Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Walking Dead | Season 8 | Episode 1 | Mercy [AMC] [SPOILERS]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

I can handle not wasting Negan when he was standing talking shyte, makes sense that they were hoping his men would turn on him meaning it would end with his death rather than just shooting him and they retaliate straight away.

What I cannot handle is how fcuking fast the walkers made it to the compound, the time lines were completely screwy.

This is a man who doesn't blink when caving someone's head in with a bat! ......first opportunity you take him out and anyone around him

But you'd understand not killing him in the opening episode of a series, you just don't do that scene.......it's sloppy and lazy writing/direction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Subacio

I assume that was Judith showing Rick the owl in his flash forward, and she looks about 5 years older. Rick looks about 25 years older.

I think we should all be wearing our ****ting pants from now on.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I'll say it. I enjoyed it. It felt like there was some tension. Trying not to over analyse the shocking amount of ammunition wasted, or the storm trooper quality shooting from Rick and the piss patrol. That Carol smoke grenade thing was weird. Never mind the speeches, the little chats leading up to it were awful. I got your back etc. Glad they found the only Muslim left alive. Jesus, they didn't give him pork, did they?

Darrell looking ridiculously cool as usual. Love his bike actually. Must ride like a hit though, with those tyres?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Fox Hound

Boards User : "why cant they Just shoot Negan, he is standing right there, out in the open, JUST SHOOT HIM!"

Answer: Because "the Plot"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Yester

naughto wrote: »
    I think there all sick from some man flu type sickness and Rick is raving mad.

The opening ep will have a different look in a few weeks time.

You could be right. The only real Rick in this episode was the one with the red eyes. He is obviously sick or poisoned and everything else in the episode was just him hallucinating. It was too ridiculous to have really happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

i usually do be sitting around waiting to grab these of the internet. but yea after the last season im really dont feel like watching it anymore. I'l wait and check it out when its finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

I have emotionally detached myself from the show at this point. 

(I could rant and rave about how stupid it was that they just didn't shoot Negan while he was giving his speech (or Gabriel blow him away as soon as he sees him in the room at the end of the episode).  The nonsense during the flash forward/dream about how Rick has aged years (with a dodgy flat top haircut included) while Judith/Coral and Michonne haven't aged significantly.  I was also half waiting for Rick to shout "Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!" during his speeches, total cheese.)

But I won't!  Just going to watch this show from now on in, enjoying the A Team style action and the corniness of it.  With that being said, enjoyed last nights show.  Hopefully the show comes to a close and they don't drag it out for years to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

w/s/p/c/ wrote: »
      I was also half waiting for Rick to shout "Today, we celebrate our Independence Day!" during his speeches, total cheese.)

mHM3DMk.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Fox Hound wrote: »
    Boards User : "why cant they Just shoot Negan, he is standing right there, out in the open, JUST SHOOT HIM!"

Answer: Because "the Plot"
    I have no problem with suspension of disbelief. It's a show with zombies in it after all. :D I do have a problem with woefully bad plotting and pacing though and TWD has long suffered from this at times, now and in the last season it was most of the time.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Scott Gimples response for why no one just shot Negan during the speech;
    “What shouldn’t be glossed over is Rick is offering surrender to everyone else. He wants them to, more or less, be on his side after that. If he just shot Negan there, that would have been a shortcut to the war. He was making a play to not be in full violence with these people because you see what happens after that. The next step for everybody is pretty heavy and intense. If in fact Negan’s other lieutenants had given up, it would have been over"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,891 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Any sign of a cure or something else other than stuff

Nalz wrote: »

We don't talk about that kind of thing in here... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭shineon23

A cure for sh*tty dialogue (literally) and poor storytelling?

No sign of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

NUTZZ wrote: »

so killing the lookouts was ok, he could have captured them and returned them to show he was willing to be merciful

where is everyone else Negan said he wasn't put his people in danger but you think he'd have a few more soldiers and guards about?

So does Negan have plan? as he says he has the numbers where are they ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Some daft stuff but i did enjoy last nights episode. Not once did i look at my phone or how long was left which is a good sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

so killing the lookouts was ok, he could have captured them and returned them to show he was willing to be merciful

where is everyone else Negan said he wasn't put his people in danger but you think he'd have a few more soldiers and guards about?

So does Negan have plan? as he says he has the numbers where are they ?

The way Negan let the p1ss patrol just waltz in, he must have a plan involving those numbers. Rick's flash to grandad Rick is obviously a fantasy (he said he was thinking of tomorrow) but the flash to hot, red-eyed, bothered Rick seems to foreshadow big problems ahead, presumably Negan getting the upper hand.

