Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things that are overrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Neames

Mindfulness

Specifically, books and training courses.

Concentrate on your breathing, come back to the body.......my arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭Curly Judge

Woman's issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Johngoose

Sky t.v.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

Birthdays - you're one year closer to diying ya big eejit

Promotion - more work for same money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,705 ✭✭✭Mountainsandh

Wine, and alcohol in Ireland in general.
    Wine, there's shows on the radio with wine experts ?? I can understand that some people might make it a hobby to explore wines, but for 95% of us (highly reliable statistic I pulled out of my head) wine is just... wine. Might happen on a lovely one once in a while alright, it doesn't warrant more than an "oh, that wine is nice".

Alcohol/drinking. Feel good for 30 minutes. Before that, not enough, after that, feel physically unwell, unsure of what you may do/say, feel like you've lost control of yourself... and then the next day feel rubbish.

Neames : +1 with mindfulness ffs. The intention is good, not sure it should have been made into a commercially viable concept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭valoren

Game of Thrones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 706 ✭✭✭SATSUMA

Working for a living

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Omackeral wrote: »
    The looks of Marilyn Monroe.

Looks are debatable but what I don't get is why in recent years teenage girls have become fascinated with her as if she's some kind of feminist role model. She was a shitty actress who wasn't very bright. Have these girls who are fascinated with her ever actually seen her films? Or have they been taken in by all these pictures of her captioned with quotes she never said?

ff6ca25f685ad460ff61888ce075bb87--life-sayings-quote-life.jpg

Looks are debatable but what I don't get is why in recent years teenage girls have become fascinated with her as if she's some kind of feminist role model. She was a shitty actress who wasn't very bright. Have these girls who are fascinated with her ever actually seen her films? Or have they been taken in by all these pictures of her captioned with quotes she never said?

ff6ca25f685ad460ff61888ce075bb87--life-sayings-quote-life.jpg
    I liked Marilyn Monroe and I particularly enjoyed Some like it Hot and her rendition of Diamonds are a Girl's Best Friend and Happy Birthday Mr President.

CaPDCQjWEAA3AZ8.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

The movie Stepbrothers. I thought it was stupid and not funny.
    And weddings. Weddings are overrated and for the most part, not fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

anna080 wrote: »
    The movie Stepbrothers. I thought it was stupid and not funny.
    And weddings. Weddings are overrated and for the most part, not fun.

Thats it Anna...we are finished! If we cant love Step Brothers, we cant love each other.

Your bags are in the shed. The key for the lock is in Carlow, bon soir mon petit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Soccer.

Admit it, it's complete ****e.

The same could be said for cricket in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Beyoncé. Ugh
    Beyawnsay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

The "pared down" look girls/women are sporting these days.

It used to be all about the fancy blouses/dresses/skirts and heels and girly bags and make-up and jewellery, but lately it's all about plain office-type shirts, long coats that would give Inspector Gadget a run for his money, BROGUES instead of heels, trousers that cut off just above the ankle, showing your ankles off, barely any make-up, perhaps just a lick of mascara and some lipbalm and that's it.

When did this become "cool"?
    What's wrong with girly skirts and heels for a night out?
    Why are women wanting to look all androgynous all of a sudden?
    It's boring and unkempt looking.

Food served on chopping boards/roof tiles/bits of metal; mention for chips served in little trollies. Fk off.

Coffee.
    I was never a big fan of coffee (although I drink tons of tea) so I don't get the obsession with coffee.
    "Omg I NEED a coffee!" and "Before you speak to me in the morning I need coffee".
    What is so great about coffee?
    To me it tastes bitter and leaves a horrible taste in your mouth.

The Chopped franchise.
    All tiny chopped bits of lettuce and sh*t in a bowl. What's the obsession?
    Cafes/delis have been offering salads for years so what's so special about Chopped?

And now we come to the biggest irk of all......
    People starting their sentences with the word "So."

I was watching a programme the other day and the interviewer asked the guest how they came up with the idea for the thing they were showing off which they'd invented.

Guy begins "So it was back in college..."
    Interviewer: "Just you or did you have a friend to help?"
    Guy: "So at first it was just me and then...£
    Interviewer: "Has it been successful?"
    Guy: "So we've had plenty of interest".

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

fussyonion wrote: »
    The "pared down" look girls/women are sporting these days.

