Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

I think this is the end of John Cleary's term as manager. I could be wrong as well though. If it is then a change of manager is probably needed. We have bigger issues than the manager though. It's blatantly obvious that our development structures aren't up to scratch, and our teams are being coached to play this bullshit negative/defensive style of football from underage level onwards.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 239 ✭✭sonnyblack

He on record to say that he wouldn't take it. They should however plead with him to take the director of football type role That Conor counihan has vacated. He'd be an ideal man to develop under age talent

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Seadin

I fully agree. Hes too laid back and not bold enough on the sideline to make changes. My gripe with him goes back to that Kerry game when we had a great chance to win that game and we blew it thanks to Cleary. I got slated on here that day for saying it but I think looking back it was now justified. One step forward and two steps back with Cork football. They have been frustrating to watch for long time now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Seadin

Not sure if TOS is the answer he has won nothing with Kerry either on a managerial role.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,399 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

they had a 45 , and another free from the 45 in the final minutes. Also with the wind. Both times it went back wards, and I believe with the goal keeper getting a touch. Is there nobody in the county capable of taking a 45 anymore ??

• Registered Users Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭lukin

This has been the case for a few years now. In 2022 Stephen Sherlock took two 45's against Dublin in Croke Park in the All-Ireland quarter-final and didn't score from either of them. A few weeks later Kerry's Seanie O Se scored from a 55 metre free to beat Dublin.

That's the difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Treble double

Kevin Walsh in the backroom could be yere biggest issue, very conservative in his outlook, listen to the man talk about his ideas on the game he would bore you to tears, lanes 1 to 8 etc. In fairness he can get teams to a certain level with his defensive approach but it would suck the life out of you to watch. I always associated Cork football with lethal forwards that were constantly smelling goal opportunities, not anymore. The game was there for the winning yesterday around a 5 minute period where the Louth goalie fluffed a short kickout about 3 goal scoring chances presented themselves and all mucked up. Cork teams of old would have put the game to bed there and then.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,399 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

and the full back, after getting the ball passed back from an attacking position, putting up his arm signaling moves !! It was terrible shite. The size of the goal keeper, he has little business soloing out to near half way, when it takes him about 2 minutes to try return to goal !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

As a neutral watching that game with my Dad on a ferry going across lake Garda I have to say it was diabolical. The negativity is shocking especially as Cork have good players. The goal attempts were under 14 type efforts. Straight at the keeper blasts. That's amateur hour stuff. The arm up in the air..reset ...omg but it was like something from the 1970s . Gaelic football is a shocking watch right now and it nearly put me off my dinner 🍽 in Sirmione

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

• Registered Users Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭shockframe

To be fair there was 2 decent games, 1 average and 1 bad over the course of the weekend.

And both Tailteann Cup semi finals were good plus the Minor semi final on Saturday.

Of course though the bad game will grab the headlines and be used to pile on the sport as usual.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,656 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Rte podcast saying today that alan connolly has been ill for a few weeks. Might go some way to explaining his struggling form last two games

• Registered Users Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭zetecescort

tickets on sale at 1 tomorrow

https://x.com/OfficialCorkGAA/status/1805326331850219896

Cork game fixed for Sat 6th at 1:15 in Pairc Ui Chaoimh

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Noddy86

Anyone know how many are going on general sale and likelihood of them selling out quickly?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,749 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

It will not sell out at all. Around 70k at a guess.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭PeggyShippen

Could sell out. Here was 65 000 or thereabouts for Limerick v Clare in 2013 semi.

Support 🇮🇱 Israel

Declan Hannon has started the plámásing early:

https://www.echolive.ie/corksport/arid-41423893.html

Post edited by lukin on

• Registered Users Posts: 34,082 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

WIll tickets go back sale again do ye reckon?

Camogie - live coverage of Saturdays final group game v Galway at PUC at 4

Larry Tompkins talking in the Echo about the "progress" Cork have made under John Cleary.

I'd hardly call not getting up to division one in the league and failing to get to the last eight of the championship progress.

We never looked like winning those two quarter finals games in 2022 and 2023 against Dublin and Derry respectively either.

In fact we haven't even launched a strong challenge for promotion from division two under Cleary.

Apparently according to Larry all of Cork hopes that John Cleary stays on as manager as well.

Now i have great time for John and Larry as well but in fairness to Larry, he's hardly going to knife a fellow Castlehaven man in the back is he?

Post edited by Straight Talker on

• Registered Users Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭thesultan

Have Cork really being more than a hand passing team..when they had the good team 15 years ago they hand passed up the field but had setlrious pace with finishers inside..No O'Connor or Goulding there now but the u20s winning teams played some great football.

He's right though. Cork have great forwards and have definitely underachieved the last few years 👍

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭Bot1

• Registered Users Posts: 565 ✭✭✭rebs23

Bade dose, hopefully the next week will allow some time to recover but by all accounts not ideal preparation for playing a team going for 5 in a row.

• Registered Users Posts: 153 ✭✭Mr.CoolGuy

At the same time hopefully it explains why they were so sluggish and they can bounce back now

He doesn't mean a word of it. I guarantee you that in private Hannon and Limerick don't respect Cork at all and expect to beat us comfortably on Sunday week.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

It's going to be tough, but at our best we can rattle Limericks cage. Whether it will be good enough or not we shall see. Up the Rebels regardless.🔴⚪

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭The White Feather

Big win today for the Camogie players. Now straight through to the All-Ireland Semis. What odds a hurling double this year????!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 41 King Power Fox

I think he does mean it. Cork are a good team. Every sportsperson no matter what level have to respect the opposition - if you don't you could be in for a very rude awakening.

That result for Galway gives me a bit of hope in relation to the hurling next week. As for the football, we're stuck in this vicious cycle of having the odd decent result but not building on it. The Louth result was a real pity because with Dublin's exit the championship has opened up nicely now.