Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Call of Duty | Black Ops 4 | News and Rumours!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

OmegaGene wrote: »
    I am a solo casual player so would it be worthy while jumping on this or would I be totally lost

honestly? I hadn't a clue what the 3 lads in the team were up to, but I stuck close to them, revived when needed and shot all the things, and we were doing pretty well. theres plenty of short guides on youtube (i went looking when I was finished last night) There is in depth stuff too, like symbols that flash to tell you what order in which you should kill certain enemies - in fact it kinda reminded me of the coordination you'd see in a destiny raid. I'll likely never get that big into it, but its certainly an enjoyable way to pass an hour or so.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

honestly? I hadn't a clue what the 3 lads in the team were up to, but I stuck close to them, revived when needed and shot all the things, and we were doing pretty well. theres plenty of short guides on youtube (i went looking when I was finished last night) There is in depth stuff too, like symbols that flash to tell you what order in which you should kill certain enemies - in fact it kinda reminded me of the coordination you'd see in a destiny raid. I'll likely never get that big into it, but its certainly an enjoyable way to pass an hour or so.

I think you’re right on the coordination piece. Good comparison with the raids in Destiny.

I tried looking up the sequence in zombies and I think it’s more convoluted than the Raids in Destiny. Especially with the 100 mike an hour pace that it goes at.

That said like yourself I’ve enjoyed the few hours of it that I have played. It’s pure horde’y madness if you take it in its simplest form.

Get a can of Red Bull into ya and shoot the **** out of anything that moves!!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,077 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm on the opposite camp then. Never interested in zombies, think I played some of Der Reise or something in a previous one, didn't like it. Some of my mates keep telling me how good it is. Yeah, if you know exactly what to do, otherwise it's a pain in the hole and boring.

And still, what a month after release, I haven't played a single game of Blackout. I didn't think I would, but the beta got me interested, however when I got the game I've played MP constantly with no interest in playing Blackout. I wonder if they'll ever release the Zombies, MP and whateverelse separately and see who buys what. Annoys me that I've never had an interest in zombies and it's now nearly the main focus of these games. They should have a separate Zombies CoD that they just update each year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭OmegaGene

I’ve tried zombies and never really got into it
    Blackout looks good to watch but My heart would give out lol
    I quite enjoy the multiplayer, I just wish I had more time to dedicate to it like years ago doing 12 hour sessions with the curtains closed

The internet isn’t for everyone

I bought the game solely on the strength of blackout, but tbh, I'm really enjoying regular team death match to the point that I usually have a few games 'to warm up' and next thing I know it's time for bed. It still has the classic cod matchmaking, where you can go from being 16 kills with 4 deaths in one game to the opposite in the next round, but it's strangely addictive.

Yeah I was hoping to get in on zombies. Might yet still I suppose.

Blackout bores me to tears. Hide and seek for adults. No thanks.

Multiplayer has me hooked though. Pick up with the intention of putting down but the one more game mentality kicks in.

I’m doing well on certain maps and woeful on others. Loving Slums, Arsenal and Nuketown

Hardpoint + Nuketown + Ruin = Smiles all day, incredibly satisfying to grapple to B Dom, or into a window, then gravity slam the team desperately trying to hold the point.

the more I play it, the more I appreciate the changes they've made. The lack of throwables, and the relative rarity of scorestreaks is a good thing imo. If you were losing hard in Blops 2 and 3, it was a bad experience, spawning into a drone swarm, or those round things that used to roll around the map wrecking shop.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Auroras_encore

Ww2 was far better than this rubbish

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I can see now why the Swordfish isn't unlocked until level 55

Absolute melt machine and I've only got quickdraw, stock and silencer on it.

Also the silencers will surely be patched at some point in the game but for now they have no range penalty so it's a no brainer to stick one on because Ghost has been nerfed into oblivion so along with dead silence, it's the only way of being stealthy at the moment

• Registered Users Posts: 1,878 ✭✭✭heroics

x43r0 wrote: »
    I can see now why the Swordfish isn't unlocked until level 55

Absolute melt machine and I've only got quickdraw, stock and silencer on it.

Also the silencers will surely be patched at some point in the game but for now they have no range penalty so it's a no brainer to stick one on because Ghost has been nerfed into oblivion so along with dead silence, it's the only way of being stealthy at the moment

Wait till you get the operator mod and high calibre unlocked. Hard to believe it's recoil has been buffed twice.

Ww2 was far better than this rubbish

Madness, this is the first COD I've enjoyed in ages, something about BLOPS3 just didnt do it for me, I think the movement wasn't fluid enough, Titanfall 2 did it much better.

One thing I don't like though are the stupid day of the dead cosmetics.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,278 ✭✭✭x43r0

I agree - I think this game is far superior to WW2. Don't think it's even close

Anyone know is the Nuketown playlist a permanent thing? I assumed it'd be gone once the double xp thing ended but it was there last night and the double xp was switched off

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,307 Mod ✭✭✭✭F1ngers

x43r0 wrote: »
    Anyone know is the Nuketown playlist a permanent thing?

