Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Posters in montessori school for Halloween.

• 19-10-2017 1:17am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭

Delete thread mod please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

Ok I came in to this thread thinking what sort of snowflake is taking offence to a couple of Halloween posters, but having seen the posters in question I'm now thinking what sort of ****ing moron put those up in front of young kids. Completely inappropriate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

How (Kil)dare they put up such gory posters!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

It's Halloween and the montessori staff went to Lidl and bought a few decorations!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 877 ✭✭✭jk23

They are way over the top for kids !! I was expecting a badly drawn picture of a witch on a broom!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Is Jigsaw the head teacher there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

Learning to count with Slashy the Serial Killer.
    Come on kids, victim 1, victim 2, victim 3...

Spooky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Nightmare-inducing!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

uTJ6XdoNxhMgorOHk8sTeTLaJJE=.gif

_oZKZzsRlBx1KzToNb8m_bDWmFM=.gif

5TvxHbn3zyLOyJClbAtvu-zeAgo=.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

They look like something Hieryonmus Bosch (sp) might ha e painted.

Whoever thought they were suitable for small kids needs talking to. They'll have nightmares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

Jaysus. I was fully expecting some bulls1t thread of overreaction but that's horrible! I'd definitely make a complaint. Whoever put them up is obviously thick. Or sick maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭flaneur

Totally unsuitable martial for that age group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Grim yeah I was another one expecting the faux outrage but it's completely inappropriate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

THEY ARE SHÍTE SCARY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Inappropriate but hilarious nevertheless.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,508 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Noveight wrote: »
    How (Kil)dare they put up such gory posters!

Definitely more suitably for Wexford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

Cheesus. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 419 ✭✭A Battered Mars Bar

Uh it's halloween. What the feck do you expect. Nice pictures. We've already bred a generation of snowflakes with that crack. It's time to get real again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

After that infamous RTE Prime Time expose on creches, I wouldn't be surprised if those aren't posters...

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

And a Montessori and all. I thought it'd be all nature studies and pine cones and fallen leaves. Flippin eck!

I don't mind if it's spooky but blood and freaky stuff isn't suitable for viewing by small kids, and it never was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

He needs to have a word with management, the clowns, or take them down himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I had this up in my old apartment, my son was 2 at the time. He didn't mind it, but obviously you'd have children who would be frightened of it.

Really stupid IMO, usually at that age it's crappy pumpkins and witches

https://imgur.com/0YSlyPF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,089 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Time to find a new pre-school. I woudln't be willing to leave my kids in a place where

1) Someone (likely just one person) thinks it's acceptable to put them up, and
    2) the other staff didn't have the balls (or whatever ) to take them down.

Even if the one person is identified and removed, the other staff are clearly gutless if those posters were allowed to last a day in that environment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Completely inappropriate for the age group.

So much so, it would raise serious questions about the management of the crèche.

They would just about be appropriate for a teenagers junior disco

Time to find a new pre-school. I woudln't be willing to leave my kids in a place where

1) Someone (likely just one person) thinks it's acceptable to put them up, and
    2) the other staff didn't have the balls (or whatever ) to take them down.

Even if the one person is identified and removed, the other staff are clearly gutless if those posters were allowed to last a day in that environment.

Definitely. If I had a child attending I would demand them taken down there and then and also a letter of apology explaining why they felt those posters were suitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭irishgrover

Uh it's halloween. What the feck do you expect. Nice pictures. We've already bred a generation of snowflakes with that crack. It's time to get real again.

you're right, utter snowflake behaviour...
    These images are totally appropriate for 2 to 4 year olds....
    But why stop there, in babies and snr infants, we should start exposing children to snuff movies…’cause the world is a hard place…
    By 3rd and 4th class we should expose them to ISIS beheading videos
    By 6th class then should be able to handle rape videos…

If we don’t act urgently we are condemning a generation to be snowflakes :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think the kids will survive the pictures.

