Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NFL Week 4 Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,532 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Patww79 wrote:
    Bears fan?

Not at all, no interest in them. It's easy spot the habitual dirty players in the league. I just don't think he's one of them.
    JaMarcus, I respect your opinions and contributions to the AF forum. But I must respectfully disagree with your post on giving the bears player the benefit of the doubt on this hit. It was a bad hit full stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gMsjVL1Eyx8

That's fairly dirty, Adams wasn't going anywhere and Travethan had plenty of time but chose to lead in with his head. Dix had a similar penalty earlier in the game, but at least it was clear the WR (facing back towards the LOS on his route) was going to turn for a gain since it was 3rd down, but he hit the deck instead so his head wound up where Dix would have figured his waist or chest would be; there was never going to be anything there but Adams' helmet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

I'm not saying it wasn't a bad hit. It clearly was. I just don't think it was intentional to seriously injure him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

It was a nasty hit, dirty and no excusing it. Probably frustration spilling over, he isn't that type of player in general but that doesn't mean a thing in this instance. He knew exactly what he was doing.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

It was a nasty hit, dirty and no excusing it. Probably frustration spilling over, he isn't that type of player in general but that doesn't mean a thing in this instance. He knew exactly what he was doing.

Adams' head dips at the last second. Game is played at full speed, slow mo replays are influencing people big time here. Trevanthan has been on losing teams before, if he has no history of deliberately injuring people out of frustration before then I don't see why it's fair to say he meant it now.

Trevanthan's reaction after the game, for what it's worth.
    "I was just trying to make a play. It wasn't intentional. I was just trying to hustle to the ball and do my job. Unfortunately, he ended up hurt. I'm sorry about that. I'm going to reach out to him and try to send him a message, because we play a physical game, but you don't want to see that on nobody."

"When you saw the replay, do you regret how it went down?"

"I regret the level that I hit him at. I could have been better, but you have to understand my momentum, I was just trying to make a play. Nothing intentional. It happens in this game. Hopefully they see that. I was just trying to make a play."

"Do you brace for suspension?"

"We'll see. I don't think there needs to be a suspension, but I don't know. My main concern is that he's okay."

"What were your emotions seeing him on the ground like that for as long as it was?"

"It was bad. I never wish that on nobody. Especially after being hurt a couple of times, and especially with the head and neck. You never wish that on nobody and you never want to see that. But the game is physical, and it happens. Hopefully, he gets my half of it."

"Have you hit someone like that before?"

"Yes, but he didn't end up hurt like that. I didn't get a fine or nothing, they just threw a flag. I got away. But looking for to him just being okay. We'll see what people got to say about the fine."

"How will you reach out?"

"Twitter. I talked to some people and got his number. He knows the type of player I am. I don't wish bad on nobody, but I'm going to play lights out. I'm trying to create havoc as a linebacker. But I don't wish that on nobody."

"Did you realize immediately that it was a vicious hit?"

"No I didn't. I realized after he laid there for a while. I saw his mouthpiece thrown outside, and he wasn't moving. I just immediately dropped down and started praying."

"Did you realize you hit him flush on his helmet with your helmet?"

"I don't think I hit him in the helmet, I think I hit him right [in the chin.] It wasn't intentional at all. I wasn't trying to break his neck. I was trying to make a play. He was trying to get into the endzone. My speed was picked up, and I just tried to make a tackle."

"Did you have time to slow down?"

"It was just reaction. I saw him spinning and trying to get the touchdown, and I just ran to try to make a play."

"Did you feel your head low?"

"I didn't feel anything."

"Did you have a chance to look at the replay?"

"I saw it. But I thought [I caught him while] he was moving down as he was spinning, his head turned that way. But you know, we'll look at it on the film and see. I'm looking forward to hearing what they say about that. Looking forward to showing my side of the case."

"Things got chippy and the referees had to intervene. What was it like after the hit?"

"It's a very intense game. If one of their players go down, they feel like they have to protect them. But my guys are going to protect me, too. Like I said, it was never intentional. Aaron Rodgers knew immediately that I wasn't trying to hurt his guy. Hopefully, everyone understands that. It's a little gray spot in this are in football where you're trying to protect players but you're hurting our tackling. But at the same time, we have to be better and they have to be better."

"When you talked to Aaron Rodgers after the hit, what was the conversation like?"

"It was just me and him talking. 'That happens when you're one of the hardest hitters in the NFL. Stuff happens, man.' He didn't want to see his man go down. I said the same thing. I never want to see something like that happen, especially in our profession. We're all brothers, but we're trying to win the game."

"Do you expect something from the league office?"

"We'll see. Surely they'll look at it, since it was a flag. But I'll be ready for it."

"What was your reaction when you saw the replay of the hit?"

"I initially thought it was a good hit, because I only saw him falling at the end. Then I walked over and saw it again. I didn't know he was going to be hurt like that until I saw it, from the full beginning to seeing his mouthpiece go out like that. But I was just trying to make a play. Nothing intentional. I was just trying to do my job."

"Did you think it was a dirty hit after you saw the replay?"

"I'm not a dirty player, so I don't dirty hit."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,268 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Adams' head dips at the last second. Game is played at full speed, slow mo replays are influencing people big time here. Trevanthan has been on losing teams before, if he has no history of deliberately injuring people out of frustration before then I don't see why it's fair to say he meant it now.

Slo mo replays are not influencing me. I am speaking for myself, there are some flaws in the argument you make that he has been on losing teams before but you already know that.

