Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Wales vs Ireland, World Cup Qualifer, kick-off 7.45, RTE 2 & Sky Sports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,404 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Duffy has some guts. Made challenge after challenge.
    We invited them on far too much after we scored and that was a very dangerous tactic.
    I don't like MON's tactics especially after we scored. We had no out ball at all.
    Great to get to the play-off though but it will be very tough to make the finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,628 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭irishman86

pjohnson wrote: »
    jaysus you havent met Irishman.

Edit
    No point getting dragged into nonsense
    Withdrawn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

These group of players are just a special bunch, they give it their all for the country and us the fans.

Im so happy for them and MON who has been very unfairly treated tbh. The guy has gotten us to the playoffs again, that is an outstanding feat

• SlickRic wrote: »
    I'm possibly his biggest critic, but McClean was unreal tonight. Lead the press in that 2nd half, and I've no doubt it energised others. He was a one man pressing machine at times.

It can't be underestimated his important our press was in those last 10 minutes. Hendrick, Meyler and McClean in particular. It forced Wales to have to lob the ball forward from behind the halfway line rather than from 10 yards inside our half. Made defending the long balls that bit easier. Awesome energy and discipline to keep doing that when the pain in their legs would've been telling them to drop off.

Wahey ya finally gave in

Fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,943 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Hey Chris Coleman, we are not a "home nation".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Arghus wrote: »
    God I miss Bill at times like this. Darragh Maloney is as exciting as white bread.
    I think absence is making your heart grow fonder there. Yes; Maloney is woefully dull. How he got the gig, Christ knows. But O'Herlihy was hardly Mr Charisma, was he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Remember we drew Iran in the play off?

I take it the days of getting drawn against a middle eastern country are gone??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,160 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

irishman86 wrote: »
    Pathetic

Yes you are mate!

Credit where due that is superb from Ireland tonight. The goal was sublime team play. I'm a critic of this management but they pulled it off

Meyler missing from the first playoff leg is a scald but perhaps Walters will be back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Shane Duffy's performance at times was Richard Dunne-esque.

I remember Dunne being poor in his first few games as well, usually getting the brunt of Roy's hairdryer for all to see.

Fair play to Duffy, great performance.

Yes you are mate!

Edit
    Withdrawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭Rekop dog

sugarman wrote: »
    Its not possible after the lost last night unforuntaly, seeds are

Seeded

Portugal/Switzerland (Portugal need to win tomorrow to top the group on GD)
    Italy
    Croatia
    Sweden (IF they dont lose tomorrow, they'll stay where they are)

Unseeded

Denmark
    N.Ireland
    Ireland
    Greece

Misses Out (as worst placed 2nd place)
    Slovakia

It's done on ranking not the 2nd place table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭Yillan

Even that Paddy Power "Mad lad bants" thing isn't irritating now.

I'd have to disagree

Seeded teams for playoffs: -

Portugal/Switzerland, Italy, Croatia, Denmark

Who would you want - Croatia?

That comeback really proves my point
    A child with a keyboard is all you are

Go on tell everyone how McClean never scores again.

blueser wrote: »
    I think absence is making your heart grow fonder there. Yes; Maloney is woefully dull. How he got the gig, Christ knows. But O'Herlihy was hardly Mr Charisma, was he?

I feel I am completely in the minority in liking Maloney. I find him knowledgable and insightful, but also happy enough to step back and let the 'experts' (that's another argument) speak.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Rezident

murpho999 wrote: »
    Martin O'Neill just doesn't like Tony O'Donoghue does he?

O'Donohoe and most of the rte crew really could have - and should have - shown Martin and the team a bit more respect all campaign. O'Neill is a grumpy old man so he's like: feck them. Not ideal but totally understandable.

Easy to sit in your armchair and say ireland should be playing all out attacking football because it looks pretty but no way would it have been as successful. Yes MON knows more about managing a football team than Tony o'Donohoe and Dunphy and all those other mouths put together. Maybe show a bit of respect?

Go on tell everyone how McClean never scores again.

Edit
    Withdrawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Bill's a legend. Charisma is subjective, but by most people's measure he had it in bucket loads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Remember we drew Iran in the play off?

