cork won those 1-6 to 0-0 and yet we were still destroyed

First 4 points of second half and it still never felt like Cork were in it.

We got too carried away with the minor and u20 success too. No given anymore and I think Sunday has set us back another year or two alone as new management/style and type of player is needed.

Plus the Cork lads could do with a day in gym once in a while. All inter county teams look much stronger than us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭Plastik

I feel for Cahalane sometimes. I fully accept criticisms that he's limited, but he's an easy fall-guy at times. The cover he's getting outside from Coleman and O'Mahony is shocking.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

All leading sporting organizations have their barren periods. Cork did win Munster titles in 2014 2017 and 2018, and could have pulled an all Ireland out of the bag in 2013. Cork arguably could and should have beaten Limerick, in that 2018 all Ireland semi final as well in my opinion. Since then though Limerick have driven on, and taken it to another level entirely. Cork teams do struggle with the physical side of things alright, and it has been a continuing problem since the 2006 all Ireland final defeat.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

That all goes back to poor management. We may not have a panel capable of winning the all Ireland, but are the management getting the most out of their playing resources?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

Bring back Donal O'Grady.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Rosita

Not trying to be smart but it's hard to know what your point is. Are you saying that Cork are just unlucky?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭shockframe

I'd overlook Munster titles at this stage. 1 is grand for an up and coming team but it's almost irrelevant in the long term when it comes to knockout hurling (and football) and has been for a long time. If/when ye do get back to the top you might think similar.

Cork almost grabbed an All Ireland in 2013 you've got me at that but it turned out to be a one off. The early exit of Kilkenny and Tipp was a huge boost to a couple of limited teams.

Could have caught Limerick out in 2018 but again it wasn't a long term thing. Waterford and Tipp had a disastrous 2018 and Cork were lucky to scrape by in 2019 when TIpp got back on track.

Cork place too much stock in the province but its a separate competition to the main event. The threat of knockout (2018 onwards) does change it up a little but Cork have been found wanting in the All Ireland Series.

There is issues for sure in Cork hurling, but still if they landed all Irelands in 2013 and 2018, then there would be a completely different complexion to things.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

U20 hurling v Limerick tomorrow

1. Brion Saunderson, Midelton
    2. Darragh O Sullivan, Ballinhassig
    3. Kevin Lyons, Ballygarvan
    4. Ciarmhuc Symth, Midelton
    5. Eoin Downey, Glen Rovers
    6. EthanTwomey, St. Finbarr’s
    7. Luke Horgan, Glen Rovers
    8. Brian O Sullivan, Kanturk
    9. Michael Mullins, Whitechurch
    10. Brian Keating , Ballincollig
    11. Ben Cunningham, St. Finbarr’s
    12. Denis McSweeney, Blarney
    13. Eoin O Leary, Glen Rovers
    14. Jack Cahalane, St. Finbarr’s
    15. Diarmuid Healy, Lisgoold
    16. Cathal Wilson, Newcestown
    17. Cathal McCarthy, Sarsfields
    18. Culann Geary, Youghal
    19. Mark Howell, Douglas
    20. Sean Walsh, Carrigtowhill
    21. Evan Cullinane, Ballinhassig
    22. Jack Leahy, Dungourney
    23. Daniel Hogan, Sarsfields
    24. Colin Walsh, Kanturk

Additional Team Members

• Paudie O Sullivan, Fr. O Neills
    • Sean Daly , Randal Og
    • Luke Elliot, Sarsfields
    • Pierce Cummins, St. Colman’s
    • James Dwyer, Ballincollig
    • Cillian Tobin, Bride Rovers
    • Ben O Connor, St. Finbarr’s
    • Charlie Grainger, Ballinhassig
    • David Cremin, Midelton
    • Eoghan Kirby, Blarney
    • William Buckley, St. Finbarr’s
    • Tadgh O Connell, Ballincollig

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭shockframe

There'd be question marks over 2013 due to the big 2 missing out. Even more so if Cork faded away.

I'd say one of the problems for Cork is the Media perception of them being lovely skillful hurlers. Its said as if its something that cant be questioned and almost as if other counties don't have any.

You'd wonder does this do them any favours?

Tyrone Football is almost the opposite. Perceived to be this ugly brute force with complete unapproachable hatchet men especially in the South but always at the business end. Of course there can be unsavoury scenes like the league game in Armagh but the reality of it is though not always successful they always fight for their county come hell or high water. They don't care what others think of them. And do so with having ballers like Harte, Mccurry, Mckenna, Mcgeary, Donnelly etc.

Though the perception of them is not favorable Cork Hurlers could do with some of that teams mix battling qualities to go with some on the field know how.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Big 2 "missing out" in 2013? Kilkenny missed out because they were knocked out by Cork 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭deisedude

He kinda has a point though. You might as well say that if Cork had beaten Limerick last weekend we'd be having a very different discussion. Counterfactuals going back nearly a decade (2013) in one case contribute little to the debate.

As for the other, the paths of Cork and Limerick have diverged so much since 2018 you would have to suspect that, while Cork winning that game might have (might have) helped to deal with the 'gap' in Cork's All Ireland winning record, it would not really alter where the teams are at now.

Post edited by Rosita on

Cork are always held to a higher standard, due to the heritage and history. It's like Liverpool back in the day, Man United now, or Dublin footballers between 95 and 2012. Once your successful and then have a drought, people love to pile on.

In reality, the clock resets on 1st Jan every year, and what you've done in the past doesn't matter. All the All-Ireland winners of previous years had superstars, we've had one, Hoggie, in he past 15 years. Last time we won All-Ireland we had 7-8 players in team-of-the-year contention (Donal Og, Sean Og, Sully, Gardiner, Tom Kenny, O'Connors, Deane), we've nobody now (bar Hoggy). We can hope the success at underage brings those players through, but I don't see anything magical that anyone can do to turn the likes of Cahalane into the likes of Sully.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭deisedude

Ok then, Cork didn't win those games because ultimately they just weren't good enough to get the job done much like the Waterford side of the 00's.

