Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So this Hurricane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

so are employers going to let most of the south of Ireland not come to work tmw?

Well if the red alert means the same as what it means here in France, then people shouldn't be expected to go to work.
    All the schools in my county were closed for a morning last year, then they reopened in the afternoon when the red alert was lifted. We didn't lose pay for not being in work in the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

My husband has a meeting in Waterford tomorrow morning. Thinking of heading down tonight so he doesn't have much driving to do in the bad weather.

Same man just put the buns out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭RebelButtMunch

Pedestal

I've a few pedals in the shed. I might need a stool for them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Hi I just thought I'd like to issue a severe weather warning to people. This will not be a non event. I REPEAT THIS WILL NOT BE A NON EVENT.

THOSE WHO KNOW ME KNOW ME BEST FOR PREDICTING THE BIG FREEZE.

I REPEAT WARN WARN SEVERE WIND APPROACHING WARN WARN SEVERE WIND APPROACHING.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

namloc1980 wrote: »
    In Cork too and our office is open tomorrow and people are expected in work.

What part of the city are you in haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Whispered wrote: »
    My husband has a meeting in Waterford tomorrow morning. Thinking of heading down tonight so he doesn't have much driving to do in the bad weather.

Same man just put the buns out.

Would he not do it on remotely on Skype?. As I still don't understand company's and people who can't offer a remote meeting in this day and age

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Hi I just thought I'd like to issue a severe weather warning to people. This will not be a non event. I REPEAT THIS WILL NOT BE A NON EVENT.

THOSE WHO KNOW ME KNOW ME BEST FOR PREDICTING THE BIG FREEZE.

I REPEAT WARN WARN SEVERE WIND APPROACHING WARN WARN SEVERE WIND APPROACHING.

Feck ... have you contacted MET Eireann yet, they could probably do with some of your expertise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Feck ... have you contacted MET Eireann yet, they could probably do with some of your expertise.

Hi Met Eireann don't take too kindly to people who predict the future in a non scientific manner. I have issued my warning to the public.

WARN WARN. SEVERE WEATHER APPROACHING. WARN WARN SEVERE WRATHER APPROACHING.

*SIRENS*

WARN WARN SEVER WEATHER APPROACHING

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,216 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

All hail Xenu and he will make this all go away for €500 each.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭kfrp

Hi Met Eireann don't take too kindly to people who predict the future in a non scientific manner. I have issued my warning to the public.

WARN WARN. SEVERE WEATHER APPROACHING. WARN WARN SEVERE WRATHER APPROACHING.

*SIRENS*

WARN WARN SEVER WEATHER APPROACHING

Are you this guy?

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/weatherpredicting-postman-delivers-super-summer-forecast-29361599.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Well if the red alert means the same as what it means here in France, then people shouldn't be expected to go to work.
    We didn't lose pay for not being in work in the morning.

Otherwise there would have been one big muthaf*kin strike! Gotta love the French,they know the true meaning of solidarity. Lollipop lady gets fired for turning up to work drunk, naked and shouting profanities at the kiddies crossing the road.
    Air traffic controllers get wind of it and shut down French airspace in support of the drunkard, causing chaos across Europe in the process.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Pedestal

Your wrong, and you're location says Athlone. I'm not taking advice on the English language from someone from Athlone, thank you very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,404 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

RayM wrote: »
    Your wrong, and you're location says Athlone. I'm not taking advice on the English language from someone from Athlone, thank you very much.

He's really not

Collie D wrote: »
    He's really not

I've had this argument with people yesterday and I was proven right. I'm not getting into it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,069 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Here is the latest advisory from the National Hurricane Center
    HAZARDS AFFECTING LAND
    WIND: Gale-force winds are expected to begin across southern
    Ireland by early Monday morning and gradually spread northward
    across the country during the day. Hurricane-force winds are
    expected to reach the southern portions of Ireland by Monday
    afternoon and spread inland across the country into Monday night.
    Preparations to protect lives and property should be rushed to
    completion by this afternoon.

Wind speeds atop and on the windward sides of hills and mountains
    are often up to 30 percent stronger than the near-surface winds
    indicated in this advisory, and in some elevated locations could be
    even greater.

RAINFALL: Ophelia is expected to produce rainfall amounts of 2 to
    3 inches (50 mm to 75 mm) with isolated totals near 4 inches (100
    mm) through Tuesday across western Ireland and Scotland. Across
    eastern Ireland, rainfall amounts will average around 1 inch (25 mm)
    or less.

