Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adult movie scenes on the tv and de parents

• 19-10-2017 9:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,068 ✭✭✭✭

Awkward or not?

My tactic use to be to suddenly get up if I knew a sex scene was coming up and grab a cup a tea.

If it was a particularly long scene i'd ask if they both wanted a cup of tea.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

Just whip the lad out.

Make the parents awkward and leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,373 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Not awkward at all. I don't watch telly with either parent, what with being a grownup with my own place an' all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Awkward or not?

My tactic use to be to suddenly get up if I knew a sex scene was coming up and grab a cup a tea.

Yeah I bet it did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,932 ✭✭✭gifted

Slide cushion over very subtly.......until you realise your dad is trying to slide same cushion over to him lol lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,374 ✭✭✭twirlagig

Awkward or not?

If you know the sex scene is coming up, you're grand! Have been caught a few times though when I've already made the tea and am sitting down, and then.... the scene comes on! Cue, massive gulping of tea and a quick dash off the armchair, 'have you any jaffa cakes Ma?' And then mother would say something like , 'the guards were up at Paddy Burkes yesterday, don't know what went on there'..... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Making tea for the parents just before the money shot OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

My parents would always acknowledge the awkwardness and say "close your eyes Lorelli" because they knew I was embarrassed. I'd put my hands over my eyes and nearly every two seconds id say "is it over yet?" :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Lorelli! wrote: »
    I'd put my hands over my eyes and nearly every two seconds id say "is it over yet?" :)

Thats exactly what my wife says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,479 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

I've had the misfortune of being in the cinema with my wife and her father during a few uncomfortable scenes. Including the rape scene (or nearly anyway) in Kill Bill.

"Here, take the vaseline. She's dry as a sandbox down there"

Can hardly bog off out of the cinema to make a cup of tae.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

ah surely those days are over??

its not like back in the day when the thorn birds was on the telly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭ZeroThreat

Making tea for the parents just before the money shot OP?

I'm pretty sure the OP isn't talking about the family watching pornos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭snowflaker

Try been 17 watching This Life and Ferdy riding the Scottish lad, and your mother walks in....

(I wasn't doing anything untoward)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,068 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

snowflaker wrote: »

(I wasn't doing anything untoward)

Why the totally uncalled for denial?:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,856 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

endacl wrote: »
    Not awkward at all. I don't watch telly with either parent, what with being a grownup with my own place an' all.

Them both being dead also helps.

But that nip slip back in the day on Glenroe was the talk of the nation for weeks.

As for the notion of proper sex scenes being on British TV never mind Irish, all I can say is :pac: you must be having a laugh

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Try sitting through love on Netflix which features unsimulated scenes including money shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,305 ✭✭✭✭branie2

I imagine there was a lot of awkwardness in 1977 when the Spike was shown on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Did that before. Was watching one of the Naked Gun movies with dear old mom and dad. I knew there was a man awkward bit coming up because I saw it in my cousin's house a month or so before. So I pre-empted it and went and boiled the kettle, got the biscuits and the lot. Did a few laps around the table just to be safe and said right, I'll go back in. Must've been one of those really long 90's ad breaks though cos the poxy sex scene was only starting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Gatling wrote: »
    Try sitting through love on Netflix which features unsimulated scenes including money shots

The opening scene of that would you reaching for the remote. How the hell did it make it on Netflix. Lasted a few days, before being, ahem, pulled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,700 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Memories of it being always extremely awkward - we all just usually sat there in uncomfortable silence until the scene played out.

Of the "unholy trinity" violence was generally a-okay, I've fond memories of watching Die Hard with my oul lad at the age of eight or nine, bad language was frowned upon a bit, but loads of sexy sex or nudity always meant awkwardness lay ahead.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Bret Hart

The opening scene of that would you reaching for the remote. How the hell did it make it on Netflix. Lasted a few days, before being, ahem, pulled.

It's still on there.

*stampede to Netflix*

Thats exactly what my wife says

So what you're saying is...what are you saying?

That your wife wants it over as soon as possible?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 619 ✭✭✭NinetyTwoTeam

I walked in to the sitting room a few weeks ago while Mum was watching Dr Foster and it happened to be the scene of her getting bent over the kitchen table. I just said 'Wow this looks like a class show Mum, no wonder ya never miss it.'

She said when she was young my Granny would leap up and stand in front of the telly pretending to dust the top of it when something racy came on. Though what was racy in them days was nothing compared to what's on now.

Permabear wrote: »
    This post had been deleted.

Wonder what he said when she was getting pounded doggy style by Drogo from behind. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭DaeryssaOne

I used to always have a book in the sitting room with me for this type of awkward situation, would concentrate ferociously on the page in front of me pretending I couldn't see or hear what was happening on the telly!

