Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 2,028 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Kieran Kingston is a nice man who tries his best, but with regards to tactics and psychical preparation, this management team has been found out, to be badly lacking and badly wanting in that regard. I'd like to see Pat Ryan being given the job, and give him a few years to build a team and get the physical preparation right. I now sadly think, that Cork overachieved in reaching an all Ireland final last year.

The talent is in the county, but we're at least three to four years away from winning an all Ireland at senior level imo. I don't like saying this but it has to be said, our players lack the fight and lack the cutting required to win all Irelands. Cork hurling has gone as soft as a bag of marshmallows. I also worry is politics still a problem at county board level, despite Frank being gone nearly four years now.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

A lot of the players on that panel will forever be nearly men, and not quite good enough men despite their best efforts. It's time to reboot the whole thing, some of those players might win you the odd Munster title, but they won't win you an all Ireland. Get Pat Ryan in as manager, and blood some of the all Ireland winning u20's next year, alongside the players on the current panel who do have something to offer going forwards. The Horgan Harnedy Cahalane and Lehane generation of players, have given all they have to give to Cork hurling, but we have to go in a new direction now.

Oh and well done to Clare they were by far the better team, and they could be a surprise packet this year.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

Could someone tell me apart from last years u17 what has Noel Furlong done to deserve a place as a senior selector I don’t think he ever player senior for Cork do recall him playing minor. If Kingston wanted to freshen up his management why not pick from last years u20 Pat Ryan won two all Ireland’s and I feel he could be a good choice to succeed Kingston.

As a management team today we seemed to have no idea of what to do with a spare man, times today Clare had 3 backs to one Cork forward in the full forward line. I think last year we were so lucky to reach the all Ireland final bit of a false dawn had to laugh at Kingston after saying we only allowed Clare 1 shot on goal bloody hell what about the 28 shots that went over Kieran.

• Registered Users Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Corcaigh84

Id love Ben O'Connor if Pat Ryan / Wayne Sherlock don't get the role next. Kingston and Sully are useless, and I thought Meyler was a bluffer! The current management are actually worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,657 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Not a Cork man but my god the mention of Davy Fitz for Cork sends shudders down my spine. Surely he’ll never get a Cork/Tipp/Limerick/Galway/KK job ever?

In saying that, with Camogie now he actually hasn’t taken a penny from it for himself, so probably has made good contacts now within the Cork GAA world. Stranger things have happened.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Yeah, my fear exactly. No idea why he is involved with the camogie. It better not be some type of stepping stone to the Cork job.

I would actually be disgusted if he was ever given the job.

Things may be bad in Cork right now, but things are not we need Davy Fitz bad! There's plenty of good people in Cork to do the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

no he should never be in the mix for a job of that stature , i still feel he got lucky with us , we had so much tallent coming through at the time it was almost harder not win somthing with us that time

he plays a similar style of hurling to kingston , that short game killed cork today it also killed them against limerick , when they started going direct they caused us real problems , he also got the selection badly wrong , every dog in the street knows jack o'connor is struggling for form i was hughly surprised to see him start , when connelly came on he made a huge diffrence , in fact i would say he changed the game , the ball started to stick in the full forward line , he created goal chances ,he set up scores around him and scored 1-1 in the process , surly he was as impressive all week in training

and even so rory hayes is our best back why not switch jack o'connor to the other corner to see could he make some impact ,

i slated the cork back 3 a few weeks ago , they were pretty good today , the middle 3rd was poor though , o flynn never got into the game , the two lads in midfield were below average i am not mad about millerick , i like tim o mahoney hes a talent in fairness but i taught he made no impact today either but then again the game plan dose not suit him or that half back line

cork need to be more direct even if it means dropping players back from the half froward line to create space up front like ye did in the second half , 4 or 5 pass's before you pass your own 45 is a crazy tactic if you ask me

We are very poorly managed and coached, and yet people like Donal O'Grady and Pat Mulcahy are in that backroom team. Mind you 2004 when O'Grady was a top manager, was nearly 20 years ago now but Pat Mulcahy has an excellent reputation. Kieran Kingston is the main man though, the buck stops with him.

I hope when this championship is over that he will do the right thing, to enable Cork hurling to move forwards. In hindsight JBM didn't do that bad to nearly squeeze an all Ireland, out of a team that was very poor in the backs. JBM has been Corks hurlings only decent manager, since John Allen left in my opinion.

There was a great interview with Ephie Fitzgerald in the examiner yesterday, he was correct to say that the current management got rid of too many experienced players. Brian Cuthbert made that fatal mistake as well. I'd love to see Ephie manage the mens senior team some day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

In hindsight JBM didn't do that bad to nearly squeeze an all Ireland, out of a team that was very poor in the backs. JBM has been Corks hurlings only decent manager, since John Allen left in my opinion.

We got plenty of hammerings with JBM involved too on his 2nd term of management. 2012 league final v Kilkenny, v Tipperary 2014 and v Galway 2015. Lovely man but he isn't the answer to Corks problems right now. If we were good enough in 2013 he should have got Cork over the line but he didn't. Cork must clear out the panel and management and start again, yes it may take years but we all know this current team will never win an All Ireland. Just not good enough.

