Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Hugh heffner dead - RIP

13»

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

RIP to a legend.

Heff seen more c***s than the turnstiles at Old Trafford!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Xaracatz wrote: »
    I'm sure he's out there somewhere saluting you for your confidence in his longevity. Saluting you, in his own special way. What a lovely thought to picture vividly.

Id say he hasnt been doing any saluting for the last 20 years. Heh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 86 ✭✭Claude Wilton

Was he stiff when they found him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Any time I got my hands on a copy of his magazine for some reason the pages were always stuck together....

That's because you stole my magazine son.

P.S. you're adopted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

job seeker had a bit of a lie-in by the looks of it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Xaracatz

Id say he hasnt been doing any saluting for the last 20 years. Heh

That's what she said!

This is much better than the other AH HH thread. We should win all the prizes. \o/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

He had a good innings.

• Registered Users Posts: 888 ✭✭✭fmpisces

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Xaracatz wrote: »
    That's what she said!

This is much better than the other AH HH thread. We should win all the prizes. \o/

A booby prize would be appropriate :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

There was another side to the Hef,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Do not stand at my grave and weep
    I am not there. I do not sleep.
    I am a thousand winds that blow.
    I am the diamond glints on snow.
    I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
    I am the gentle autumn rain.
    When you awaken in the morning's hush
    I am the swift uplifting rush
    Of quiet birds in circled flight.
    I am the soft stars that shine at night.
    Do not stand at my grave and cry;
    I am not there. I did not die.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Have to agree.. the amount of "superior" holier-than-thou sermonising on this thread is mad.

For a minute I thought I'd opened a page back to the 50s or something!

We must be reading a different thread - it's been overwhelmingly positive as far as I can see. And it's not hard to see why a person wouldn't be too keen on him either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,898 ✭✭✭✭Ken.

Mod-Threads merged

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

In this thread and most media outlets today, the reporting on him has been mostly positive. A small bit of negative commentary is to be expected really.

You guys seem to be have decided that the commentary towards him has been more negative than it has actually been. The less complimentary stuff seems to focus on him not being terribly classy and it's hard to argue against that, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Brianna Disgusting Meal

TomSweeney wrote: »
    Jaysus, some man hating mad yoke screeching on newstalk now ...

Shouldve heard the anti porn American wan on Matt Coopers show....what a sjw / snowflake,who seemed to get offended by everything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,133 ✭✭✭Shurimgreat

Not saying I admired Heffner, but women should have the right to get their kit off if they want.

Oddly enough, western feminists are far more exercised by someone like Hefner than they are about women forced to wear the Burkka in different parts of the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,524 ✭✭✭the_pen_turner

can anyone confirm
    I have never heard of Hugh being accused of forcing himself on anyone or anything inappropriate . everything was consensual

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

can anyone confirm
    I have never heard of Hugh being accused of forcing himself on anyone or anything inappropriate . everything was consensual

You have to take into account he was considered to be someone in a position of influence. A lot of the women with him were looking to gain from that exposure. Particularly with the opportunity to network among a wide range of other influential people.

When people argue the ethics over it, consent seems to be an issue when Sex is used in such a manner. The woman is perceived to have no choice in the matter, as they have to fulfill a desire to gain from the influence available to them.

I find it an odd arrangement, but I wouldn't want to insult the women by minimising their input into a choice they ultimately made, who were more than aware of some of the circumstances they were going to find themselves in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,033 ✭✭✭✭bnt

There were some early reports that Hef's last wife Crystal Harris was being left with nothing, based on a prenup, but more details have emerged that show she's well catered-for:
    As quickly as Hugh Hefner said "I Do," he rolled out a plan to make sure his wife would be provided for when he dies ... a plan that included a sick pad and MILLIONS.

Death has this much to be said for it:
    You don’t have to get out of bed for it.
    Wherever you happen to be
    They bring it to you—free.

— Kingsley Amis