Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

That's my memory aswell. When I saw what he did, instead of goinng short or into the corner soccer style, I got up and started walking, knowing it would end a draw - so utterly predictable and Liam was lost in that decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 962 ✭✭✭thefa

You could argue alright they weren’t cute enough to see it out. On another day, the ref blows it when the puck out is taken.

I thought the fact the O’Donovan was left unmarked was the most frustrating part. The puck out gets broke and he was on the ground after contesting for it. Two passes later he’s free.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,119 ✭✭✭zetecescort

that's my take on it, a wide as good as a score in 99% of those situations, wouldn't blame Moylan at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I honestly think that team would've been our poorest all Ireland winning team in living memory. I thought our Munster winning teams in 2017 and 2018 were better than that 2013/2014 Cork team. Still though we were unlucky not to snatch the win the first day. I thought we were going to win the replay, when Seamus Harnedy scored a goal to draw us level with then minutes to go, but alas it wasn't to be!

To be fair we did win Munster the following year but we then suffered a dismal defeat to Tipp in the semi final at Croke Park. We aren't too far away from bringing Liam back home imo. We were unlucky not to make it out of Munster this year after all.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

I thought the defence (well some of it anway) in that team wasn't that great tbh, and i say that out of respect for those players efforts as well. As much of a legend as JBM is i always thought he was a bit poor as a manager with regards to the tactics.

He wouldn't have been as good as Donal O'Grady on the tactics front, although Donal himself was a part of Kieran Kingstons tactically naive management team. Maybe he didn't have that big a role behind the scenes, of course the game moves on and he could've got left behind as well. Twenty years have passed since that 2003/2004 era after all.

Rory Maguire our only football all star nomination. Thought Micheal Martin would get one, pulled off some fine saves in a few games and much improved kickouts this year

• Registered Users Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

my one main takeaway from that game was anthony nash , he put the fear of god into us that day , we scored 3 goals in the first 15 minutes but 15 minutes later ye were back on top of us , it was a soap opera of a game nash looked like he could rattle the net from just about anywhere 25 meters out

our 5th goal was on the break after a cork goal chance to level it deep into injury time , we were very lucky in both games , christopher joyce and lorcan mcloughlin along with horgan epitomised what it took to wear the cork jersey , some of them lads lacked ability in other ways but they always died for the jersey, i will never forget McLoughlin v kilkenny that year flattening mick fennelly at the start of the second half , his helmet fell off and lorcan kicked it 80 yards down field towards the town end goal in thurles , cork probably played their best game that day of the entire championship , even though i always say barry kelly the referee that day hates kilkenny

how did we celebrate i hear?... one of the our traveling posie didnt have the financial clout to stay the night in dublin so we were back in west clare for 11;30 that night , the pub still had live music playing at 8 am that morning as i staggered home for a few hours sleep , i taught we would do 4 in a row in my drunken state, went over to the home comming that evening in ennis every pub i went into i could hear the older lads say , 'at least we won one ' which was a homage to the great underage teams of limerick and galway that won multiple all irelands underage and never went further

they were two great games and probably showed the hurling world of the tactical brilliance of paul kinnerk , who fitzgerld got rid of the following year and the rest is history , great days

That was our revenge for that league game in Nolan Park in 2009. That win is one of my all time favourites as a Cork fan. Kilkenny may have been off the boil that year, but our players were men possessed that day.

injury time goal for Sars forces extra time in the first senior semifinal

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,881 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Sars a goal up at ht in et.

Sars win 1-23 v 0-24

injury time goal for Midleton helps them to a 1-17 to 0-18 win

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭thesultan

Some win by sars.

Any reports?. Castleyons v Kilworth should be close in the intermediate.

Not sure who bride rovers are playing in the Senior A?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭jgbyr

SATURDAY, October 14:

Premier Junior final: St Catherine's v Erin's Own, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 5pm.

SUNDAY, October 15:

Premier Intermediate final: Castlelyons v Kilworth, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 2pm.

Premier Senior final: Sarsfields v Midleton, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 4pm.

SUNDAY, October 22:

Intermediate A final: Aghabullogue v Midleton, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 2pm.

Senior A final: Bride Rovers v Newcestown, Páirc Uí Chaoimh, 4pm.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭cantwbr1

Blarney have won their objection and a replay ordered. Bride Rovers can appeal but the precedent of Glen/Kilmacud probably works against them

I mentioned a few years ago that Glanmire Ladies Football Ckub had ridiculous numbers at underage level and would in time, translate itself at adult level.

They won the All Ireland Junior Club title a year later and today, they have won the Intermediate County to go Senior, having lost the last 3 finals in a row .

I fully expect a few to break into the Cork Senior set up.

Post edited by ShamoBuc on

wins for Nemo over Duhallow and Castlehaven over St Finbarrs in the senior football semifinals

Sars are County Champions again, 4 points down at ht but win by 2 on a scoreline of 0-21 v 0-19

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭thesultan

Only saw highlights on buffs story

Mourneabbey won their 9th county in 10 years yesterday with a 1 point win over Eire Og

I'm delighted that Sars won for the late and great Teddy Mac. It's fitting that they won the county in the year that he sadly passed away.

Nice thought after the game... This One Is For You Teddy

incredibly bad week for Middleton , then again things were not too much better in glanmire , at least it was only the pitch though

fine game last week , middleton tactics were poor hence the comeback , lehane a top man deserve a little better then that

will be heading to south west cork in a few weeks time against noel o'learys cill na martra or ex clare footballer kevin harringtons bantry blues , standard looks lighter this year down there from the fine kanturk team, who this year are the favorites for the PIFC?

we are not too bothered but the winner dose play fossa which makes it a FA Cup tie of sorts , kilmihil are a football club by name but hurling club by sorts , alan cadogans friend jack browne is our center back of us as is half the ballyea team that beat hoggies crowd in 2016 in the munster final including the captain but we are not as good at football as hurling

colm collins is a kilmihil man too but won't be involved , we have 2 at the moment on each inter county panel but very light on numbers other then that , the only set off straws i will clutch at is we beat finbarrs back at home in the munster IFC in 2008 before they turned the corner again

• Registered Users Posts: 401 ✭✭Innish_Rebel

Yes Premier Intermediate can be a tricky gauge but both sides would have a long football history. It is the battle of the 2 unbeaten sides, Cill na Matra have had slightly more comfortable results but I do know that Kilshannig who Bantry beat in the semi are a strong side too.

In general since cork GAA restructured to 12 team grade groups the standard in each grade have really "evened out" - every team seems very competitive. You've a finalist (Bantry) who's only blemish is a draw with the eventual winner of the relegation play-off (Macroom).

i knew a bit about club hurling in cork especially the senior championship , not so much about the football side of things , i have watched a few videos of games involving both sides in the last few weeks on youtube , what i have noticed is there is not that much of a gap from a junior A final i watched between kilshanning and st johns and last years win for kanturk v bantry in the intermediate premier A final

the quality of football is really good for intermediate/junior level like you have players like fionn herlihey, daniel dinneen ect that are quality with cork playing at that level , as i said kevin harrington from bantry was a fine senior club footballer when he played up here , very impressed with cill na martra with what i have seen from them this year though

we played cathal o'mahoneys men who are in the intermediate A final sunday week tonight in UL in a challenge ,we won but both teams were looking after there best players it was more to get a feel for that level of football down your way

Cill na Martra with the last 4 points of the game, 3 from Shane O Duinnin to win 3-11 to 2-13.

Mourneabbey ladies playing the Banner in Ennis, down by 1, 10 minutes into the 2nd half