Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Ghost' caught on camera in Cork's oldest school.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

If your a ghost, do you get scared by other ghosts that might be longer in the game?

How do we know it's not two or three ghosts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭denismc

FAKE Wooooos! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,095 ✭✭✭✭looksee

If you watch it on slow and full screen you can see that before each event - especially the door and the locker - there is some artifact movement, the film was fiddled with. Good effort though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭mollygreene

Here you go.. captured by a tourist a couple of years ago..

I went on the tour around Loftus House on Sunday.. the only place you're allowed take pictures is of the outside. That lady standing inside the door supposedly a ghost, is actually the tour guide

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I'm not gonna lie I was a bit freaked watching that. But then again I am the world's biggest scaredy cat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,063 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I used to be afraid of ghosts when i was young.
    My mother, God rest her, used to say " you'll not meet anything worse than yourself wherever you go ".
    She was probably right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭Goat the dote

I used to be afraid of ghosts when i was young.
    My mother, God rest her, used to say " you'll not meet anything worse than yourself wherever you go ".
    She was probably right.

Mine always said “it’s not the dead you need to be afraid of, it’s the living”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Why would they bother faking that though?
    Maybe to promote their Halloween goul event at end of month?!

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Harmless viral attempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭mosstin

Moving Statues 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Easy.

Young fella behind the door to push and bang the door.
    Young fella behind the locker in that MASSIVE GAP BETWEEN THE 2 ROWS!! to rock the locker back and forward.
    Actuator in the locker to fire it open.
    String on the floor sign, pulled off camera.

Nice attempt by the transition year students.

Big give away is the clarity of the "CCTV" camera.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Plus his mother was a Virgin and where would you find one of those in Cork!

And there's definitely no way he was from Cork...You'd never have 3 wise men!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

If a school had audio recording CCTV beside the lockers it would be a huge breach of privacy.
    Explain that Mr Principal Kevin Barry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Duff wrote: »

The ghost seems like an angry fücker.

probably this guy ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

Some light shone in the corridor. Lockers pushed from behind (a window open). . Locker door opened remotely and a sign knocked over by the mechanism of an attached string.

All done by the ghost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Give it a day and rte will have an article by some hipster about a cork ghost that has gone viral.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

looksee wrote: »
    If you watch it on slow and full screen you can see that before each event - especially the door and the locker - there is some artifact movement, the film was fiddled with. Good effort though!

That wouldn't be an indicator, as some algorithms use lookahead and will adjust for a movement well before the movement happens to optimise a macroblock

The massive fecking windows in front of the lockers though!

Fishing line for the sign as well, could remove that within a frame.

Ipso wrote: »
    Give it a day and rte will have an article by some hipster about a cork ghost that has gone viral.

the ghost will phone liveline :pac:

"hello Joe i've been dead for the past hundred years and i'm getting fierce lonely boi"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭BPKS

If this isn't fake, then I wonder how many students got the sh1t kicked out of them by the Christian Brothers over the years for leaving stuff fall out of their locker?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,471 ✭✭✭7 Seconds...

It's a good video, whether faked or not. But as the old saying go - Be more afraid of the living, than the dead. Although as brave as I am now something like this in my younger years would have absolutely scared me sh*tless.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

also most cctv setups have terrible frame rates. this was to good to be true.

No. This is the quality of most systems we install. What gives it away is the sound as you wouldn't be allowed record audio there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Chancer3001

They have a fear park Halloween event in the school.

This is advertising for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Yep, an attempt at viral marketing, CCTV footage that clear in a school? With audio recording?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Clearly see this is the girls reflection not a ghost.

Why would her own reflection be looking at her back though? Usually your reflection faces you dead on.

Dead on. Ghosts confirmed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Wombatman wrote: »
    Cork's oldest school.
    While the school was founded as Sullivan's Quay in 1828, Deerpark dates from about 1968.

North Monastery CBS dates from 1811.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 861 ✭✭✭tomwaits48

cool transition year project?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

At least he was'nt running in the corridor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

valoren wrote: »
    And who happens to be checking cctv footage from a random night, at a random time such as 3.06am?

While I have no doubt this is fake...

But, you can get 1080p IR cameras and high capacity DVRs surprisingly cheap now. Flagging events based on motion is a fairly common feature.

Not claiming this is real obviously! lol
    Most likely it is some video project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭beer enigma

quad_red wrote: »
    Head height CCTV camera with perfect night vision and sound?

They are actually genuine cameras. I know the school very well and they had a total security revamp with cameras - I know exactly where that one is and it has IR.

However, as one of the other posters mentioned, Deerpark hold an annual school Halloween fundraising event called 'Fearpark' every year, €5 in so I'd be more than sceptical

Mind you, I'm in the school late every Saturday night as the Cork Youth orchestra rehearse there and many a time I've used the loos behind those doors to have the lights suddenly go out :eek: even with my scepticism, I'm not sure I'll be using them this saturday. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

....and when I looked, there was a skeleton driving the car!!!!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,213 ✭✭✭beer enigma

BBDBB wrote: »
    ....and when I looked, there was a skeleton driving the car!!!!!! :eek:

Did he start it with a skeleton key :rolleyes:

It's fake, it's viral marketing for their Fear Park event lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Paddico

I wouldnt say its tat easy to fake but it maybe possible.
    The kicked floor sign looks the hardest but it was primed for a kicking and thats when I started to laugh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Nettle Soup

Who was reviewing security footage from 3am and why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭511

And who happens to be checking cctv footage from a random night, at a random time such as 3.06am?

IP cameras have motion and sound detectors. When you log on to the DVR, it will show a chart indicating what time a sound or noise was detected and watch the footage.

I reckon it's fake because the time stamp conveniently doesn't display the seconds ticker.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Because of the mess

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,016 ✭✭✭mad m

After watching this am I going to have some skank yoke crawl out of my tv in 3 days

511 wrote: »

I reckon it's fake because the time stamp conveniently doesn't display the seconds ticker.

yep, thats the giveaway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Probably when they came in and saw things thrown around they decided to look back on the footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

511 wrote: »
    IP cameras have motion and sound detectors..........

We had sound n motion detection long before IP camera boiiiii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

This is coming from the same the school that brought you this: https://www.facebook.com/pg/DeerparkCBS/videos/
    Mr Barry Actually. His PR skills are incredible :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭Postgrad10

Have to scroll down that page to get the video for Mr Barry Actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Great little TY halloween promotion video. Fair play to all involved. Need to get the ghost hunter crew involved with their blurry cameras and fear of shadows.