Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Say something controversial ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

And if you even point out the far higher rates of mental health problems, physical health problems, promiscuity, personality disorders, drink and drugs etc, then you can get attacked in a pretty nasty way. The gay community is massively self destructive, or at the least there is a self destructive component to it.

Homosexuals are just like heterosexuals! Well no lads, the stats on that say otherwise.

How does being predisposed to having mental illness make you any different from straight people? People who grow up with alcoholic parents or were bullied or any number of negative experiences are more likely to have mental health issues.

Growing up knowing you’re not into girls like the rest of the boys is bound to take a toll on your mental health. That doesn’t mean that straight people don’t have hardships of their own and suffer mental health issues too.
    If anything, the fact that gay people are likely to have mental health issues makes them more like straight people!

In fact it’s attitudes like the one in your post which contributes to the rate of depression in gay people. Imagine being a young gay person and reading the last line of that post.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Christyd

Why are all the foreigners on the dole and getting free houses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Delta1138

But you're confusing how you personally feel with how all women do.

I'd say you and B.A._Baracus are right about some of them but no idea how you've proof it applies to "all" of them. And he was still the one who started it by being a predator. No idea where the evidence is that "most" would do Weinstein either. Seems like the view of someone without much time for women.

I do, it applies to every single one of them that came out post the first allegation, have all admitted to it happening long before the first girl came out about it.

They didn't want to be the first one to take the bullet so they kept quiet and let it carry on, because it would ruin their careers.

That was the important thing, not that another bright eyed baby sparrow would have to trade fuzzies with Jabba the Hutt, but it would ruin their careers.

As Sargon of Akkad said, give me 5 women ... And I'll ruin anymans life.

And for the record i do have time for women, just not unethical ones that are in positions to influence children/ act as role models. You however should feel far more militant than I, these whores are the biggest and greatest proponents of the glass ceiling. Their inability to act morally has only created the stance that a woman can lie about harassment/the r word. Which in itself is true, plenty of women can lie and it has happened recently. There is no point claiming that you support an innocent till proven guilty system, if you don't look at all of these account/reports with a speculative and cynical eye.

The women that accused trump, where did they go ? Surely it would be a better opportunity to target him now that he is the president of the us, but I digress.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Eamonn Dunphy is unlistenable

He speaks so slooooowly

Well am eh pause the Palestians have eh a right pause and I think......

He gets a wide variety of guests on his podcast and he seems to have intelligent views on many subjects but he is so slow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭Prune Tracy

Good points Delta - although the auld misogynistic term "whore" is unnecessary.
    Christyd wrote: »
    Why are all the foreigners on the dole and getting free houses?
    Yep, "all" of them. Every single one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭Delta1138

Good points Delta - although the auld misogynistic term "whore" is unnecessary.

Yep, "all" of them. Every single one of them.

Yeah, whore is misoginistic ? Really, they exchanged sexual favours to a man to advance their own position, sounds like a perfect word for them.

Delta1138 wrote: »
    Yeah, whore is misoginistic ? Really, they exchanged sexual favours to a man to advance their own position, sounds like a perfect word for them.
    Prostitute does the trick (pun intended!) just fine.

Yeah "whore" is a very ugly, hostile term. Usually just used as an insult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,211 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Watched Bladerunner last night (thr original one).

It really is an average film.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

I hate Reddit!

NIMAN wrote: »

Totally agreed. It looks beautiful and I have the soundtrack which I love - but the plot: a guy is assigned to do something so he does it. Pretty boring.

The book (well it's just a little novella) is much better though, imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

QI is shyte.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Is Leo the mammy or the Daddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,208 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

NIMAN wrote: »

Totally agree. I watched it recently too.
    Like yeah the movie looks amazing, the music as previously said is great but there is a point in the movie where it just goes meh. Think its about 40 minutes in or something.
    People say it has inspired so many other movies, books and video games so it does deserve a place in cinema history. But it's still not the best movie.