It used to be all about the fancy blouses/dresses/skirts and heels and girly bags and make-up and jewellery, but lately it's all about plain office-type shirts, long coats that would give Inspector Gadget a run for his money, BROGUES instead of heels, trousers that cut off just above the ankle, showing your ankles off, barely any make-up, perhaps just a lick of mascara and some lipbalm and that's it.

When did this become "cool"?
    What's wrong with girly skirts and heels for a night out?
    Why are women wanting to look all androgynous all of a sudden?
    It's boring and unkempt looking.

Haven't noticed this "look" on nights out at all .......... it's all fake tan, tonnes of make-up, high heels, skirts up their ar5es, hair extensions, big lips, fake eyelashes and plenty of cleavage on show ......... none of which is a bad thing from where I'm looking! :p
    Food served on chopping boards/roof tiles/bits of metal; mention for chips served in little trollies. Fk off.

All I care about when eating out is the food itself, couldn't care less what it's served on/in .........
    Coffee.
    I was never a big fan of coffee (although I drink tons of tea) so I don't get the obsession with coffee.
    "Omg I NEED a coffee!" and "Before you speak to me in the morning I need coffee".
    What is so great about coffee?
    To me it tastes bitter and leaves a horrible taste in your mouth.

Love coffee .......... can't stand tea though.
    The Chopped franchise.
    All tiny chopped bits of lettuce and sh*t in a bowl. What's the obsession?
    Cafes/delis have been offering salads for years so what's so special about Chopped?

Have to say Chopped is quite nice ........ reasonably priced and filling.
    And now we come to the biggest irk of all......
    People starting their sentences with the word "So."

I was watching a programme the other day and the interviewer asked the guest how they came up with the idea for the thing they were showing off which they'd invented.

Guy begins "So it was back in college..."
    Interviewer: "Just you or did you have a friend to help?"
    Guy: "So at first it was just me and then...£
    Interviewer: "Has it been successful?"
    Guy: "So we've had plenty of interest".

:mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

This is where I agree with you 100%, drives me insane!!! :mad:

Does it belong on this thread though? It's not something that's "overrated" ........ probably belongs on the Trivial Annoyances thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The way people go on about The Wire. "It was the most important TV show ever" or "it was written by a former cop and was based on actual cases" as if that somehow turns it into an educational documentary that you need to see. I mean I'm sure the writers of Fair City based some of the characters on people they know. That doesn't make it important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The same could be said for cricket in fairness.
    Since when has cricket been overrated?

No cricket alickadoo has ever gone full retard and called the sport "the beautiful game".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,475 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Bruce Springsteen. I just don't get it.

Used to feel the same way about Dylan, but have got into his stuff over the years. I just can't get along with Brooooce though.

Also Steely Dan - gave them another try when one of them died recently, but it's still sounds like a load of smooth jazz-rock nonsense to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Fanny Wank

Burritos

Nandos

Loads of other stuff but can't be bothered thinking right now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

Going to the gym. Just go for a walk daily and I will guarantee you will be just as fit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Since when has cricket been overrated?

No cricket alickadoo has ever gone full retard and called the sport "the beautiful game".

I'm a bohs fan, another garrison game. But I now live in north County Dublin and it's definitely overrated in this locale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 695 ✭✭✭beefburrito

Fanny **** wrote: »
    Burritos

Nandos

Loads of other stuff but can't be bothered thinking right now

What's wrong with burritos ;(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Wibbs wrote: »
    I'd be with you on this one. "Oh the Dalai Lama must go back to Tibet" say the hippies the Eat, Pray, Love types and the Neo Buddhists, cos for some reason they have this bizarre notion that Buddhism isn't chock full of magical thinking. Never mind the Buddha was a bit of a prick. But I digress...

Yeah let's stick the Lama eejit back on his gilded throne of a backward totalitarian theocracy. Not. I actually met him once. Got a really bad vibe off the guy. And the ego on him? Fcuk me. He really didn't take to me either, but at least I'm fully aware I'm a knobend. He appears oblivious to that. I joked with one of the monks with him who noticed the chill between us that "maybe he owed me money in a previous life?" and he cracked up laughing, agreed and further suggested maybe it was the other way around, because I had that kinda face. I then suggested he was only a Tibetan bollocks and he nearly burst a gut laughing at that. He was actually very cool and we had a grand oul chat on all sorts of subjects The DL? Nah. Grinning twat IMHO. I did notice that while European types fawned over him, folks from Asia were less fawning. They don't buy the easy smiles. You can actually see that in how Asian folks tend to render smileys/emojis in text. They concentrate less on the mouth, but much more the eyes. EG Europeans go :) Asians go (⌒‿⌒). It's all in the eyes, they know the smiles can lie. One of my closest mates' parents actually put up the DL in their house for a week way back and apparently he was a right demanding, never satisfied git.