I'd rate him as a better manager than both Kingston and Meyler, but it's neither here or there at this stage really. Pat Ryan is the heir apparent for the job.

i think donal o'grady probably changed the game back int he early 00s but ye had a superb team back then , when you think of the likes of gardner and the o'connors sean og and the rock you could play any tactic with them lads and still win , that caliber is just not there at the moment

i think back though to the first round of the league , clare were missing loads and kingston put out his first 15 for the championship that night , why not throw in a heap of the u20 lads form the last two years and see what happens and see who puts the hand up , even the game up in offaly in the league he started about ten or 11 of todays starters

That actually would be the point, where Cork hurling has hit rock bottom imo. As i said already, we have enough good hurling people in our own county to do the job.

thats actually what he dose , he and his father who is heavily involved in the county board up here put a management in place a few years back at minor level that were previous coach's of fitz and played the exact same style paving the way for his return to clare , it created an outcry across the county and the clubs voted the management out for a finish

he got badly stung for the galway job he was sure he had it , hes not good enough for cork and unless clubs start selling out to the county board he wont ever get a sniff of the job

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

What are peoples opinions on Joyce at 6 today ?

marking kelly you are marking a midfielder or a wing forward because he dosent sit at 11, he gave plenty of it to tony but the game plan cork play passes the middle 3rd by or puts them under pressure ,

if collins goes short to say o'leary the ball is pumped up to the forwards , if o' leary is told to go short there is a wall waiting the next man to receive the ball be it o'mahoney or joyce , if cork withdrew a few in the half foewardline went long with the puck outs it would take huge pressure off the middle 3rd

but he did well enough on kelly only alowing 2 points from play and forcing him (i think ) 3 wides the process

I'm very sorry Kieran, but your sob story about the criticism of the players being too hard after the Limerick game, cuts no ice with me when you follow it up with another abject performance against Clare. I don't doubt the effort and commitment of that management team. They all volunteer their time to it, but sadly their effort and commitment just hasn't been good enough, and the same mistakes keep on happening.

https://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/arid-40863110.html

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

If the Gaelic Grounds wasn't developed then Limerick wouldn't have hosted the Munster final any more. That would have been huge. No great Munster final wins against Cork and Tipp in Limericks home city. That's huge. Limerick has always been one if the main Munster hurling venues. Nowlan Park is a county ground that doesn't host Leinster finals or semis for that matter. Limerick is entitled to the stadium it has. But in general I tale your point that too much money has been put into large stadiums. Even a 26,000 capacity in Salthill is too much for Galway. Really poor crowd there yesterday

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 34,147 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Cork gaa is in some state. Footballers and now Hurlers just nowhere near the standard required.

The minor and U20 wins were good but if you cant get few those players through it really no good long term.

People who are aged 23 or less don't remember a Cork all Ireland in hurling.

Frank is still in background too don't ya worry..

The project of not winning a senior all Ireland this decade is odds on at minute for me.

I wrote a post here in 2015 saying Cork might not win all Ireland for another ten years and was laughed at.

The arrogance of some is catching up with us now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭Rosita

I had assumed the "Frank" excuse for not winning things was gone but apparently not.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Minor hurling tomorrow at 7 v Clare, live on youtube

1. Daniel O’Connell (Dromina)
    2. Denis Cashman (Bride Rovers)
    3. James O’Brien (Fermoy)
    4. Eoin Guinane (Valley Rovers)
    5. Tadhg O’Leary-Hayes (Midleton)
    6. Daniel Murnane (Carrigtwohill)
    7. Matthew Woods (Valley Rovers)
    8. Peter O’Shea (Erins Own)
    9. Ben Walsh (Killeagh)
    10. Adam O’Sullivan (Ballinhassig)
    11. Timmy Wilk (Cobh) Joint Captain
    12. Jayden Casey (Youghal)
    13. Ross O’Sullivan (Na Piarsaigh) Joint Captain
    14. James Murray (Youghal)
    15. Sean O’Donoghue (St Catherines)
    16. Ben Heffernan (Glen Rovers)
    17. Sean Ahern (Bandon)
    18. Darragh Browne (Blackrock)
    19. Cian Buckley (St Finbarr’s)
    20. Pete Kelly (Ballincollig)
    21. Oisin Fitzgerald (St Catherines)
    22. Dylan Mc Carthy (Killeagh)
    23. Eoin O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
    24. John Wigginton Barrett (St Finbarr’s)

Extended Panel Members;

Barry Walsh (Killeagh), Cathal Hallahan (Douglas), Cillian Barry (Carrigtwohill), Colm Leahy (Killeagh), Conor O’Leary (Fr O’Neills), Ethan Buckley (Milford), Fionnan Conlon Barry (Douglas), Liam Foley (Watergrasshill), Michael O’Driscoll (Watergrasshill), Shane Murnane (St Colums), Stephen Lynam (Glen Rovers), Ted O’Callaghan (Kinsale)

Initially i was happy enough when Kieran Kingston was reappointed. I was never a fan of John Meyler, and truth be told strike related politics had a lot to do with it! That Munster title win under him in 2017 was very enjoyable, because it wasn't expected. The year before we were beaten comfortably enough by Tipp, and a mediocre Wexford team beat us in the qualifiers.

In that 2017 all Ireland semi final against Waterford, we were winning by a point or two with about twenty minutes or possibly just under twenty minutes left, but then we had a sending off thanks to some reckless indiscipline by Damien Cahalane. I give him full credit for taking us to the all Ireland final last year, but the defeat in that final to Limerick, the league final defeat to Waterford, and our two dismal championship defeats to Limerick and Clare this year, have all raised question marks and this management team don't seem to have the answers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Watching the minor game v Clare and don't want to be too critical of young lads but there have been 8 bad wides from Cork so far. Shooting in acres of space but missing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Clare winning all the breaking ball and rucks, deservedly leading

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,883 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Not sure how, but we are level at ht

Atrocious shooting by Cork around 13 wides- some awful ones.

We really should be winning this game in the second half.

1-9 apiece at halftime. Cork have had over 10 wides and should be ahead. But we did well to get back in it as at one point were 6 points down

Absolutely stupid puckout, leads to a Clare goal.

Its noticeable that our forwards can't win possession at all. We have to keep working it up from midfield