I take it the days of getting drawn against a middle eastern country are gone??

UEFA have their own play offs and rest play off against each other

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,508 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Full expect a helicopter appear above Duffy with O'Neil whinching him away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Dunphy trolling now with Londonderry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,474 ✭✭✭deadybai

Duffy was more heroic than Dinner in Russia.

In any other match McLean would be man of the match

What an unbelievable performance from the entire team.

:rolleyes: thats all you deserve because you havent a clue about football

Well you've gone about 3 posts without whinging about McClean so you are learning about football slowly. Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Eamonn couldn't resist th snide remark. Though I agree with him. It irritates me to hear that name.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,248 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Where would we be without Londonderry- aw Dunphy.....

UEFA have their own play offs and rest play off against each other

Thanks for the response.

How come we drew Iran back then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What? O'Herlihy was one of the all time great sports anchors. He set up himself to be the straight guy and asked faux naive questions for the pack to tear to shreds, with bags of easy charm. He was a cut above.

Well you've gone about 3 posts without whinging about McClean so you are learning about football slowly. Congrats.

Edit
    Withdrawn

Thanks for the response.

Just a different arrangement. Don't remember it before or since, but could be wrong on that

22382383_10155164293017568_4396074922592965802_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoiYiJ9&oh=0a4b21efeb67e39a15dee071183a6905&oe=5A41254B

Thanks for the response.

One place was a play off between one European team and one Asia.

Now UEFA have more places in WC as it has expanded to 32 teams so not required anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,038 ✭✭✭circadian

Any reason for Dunphy dropping the L word or is he just half cut as usual?

murpho999 wrote: »
    One place was a play off between one European team and one Asia.

Now UEFA have more places in WC as it has expanded to 32 teams so not required anymore.

Cheers.

circadian wrote: »

He's not half cut as people always say but he is a wind up merchant.

Seeding in the playoffs seems unfair. I remember the same argument in '09 as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,324 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

circadian wrote: »
    Being a tit as per.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭ballyargus

was he not slagging the now seemingly ubiquitous formal usage of Derry~Londonderry as the full moniker?

Seeding for the playoffs seems unfair. I remember the same argument in '09 as well

All about the FIFA tv money - more for them from the bigger nations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,324 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

David Meyler seems sound great choice as captain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

Until the local mods get here to sort ye out - Cut out the childish bitching & sniping!

This applies to irishman86, pjohnson especially, but not exclusively.

tHB

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Lol at the panel

' Ide like to see Mclean take on Ronaldo in in a 50/50 I know who my money would be on......

Its ok we'll see em in the final '

• Registered Users Posts: 1,804 ✭✭✭Rezident

The amount of snide digs Tony OD has made at him, it's amazing he still lets the pr!ck interview him.

Ask the questions and keep your bloody opinion to yourself you troll Tony.

Totally agree. I've lost a lot of respect for Tony o'Donohoe this campaign. I think some journalists think they have to be critical to score points. But him criticising MON about managing a football team is like a subbutteo player criticising Messi's football skills.

Embarrassing to watch some of them on Rte. Sad that they're not even big enough to admit when they are proven wrong. Yet again. How small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Thanks for the response.

Because UEFA had 14.5 places France got one for being holders so 13.5 spaces

9 Groups so 9 group winners that left 9 2nd place teams

Ireland finished as the best Runner up and got the play off V Iran for the .5 spot while the other 8 teams played off for the remaining 4 European spots.

Since then UEFA have lost the half spot to North America

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭s3rtvdbwfj81ch

Patww79 wrote: »

Expect a load of butthurt though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Not a huge O'Neill fan but you can't argue with the results. Germany, Italy and now Wales when the odds were stacked against us.

He's no master tactician and he'll never be accused of trying to walk the ball into the net, but he has inspired this squad time and time again into giving big performances and to achieving results that punch above our weight. England in Stuttgart, NI in Belfast, Italy in New York, Germany in Japan, Holland in Dublin. O'Neill's best results are up there with the best in Irish football.

We've every chance now of reaching consecutive tournaments for the first time since Big Jack and the Brit Busters. You can't argue with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭delaad

Respect to Richie there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83