I always remember my grandparents going mad at my auntie for calling up with a rented VHS for them to watch, she got them Pretty Woman and my granny rang my auntie later on giving out stink for daring to rent 75 year olds a 15s rated film, they turned it off as soon as they realised what it was about! :)

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,955 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

A bit OT but I must be one of the 6 people on the planet who has never watched Game Of Thrones. Is it just porn and violence dressed up as fantasy drama?:confused:

JupiterKid wrote: »
    A bit OT but I must be one of the 6 people on the planet who has never watched Game Of Thrones. Is it just porn and violence dressed up as fantasy drama?:confused:

No it's absolutely fantastic tv and well worth the watch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

So that answers the question - was that actually her or a body double?

Damn she's hot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

I haven't had a chance to watch it yet but there was a woman who must have been mid sixties sitting across from me in the hairdressers a while ago talking about it. She was telling me about it and then she said "and you won't believe, the sex, the sex!" :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

jobr wrote: »
    No it's absolutely fantastic tv and well worth the watch!

Hang on a second. Being one of the remaining 5, I need clarity in this matter. Are you saying there's no porn and violence and therefore its fantastic, or are you saying its fantastic AND there's porn and violence?

Just for clarity, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

One Christmas we were all sitting around watching Love Actually when the Martin Freeman/Joanna Page scene just completely jars the film and makes it incredibly uncomfortable viewing. Nothing is as awkward as watching two people in what you thought was a run of the mill rom-com mimicking fellatio in the nip on Christmas Day.

Also went to see Wolf of Wall Street with my cousin, his elderly father and his wife.
    Within 10 minutes Leo was snorting coke from a hookers asshole. Awkward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

With new boyfriend in sitting room, long long ago, when something vaguely suggestive came on the TV, too long ago to remember what . But I cannot forget Granny (in Law to be) who up until then had been head back softly snoring in an armchair, opening one eye and leaping to attention to maniacally shriek ''The disgrace of it! The utter disgrace! That bitch will burn in hell! Her soul will rot in Hell! The disgrace! Turn that filth off! Over my dead body...''

Uh, roh-kay, granny...

Hang on a second. Being one of the remaining 5, I need clarity in this matter. Are you saying there's no porn and violence and therefore its fantastic, or are you saying its fantastic AND there's porn and violence?

Just for clarity, like.

Haha there is plenty of sex and violence, especially in the first few seasons but I found myself getting annoyed at the gratuitous nudity, it can be distracting from the story which is so good itself that you want to concentrate! :D

I only ever watched about the first two episodes actually, didn't get into it for some reason, even though I read all the books.

However, if you've ever seen a picture of the author, he's your typical looking obese bearded old pevert, probably has an order keeping him at least 500m away from girls secondary schools at all times ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39,022 ✭✭✭✭Permabear

My oul' Da used to conveniently fall asleep at the sound of a bra being unclasped or some knickers hitting the floor.

I wouldn't mind but the guy saw some serious action in his day, things I hope never happen to me. He pulled the pilot out of a burning crashed airplane in Burma, 1953, drove a truck full of German POWs from Basra to Alexandria in 1948, threw an attempted rapist face first through a six inch plate glass window in 1975 when he was driving an ambulance past the scene.

Hard as nails but by fukc he couldn't sit in the same room as a pair of tits on the telly with his own kids. The older generation of the republic, eh!

How about ads for Playtex or Ambre Solaire? they were racy enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Never any memorable awkward moments with the parents but was living with my gran and she let me flick through the channels on fri night. Eurotrash was on Channel 4 and as i hit it, the story was about a goose that used go crazy when they tried shooting a porno in its presence. I changed away but gran didn't hear what it was about and told me "go back to the duck". Within seconds there were a pair of titties bouncing on screen, as the lady was getting rogered. She was groaning, he was grunting and the goose was going mental. I just remember the look i was given...as if it was my choice to watch sex on tv with my gran as an 12 year old.

it was worse in the oul'days before remote controls..when you had to get up off your arse to change channels

TVs with dials or buttons

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

philstar wrote: »
    it was worse in the oul'days before remote controls..when you had to get up off your arse to change channels

Ah, the joys of being the youngest...

^^^^^^^^^^^^^

it was always the one nearest the telly in our house

The days of watching tv with the family are probably coming to an end anyway with smart phones, ipads etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Being stuck in the sitting room, not just with my parents, but my Mum's relations from England while watching 'The Name of the Rose'. I mean ffs it had Sean Connery playing a monk/detective in ye oldie times. You'd figure that you would be on fairly safe ground there!

The phrase awkward silence doesn't even begin to describe....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

The scene where christian slater gets "jumped on" by the randy peasant girl ;)

(good movie btw)

She shags a sibling or something I presume?

Btw I always loved that scene in Under Siege when the girl pops out of the cake ....

remember that movie black swan that was out a few years back

i got it out on dvd one night to watch it with my elderly parents and seeing that the subject matter was ballet i naively thought it'd be fairly tame, but my god the amount of fanny flickin & lickin in it was unreal..could feel beads of sweat running down my back as i sank ever deeper in the sofa...i was mortified :o

couldn't look them in the eye for a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Mena

A lot of sexually repressed people on here...