Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moving about in a company?

Options
  • 20-10-2017 8:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭

Currently working in a role not relevant to my degree, however recently a role that is relevant to and that I have some experience of , has came up. It's being advertised externally and not internally, they know I want that job but want to keep me in my current job because I'm cheap to pay. (Other candidates were asking for 5k plus more than me). What do I do here?

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

Feckoffcup wrote: »
    Currently working in a role not relevant to my degree, however recently a role that is relevant to and that I have some experience of , has came up. It's being advertised externally and not internally, they know I want that job but want to keep me in my current job because I'm cheap to pay. (Other candidates were asking for 5k plus more than me). What do I do here?

You tell them you want the job, or you start job hunting elsewhere. If you stay in a job that pays €5k less than the going rate for your experience/qualifications, your employer is not to blame for that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Feckoffcup

It's 5k less for the current job I'm in, which I have zero experience. That's why I'm.paid much less, they love money despite making huge profits. The job i want isn't paid much better either but at least it's relevant.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

Go for the relevant job. It is the best long term option.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭mugsymugsy