Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Terms and phrases that came and went...

• 19-10-2017 5:42pm

...what phrases or terms have entered the language, only to disappear, in your lifetime.

I'll start with some easy ones...

"Whassupppp" - a particularly irritating phrase that appeared in a Budweiser ad campaign, guessing in the late 90s and became a popular greeting amongst younger people. Thankfully it sank without trace.

"Coola Boola" - another irritant, usually used by women to indicate approval, as in
    Q - You want a drink?
    A - Coola Boola
    Think it may have come from some RTE daytime kids programme.

"Like a Boss" - stridently, "he headed that ball like a boss". Not sure of origins. Similar to the later "'ave it" which I think was from a John Smith's ad campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Don't touch my Carlsberg!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Your face came and went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

"it went out with the ark"

In use around the early '90s

usage:

" last night, I turned on my Black and White telly again"

reply:

"thought something like that went out with the ark"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭Gerrup Outta Dat!

Be the hokey!

How you doin?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

"Aaaahhhh hhheeeoooorrrrr, leeeaaavvveee iiiitttt oooouuuutttttt".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

Rapid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

Sound as a pound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭bop1977

Well holy god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,147 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

"Aaaahhhh hhheeeoooorrrrr, leeeaaavvveee iiiitttt oooouuuutttttt".

That's still fierce popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Who let the dogs out

Who
    Who

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

That's still fierce popular.

So's "your ma".....not YOUR ma, MV.

Ya wa?

Harry Molloy in Fair City

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

House private until after the search.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Estrellita

I can't say I've ever used the word, but I recall 'shhhwing' being a thing. How do I even remember that.

Describing people as shapers, stone mad and wrote off.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,382 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

The term shift declined and then had a major comeback.

I remember when people use to say "get off" and it only meant kiss to us now. Then it was "meet".

We never said Shift or Snog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,976 ✭✭✭enricoh

Soft landing was fairly popular with politicians at the end of the tiger!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Fiscal space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

...what phrases or terms have entered the language, only to disappear, in your lifetime.

I'll start with some easy ones...

"Whassupppp" - a particularly irritating phrase that appeared in a Budweiser ad campaign, guessing in the late 90s and became a popular greeting amongst younger people. Thankfully it sank without trace.

"Coola Boola" - another irritant, usually used by women to indicate approval, as in
    Q - You want a drink?
    A - Coola Boola
    Think it may have come from some RTE daytime kids programme.

"Like a Boss" - stridently, "he headed that ball like a boss". Not sure of origins. Similar to the later "'ave it" which I think was from a John Smith's ad campaign.

“Your ma” has gone out of fashion. (Not your ma, Conor, she’s still in demand but the phrase itself).

Beanz Meanz Heinz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Who shot JR?

(note for younger boardsies:- ask your parents).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

branie2 wrote: »
    Beanz Meanz Heinz

I still use that phase especially when buying. beans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Doctor Nick

Get outta that garden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Come in! Your dinner's poured out.

Booyakasha - imo it was only ok when Ali G said it :)

And also with you, one of the old responses at Mass

What you talkin about, Willis?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Fine words will butter no parsnips.

myshirt wrote: »
    Fine words will butter no parsnips.

I heard that phrase on an episode of Round the Horne on tape, a 1960s radio show which featured Kenneth Williams

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 772 ✭✭✭baaba maal

Estrellita wrote: »
    I can't say I've ever used the word, but I recall 'shhhwing' being a thing. How do I even remember that.

From Wayne's World!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

Geh dza boh!

I heard that phrase on an episode of Round the Horne on tape, a 1960s radio show which featured Kenneth Williams

I will add to that that no one butters parsnips anymore, nor butters their bacon, or bacon's up a sausage

Craiiiiig David!

My brother nearly got punched in the face one night because he kept saying it to some fella with a goatee! :/:)

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Describing people as shapers, stone mad and wrote off.

In my youth, "shaper" was inevitably always given the prefix "bleedin'".:)

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Get up the yard

baaba maal wrote: »
    In my youth, "shaper" was inevitably always given the prefix "bleedin'".:)

Or "bleedin yoke" :D

Giz a job!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Doing your ecker
    Sketch to the barber
    Ah you're snared rapeh
    Geh owa da gardin
    Scarleh for ye

I'll fu*cking burst the bleedin lot of yas.

Haven't heard that in a while

Giz a job!

And the other pillar of the Scouse wordplay canon:

CAAAAALLM DOWN! CAAALLM DOWN!

myshirt wrote: »
    I'll fu*cking burst the bleedin lot of yas.

are ya startin?

Stop the lights!

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭dusty207

Lorelli! wrote: »
    are ya startin?

I'll split ya

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

yurt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,309 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Referring to a group of girls aswell as guys as "the lads" back in the 90s.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Mega

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Ya bullin 90

• Registered Users Posts: 1,932 ✭✭✭Sultan of Bling

Do ya want a dig in the snot