In my view it was deliberate, heat of the moment? Yep, I'd buy that no problem. I believe him when he says he is sorry, I don't believe he didn't know what he was doing coming in like that head down driving his helmet into his opponents. Adams was not dipping his head, he wasn't spinning, he was tied up, going down and hit hard while basically defenseless. I think he was trying to psyche his own team up, hit him hard, the game had been getting dirty and though I don't think he meant to cause the damage he potentially did, he knew what he was doing.

Nasty, Burfict levels of thuggery? No, but dirty just the same.

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,212 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

You have to consider the speed the game is played at when deciding whether something is dirty or just careless. I'm thinking careless, mayb even negligent, here but I'm not thinking there was intent to do damage.

Week 4 referees assignments

Sunday, Oct. 1
    Saints vs. Dolphins (London, 9:30 a.m. ET) FOX — Ed Hochuli
    Bills at Falcons — Terry McAulay
    Steelers at Ravens — Walt Anderson
    Bengals at Browns — Ron Torbert
    Rams at Cowboys — Clete Blakeman
    Titans at Texans — Jeff Triplette
    Lions at Vikings — Bill Vinovich
    Panthers at Patriots — Jerome Boger
    Jaguars at Jets — Gene Steratore
    49ers at Cardinals — Tony Corrente
    Eagles at Chargers — Carl Cheffers
    Giants at Buccaneers — Craig Wrolstad
    Raiders at Broncos — John Parry
    Colts at Seahawks NBC — Brad Allen
    Monday, Oct. 2
    Washington at Chiefs ESPN — Walt Coleman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,446 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Trevathan was given a 2 game suspension for his hit on Adams.

No fine but he doesn't get paid for the next 2 games so it's basically a $235k fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

It's a pity they can't start flexing games from week 4 onwards. Colts @ Seahawks tonight for Sunday Night Football isn't very appealing already at this stage.

The more throwaway, uninteresting games on at 1.30am on Sunday, Monday and Thursday nights the better as far as we're all concerned I would have thought? Well those of us not on US timezones at least!

Well game pass seems to be a lot better. It loaded perfectly and the quality is excellent.

Afternoon fellow american football people. I really could get used to live ball at 2:30 pm on Sundays.

Poor Pam Oliver made a complete mess of that. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Great to see Coombs and Carlson back on the television. Hopefully an entertaining affair in store for us here. Points please...

Patww79 wrote: »

Yeah but I'm checking game pass after last week. And for later I can say it's starting well.

Pam Oliver might have been on the lash last night.

Paully D wrote: »
    Poor Pam Oliver made a complete mess of that. :pac:

Third time was a charm but things can only get better.

This is just what the Saints need...

Bateman wrote: »
    This is just what the Saints need...

They didn't replay what happened but he looks like he got his bell rung.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

The atmosphere is absolutely terrible at these London games.

Ah big Ed is the ref for this game. Get ready for detailed explanations of penalty flags. :D

It's full of people wearing jersies of other teams by the looks of things, so only a minority are really making an effort to support either of the teams who are actually playing. Always seems weird. Doesn't appeal to me as something to go to, and that's before you factor in how much of a ballache Wembley is.

You can always rely on the Saints D to make an offense look competent.

Paully D wrote: »
    You can always rely on the Saints D to make an offense look competent.

You can always rely on Jay Cutler to make a D look competent. :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

Shocking interception

INT Miami

So the communications aren't working in the stadium. That's interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

It's full of people wearing jersies of other teams by the looks of things, so only a minority are really making an effort to support either of the teams who are actually playing. Always seems weird. Doesn't appeal to me as something to go to, and that's before you factor in how much of a ballache Wembley is.

Agreed. That's exactly the reason. I'm at it here and it was just a parade of all 32 team jerseys on the way in.

Could you imagine a GAA game in Croker being divided up between large numbers of fans from all counties. A huge portion won't react the same way as fans of the 2 teams involved. Same what is happening here. It's like a morgue in between actual big plays. And even at that it's only a portion of the crowd reacting. Can't believe some people think a London team is something that would work.

Feck, forgot this was a London game!

Just saw Brees' numbers so far this season. What a start he has had this year.

It hardly been a classic so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

I suppose you could argue 85% or more are neutral fans there just to see an NFL game. Hars to get really excited when YOUR team isn't out there.

Wouldn't be surprised if this is still 0-0 at half time.

This is absolute dog****

I turned over to the Barcelona las Palmas game which has no people in the stadium and there's nearly more atmosphere than this game in London. Jesus this hasn't been a good advert for the game.

The refs gonna need ice packs at half time for those throwing elbows.

The Fox sports lads have no idea what the hell the refs are reviewing. Sums up this mess of a game.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭Masked Man

This is putrid!

Jesus help us this is painful stuff. I admire the play by play commentator calling it like it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,212 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Horrendous half of football. Saints have one more chance to not go in scoreless at half-time. I wouldn't believe you if you told me that the Saints were involved in a 0-0 first half.

I'd love to know the total yardage of penalties in this one.

eagle eye wrote: »
    Horrendous half of football. Saints have one more chance to not go in scoreless at half-time. I wouldn't believe you if you told me that the Saints were involved in a 0-0 first half.

I'd love to know the total yardage of penalties in this one.

96 yards total in the 1st half.

Imagine someone coming across this on BBC and being their first exposure to American football, dear God....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

God that was a woeful half of football!!

Raining penalty flags and communication issues preventing any flow to the game at all

Jesus that is as close as you can get to a first down without actually getting it.

If any of ye are still giving this your full attention to this game then you deserve a medal of some kind.