Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭An Ciarraioch

Mahony0509 wrote: »
    No they won’t. Dublin will be laughing watching tonight. We scored two goals in 10 minutes, Dublin will score 5/6 in that space of time.

In any case, the way the groups are set out, we're unlikely to meet them before the final.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

No they won’t. Dublin will be laughing watching tonight. We scored two goals in 10 minutes, Dublin will score 5/6 in that space of time.

Aye. And if Wallace is playing he will consuming the kingdom with fire from his eyes and lightning bolts from his arse...

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭pakie ed

What a beautiful evening Stadium looking excellent.
    That was pain sad for players and management. Stuck in Cork Con grounds 8€ a car that was a bit strong..

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

pakie ed wrote: »
    What a beautiful evening Stadium looking excellent.
    That was pain sad for players and management. Stuck in Cork Con grounds 8€ a car that was a bit strong..

not only is it comfortable on the field for them we go and make it nice and cosy in the dressing rooms for the feckers too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Mahony0509

I myself support both codes, but I feel sorry for the people down in West Cork for example who live and breathe football. They spend their lives working on football and probably treked up to the city for this and were shown this ****e.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Seadin

I myself support both codes, but I feel sorry for the people down in West Cork for example who live and breathe football. They spend their lives working on football and probably treked up to the city for this and were shown this ****e.

Agreed. I say they be less travelling to watch the footballers with displays like today against Kerry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Same old crap with Cork still giving chancers a run just to be loyal. How the hell Kevin Driscoll still gets a game is beyond me. Aidan Walsh is completely burned out. I didn't realise he was playing until a fella next to me in the terrace mentioned him. Granted the talent following through is much stronger in Kerry they're far more willing to try things out and bring in new players when things get stale. Cork have been doing the same run around in circles completely clueless hand passing game hoping someone makes a hail Mary darting run through. There's no game plan there, there's no intensity. It stinks.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,190 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

went to see the stadium but the result wasnt a surprise.the basic kerry tactic was the swift movement from attack to a zonal defence- the number of times youyd see 4 or 5 cork players standing on their own in the middle of the pitch while the kerry lads went back into defence and set up a ring with 3 yards between them.cork team is too small anyway and lets face it the tactic the constant solo runs tactic is long gone.from what i ve seen the big
    in problem in cork is the constant promoting of players not on ability but due to club or family ties.nowadays no team can carry passengers and most cork teams have a couple players that are not up to it .anyway what do i know

• Registered Users Posts: 2,688 ✭✭✭thesultan

Brid stack the best thing about Cork tonight.

Cork style of play is terrible to watch. Not taking away from Kerry's class but Cork played into Kerrys hands this evening. Cork couldnt even solo the ball without getting intercepted by a Kerry defender. The hand passing and going nowhere with the passes are something management must cut out with Cork teams going forward. Everything was wrong with their game tonight and 4 points in total is just beyond brutal at this standard. I never expected Cork to win this game today but i did expect Cork to make Kerry earn their victory especially in the new PUC. Horrible performance by Cork. Where do we go from here I really don't know?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

Dose anyone on here watch football, this Kerry team is probably the best they have had since the 70s , if Dublin do not beat them this year then no one will

That was a sensational performance by Kerry tonight if the cork team from 1990 in there prime were out there Tonight they would have lost heavily , the only sliver lining for cork tonight is Kerry missed several chances both easy goal and points , it could have been far worse then the massacre they gave Clare last month

• Registered Users Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭corcaigh07

A half forward line would be nice the next day, it literally didn’t exist today.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Dose anyone on here watch football, this Kerry team is probably the best they have had since the 70s , if Dublin do not beat them this year then no one will

That was a sensational performance by Kerry tonight if the cork team from 1990 in there prime were out there Tonight they would have lost heavily , the only sliver lining for cork tonight is Kerry missed several chances both easy goal and points , it could have been far worse then the massacre they gave Clare last month

I think the point from this game is that Cork made Kerry look even better than they are. Yes we know this Kerry team are developing well and will be a force soon enough, but Cork were so poor that it's hard to objectively judge Kerry's performance, it was like a training session for them. I've no doubt Cork are capable of better but jesus if lads can't raise their game for a Munster Final against Kerry in Pairc Ui Chaoimh where do you go from there?

It will take a real special Kerry team to match the Kerry teams of the 00s and late 70's/and 80's. They were simply unbelievable. This Kerry team of 2018 are shaping up good but you can't really judge their performance today as it was one of the worst Cork performances I have seen on a football pitch since 1990. Worry for Cork is we could be waiting along time to beat Kerry if this current Kerry set up take off with success and looking at the talent Kerry have we may be in for a long line of defeats to Kerry for years to come.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,159 ✭✭✭Rebelbrowser

Seadin wrote: »
    It will take a real special Kerry team to match the Kerry teams of the 00s and late 70's/and 80's. They were simply unbelievable. This Kerry team of 2018 are shaping up good but you can't really judge their performance today as it was one of the worst Cork performances I have seen on a football pitch since 1990. Worry for Cork is we could be waiting along time to beat Kerry if this current Kerry set up take off with success and looking at the talent Kerry have we may be in for a long line of defeats to Kerry for years to come.

