Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 5,549 ✭✭✭The White Feather

About the match yesterday, I read in De Paper that Darragh Fitzgibbon was not feeling well all week. Still played well though after being switched in the second half!

Also,Damian Cahalane was helped to the dressing room having heatstroke after the game and Lorcan Mcloughlin was seen in a sling which is why he was replaced by Dean Brosnan late on after coming on himself.

Shows how hot is was out there and great fitness levels from all in the Cork team.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Seadin

Also,Damian Cahalane was helped to the dressing room having heatstroke after the game

He did get a roasting in the first half alright :)

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Feel even worse now, I never knew we held that record , keiran Kingston probably deserves a mention tonight .....but I cour be threading on sharp glass mention his name , tne wexford defeat did him no favours a few years back

The actual longest undefeated record in Munster hurling championships stands at 15 games held by Cork from 1982 until 87 replay.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Wednesday July 4th

Bord Gais Energy Munster Under 21 Hurling Championship Final

Cork V Tipperary

Venue: Pairc Ui Chaoimh @ 7:30pm

Referee:

Extra Time if Necessary (Result on the Day)

Ticket Information

Unreserved Seating Stand Specific
    Adult: €15.00
    U-16’s: €5.00

Students/Seniors will receive €5 concession on Full Price Adult tickets at the designated stile with valid ID Prior to entry.
    Supporters are encouraged to buy tickets in advance to avoid delays outside the Stadium on the night.

Tickets available via gaa.ie/tickets and participating Centra and Supervalu Outlets

I know midweek games don't suit everyone, myself included but hopefully there will be a big turnout after yesterdays win.

Is that live on tg4 too or even deferred coverage?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Think it's live on tg4 and the Leinster u21 final is delayed.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭rebelyell99

Who would we like to get in the semi final ,assuming we can't draw Clare.Kilkenny? Once we don't get sucked into a physical battle we should have the speed and hurling to take them.I imagine the gas would love cork v Limerick as it would draw a massive crowd.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,886 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Think we could end up with Galway if kk win next week.

Don't actually care.

Bring on whoever!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭mossy464

Anyone know when we might get confirmation of which semi we will be in? Saturday or Sunday?

Will HQ leave it until the quarter finals are over to decide?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,395 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Who would we like to get in the semi final ,assuming we can't draw Clare.Kilkenny? Once we don't get sucked into a physical battle we should have the speed and hurling to take them.I imagine the gas would love cork v Limerick as it would draw a massive crowd.
    Definitely Kilkenny. It doesn't count as an all-ireland unless you beat Kilkenny along the way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

Shedite27 wrote: »
    Definitely Kilkenny. It doesn't count as an all-ireland unless you beat Kilkenny along the way

The thought of that gives me chills, not even the thought of winning it. Would just be amazing to go into a big game against Kilkenny after all these years with such momentum behind us.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well we won all Irelands in 1984 1986 1990 and 2005, without beating Kilkenny, and i don't feel that those all Irelands are cheapened.Getting one over on Kilkenny would be great.But seeing that i live in Galway, seeing Cork knock them off their perch would be sweet.:cool:

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

The Cork team to play Tyrone in the All-Ireland Senior Football Championship Round 4 Qualifier next Saturday 7th July in O'Moore Park @ 5pm has been announced as follows.

1. Mark White (Clonakilty)
    2. James Loughrey (Mallow)
    3. Jamie O' Sullivan (Bishopstown)
    4. Kevin Crowley (MillStreet)
    5. Kevin Flahive (Douglas)
    6. Stephen Cronin (Nemo Rangers)
    7. Cian Kiely (Ballincollig)
    8. Ian Maguire (St. Finbarrs) - Captain
    9. Brian O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    10. Sean White (Clonakilty)
    11. Mark Collins (Castlehaven)
    12. Ruairi Deane (Bantry Blues)
    13. Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)
    14. Brian Hurley (Castlehaven)
    15. Michael Hurley (Castlehaven)
    Subs
    16. Anthony Casey ( Kiskeam)
    17. Sam Ryan (St. Finbarrs)
    18. Mathew Taylor (Mallow)
    19. Tomas Clancy (Fermoy)
    20. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
    21. Killian O'Hanlon (Kilshannig)
    22. Ronan O'Toole (Eire Og)
    23. Kevin O'Driscoll (Tadhg MacCarthaigh)
    24. John O Rourke ( Carbery Rangers)
    25. Paul Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers)
    26. Donnacha O' Connor (Ballydesmond)

