Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Perfect Swing ?

Options
  • 22-10-2017 1:16pm
    Registered Users Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭

Watching Spanish Masters

Garcia a major champion now, has a very unconventional swing.

Then you have a few other top golfer who didn't fit the perfect idea either.

Any swings you have loved - I think for me I always loved Faldo at his best but the game changer for me was the raw speed and power of Tiger as a young lad

Anyway - I was self taught and have struggled to accept that the swing I have is the one I have - I've tried to change it with some success (most guys above have changed too) , I've still a long swing , a bit disconnected, over the top and too fast.

But there is hope in that - you can hit the ball ok with a swing that isn't perfect. Better than ok - some have won majors .

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 746 ✭✭✭ShivasIrons

You’re mistaking form with function. The perfect swing is the most functional one not the one that looks the best.

Your swing also can’t be too fast unless you’re hitting the ball too far. Fast means speed. Your swing maybe too quick but it’s rarely too fast.

By over the top, how much over the top? A swing path that’s 2 degrees out to in is over the top but that swing path would be very desirable.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,888 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

You’re mistaking form with function. The perfect swing is the most functional one not the one that looks the best.

Your swing also can’t be too fast unless you’re hitting the ball too far. Fast means speed. Your swing maybe too quick but it’s rarely too fast.