One thing I have noticed is that people tend to say "oh, you should have watched this edition of it... it's the best!" - That right there says there was problems with the movie. Having so many different cuts.

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Starved of oxygen

I love travellers!

Very nice people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

The only good thing about Christmas is the time off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Star Wars is complete f--king bollix.
    Any adults that like it are sad simpletons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Your Face wrote: »
    Your Face is a complete f--king bollix.
    Any adults that like him are sad simpletons.

FYP :p:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Don't I recognise you from the Pro Wrestling forum?!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Too easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,543 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Stephen15 wrote: »

As I have grown older, I tend to agree. Virtually everything about it is over-hyped.

Christmas songs for a start. Now I understand how they are catchy to children, but my god they really go through your skull as soon as they start been played ad nauseum on the radio.

Christmas "tv specials" are dirt. I cannot think of any show that had a "christmas special" episode that was better than a regular episode. Don't get me started on the LLTS and the weird popularity it has with adults.

Christmas movies. Both with Christmas as the central theme or the ones that pop up on tv every year. Poorly made clap trap with ham acting for the most part.

The recent upsurge in sentimental advertising that seems to start earlier into November year on year.

Its commercialism as a whole. I genuinely feel that it won't be long before the essence and meaning on christmas will be lost forever as marketing takes over.

And the mother lode......post-christmas nights out. Far too busy and not worth the hassle anymore.

So TL;DR, Christmas lost its "magic" long ago. Give me St.Patrick's Day any day of the week. Coincides with Christmas and my birthday, and generally just a day of craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 121 ✭✭KaiserLu

Dublin GAA fans are bandwagon hopping pompous w@nkers. All of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭PeterParker957

KaiserLu wrote: »

When did the definition of controversial change to include "100% bang on true.. "??

KaiserLu wrote: »

Of course. Mayo have attracted 82000 to every league they've ever played.EVER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I want the water charges brought back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,513 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Some mods are brilliant at accepting some posts are intended to be light hearted jokes.

blade1 wrote: »
    Some mods are brilliant at accepting some posts are intended to be light hearted jokes.

Banned....

The plumbers on Boards are nice fellas....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Mary Lou McDonald is more terrifying than Gerry Adams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Stephen15 wrote: »

You sir have clearly heard of neither Christmas pudding nor mince pies.:D

Couldn't agree more.
    Flying around in spaceships like super advanced lords of the glalaxy but fighting with fúcking glorified sticks, like space gypos at a wedding.
    Steaming pile of shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,600 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

No doubt you're not including yourself in the "we" but you should - you should always speak for yourself. :)

What do you mean? That Ireland should have stayed colonised? That level of forelock-tugging can't he good.

Wasn't around for giving power to the Catholic church myself. A lot of it probably comes from the incredible self loathing of many here, as demonstrated by you.

You don't have to be "self loathing" to call out some of the bullsh!t that is endemic here.
    I see there are some here that pass our shortcomings off as 'post colonial' mindset. No, that's also bullsh!t, trying to pass the blame to an administration that's upped sticks and left nearly a century ago.
    There's no one fcuking over Irish people now only their fellow countrymen and women.

King are way better than Tayto

In the wake of the McCabe controversy, I tried to think of a female politician with a high-ranked posting that didn't make a mess of their portfolio, and couldn't come up with any. Same extends to other countries.

Then I think of any "successful" business woman and they always seem to be more stubborn/stern than their male counterparts. As if being a bitch got them to where they are today. Never seem to equate that being sound and respectful to your "underlings" is more beneficial than putting the fear of god into them.

Furthermore, the whole ordeal shows that both the Minister of Justice and Garda Commissioner roles should be reserved for men. At least they would have the decorum to resign and not stubbornly hang on when things go to pot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

There is no spoon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

That lottie Ryan comes in for unfair critism over who her father was

Don't think she's any better/worse than other presenters with similar experience and certainly better than ray D'Arcy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Delta1138 wrote: »

I was close to a Madeleine McCann joke.