Held to a higher standard? Really? Cork have 3 All Ireland Senior titles in 32 years. Through the years of Offaly, Clare, Tipperary, Kilkenny winning titles, Cork have been in the pack a lot of the time. Nobody under 50 holds them to a higher standard than anyone else really. From what I can see the "piling on" in their time of difficulty is largely an internal matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

No excuses he was taken to the cleaners, and not his first time either. He is no relation to a hurler. Might be a better footballer. Never good enough to start for Cork and never will be.

Until we stop this crap of making sure the Cahalanes have to start on Cork teams then we can be waiting on for an All Ireland that will never come. Massive changes needed.

Cahalane, Coleman, Millerick, Lehane, Harnedy and now Horgan are not good enough any more and need to step aside. Horgan great servant but age is catching up with him now.

Complete new management needed, one that's ruthless like Jack O Connor (Kerry manager) and don't give a fcuk about what people think, pick the best players and not politics which is a massive problem in Cork GAA.

Cork need a top Sports psycholist like Caroline Currid to get their heads right, a proper tactical analysis like Paul Kinnerck to get them playing to proper systems and someone in that's top at sports conditioning, our players on teams haven't been physically strong enough since 2010, the game has changed and Cork teams haven't changed with the game.

If we get the right management in and bring through players from the u20 and minors over the next few years we can only hope then that we might be good enough to be competitive again. The way we are going we will surpass the footballers average rate of winning an All Ireland (1 All Ireland in 20 years). Definitely Corks biggest hurling famine and it will be longer unfortunately.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,798 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

Waterford man here, so disregard post if you like.

I don't get the Cahalane pile on; as someone who spent my playing career in both codes as a defender when you are physically dominated all over the field by really well organised AND skillful team you are in for a torrid time. I'd love to see Finn play against Limerick when they are dominating and see exactly how good he is. ( I think he's exceptional but he would have had a hard time on Sunday or last September if in red). As an aside playing GAA and playing for Cork is probably the biggest thing in Cahalane life ( or most other inter county players) after family, have a think about that before unleashing the personal abuse.

Secondly Limerick are exceptional; and quite a bit ahead of everyone else. Cork are in the pack with Waterford, Tipp, Kilkenny, Galway and maybe Clare. Limerick have lifted the level needed to win an all Ireland significantly, everyone is struggling.

If someone else beats Limerick ( a big if) Cork have a good a chance as anyone at winning this year. They won't beat Limerick if they meet, as Limerick have their measure and probably love playing them.

To get the best from your playing resources a major overhaul is probably need. Look how long it took Limerick to get where they are. Is the appetite there for that? Is the strike hangover/divide still there? Are the best coaches, administrators, organisers involved?

Get behind your county for now and have a look at things at the end of the summer

Second most All-Irelands of all time, dice it whatever way you want, but if it was Galway, Dublin, Wexford, Waterford being beaten in an All-Ireland and League final in 6 months people wouldn't be saying they're in disarray

I don't see much club hurling in Cork but are there better players there than Cahalane, Coleman, Millerick, Lehane, Harnedy and Horgan? Surely you play the best players you have available rather than changing for the sake of it. Coleman's 24 like!

In fairness i would rate Waterfords 00's team, as better than Corks post 2006 teams.

Thirty all Irelands is still thirty all Irelands though. Only one county has won more senior hurling all Irelands than Cork.

I don't think i personally abused anyone. I just don't think he's good enough to play full back, but i respect the lads effort and commitment. Of course tactics and organization, or should i say lack of tactics and lack of organization and poor management are an issue as well. I don't need lectures from a Waterford person (or a person from any other county for that matter) telling me what to do.

I don't mean anything personal with that last remark. What else is there to do but support Cork, but we are in the middle of the biggest all Ireland drought in our history, and that and the reasons behind it, are an elephant in the room that just can't be ignored. The hangover from the strikes is no longer an issue thankfully, although it did take about a good 10 years to get over it! Frank Murphy finally leaving, was a massive help in that regard.

To be fair, you are the one dicing it the way you want. Having more All Irelands than Limerick didn't cut much ice last weekend or last August so its relevance is unclear. Your pointing to the loss of an All Ireland final and a League final as some kind of achievement is telling.

, have a think about that before unleashing the personal abuse.

Come here now Cahalane has done what he can for Cork but its not his fault, its Cork management fault for keep playing him. Just like if it was you or me picked for Cork and we were always picked and constantly getting destroyed we couldn't blame ourselves only the management that keep picking us. I watch alot of hurling and played it myself at intermediate level, I'm no expert but I know when a player isn't good enough and needs replacing. You don't even have to have played hurling yourself to see that.

Get behind your county for now and have a look at things at the end of the summer

@Large bottle small glass

I am behind my county but like I said certain players and management aren't up to the task of making Cork the very best it can be at intercounty hurling.

Post edited by Amprodude on

True, but just not relevant, as Cork themselves have proven time and again. There are guys hurling with the Cork senior team now who have no recollection of the county winning an All Ireland. Many of us look at Cork's prospects through that lens rather than being influenced in our expectations by All Ireland titles won decades ago.

Half a century ago Cork schools were dominating the Harty Cup. These days they only occasionally feature in a final. Are we supposed to measure expectations at that level through recent years or what happened before the current guys were born? I would not agree with you and think more recent evidence is more relevant.

Each to their own view but I would (to refer back the actual point I challenged) not see Cork being held to different standards to anyone else.