It's not there now, it's just part of normal map rotation.
    PS4 if that makes a difference.

F1ngers wrote: »
    It's not there now, it's just part of normal map rotation.
    PS4 if that makes a difference.

Yeah it’s gone on PS4 which is a shame. I played the hell out of it for days.

They should leave it on. If people want it why they **** would the take it away and put it on normal rotation?!

Some would get bored of it if it was there all the time but let them go to normal rotation maps and let those who want to play it constantly to play it constantly. It’s not like the player base isn’t big enough!

Gonna give zombies a shot later tonight. Fancy a change of pace from the normal multiplayer.

I could be wrong but I think xbox might have it for another week. we get everything the ps4 gets, for the same length of time, just a week later.

Meh. Can't see how people still love this map. Are ye not tired of it yet? Granted, playing as Firebreak on that map is fun, especially if you have a camping team. Cleared out those buildings a few times now with his Reactor Core and cleanup with the Purifier afterwards. And Ruin has an obvious advantage in this maps too. But it's still Nuketown. Let it die already!!

As someone who played the hell out of it when it was repeat yeah I still enjoy it. Now that said I do short stints often with gaming in general these days so quick bursts of madness are very welcome.

As I say I don’t get why they don’t just leave it as an option considering how much most or a lot of people love it. Just seems odd to me.

Oh and it’s all about firebreak on that map. I’ve cleaned up with campers so many times with that. ****in great craic.

Yeah it’s gone on PS4 which is a shame. I played the hell out of it for days.

Nuketown moshpit on PS4.
    Dom, KC and TDM.

EDIT:
    Seaside sunset and firing range night are now live.

I've decided that since last night, this is the best BOTG CoD in the last few years. I'm having as much fun with it as I was with MW2 and 3. I'm no longer on the fence, the MP is as good as it has ever been. Still haven't gone near, and probably won't, Blackout, and I never play Zombies. Still think the full price was too much, but I do get my money worth out of it.

Crazy to see how many people have diamond snipers, SMGs, LMGs and AR's already. Some people must have played nothing but this since it came out. Don't know how they do that, what with all the other good games out there.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,067 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I've decided that since last night, this is the best BOTG CoD in the last few years. I'm having as much fun with it as I was with MW2 and 3. I'm no longer on the fence, the MP is as good as it has ever been. Still haven't gone near, and probably won't, Blackout, and I never play Zombies. Still think the full price was too much, but I do get my money worth out of it.

Crazy to see how many people have diamond snipers, SMGs, LMGs and AR's already. Some people must have played nothing but this since it came out. Don't know how they do that, what with all the other good games out there.

I'm really enjoying it too. Getting better at MP and blackout. Really enjoyable games.

I may have spoken too soon. Quickscoping is really starting to irritate me. I believe I said it before, but once you fully prestige a weapon, after x amount of time it should be locked, forcing you to use another gun. Would force people to use weapons they're not used to, and would bring a better variety to it. Right now, it's all quick scope and diamond SMGs destroying all around.

Big update inbound, full details in the link, but tl:dr is new specialist, winter comes to blackout, hijacked makes a return and changes to the progression system.

https://www.treyarch.com/blog/2018-12/black-ops-4-s-new-operation-arrives-december-11-on-ps4

• Registered Users Posts: 2,498 ✭✭✭ECO_Mental

Playing blackout had lv 3 armour and bumped into another player thought I had him no worries as had lv3 and a titan lmg he don't get the jump on me or anything...but he dropped me quick? Wtf...anyway looked at the kill cam and the clever fecker shot out my legs!!! Pro tip right there

6.1kWp south facing, South of Cork City

What are the chances of being able to download just the MP side of this new update... I really wish you could. I've no interest in zombies or Blackout, so it's a complete waste of bandwidth for me (on 4G). Will be interesting to see the changes to the Contraband system, so far it's been meh.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭circular flexing

Update is 15.26GB anyway.

Yeah, saw that last night as I wanted to play a game. No game for me. 15Gb takes about 5 hours for me... They really need to split the downloads.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,642 ✭✭✭Luap

Update is 15.26GB anyway.

Any ideas what this consists of?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭CptMackey

The new specialist is toxic. Can destroy your streaks in seconds . She is op. Needs a nerf . Wasn't fun tonight playing at all. Full of sweats and zero .

Imo she is potentially game breaking

Yeah, same issue with Zero, way OP. Should be like Firebreak where it's a circle around the character rather than map wide. And it lasts too long, way longer than any other Specialist ability. Haven't played as her myself yet, but nearly every game she was in was ruined more or less. Hope they nerf her quick.

Very close to buying the Roman Armor using the Cod points I got with the game. First one i've seen I actually like the look of.