Madeleine McCann jokes are funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Good Bad Not Evil

Charity is great. Especially this time of year. It’s nice to give.

Posting how much you’re donating is both vulgar and self-serving. And it somewhat takes away from the spirit of charity.

I just came from the Santa Strike Force thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

There are FOUR lights!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

The less well off in society have no justification in saying poverty drives them to eat junk food
    A proper dinner with healthy veg can be cooked and frozen for peanuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

Arlene Foster won’t be schmooozed by Varadkar. Credit where credit is due.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

Evian water tastes wayyyyyyyyu better than all other waters

The less well off in society have no justification in saying poverty drives them to eat junk food
    A proper dinner with healthy veg can be cooked and frozen for peanuts.

And more importantly - can be made for a fraction of the price of a takeaway, cheaper even than frozen, so called meals.

Apparently some people get confused between laziness and poverty!

And more importantly - can be made for a fraction of the price of a takeaway, cheaper even than frozen, so called meals.

Apparently some people get confused between laziness and poverty!

And others, like yourself, never experienced poverty:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

James Bulgers killers should not be subject to anonymity across all forms of media, breach of which is punishable by incarceration.

We have a great tradition in this country of having produced some of the best writers of all-time, and should be proud of our creative heritage.

But, the majority of those in the arts (mainly the music scene) that are 'struggling' to be discovered/make a decent living are that way because they have an inflated sense of their own abilities rather than the myriad excuses bandied about.

Which is why I feel too many grants are given out willy nilly to 'artists' and that too many of them leech off of the government.

No Johnny. The reason you haven't 'made it' is because your just not that good. And you are 45 years old with BO and a hairstyle caught in the same time-warp your preferred music genre came from, so grow up and at least try to explore different avenues of gainful employment.

Its not commercialism. You and your ilk are just too lazy/scared to face reality like the rest of us.

jca wrote: »
    And others, like yourself, never experienced poverty:mad:

Poverty jca, is relative. A hundred euros in your back pocket might make you a lord in the slums of Calcutta, but it won't get you too far in Tallaght!

And the point still stands, regardless of whteher I've personally known poverty, or was born with a silver spoon - it's cheaper to cook healthy food than to buy junk food, in any of it's forms.
    Nobody (in Ireland) is so poor that they "have" to eat junk. You can get a heap of veggies in aldi that will feed you for a week for little or nothing.
    People don't buy factory made shít out of necessity because it's all they can afford, they buy it because it's easier than cooking - they in fact pay a fairly hefty premium for that convenience.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

Modern Irish women have annoyingly high standards and unrealistic expectations of what they want when seeking a partner and I think it all stems from the celtic tiger era, too used to having everything and more and expect too much from a man, more than the norm.

(Digs a trench and hides)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    Modern Irish women have annoyingly high standards and unrealistic expectations of what they want when seeking a partner and I think it all stems from the celtic tiger era, too used to having everything and more and expect too much from a man, more than the norm.

(Digs a trench and hides)

Throw in Tinder and POF where average looking women are fooled into thinking they are some sort of Model due to the excessive amount of likes and comments they receive which even more inflates their expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,211 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

We have a great tradition in this country of having produced some of the best writers of all-time, and should be proud of our creative heritage.

But, the majority of those in the arts (mainly the music scene) that are 'struggling' to be discovered/make a decent living are that way because they have an inflated sense of their own abilities rather than the myriad excuses bandied about.

Which is why I feel too many grants are given out willy nilly to 'artists' and that too many of them leech off of the government.

No Johnny. The reason you haven't 'made it' is because your just not that good. And you are 45 years old with BO and a hairstyle caught in the same time-warp your preferred music genre came from, so grow up and at least try to explore different avenues of gainful employment.

Its not commercialism. You and your ilk are just too lazy/scared to face reality like the rest of us.

Anybody in particular in mind when you typed this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

zcorpian88 wrote: »

Going by your posting history on this topic, the issue isn't with the women.

911 was an inside job