Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,542 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Shocking second half from Cork but the ref should have given us 2 frees while we are a point up. Awful decisions. Somehow came up with 6 mins extra as well.

Then we shoot ourselves in the foot giving away a goal. Truly awful performance in the second half

• Registered Users Posts: 5,121 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Ah Christ. Terrible mistake

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

No idea how the ref gave 6 mins of injury time. 64th min and Cork forward Blatantly fouled- no free, Dublin go down and level.

Stupid ball given away by the corner back then and Dublin score a goal.

Cork 2-12 v 1-18 Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 34,143 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ref wanted Dublin to win that.. only saw last 5 minutes.

Ref should be ashamed of himself. Feel sorry for Cork lads.

Not brave enough in the second half. Seemed like we wanted to defend all the time. Didn't score for 20 mins. Everything Dublin got we gave away to them cheaply.

But the ref was terrible near the end. At least 2 blatant frees that were not given. Looked like even Dublin stopped as they knew it was a free. Would have put us 2 up and where did he get 6 mins from? Outrageous .

Leaves such a bad taste in your mouth after it.

This is the most blatant pull down ever. Cork were a point up here. I am fuming over it still!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,733 ✭✭✭Grats

Deleted

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,882 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Shocking decision. Absolute stone wall Black Card offence , blatantly pulled down. He then gave a free out - not a free at all.

A tap over free to go 2 up with less than 2 inj mins to go. Robbed.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

Disappointed with a couple of decisions at the end alright but we were not robbed when we went 20min without scoring.

Sorry, but the fact that we didn't score for 20 odd minutes does not take away from the feeling of being robbed.

That decision was absolutely scandulous. A tap over free 4 minutes into injury time to go 2 points up.

That free was the insurance point. He was up with play, no more that 10 yards away, there was no one obscuring his view.

Robbed in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭lukin

Offaly people will be saying it's karma after Kingston was not sent off last Sunday. But that isn't actually true because in hurling there isn't an explicit rule that says a shoulder to the head is an automatic red card. It's left to the referee's discretion. But that was definitely a foul on the Cork player in that clip. However Cork didn't score from play on the second half so we can have no excuses really.

Feel sorry for Clare today. They should have got 2 blatant frees at the end just like the Cork football minors yesterday. Same feelings for them I bet

Conor Corbett and Tommy Walsh are rated 50-50 to return against Mayo. They both have hamstring injuries and if they come through training this week, they might get recalled.

However, Sean Meehan is out for the rest of the Championship as he just had an operation.

In the ladies game, all 4 dual players Aoife Healy, Hannah Looney, Orlaith Cahalane and Libby Coppinger, will start for the ladies footballers against Galway at 7.30 pm on Saturday. This is an All-Ireland Group stage match. This game is live on TG4 too!

The Cork Camogie team play Down on Saturday at 3pm but the decision was made that the dual players play for the footballers. These matches need to be sorted out so we don't have these clashes by now though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Some crew of Cork Senior hurling panelists plying their trade in the US for the summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Cork2021

• Registered Users Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Billy Ocean

Jack o'connor, joyce, mellrick, Niall o'Leary, Shane Barrett, Padraig power, Sean Twomey, 2 Cahalanes, brian hayes, harnedy, Brian & Eoin Roche.

The Cork Senior Football team to play Mayo in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Group 1 Round 3 has been announced

1. Micheál Aodh Martin (Nemo Rangers)
    2. Maurice Shanley (Clonakilty)
    3. Rory Maguire (Castlehaven)
    4. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
    5. Luke Fahy (Ballincollig)
    6. Daniel O’Mahony (Knocknagree)
    7. Matty Taylor (Mallow)
    8. Colm O’Callaghan (Éire Óg)
    9. Ian Maguire (St Finbarr’s)
    10. Brian O’Driscoll (Tadhg Mac Carthaigh)
    11. Ruairí Deane (Bantry Blues)
    12. Killian O’Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    13. Sean Powter (Douglas)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven) Captain
    15. Chris Óg Jones (Uibh Laoire)
    16. Patrick Doyle (Knocknagree)
    17. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    18. Tom Clancy (Clonakilty)
    19. Tommy Walsh (Kanturk)
    20. Paul Walsh (Kanturk)
    21. Eoghan McSweeney (Knocknagree)
    22. Conor Corbett (Clyda Rovers)
    23. John O’Rourke (Carbery Rangers)
    24. Mark Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    25. Steven Sherlock (St Finbarr’s)
    26. Fionn Herlihy (Dohenys)

In the Camogie, Cork beat Down 3-19 to 1-10

Amy O'Connor was immense today. Got around 1-7 I think.

Cork play Clare in 2 weeks time and if Cork win we go on to a Quarter Final

Ladies footballers beaten by Galway. strange results today, Cork hammer Kerry in Munster but lose today while Kerry beat Dublin

Play Tipperary next in 2 weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 14,644 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

I thought Cork were a joke tbh. That first 25 minutes was really scary.

On what basis are they still giving Sorcha McCartan the minutes that she is getting? Has played feck all club for Barrs, and has regularly been poor for Cork. Just feels like she’s in the team by default for some reason since her move down to Cork.

This has to be last chance for Management I’d assume? No All-Ireland (and I really don’t see them winning) and they must be finished I’d assume?

Half Time and its

Cork 0-6 Mayo 0-5

• Registered Users Posts: 11,670 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

We’ve done it!! Up the rebels

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

That was brilliant. Really showed mettle when 6 down. Great last quarter and great substitutions at the right times. Well done John Cleary.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭eigrod

Mayo screwed up by dropping that last free short. Threw away home advantage by not taking a point.

• Registered Users Posts: 640 ✭✭✭supernova5

Ye could still be celebrating a senior All Ireland in July

Great win in the end. Really thought it was over when they went 6 up with only 12 mins left or so.

Somehow found another gear with the subs making a huge difference, Stephen Sherlock scored 1-5 off the bench

• Registered Users Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭Cork2021

Colossal win! Shows the mentality of the team! The Clare game was a blip! Get a good crowd into the Paric next week and they’ve a serious chance

• Registered Users Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Seadin

Who could we be playing next weekend?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,670 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

One of Roscommon, Monaghan and Tyrone/Westmeath/Armagh