Is it just me that thought Kerry looked no great shakes last night? Of course this only underlines how bad Cork were.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Is it just me that thought Kerry looked no great shakes last night? Of course this only underlines how bad Cork were.

That full foward line is as good as they've ever had

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Camogie result: Cork 4-15 Dublin 2-3

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,364 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Shameful display last night, a lot of the players didn't look fit enough to be on field.

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

Best Kerry team since the 70's? That the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen on here. In truth Carlow would have given cork a beating last night. Pathetic performance.
    Kerry being hyped up to being something they are not. They will ship a couple of beating in the next few weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

what the ****?????:eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Kauto wrote: »
    Best Kerry team since the 70's? That the biggest load of rubbish I have ever seen on here. In truth Carlow would have given cork a beating last night. Pathetic performance.
    Kerry being hyped up to being something they are not. They will ship a couple of beating in the next few weeks!

Dublin aside, who else do you think will beat them.?

• Registered Users Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

washman3 wrote: »
    Dublin aside, who else do you think will beat them.?

Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone all have a more than decent chance of beating them.
    The hype they are getting for beating a poor division 2 side is amazing. They have some pretty ordinary players in the team and more than a few that are unproven at senior level. Yesterday was a challenge match at best.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Galway, Mayo, Donegal, Tyrone all have a more than decent chance of beating them.
    The hype they are getting for beating a poor division 2 side is amazing. They have some pretty ordinary players in the team and more than a few that are unproven at senior level. Yesterday was a challenge match at best.

Laois would have beaten Cork today.

• Registered Users Posts: 34,162 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Pathetic and if that is the best in the county then it's a ****ing embarrassing

It's a real concern if that's the best in Cork and if that's the best we can do. It says enough when we cant even get out of division 2 and we are struggling to do well even in that division.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

lads i am telling ye this kerry side will dominate yet , they have destroyed teams at underage for years and now they are doing it at senior . this is a county that rarely ever has underage programs , trust me on this they are a serious outfit

cork have gone backwards in recent years yes , but, t kerry have improved ten fold they will walk through the super 8s

just for the record , mayo conceded 3-09 to a weaken limerick side , carlow scored 1-10 v tyrone .... kerry in two games in munster have conceded 2-14 against two division 2 teams roughly 2-06 from play if thats not impressive i dont know what is ,

if cork win the next day out they will be in the super 8s but the reality is the gap has grown on kerrys part against the rest of the country and are very much on dublins level if not above it '

pat o'shea ,jack o'connor even the likes of muarice fitz have got involved in the development squads in kerry in recently and the results are frightening

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭fabvinny

delaad wrote: »
    Laois would have beaten Cork today.

the kerry minors would have beaten us......

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Is the game on Sunday sold out? Didn't see anything about it online but nothing available on tickets.ie or ticketmaster

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭spillcoe

Yeah sold out as far as I know

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

DellyBelly wrote: »
    I really expected cork to put in a decent showing due to the fact it is the first game at the new stadium. These lads are an embarrassment to the county!

They're not really, they're the end product of CCB neglect for the past 8 years or so. Cork GAA is the embarassment here make no bones about it. New stadium, fair play, but where's the minor and u20 team development.

Here's an example, u20 player in Cork I know has started this year, so far as I'm aware, it's his first time involved in a Cork setup. Gymming the past few months and going well in training.

The Kerry u20 team, who I fully expect to beat Cork, have a team of lads who have essentially been playing, training and doing conditioning work together since they were 17.

Kerry spread the net a bit wider and got players in, working and into good practices with the last few years. The majority of those u20 players in Kerry would be able to slot into a senior inter county setup without issue as has been the case for Jason Foley, Michael Burns, Ronan Shanahan etc. (the Juniors are used as a testing ground also). Cork don't have that and there's still this staggered approach, with teams treated independently of each other on an annual basis, rather than taking player development in 3/4 year cycles.

Fair play, again change is required, it's obvious and either the CCB does it, or those people who're sick of travelling to watch muck football try to achieve change because so far as I'm concerned, living in the city, football is treated with little more than disdain and for a county of Corks size that's not good enough.
    Seadin wrote: »
    It's a real concern if that's the best in Cork and if that's the best we can do. It says enough when we cant even get out of division 2 and we are struggling to do well even in that division.

Again it's not the best of Cork you're seeing (some of the selections on that panel are a joke) and it's certainly not the best Cork can do. There's more in the county for sure, what's required is a team who can achieve it and it goes way beyond coaching and management.