The Cork U21 Hurling team to play Tipperary in the Munster U21 Hurling Championship Final on Wednesday 4th July in Pairc Ui Chaoimh @ 7.30pm has been announced as follows.

1. Ger Collins : Ballinhassig

2. David Lowney : Clonakilty

3. David Griffin : Carrigaline

4. Niall O'Leary : Castlelyons

5. Eoghan Murphy : Sarsfields

6. Mark Coleman: Blarney

7. Billy Hennessy: St Finbarrs

8. Chris O Leary : Valley Rovers

9. Darragh Fitzgibbon Charleville Vice - Captain

10. Robbie O'Flynn : Erins Own

11. Declan Dalton : Fr O'Neills

12. Shane Kingston : Douglas (capt).

13. Liam Healy : Sarsfields

14. Tim O'Mahony : Newtownshandrum

15. Jack O'Connor : Sarsfields

Subs

16. Shane Hurley : St Finbarrs

17. Seadnaidh Smyth : Midleton

18. John Cashman : Blackrock

19. Eoin Roche : Bride Rovers

20. Daire Connery: Na Piarsaigh

21. Conor Cahalane : St Finbarrs

22. Micheal O'Halloran : Blackrock

23. Aaron Myers : Sarsfields

24. Stephen Condon : Harbour Rovers

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭puzl

The thought of that gives me chills, not even the thought of winning it. Would just be amazing to go into a big game against Kilkenny after all these years with such momentum behind us.

Cork beat Kilkenny in the AI QF in 2013 on the way to the finals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

puzl wrote: »
    Cork beat Kilkenny in the AI QF in 2013 on the way to the finals.

I remember it well, there wasn't half the buzz as there would be this time though.

early Tipp penalty saved by Collins, 0-1 each after 4 min

Robbie O'Flynn goal, 1-5 to 0-2 after 15min

Cork 1-12 Tipp 0-5 HT. Some fine scores and great workrate, Tipp getting no time on the ball

Ht Cork 1-12 v 0-05
    I fancied this team to do well after the way the Waterford game went. But tonight they started well and got better. Some outstanding scores and pressure being applied. Healy caught and delivered the outstanding point of the night over his shoulder on the sideline.

Yes a very strong performance so far.

We seem to be out working Tipp and some excellent score taking.

Goalkeeper made a fine save and is hitting some very clever puck outs so we seem to win possession a lot.

Dalton has some strike of a sliothar. Seems to hit it very sweetly.
    Unbelievable point from Healy there. I know some of his family and they have been telling me how good he is for ages.

Just have to keep things going in the second half.

• Registered Users Posts: 477 ✭✭ted2767

Lock the gates and make Tipp watch
    We’ve taken plenty beatings of that lot

bit of a lull in the 2nd half as you might expect, 2-16 to 0-11 with 10 min left

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

It doesn't count as an all-ireland unless you beat Kilkenny along the way

You’ve just struck 22 of Cork’s 30 All Ireland senior hurling titles from the record.

some great scores but some great defending too to deny Tipp a goal. Robbie O'Flynn after picking up a knock

2-23 to 1-13 FT. well done to all involved

Awesome performance all Ireland is there all going well.

• Registered Users Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Ompala

Congrats lads, awesome performance from your lads tonight. I hope that Tipp team bounces back as plenty of good hurlers on it, but 2nd best tonight. Ye are strong favourites for the All Ireland now.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Awesome performance all Ireland is there all going well.

Hopefully

Lot of talented players there and Ring & Co had them working very hard last night

Wexford will put it up to us in the semi final though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭Sprinter Sacre

Might be worth trying Mark Coleman out at 6 next year in the league. What a player.