Mandela? Yeah, later statesman when the fires and memories had cooled, but was originally put forward as a possible political figure because he was the best of a bad lot of terrorist scumbags and that's not saying a lot. And just look at his "tyre on fire necklace for dissenters and "witches"" disaster of a wife.

Ghandi? Had his moments, like the DL had good PR quotes, but harboured an inherent racism towards Africans, as you note treated his wife terribly and to "prove" the control of his base nature had late teenage women sleep with him, but he would do nothing. Yeah, GTFO Ted.

Don't get me started on Che Guevara...

Hmmm I dunno. TBH I bloody love shower nookie.
    How does a guy who weighs over 600lbs have the balls to teach people about self discipline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

The 80's. They were a bit sh1t in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The 80's. They were a bit sh1t in Ireland.
    Best decade ever, for me anyway :)

Leo Varadkar, useless git.

Rubberbandits. Unfunny sjw twats.

The one big mistake they made was to cut holes in them plastic bags :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Gaelic football. Terrible sport but people are afraid to admit it for some reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭764dak

Liga BBVA

Nathan Carter

Berserker wrote: »
    Gaelic football. Terrible sport but people are afraid to admit it for some reason.
    That's probably because it's a great sport.

Every single one of your posts is anti-Irish and pro-NI Unionist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,000 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The whole "big night out on the town" experience.

Granted sometimes you get lucky and have an enjoyable time but It's usually crap, if you're honest.

Queues and hassle every step you take. Costs a fortune. Following day a write off. Not worth the hassle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

No, compare it to hurling. Hurling is a considerably better and more skillful sport. Oh, I like to add New Years Eve to the thread.

Berserker wrote: »
    No, compare it to hurling. Hurling is a considerably better and more skillful sport. Oh, I like to add New Years Eve to the thread.
    Why does Gealic football upset you so much? All of your posts are "I'm a bitter English guy living in Ireland, I hate it, and there's Gaelic football everywhere."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭Solomon Pleasant

Mc Donald's. How do people eat this muck?
    I've been there once or twice with friends and a lot of people eating there have weight issues. It immediately turns me off the notion of buying anything in there. Surely it's worth paying a bit extra and waiting a but longer to get food that isn't packed with carcinogens and fat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

The whole "big night out on the town" experience.

Granted sometimes you get lucky and have an enjoyable time but It's usually crap, if you're honest.

Queues and hassle every step you take. Costs a fortune. Following day a write off. Not worth the hassle.

I agree 100%

A few beers and a chat is nice but the big night out is too much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,925 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

A good game of Gaelic is hard to beat.

The first Kerry Mayo game, the AI final are as good as sport gets.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭Autochange

Religion. What a load of bollox.
    Thankfully the next generation dont buy into it as much and hopefully it will eventually fizzle out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Panthro wrote: »
    You leave the Spandau Ballet out of this!

Gold!... Always believe in your soul... you've got the power to know... you're indestructible.. Always believe in.. because you are...

GOLD!

I think that was a Typo. Meant to be GOLF
    Not the car :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Subway food. Bland, overpriced cardboard.

Tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,539 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Yer man - the red head with all the tatoos from the UK with the guitar who has a teddy bear called after him.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Mc Donald's. How do people eat this muck?
    I've been there once or twice with friends and a lot of people eating there have weight issues. It immediately turns me off the notion of buying anything in there. Surely it's worth paying a bit extra and waiting a but longer to get food that isn't packed with carcinogens and fat?

+ you're hungry again 20 minutes afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,474 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

Pizza. Soggy bread with cheese & ketchup and crusts that cut the gums of ya!
    Reality TV. All of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,947 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

Going to the gym. Just go for a walk daily and I will guarantee you will be just as fit.

Well, that's simply not true, to say the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The one big mistake they made was to cut holes in them plastic bags :mad:

Yeah but in fairness though... they were spot on with the haunted bread :D

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Leo Varadkar, useless git.

He's a tosser now, fella from Bachman, Turner Overdrive or LSD Soundsystem said it so it must be true.

Autochange wrote: »
    Religion. What a load of bollox.
    Thankfully the next generation dont buy into it as much and hopefully it will eventually fizzle out

I hope to God you're right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Pink Floyd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear