Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Posters in montessori school for Halloween.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

ThisRegard wrote: »
    Because you seem to think that they're all the same.

Do I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,388 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

When I was that age, I was scared of a weird looking monkey drawing on my wall height chart.

Can't even imagine what I would have made of the pictures in the OP :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

o1s1n wrote: »
    When I was that age, I was scared of a weird looking monkey drawing on my wall height chart.

Can't even imagine what I would have made of the pictures in the OP :eek:

What are you talking about? You've been told by a randomer on the web (one just trying to be cool by going against the flow) that kids aren't bothered at that age by such trivialities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

It's an absolute shambles the amount of places have 'Montessori' over the door and have no clue what the basic principles of her work with children were.

It's far more in line with her work if children celebrate it as harvest time, time to make crafts etc. The children would be allowed to dress as historical figures as opposed ghoulish or scary characters.

If the other staff won't take that crap off the walls and doors then a parent needs to step up. I'd genuinely rethink that place as a Montessori for a child, because they haven't a clue.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

My son would find'em a mild curiousity. At the moment he's looking forward to seeing skeletons outside on the way in. And disappointed when they've been taken in before we leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Totally inappropriate for the age group. Children's Hallowe'en decorations have always tended towards more cartoonish, with good reason. Children have very active imaginations and anything too gory can really freak them out.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Meh, kids have been seen worse during their own birth. :pac:

They probably see the same stuff around everywhere, plus, we have no idea how they were introduced to the kids in the Montessori.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Meh, kids have been seen worse during their own birth. :pac:

They probably see the same stuff around everywhere, plus, we have no idea how they were introduced to the kids in the Montessori.

3/10.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Them posters are actually blank and it's your brain filling them with images from your subconscious and/or memory. Sickos.

*Maybe binge watching Mindhunter was not a good idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Malayalam wrote: »
    For those who are saying they are harmless and good craic, I doubt ye have children. It is amazing the little things that will make a small child white with terror and sleepless for ages. Even the thoughts of some weird odd things can be too much for some children, not because they are damn snowflakes, but because they are naturally more sensitive, introverted, gentle, and suggestible due to their vivid imaginations. Cop on.

Don't doubt it :)

They will see far worse in woodies or heatons, and in gardens when they go trick or treating. As per eviltwin earlier (who I know is also a parent) my garden is probably not the place for young children on halloween night if this is considered too OTT.

They are literally seeing these posters in all supermarkets, DIY stores, housing estates, 2 euro shops so I don't see the big deal. They're pieces of plastic.

Edited to add: that's not to say that if the kids are finding them too much they shouldn't be removed; of course they should, but I would be curious if the kids find them bad, or just their parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Halloween used to be

Dracula - fictional character
    Frankenstein's monster - same, and sort of comically presented most of the time
    Ghosts - not real
    Skeletons - good for dancing around, sometimes glow in the dark
    Witches - just ugly aul wans really

Not bloody hand prints like something from a crime scene, "help us" written in blood, or a serial killer's bathroom. It's a bit much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

We just had skeletons and mask on a board in our primary school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I'm glad I can get my daily fill of outrage from threads like this if I feel the need. Always reassuring to know that in these turbulent times there is always a plentiful supply of outrage to be had

I kinda find the whole funny!

I mean, completely inappropriate for kids of that age, just far too graphic. But amusing that someone is really scaring the little ones good and proper. If I had a child there I'd probably gently say to them I find them a bit much, but no outrage or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

It does become rather tiresome having 'generation snowflake' thrown at just about anything these days. Whatever about people putting the stuff in their homes or gardens, but that place is a Montessori.

My two eldest have been to Montessori so far, and they went for two years each. They began at a little over 2.5yrs. As a previous poster said they've suggestive minds at that age. Those posters aren't even appropriate for Junior or Senior infants in my view.

The typical Irish attitude some have. 'Be grand like. Shur they'd see worse here and there''. That passive attitude creates a new normal, which I stand vehemently against. It's not appropriate for such young children, regardless of how some try to justify it.

The same lax attitudes were applied to the seriousness of the ex-hurricane this country saw. 'Ah sure it's nothing. Just a bit of wind. Sure I'm putting my bins and washing out'... and yet in parts of the country school roofs, sports stadiums and shop roofs were peeled back like a tin of sardines, amongst power outages, injuries and deaths.

Some people here aren't parents, which is fine. I'm not having a dig. But I'm alarmed that some people who are already parents deem those posters as normal or okay for children that are barely potty trained + a year or two.

Lemming mentality.

Estrellita wrote: »

Lemming mentality.

Can you explain this within the context of those who are disagreeing with the consensus please?

Don't doubt it :)

They will see far worse in woodies or heatons, and in gardens when they go trick or treating. As per eviltwin earlier (who I know is also a parent) my garden is probably not the place for young children on halloween night if this is considered too OTT.

They are literally seeing these posters in all supermarkets, DIY stores, housing estates, 2 euro shops so I don't see the big deal. They're pieces of plastic.

And parents can avoid all those places if their 3, 4 or 5 year old kid is uncomfortable, unless some are are forced to go to such places and stay there for the day?

It's ridiculous to project how YOU feel about certain pictures and decorations on to how you think a 3 or 4 year old should feel about them.

Pathetic to trot out "sure it's only a piece of plastic".

• Registered Users Posts: 106 ✭✭Lemonposset

Can you explain this within the context of those who are disagreeing with the consensus please?

You felt they would see worse in Woodies or a shopping centre. The difference is I'm not paying Woodies or Dunnes to mind and educate my child. Feel free to decorate your own house how you like, no one is stopping you! I'll probably avoid your house on Hallowe'en if I think it'll upset my kids, it's not a personal criticism, just I know their active imagination needs no help.

If I went to Tescos and saw a display like this I wouldn't linger around it. It's a little silly to suggest seeing something inappropriate briefly in a public setting and looking at something inappropriate daily, repeatedly, in a place which you trust is the same thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 430 ✭✭LushiousLips

Totally inappropriate ffs.
    The 'help us' poster would freak me out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,388 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

They're pieces of plastic.

The medium something is on really has nothing to do with the suitability of the content. Fairly sure if my mam had found a load of porno mags when I was a kid under my bed the excuse 'sure they're just pieces of paper' wouldn't have worked :pac:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Totally inappropriate ffs.
    The 'help us' poster would freak me out!

Ah the kids cant read that, plus they do their own painted hand print art for everything, just looks like another one of their pictures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Time to find a new pre-school. I woudln't be willing to leave my kids in a place where

1) Someone (likely just one person) thinks it's acceptable to put them up, and
    2) the other staff didn't have the balls (or whatever ) to take them down.

Even if the one person is identified and removed, the other staff are clearly gutless if those posters were allowed to last a day in that environment.

Oh here comes the hysterics. The posters are completely inappropriate but to suggest someone needs to lose their job over it? Really?

And parents can avoid all those places if their 3, 4 or 5 year old kid is uncomfortable, unless some are are forced to go to such places and stay there for the day?

It's ridiculous to project how YOU feel about certain pictures and decorations on to how you think a 3 or 4 year old should feel about them.

Pathetic to trot out "sure it's only a piece of plastic".

I didn't project how I feel about them onto how I think a 3 or 4 year old should feel at all. Not in the slightest. In fact I went on to say that if the children are uncomfortable then they should be removed. I just don't feel as strongly as others about the fact they were put up in the first place for the reasons I outlined.

This is a discussion board after all, and I've simply put forward my opinion on the matter without resorting to being insulting or questioning parenting as others have failed to do.

I didn't project how I feel about them onto how I think a 3 or 4 year old should feel at all. Not in the slightest. In fact I went on to say that if the children are uncomfortable then they should be removed. I just don't feel as strongly as others about the fact they were put up in the first place for the reasons I outlined.

This is a discussion board after all, and I've simply put forward my opinion on the matter without resorting to being insulting or questioning parenting as others have failed to do.

I'm not questioning your parenting or insulting you. I would prefer if adults tried not to make my kids uncomfortable first and then remedy that second though.

You said you don't see the posters as a big deal. That's what you think of them, and are therefore implying that it's not a big deal for 3 or 4 year olds to see them all day either.

I'm not questioning your parenting or insulting you. I would prefer if adults tried not to make my kids uncomfortable first and then remedy that second though.

You didn't. Others did.

I doubt the montessori teachers tried to make the children uncomfortable to be fair to them. I would guess that was never their intention. If that was their goal then that would be a much more serious issue.

You said you don't see the posters as a big deal. That's what you think of them, and are therefore implying that it's not a big deal for 3 or 4 year olds to see them all day either.

If that's how you want to read it then fire away :)

o1s1n wrote: »
    The medium something is on really has nothing to do with the suitability of the content. Fairly sure if my mam had found a load of porno mags when I was a kid under my bed the excuse 'sure they're just pieces of paper' wouldn't have worked :pac:

Fair point :D

Creches and Montesoris usually bring in a fat lat in a red suit with a white beard during another festive season.

In my time, I think the kids are way more scared of that than anything at Halloween in the creche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

doh777 wrote: »
    Friend of mine has her 4 year old child attending a montessori school in Kildare.

These are two posters currently up in the school to 'celebrate' Halloween.

Thoughts?

What do the kids think, according to your friend? If they aren't reacting badly, then there's no problem.

Actually, I've just remembered that I had nightmares about wolves when I was that age, and nightmares about people wearing wolf-masks, all because of Red Riding Hood, 3 Little Pigs etc. Nightmares about the devil, who looked exactly like the troll who lived under the bridge that the 3 goats crossed. So, yeah, those posters are probably a bit much for 4-year olds.

You didn't. Others did.

I doubt the montessori teachers tried to make the children uncomfortable to be fair to them. I would guess that was never their intention. If that was their goal then that would be a much more serious issue.

I agree that it was almost certainly completely unintentional. There have been a wide variety of reactions to the post from adults, it's not a stretch to suggest a group of kids would have similarly varied reactions. A stupid decision by the montessori and one I'd be asking to be taken down but I wouldn't think anyone should be punished.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

Halloween used to be

Dracula - fictional character
    Frankenstein's monster - same, and sort of comically presented most of the time
    Ghosts - not real
    Skeletons - good for dancing around, sometimes glow in the dark
    Witches - just ugly aul wans really

Not bloody hand prints like something from a crime scene, "help us" written in blood, or a serial killer's bathroom. It's a bit much.

I completely agree. I find it tasteless, boring and nasty at the same time. It's not in keeping with Hallowe'en. It's like a new, probably American, horror festival.
    Halloween was always spooky and a bit scary but not overtly gory and gruesome.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,943 ✭✭✭✭the purple tin

Those posters even give me the creeps, and I'm all growed up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

If the posters were 'cartoon-ised' then they might be understandable.

Looking at the first one, which is photorealisitic, you are clearly meant to have been lured into the bathroom and while you are distracted by looking at several dismembered body parts a Michael Myers type serial killer has snuck up behind you, knife in hand, poised to murder you and chop you to into pieces and use your blood and guts to lure another victim.

I'm sure if I explain to 4 year old Lisa or Johnny that it's not actually a real photo then they will like totally understand it. I might even put on The Texas Chainsaw Massacre that evening safe in the knowledge that they are now confident that it's all mockeyah and the only thing they will be traumatised by is Daniel Pearl's wonderful yet budget constrained cinematography.....*sip*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭Snugglebunnies

I can only get tge attachment for the "help us" pic, what's the other one of? It looks a bit much for small kids IMO!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

So why is that pictures of Dracula or a zombie is okay but these aren't? And why is a human skeleton okay but a dismembered foot isn't? You can say 'Dracula isn't real' all you like but children don't know that.

This reminds me of when they made a film of the cartoon Casper the Friendly Ghost a few years ago. There were complaints because Casper was the ghost of a child that had died. These people were okay with a cartoon ghost as long as they didn't have to think in detail about what a ghost is supposed to represent.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Well, I've just run it by my 3 year old son. He looked at them, smiled and said they were good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,877 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Well, I've just run it by my 3 year old son. He looked at them, smiled and said they were good.

Hilarious ...have you considered doing stand up???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I’ve seen worse

jimmy_10.jpg

Hilarious ...have you considered doing stand up???

It's not a joke. I honestly checked them with him. Seeing as we've people here expecting kids to be put off by them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I can honestly see the kids not giving a fiddlers, and a whole bunch of parents with a knock in their knickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

It's not a joke. I honestly checked them with him. Seeing as we've people here expecting kids to be put off by them.

I just showed them to my son. Granted he's 7 so a bit older than these kids but he thought they were cool. Mind you he's dressing up as Jason Voorhees so probably not the best judge.

eviltwin wrote: »
    I just showed them to my son. Granted he's 7 so a bit older than these kids but he thought they were cool. Mind you he's dressing up as Jason Voorhees so probably not the best judge.

Well... We keep a toy skeleton in the sitting room. And during the year dress it up. So... My survey results may be inconclusive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

eviltwin wrote: »

For Halloween, or just in general?

Cos if he looks like this every day

ab290944681556d4c848f1327d4ec1e9.jpg

Then you've an issue.

For Halloween, or just in general?

Cos if he looks like this every day

ab290944681556d4c848f1327d4ec1e9.jpg

Then you've an issue.

My son likes this one too :)

And you think all 3 year olds are the exact same? Don't know what's dumber, you believing that, or assuming that people are wrong to think a 3 year old might not like such things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,713 ✭✭✭BabysCoffee

Oh dear god, I am freaked out by those posters!!!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,408 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

My son likes this one too :)

That and the posters would terrify my 3 year old. Can't even take him into the local €2 coz of the witches and skeletons hanging everywhere.

And you think all 3 year olds are the exact same? Don't know what's dumber, you believing that, or assuming that people are wrong to think a 3 year old might not like such things.

I didn't say that either. I'm just showing people are in a rush to impart their perspective onto a child who doesn't recognise what's being displayed. It's similar to the picture of an intimate couple in shades that are shaped like dolphins. Or that young kids typically don't respond to alarm clocks.

Your post makes no sense whatsoever in that context.

You don't put up stuff like that on the assumption no 3 year old will be bothered ffs.