Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Terms and phrases that came and went...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

Mr. McGee, don't make me angry. You wouldn't like when I'm angry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

nlrkjos wrote: »
    One I'd love to see gone............ yeah,No...where the fck that come from.

I think it came from ye'know, ye'know wha' I mean, ye'know nuttin' or..

Do ye'know the Five Lamps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,052 ✭✭✭appledrop

Get the boat

• Registered Users Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

Bae seems to be trickling out thank feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Roll it there Róisín. Any time a feckin' video would be put on some eejit would spark up with a 'Roll it there Róisín'.

Or Collette, depending on the vintage.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,902 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Gift. This was term for cool when I was about 9, circa 1984.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

Off me head, buzzin, demented, wasted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭GhostyMcGhost

Lorelli! wrote: »
    Sound as a pound

Died on Jan 1st 2002

KKkitty wrote: »
    Bae seems to be trickling out thank feck.

Thanks bae to Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Ufasach. Gone but not forgotten.

Who's taking the horse to France ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

He was paraplegic with the drink.
    How's a bit of 'how's your father?'

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,420 Mod ✭✭✭✭robindch

myshirt wrote: »
    Fine words will butter no parsnips.

Eez there something Ah can 'elp you with?

Mena Mitty wrote: »
    Ufasach. Gone but not forgotten.

Who's taking the horse to France ?

Someone likes hairybaby

by me forty coats and fifty pockets!

Sally O'Brien, and the way she might look at ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,426 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

"capital idea"

E.g :

A:"Let's go for a few pints"

B:"That would be a capital idea".

Think it was popular in the 1860s in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭_Dara_

Estrellita wrote: »
    I can't say I've ever used the word, but I recall 'shhhwing' being a thing. How do I even remember that.

Mid 90s, influenced by Wayne’s World. :D

Ooh! Matron!

• Registered Users Posts: 82 ✭✭Miss OMMC

I'll brain ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

branie2 wrote: »
    Beam me up, Scotty

That ended with the guy who wrote:

Don't beam me up Scotty, I'm taking a shiiiiiiiiiiit!!

I'll send you to the middle of next week!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,593 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Tracker mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,118 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Stop the lights

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,515 ✭✭✭valoren

Chamone Muth****a!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Oops69 wrote: »
    ‘Going forward’... disappeared thankfully with that mutton head taosieach-traitor Cowen.

No, it's not.

Part of the management bullcrap-speak lexicon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,531 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Anam an Diabhail - Haven't heard that in years.

By the power of Grayskull

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Do women still put the 'Swit swoo, hon!' comment under pictures of their heifer friend dolled up for a wedding? That one was fierce annoying…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭GrumpyMe

It's apple cart....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

It ain't Rocket Science

Miss OMMC wrote: »
    I'll brain ye
    I'll batther ye.

I'll beat the sh|+ outta ya.

Take a hike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Happy days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,546 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Say nohin till ya hear moar...

Shut the fuk up

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

anewme wrote: »
    If you are Bertie Ahern it's definitely apple tart.

Sure didn't he have 50-50 vision too...:D

Suits you, sir!

Just wait till your father gets home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭RainMakerToo

divilment

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 HangSandwitch

“Happy out”, fcuk off

Internet dial-up

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12 HangSandwitch

Poor crater

Don't have a cow, man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

It's good but it's not right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Wouldja ever have a todge 'a me goother?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

a peach ..meaning good/sexy

"a peach of a goal"

knackered

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,613 ✭✭✭server down

73Cat wrote: »
    I still use a lot of the phrases mentioned:)
    "Hey, mind yourself! " That may only be known by people in a certain part of Co. Waterford ;)

Do people still say “well?” and respond with “well?” when they pass in Waterford?

Short for (I’m told) “are you well fine sir” and “I am well, hoping you are equally favoured”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,114 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Don't mess with my tutu.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Say nottin and say it often