Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it time to quit?

Options
  • 22-10-2017 12:28am
    Registered Users Posts: 233 ✭✭Crunchy Friends

Hi all,

Been working in my job for 2.5 years. It was the first thing I applied for after finishing college, has nothing to do with my degree (which I don't mind as it's an arts degree so not particularly in demand), but it was a full time paid position so I jumped at it.

I was initially hired under the role of general office admin but quickly it seemed they realised I had a bit of potential and I got more and more duties - i'm now an account and project manager though I still have some general office duties which a few of us share as we don't have a designated receptionist or office manager.

I have often felt flustered and fed up but the last few weeks things have really come to a head. Essentially, the place is well run in some ways and not in others. A lot of extra things fall on my shoulders. Raising issues with management never really leads to any long term solutions. It is a very stressful environment and often requires a lot of overtime (which in fairness is paid as I am paid hourly for whatever hours I am clocked in for).