Although I did hope for a moment last night that they'd just kill Negan and move on to something else. Preferably somewhere other than in a forest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Terrible episode. Terrible series. How long can they drag this crap out for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Didn't even know this came back. Luckily thought to check the thread here and have saved myself 40 minutes of my life by all accounts. It's sad what theyve done with this show, in the name of dragging out endless seasons for purely business reasons. There doesnt appear to be a fraction of a shít given about the audience or about.....wanky phrase incoming....artistic integrity. S1 was so promising, such a pity it couldn't have followed in GoT's footsteps and upped it's game as it went along. I have no interest in watching a daytime tv quality soap opera with horrible acting aplenty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭mojesius

Whatever about Rick, Can't understand why Maggie wouldn't blow Negan's brains out the first chance she got. She knows she's a target for him, she's up the duff and seems to be grand about the whole husband horrific death at his hands. Where's her Rosita/Sasha like fury FFS?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

NUTZZ wrote: »

It would have been more believable that no one shot Negan, or any of the lieutenants, on the dock when multiple people were firing fully automatic weapons if they did not show them taking out the roof top sentries with a sniper rifle and the other sentries with crossbow/bow from longer distances.

Agricola wrote: »
    Didn't even know this came back. Luckily thought to check the thread here and have saved myself 40 minutes of my life by all accounts. It's sad what theyve done with this show, in the name of dragging out endless seasons for purely business reasons. There doesnt appear to be a fraction of a shít given about the audience or about.....wanky phrase incoming....artistic integrity. S1 was so promising, such a pity it couldn't have followed in GoT's footsteps and upped it's game as it went along. I have no interest in watching a daytime tv quality soap opera with horrible acting aplenty.

Sums it up pretty well.....the fact is this show was only ever really good when it was about zombies, the early stuff has some real edge of the seat moments

The Governor angle had some good moments, but because David Morrissey is a very good actor and it was intertwined with the zombie stuff also.........now it's gone way off track to the point of stringing it along

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Not the best opener to a season. Things need to improve.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭Ann22

Yeah why the fck didn't they just shoot Negan?? I just enjoy his scenes so much though! I just can't help it!!

Maggie's accent annoys me too! How come Judith is about 6mths older than last season yet Maggie still isn't showing??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,437 ✭✭✭FAILSAFE 00

FOR **** SAKE RICK... Just walk over and put a bullet in Negan. Job done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭jrkb

Not taking a shot at Negan was odd but I enjoyed it overall a decent opener.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,668 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

All I wanted from the season opener was for the initial scene of the episode to be one of Simon and Negan in a truck after escaping Alexandria - long pause and then suddenly Negan shouts "They had a f**king Tiger, dude, a Tiger!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Arbitrary

Fox Hound wrote: »

Answer: Because "they've gone Lost on the plot"

Fixed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Cartman78

I had completely forgotten a) that this was coming back on and b) what had happened in the last series.

Thanks to Nuttz for posting the Season 7 recap on the first page.

Have skimmed a few of the posts here - sounds like the same drivel as last series....but will probably watch it anyway :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Fcking shoot him Gabriel. You have a fcking gun!

At the very least the last shot could have contained the sound of a gunshot to build some suspense.

I like TWD, I do, but they make it harder and harder. Meanwhile Z Nation is still awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

Not a great episode at all really, pretty poor stuff.

The walkers did a great job of keeping up with Daryl on his motorbike and I thought Carl driving around to look for petrol was bit silly also. He only had a small petrol can so it's very likely he used more fuel than he could ever hope to collect and bring back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,027 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

I’m clinging to the hope that this can become some sort of storyline. I haven’t read the comics so don’t know if it could be a future storyline, I’d love for there to be some hope for the group.
    At the moment it’s just the same storyline repeated over and again. Despite that I’m Still watching it in hope, don’t understand people who follow the thread but don’t actually bother to watch the show any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Just re-watched it again its worse the second time. I said it before but I just dont feel threatened from Jeffrey Dean Morgan to me he simply does not have that presence. I still feel Steven Ogg should have been Negan his way more believable as a bad guy.

Also please please give Coral a freaking haircut.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

I’m clinging to the hope that this can become some sort of storyline. I haven’t read the comics so don’t know if it could be a future storyline, I’d love for there to be some hope for the group.
    At the moment it’s just the same storyline repeated over and again. Despite that I’m Still watching it in hope, don’t understand people who follow the thread but don’t actually bother to watch the show any more.
    Aye. While I have really enjoyed the show for the most part, it is in danger of taking the mickey with the repetition. They would want to start shaking things up a bit whenever the current story arc reaches its conclusion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

kylith wrote: »

At the very least the last shot could have contained the sound of a gunshot to build some suspense.

The way the show is going there could have been a burst of full auto and the opening scene of episode 2 would of been Negan walking out with all the bullets in the bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Fcking shoot him Gabriel. You have a fcking gun!

I like TWD, I do, but they make it harder and harder. Meanwhile Z Nation is still awesome.

Oh no no no. Z Nation is awful stuff altogether.

But I suppose its horses for courses. They donhave very diffferent vibes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 ✭✭✭Guffy

titan18 wrote: »
    I thought it was better than some of the crap it served up last season at least. However, I did cringe so much when Negan started talking to Gabriel and asking him did he have his ****ting pants on as he's about to **** his pants. Such awful dialogue

Poor episode overall.

Tbh i felt the line fitted the character's portrayal throughout

jonon9 wrote: »
    Just re-watched it again its worse the second time. I said it before but I just dont feel threatened from Jeffrey Dean Morgan to me he simply does not have that presence. I still feel Steven Ogg should have been Negan his way more believable as a bad guy.

Also please please give Coral a freaking haircut.

Micheal Rooker would have been a perfect cast for Negan ......but he was wasted as Merle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,143 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

shouldn't they have shown 2 eps together?

Just re-watched it again its worse the second time.

What is wrong with you? Why put yourself through that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Oh no no no. Z Nation is awful stuff altogether.

But I suppose its horses for courses. They donhave very diffferent vibes

You gotta love a bit of smashy-smashy killy-zombie fun! It doesn't take itself seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

You gotta love a bit of smashy-smashy killy-zombie fun! It doesn't take itself seriously.

Z nation is great Craic, I haven't seen it since eh they got on a sub I must check it out again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

Effects wrote: »
    What is wrong with you? Why put yourself through that?

I have no idea, jeeeezz Negan is such a **** character (havent read the comics)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

I have no idea, jeeeezz Negan is such a **** character (havent read the comics)
    He's one of the most loved characters by the comic book fans.....

Again, the big problem with this episode is how they have drastically changed things from the comics. So, last season
    they took all the guns,
    took Eugene who is able to make bullets, added a new group who side with Negan. In the comics, Rick's group have more firepower but the Saviors have more people. In this, the Saviors have more people and similar firepower..

I enjoyed the episode, I thought it was decent. And I'm liking all the teases they have, as a comic book fan it's nice. But, when you keep changing subtle things from the comic in the show, it leads to huge ramifications for the story. As much as I think Kirkman is a spineless, money-grabbing person who only sees the show as a way to make more money, he is fantastic with the comics and little subtleties are very important.

Also, they ruined that Negan line.

Why is Maggie shooting with an inappropriate gun like a snub revolver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Alongside the ridiculousness of the apparently never ending un-degraded fuel supply for the multitude of vehicles (and the batteries/electrical systems therein!) and yer man fluting around on the loudest motorcycle in history in an environment which requires stealth and discretion, a lot of the firearms stuff in this show is eye-rollingly idiotic.
    A semi-competent shooter with a middling hunting rifle with a middling scope on it would have easily solved the Negan problem 20 times over by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

^^ I guess the argument there is, "But where's the drama in that?"

It would be a mighty short tv show if they solved their problems that quickly. Gotta milk that cash cow!! :D:D

Although I do agree about the seemingly endless supply of bullets and fuel.

Also:

WHY IS NOBODY ASKING "WHERE'S HEATH??"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Negan rolling on his heels again. A stupid annoying character.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    ^^ I guess the argument there is, "But where's the drama in that?"

It would be a mighty short tv show if they solved their problems that quickly. Gotta milk that cash cow!! :D:D
    Aye, but again look at the sister show FTWD. Plenty of drama done somewhat realistically. No cartoon characters.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Aye, but again look at the sister show FTWD. Plenty of drama done somewhat realistically. No cartoon characters.

True, but FTWD isn't tied down to comic book material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,565 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

DoozerT6 wrote: »

WHY IS NOBODY ASKING "WHERE'S HEATH??"

Because then the reply would be "Who's Heath?"

I've only just watched now. Everything on between last Sunday and now took priority. While I was watchiung it, I was reminded why. And was watching the timer a lot. Read the ratings were the lowest since season 3.

They can take out all the lookouts and guards with one shot, sight unseen, including Morgan showing off his ninja skills, yet they can't kill a target as close as Negan was