STORM SURGE:
    A dangerous storm surge is expected to produce
    significant coastal flooding near and to the east of where the
    center of the post-tropical cyclone makes landfall. Near the coast,
    the surge will be accompanied by large and destructive waves.

http://www.nhc.noaa.gov/text/refresh/MIATCPAT2+shtml/151443.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,150 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I think you mean “you’re”.

I’m from Athlone.

Otherwise there would have been one big muthaf*kin strike! Gotta love the French,they know the true meaning of solidarity. Lollipop lady gets fired for turning up to work drunk, naked and shouting profanities at the kiddies crossing the road.
    Air traffic controllers get wind of it and shut down French airspace in support of the drunkard, causing chaos across Europe in the process.
    You don't know what the fup you're talking about, frankly.
    Oh haha the French are always striking ha ha. :|
    5 people died in the red alert in 2014 I was talking about earlier but yeah we didn't go to work cos we're cheese eating surrender monkeys? Is that the cliché you're looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I've had this argument with people yesterday and I was proven right. I'm not getting into it again.

I don't want to derail this thread but will hold my hands up if you can share that proof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Lads come on ffs :D

Sorry :D

So any truth to the rumours that Coppers is expecting their biggest Sunday night since Bryan Cullen invited everyone in Croke Park, due to teachers being off tomorrow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

tried to dig a bunker half a feet and it filled with water,think hit a gas pipe as well :(

went to store all kites sold out :cool: so got duck tape zip ties and rope :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

Collie D wrote: »
    I don't want to derail this thread but will hold my hands up if you can share that proof.

Pedal stool. Damp Squid.

He's playing ye, and ye fell for it Hook, Line and Stinker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,965 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Seems we a hurricane bearing down on us for Monday. Over in the weather forum they are talking flashlights, taping up windows and AA batteries.

Should i be digging a bunker in my back garden or just taking in my patio furniture and more importantly my wife is getting her hair cut today shall i tell her it's a waste of time as her hair do will be ruined come Monday.

God speed Ireland.:(

Ah sure Ireland survived other Hurricanes and is still here to tell the tale.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Sorry, it just really annoys me when people are wrong and won't admit there mistakes. I'll stop derailing the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,490 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

you probably should

5 people died in the red alert in 2014 I was talking about earlier but yeah we didn't go to work cos we're cheese eating surrender monkeys? Is that the cliché you're looking for?

A contrary Frenchman?? I've seen it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

She's actually Irish ;)

I'm neither French, nor a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

Has anyone made a the day after tomorrow joke yet?

I'm neither French, nor a man.

I'm not French either. Call me ;)

Has anyone made a the day after tomorrow joke yet?

No, go on... But, it better be funny after building up the hilarity expectation!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,154 ✭✭✭RiderOnTheStorm

RayM wrote:

*You're wrong* - this means "you are"

*Your location* - this means the location of you

this means the location of you

Not sure that's Honours English either. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

*You're wrong* - this means "you are"

*Your location* - this means the location of you

Pedal stool. Damp Squid.

He's playing ye, and ye fell for it Hook, Line and Stinker.

Scarlehhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

No, go on... But, it better be funny after building up the hilarity expectation!

Eh ok . . .eh . . .

What have Cork and me got in common???

Were both gonna be blown . . . the day after tomorrow!

Yes i think that'll do nicely.

#prayforireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,568 ✭✭✭BillyBobBS

#prayforireland

Dublin be fine. That's all that matters. :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭G_R

Going out on a limb here but I think he may have been joking

#prayfordublin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 470 ✭✭moonlighting

could this end up being devastating like Hurricane Irma.

No.

To quantify, in terms of national devastation, it could be similar to the previous Fianna Fáil government but that's a high bar.

I'll go with locally potentially severe impacts.

Trees down, power outages, some structural damage, that type of thing

BillyBobBS wrote: »
    Dublin be fine. That's all that matters. :)

Well, he did say Ireland. WestBrit-tannia be damned :p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

I can't believe this is still going on :pac:

Hurricane Nazis the lot of yiz. ;)

Oh wait I mean you all don't want to get meself in trouble.

Eh ok . . .eh . . .

What have Cork and me got in common???

Were both gonna be blown . . . the day after tomorrow!

Yes i think that'll do nicely.

If that's what your girlfriend told yeah, has she broke the news to you yet that Tomorrow (a bit like you) never cums?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭Dartz

This is because I've been driving my RX8 a lot, isn't it?

B6skusgCYAA2hN8.jpg

Have the penguins started flying out of the zoo yet that's usually the 4th sign of evil