Not so sure they will be unharmed by the screeching from the parents though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Back in the day, we had a figure of a crucified, near-naked man in the classroom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,603 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Now kids, for story time, lets learn about the texas chainsaw massacre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

doh777 wrote: »
    Friend of mine has her 4 year old child attending a montessori school in Kildare.

These are two posters currently up in the school to 'celebrate' Halloween.

Thoughts?

wtf

this is a joke surely

if not - I presume she asked for them to be taken down immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,468 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Back in the day, we had a figure of a crucified, near-naked man in the classroom.

such barbarity

I never felt that was a healthy thing for children to see, either.:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,068 ✭✭✭MarkY91

As usual with an outrage thread, I was expecting to disagree with the OP but them decorations are extremely inappropriate. Who onceqrth though they were suitable

They're brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

God help the kids coming around my street on Halloween night, this type of thing is all over the gaff. If the children in this school are upset of course remove them but I would say this is being driven by the parents and the kids are probably fine.

They're probably not too upset, I don't think it's good for them, mentally, to normalise such scenes though. In the same way they shouldn't be exposed to horror films. At least if the parents want to eliminate stuff like that they can choose not to take such young children trick or treating to streets/homes with similar decorations. There isnt a lot of choice if it's in their childrens Montessori school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,195 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Could be trying to tell the parents your kids are chucky

eviltwin wrote: »
    I would say this is being driven by the parents and the kids are probably fine.

So the parents went in and put up the decorations, wtf?

ThisRegard wrote: »
    So the parents went in and put up the decorations, wtf?

No, I'd say the parents are the ones who are upset and the kids probably aren't bothered.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

I think they're deadly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

Great posters. I like the second one. If it had been hung better without the creases it might even look realistic as if it was a pane of glass with bloody hand prints.

I think the kids should do a project where they do drawings of their favourite serial killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭RandomName2

Fine for 8 year olds, but 4 year old? I can't imagine who thought that would be a good idea.

"And in the following poster you can see a leg sticking out of a toilet." Toilets are scary enough at that age without throwing dismembered body parts into the mix.

Great posters. I like the second one. If it had been hung better without the creases it might even look realistic as if it was a pane of glass with bloody hand prints.

I think the kids should do a project where they do drawings of their favourite serial killer.

On liveline there was a case a few months back of a primary school teacher from Kildare I think who was suspended and then sacked from his post.

One of the reasons was that he got the class doing a school project about a serial killer in America. Can't remember which serial killer in particular! Allegedly he would lower he blinds and turn off lights while he taught them.

He was on joe Duffy complaining of unfair treatment by his former employers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,156 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I was half expecting this to be some rant about misogyny and "why always witches" or some nonsense but bloody hell that is a few notches too high for 4 year olds.

Hopefully they show them clips of The Walking Dead and people being torn apart to teach anatomy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

I think when you're at an age when you completely and utterly believe a bearded jolly old fat man personally delivers gifts to every child around the world in one night in December, that when their teeth fall out a fairy visits at night with cash, then I'm not sure posters of dismembered body parts and torture porn is appropriate for Halloween celebrations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

For those who are saying they are harmless and good craic, I doubt ye have children. It is amazing the little things that will make a small child white with terror and sleepless for ages. Even the thoughts of some weird odd things can be too much for some children, not because they are damn snowflakes, but because they are naturally more sensitive, introverted, gentle, and suggestible due to their vivid imaginations. Cop on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 399 ✭✭angryIreGamer

bloody hell, what next - complaints about showing 3 year olds Mel Gibsons Passion of the Christ.

Nothing wrong here. Itll help the kiddies build character.

No, I'd say the parents are the ones who are upset and the kids probably aren't bothered.

You don't have much experience with very many young kids do you.

ThisRegard wrote: »
    You don't have much experience with very many young kids do you.

What makes you think that?

Because you seem to think that they're all the same.